Cold, cold, cold!

It is cold, cold, cold!

 

I bought extra many fire logs on my way home from work today. It was -19C (-2,2F) when I went o work this morning and it had dropped to -20,4C (-4,7F) after I had left. Nova had her blue coat on and I brought extra blankets in to the dog house just in case. It’s much warmer in there of course but I never know if something breaks down while I’m at work. She hates to wear a coat but she doesn’t have a choice 🙂

 

 

 

 

Even though the sun shone all day it didn’t make much difference and now it’s colder than it was yesterday at this time, I’ll stay up extra long tonight to keep the fire in the stove burning. It’s days like this most fires happens because people doesn’t know how to have a fire going. They usually starts the fire when it’s cold inside and they want the heat to start spreading quickly. So they put in lots of fire wood and keep the air flowing in to the fire in a high speed.

 

 

Hares, hares everywhere!!!!

 

Why can't she just calm down and leave those hares alone? All that energy for nothing.

 

It’s when they do like that the chimney starts to crack and even if nothing happens that night it might the next. Small sparks travel through those cracks and starts a fire usually in the roof. Or they keep the fire going way to long so the chimney gets  to hot and a fire starts because of that. One of our more popular actors dies last winter because of that they think. It had been very cold for quite some time and they just never stopped to put more fire wood in the stove.

 

 

 

Smoke's coming out of chimneys all over the village now.

 

It’s time to make some hot cocoa and a couple of sandwiches. Cold days and nights like this demands hot cocoa 🙂 I’m already dreading the morning walk tomorrow, it’ll be nasty cold I’m afraid 🙂

 

The wind comes from east-northeast.

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Cold, cold, cold!

  1. that sure is cold! we are still warm here. i can imagine the fires that people have. do most people have wood burning stoves? they are rather rare here. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Last night the coldest place in Sweden had -44F, so who am I to complain about -5F 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Most fireplaces were removed during the seventies and eighties but now we’re putting them back again 🙂 But very few puts in those we have in the kitchen. I’m so glad that they saved the one I have when they renovated this cottage during the late eighties.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. thats cold, chimmney fires happen here as well, we burned firewood for 27 years before moving to this apartment.We never had a chimmney fire, we had a stainless steel chimmney, and cleaned them every month, and we always kept the chimmney clean, leaving a bed of coals , our fire never went out from October until May, I miss the wood fire, so much. Keep warm, enjoy the cocoa.

    • Hi Laurie!
      If one only knows what one does this is the best way to keep a home warm 🙂 This actor and his wife never left a bed of coal, they suspect they just kept putting in fire wood all the time so the chimney never cooled down. I get my chimney swept twice a year and so far I’ve had no problems (croos my fingers and hold my thumbs).

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Åh vilka vackra foton Christer!! Ja det gäller att elda med förstånd fast jag vet inte riktigt om jag gör det själv:) Hoppas ju att sotaren kan se om det är något fel. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jag antar att ni inte eldar dygnet runt 🙂 Bara man är försiktig brukar det ju går bra och stormeldar du inte hela tiden är det inga problem. Sedan har man ju problemet med soteld, men då har man haft dålig ved eller strypt luften alldeles för mycket. Det är ju inte så lätt som man kan tro det där med att elda rätt 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Tjänare Berit!
      Och här går jag och gnäller över -20 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Ha du också en riktigt skön helg och stanna inne i värmen så mycket som möjligt 🙂

      Christer.

  4. Burrrrr! I don’t like the sound of this post. And this morning with 61 degrees I was complaining that I had to wear a sweater. I think I can find you and your dogs a nice farm house here in Florida. It’s a great place to retire to. Enjoy your hot cocoa.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It was a bit chilly yesterday morning and I can tell You thet it’s even colder this morning (well it’s still only 11pm over at Yours 🙂 ).

      If I had the money I probably could get a rathet nice place down in Europe now, Portugal for instance. Their eceonomies are so bad that the property prices are rediculusly low and I know of no more polite and friendly people than the portugese.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I have a little plug-in heater that I turn on while I’m on the computer. (It’s kinda cold here by the window).
    I’m very carefully about unplugging it because so many fires start around here because of these heaters.
    Otherwise when I’m on the sofa or in bed, I just use my dogs body heat! LOL!

    • Hi Cindi!
      It would be nice to have some kind of heat by my feet. I’m sitting close to the kitchen door and the cellar door and both those places are a bit chilly to sit by.

      I’ve tried to make Orvar sleep on my feet but he only does that when he’s sleeping in my bed and then I don’t want it 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

