I was wrong, yesterday wasn’t cold at all :-)

 

I was wrong yesterday, it wasn’t cold at all compared to today🙂 -24C (-11,2F) as coldest this morning. If I had lived alone or with cats only I would have stayed indoors all day just enjoying life and tea🙂 But now I live with dogs and they do want to go out for walks even if I would die because of it🙂🙂🙂 They didn’t think it was enough just to get out into the garden, no they wanted to walk like we always do.

 

A woodpecker had breakfast by my feeders today.

 

 

 

 

 

I couldn’t find my cap but I wrapped my scarf (the one I got from Joyce last winter) around my head so it covered my ears too🙂 My neighbors laughed when they saw me through the window when we passed their house🙂🙂🙂 I had planned to walk out to the bog this morning but it was even colder there. It was so cold my camera stopped to work properly🙂 so we turned and went to the creek instead. Walking in snow when it is as cold as it is now is not a silent thing to do🙂 This weather does something to it so it sort of cracks loudly every time the feet moves on it🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

I thought that this might be to cold for Nova but I couldn’t be more wrong, she loves it! and when we finally came home she was the only one that didn’t want to go inside to the warm kitchen. She wanted me to throw a stick so she could run around some more🙂🙂🙂 I’ll have the kettle on the stove all day and the fire burning all the time as well. It is days like this I know I was born on the wrong continent, I should have been born somewhere tropical where I could survive on fish and coconuts🙂

 

The Alder is ready for spring. There are already cones hanging on the branches.

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “I was wrong, yesterday wasn’t cold at all :-)

  1. Vi hade -17.3 här i morse så det har nog varit kallare under natten. Ja, nu skulle man bott på en söderhavsö istället:) Vilket underbart foto på vovvarna med rimfrost i skägget;) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Då har ni det nog värre än jag eftersom ni bor så nära havet. Luften blir ju så rå då på vintern.

      Fast det var ett elände att få dem att sätta sig, de ville hellre springa omkring i trädgården🙂🙂

      Ha det gott i kylan!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i love the photo of the pups. they look so cute with the ice on their mouths, it seems winter has finally found you. we still have spring weather here. winter has missed us this year. stay warm! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They really didn’t want to cooperate when I wanted to take that photo🙂

      Yes winter is here and I wish it never had arrived🙂 I’d rather have a winter like the one YUou have now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes it was anything but nicfe outdoors this morning🙂
      Strangly enough Nova didn’t get any frost beard at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. That is very cold. I do not think I could ever live there. I stay in the mountains in the summer and had a dusting of snow
    and I was
    read to come back down to the desert.🙂
    But as always your pictures are so beautiful.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Ice lips!🙂
    Nova probably doesn’t drool as much as the boys.

    There were two coyotes in the front yard last night. Rocky wanted to get at them very badly. It took him over an hour to stop patrolling around the house. I keep telling him that he would be a lovely appetizer for two coyotes but in his own mind he is big and fierce.
    Feisty terrier combined with punk chihuahua = food for coyote.🙂

    Temperature is reasonable for winter today and it is very sunny. Nice.

    Enjoy the warmth of your fire and your furry friends.

    PS: I forgot to say that I really loved the frost on the red barn wall photo the other day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I prefer to think it has to do with the boys fur🙂 It’s more fluffy on them than on Nova🙂

      It’s always a problem with small dogs🙂 They are Saint Bernard dogs in their own heads🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully we don’t have coyotes here, only foxes and they flee away as soon as they see us🙂

      I’ve enjoyd every single minute that I’ve been close to the kitchen stove🙂🙂🙂 It never became any less cold than 11F today and this coming night it might get even colder than last night🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, I do not envy your below zero temperatures. We have stayed in the the 20’s at night, upper 30’s to 40’s daytime, and no snow. Our little dog, Gwennie misses the snow tremendously, as she loves to eat it, roll in it. Frozen snow and icy trees make for beautiful photos though. But if it’s too cold for the camera to work, go back inside! Stay warm by the fire today.

    • Hi Robin!
      I don’t mind cold weather, usually🙂 But this is just to cold but very normal for this time of year. It never became any less cold than 11F and the coming night might get even colder than last night🙂

      I don’t think my dogs thinks any special about snow to be honest, they are happy when there’s snow but just as happy when it is gone. Smells stays longer without the snow.

      My dogs wouldn’t allow me to go in, they just wanted to continue all the time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. you are a better dog Poppa than I am a dog Momma.
    lucky for me my little ones HATE going out in cold weather and Blue is content to snooze on the sofa.
    (He’s snoring right now! LOL!)
    It’s supposed to snow here tomorrow…but today I went to the grocery store and the library and only had a sweatshirt on instead of a coat!
    (I not being very nice am I!)😀
    Anyway…maybe you could pack up things and more to the States, down South somewhere? but not in Hurricane areas or flood areas or Tornado alley or…

    • Hi Cindi!
      I wish my dogs were more like Yours🙂🙂🙂

      No snow here but it’s already -4F and it’s early evening yet. This will be a nasty cold night I’m afraid🙂🙂 I wish we had Your weather too🙂🙂🙂

      Your weather is always so extreme🙂🙂 I think it would be easier to move to southern Europe, then I don’t need a green card either. Portugal is nice and since I’ve learned french I think it will be rather easy to learn portugese🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Nice photo finish with the dogs. We have no idea where the feral family of cats live, probably in the woods, but when it dips below 40 we crack open the garage door on one of the bays so they can come in and get warm. I know they take us up on it because the tell tale signs are there in the morning. We have one kitten that looks like a Bear now with a brown winter coat and small face. Very funny to look at. Must have been some persian in her DNA. Have a Super Weekend!

    • Hi Z&M!
      They have probably found a hole in the ground or perhaps a tree to live in. At least they have a chance to survive in Your climate, here they freeze to death if they can’t get inside. My cats only goes out for five minutes, then they start shouting so I open the door for them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. A great last photo of the boys and Nova. The frost photos were my favorites here today. No snow here at all and today I saw that the daffodils are sprouting. This is certainly not winter weather.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      They really didn’t want to cooperate when I took that photo 🙂🙂

      The snow drops had almost started to flowering here when the snow faeel and the cold air came from east. I wish we had Your warm weather instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Hur kallt hade ni i natt!? Måste ha varit fruktansvärt kallt hos er!!😦
    T.o.m. här är det hemskt, vi hade -17 nu i morse när jag gick ut med Santos.😦 Och det var inte kul, han får nämligen köldkramp i tassarna, men samtidigt vill han inte att man ska värma dom (alltså ta på dom). Så han vill bara gå hem hela tiden. Nu ligger han i varma korgen vid mina fötter och snusar!🙂
    Det blir otroligt vackra bilder i kylan i alla fall, du får trösta dig med det – och så en god kopp te förstås.🙂🙂
    Själv kommer jag aldrig ihåg att ta kameran med mig ut, så jag tar bara bilde inne eller genom fönstren. Inte så vackra, men jag går inte ut extra i det här vädret för några bilders skull!😦

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det började svinkallt igår kväll, men så kom moln och täckte himlen så då steg temperaturen till -12. Fast en bitande vind har kommit så det känns faktiskt värre idag🙂🙂🙂 Nova är inte alls så känslig för kyla som jag trott, snarare är hon väldigt okänslig mot den🙂

      Det har blivit en vana att alltid ha kameran med mig numera, dessutom har jag en riktigt bra kamera i mobilen så jag kan alltid använda den. Men inte heller jag går ut extra i denna kylan🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

