For some reason I didn’t like the idea to walk the same way today :-)

I think we left by the creek yesterday. I'm just to lazy to go back and check🙂

 

So I left work early today so I could go by bus to the garage in Gudhem to fetch my car. The sun was shining but it was nasty cold while waiting for the bus to come. But it was so nice and warm inside the bus that I almost fell asleep while it drove to Skara where I had to change to another bus. Guess if I froze like a wet dog when I had to wait for that other bus🙂🙂🙂

 

The castle owner, a jolly man almost always looking on the positive side on everything, has lots of cattle all over this area. It's his cattle You usually can see in my photographs. So they have lots of tractors and these are the very small ones that they use. The big ones are gigantic!

 

People still lived in this appartement building when I moved here but now it's empty and the house is falling apart. I know they will repair it if possible.

 

 

There was a root cellar for every apartment and a garage to place their cars in.

 

 

It showed all schools had ended for the day so the bus was crowded with school children, but I have to say they behaved very different from when I was young. Many of them did their home work others just sat and talked to each other. If they had seen my school friends and I when we were young they would have thought we were barbarians🙂🙂🙂

 

Bjurums castle. They are renovating the castle and it seem it will be yellowish, probably a demand to have the original color if they wanted grants to pay for lots of the bills🙂 One doesn't own a castle if one isn't rich and knows how to get grants🙂🙂🙂

 

Like all castles worth their names this one used to have a moat, but a previous tenant decided to build a charcuterie above where it goes, so he emptied it and filled parts of it with gravel. From what I know they will fill it up again. This house used to have people living in it when i moved here too.

 

 

 

The second time I jumped off the bus a wind had start to blow slightly and I had around 1,5 kilometers (around a mile) to walk and didn’t like it a bit.  I almost ran to the garage the last part and the first thing I saw when opening the door was my car up in the air without any back wheels. That’s not a positive sign when the garage is closing within an hour🙂🙂

 

This house however didn't have any inhabitants when I moved here and it stood empty for quite some time. It is a two family house but I'm not sure if it is any longer.

 

The glassed porch do need to be fixed though. But it is sort of cute with the cat sitting there🙂 I saw lots and lots of cats around this house so I guess they doesn't have any problems with rats🙂

 

After that it was the open fields again.

 

 

As much as I liked walking yesterday as much I just couldn’t see myself enjoying a walk home in -10C (14F) in the dark and without any reflective badges with me🙂🙂🙂 So I asked if they possibly had a car I could use until my car was ready and they had🙂 So now I drive  Hyundai Matrix and as soon as the car and I can agree on where the different gears are placed I think we even can start to like each other🙂🙂🙂

 

Finally I could see the beginning of my village🙂

 

 

 

Do You remember the run down cottage by the church ruins? This is it and it can only be seen from the road during winter.

 

It’s awfully cold outside and the fire in the stove will continue to burn for very long tonight, if I so have to get up in the middle of the night to keep it alive🙂🙂 But they say it will be less cold towards tomorrow morning because clouds will come  later tonight. It is time for a pot of tea and something to eat I feel.

 

Home sweet home🙂

 

Have a great day!

 

22 thoughts on “For some reason I didn’t like the idea to walk the same way today :-)

  1. Underbara bilder som alltid…. Men visst är det ett pusslande när bilarna måste in…. tur att de kunde låna dig en tills du får tillbaka din! Den servicen har tyvärr inte min åklagare😎
    Mina promenader blir inte så långa ännu tyvärr…. Gick det som brukar vara min korta runda häromdan men jisses vilken träningsvärk jag fick på natten! Trodde nästan jag fått en propp i benet.. Så nu blir det bara en vända fram o tillbaka på grusvägen här bredvid…. men min ambition är att göra den flera ggr om dan…. Blir lite si o så med det😎
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt vid brasan med ditt te (konstigt, det smakar inte likadant som innan jag opererades)
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Ja det kändes väldigt bra när han sade att det fanns en bil jag kund ha🙂 På något sätt kändes det inte lika bra att gå samma väg i denna kylan och i mörker dessutom🙂🙂🙂

      Jag såg ju att du varit dålig men jag hoppas det blir bättre fort! Man får helt enkelt ta det så sakteliga när man skall ta sig tillbaka igen. En dag så är din korta promenad kort igen🙂 och kanske te´t smakar lika bra igen också🙂

      Ha det gott och krya på dig!
      Christer.

  2. Två saker; Först – min gubbe kommer bli vild när han får se bilden på alla små traktorer, han letar just nu efter nått nytt (fast gammalt) att sätta tänderna i. Alltså att börja renovera – och han vill ha en liten traktor. Den vi har är helt klar och den är så otroligt fin att han säkert inte kommer att våga köra den i vår. *fniss* Du vet inte om den här mannen vill sälja någon!?
    Sen måste jag bara berömma dig, du vet vilka dagar du ska promenera! Alltså inte idag!! Var det ren tur, eller var det skicklighet att du lyckades undvika långprommisen idag!?🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!🙂 Synd att jag inte tog någon bild på dem från framsidan då, en del var riktigt fina och gamla🙂 och vem vill inte ha en gammal traktor :-)Men jag tror inte att han säljer någon tyvärr.

      Det var ren tur att jag slapp promenera idag🙂 Det har varit svinkallt hela dagen, fast solen sken precis lika vackert som igår. Jag trodde ju att jag skulle ta min bil hem idag🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. home sweet home for sure!!! why didn’t they call you and tell you your car wasn’t ready? did they tell you what is wrong with it? the castle is wonderful. do you know who lives in it? i have one gear on my camaro that has trouble locking in sometimes and it gives me fits. i hope your car will be ready tomorrow. it is 62 degrees here today! unreal. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Well that kind of service, like calliung if the car isn’t ready🙂 is unusual here. Ys they did some electricity searches through the abs break sensors and they got a completely different result than the first garage di,m wich makes me believe the first garage din’t do a shit with my car! The sensor hs to come from outside sweden so it will arrive tomorrow. But as long as I can have this car I’m happy anyway🙂🙂🙂 We just have to decide who’s the boss🙂🙂🙂

      62!!! I guess we won’t get that until late March here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • I forgot🙂 Yes I know who lives in the castle. A nice couple that really likes this area and does what ghey can to bring it back to what it once was. I’ve been inside the castle once and it’s nice but didn’t look as I thought it would, but perhaps it will after the renovations.
      Christer.

  4. It must be wonderful to live in a castle, I would have kept the moat, unless the water was stagnant, I’m not to certain about moats.
    Those cats have a good life, just sit in the sun catch a fat rat when hungry and then go back to sleep, I wonder if they have homes or are strays, I really feel bad for the strays, I have taken in more stray cats in my time,, too many i’m sure!
    my husband really likes the Matrix, nice car,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Well I’m not sure about that🙂 They are big, cold and way to big to clean🙂🙂🙂 It is the creek that once was led around the castle so it was not still at all.

      Stray cats almost never survives our winters so I think that someone at least feeds them daily. Usually farm take care of stray cats here so they don’t have to use and rat poison🙂 So they are usually well fed🙂

      I like the Matrix but I don’t like where the speedometer is placed!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. What’s wrong with your Mazda? Do those castles collect fees from tourism? Can anyone visiting Sweden tour the castles? That’s how they offset a large percentage of costs. We have old mansions, owned by robber barrons back in the day and some tours are $100 US per person. The house you say was an apartment at one time, yellow barn like looking, is leaning. The foundation problem probably won’t be worth it. Do you know how much land comes with it? Good post today Christer, Thanks!

    • Hi Z&M!
      It’s an ABS brea sensor that is broken and a couple of other things was fixed as well. But almost everything went wrong today🙂🙂🙂 I’ll tell You more about it tomorrow.

      I know the stat owned castles takes visitors bvut verh few private owned does. This one doesn’t and have had some problems with people just walking i demandin a guided tour! So now they always have all doors locked, ptobably the only place in the area that has🙂🙂🙂

      I think it was four apartmenst in that building and yes when You mention it it does lean a lot! But there’s a small garden on the back side of it. But I think that it’s just a part of the castle property and nothing by itself.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Sounds like a long cold walk today. Yuck. Funny about the kids on the bus being better behaved than you were at their age.🙂

    I usually call the garage (or any other place for that matter) before I go there. I got tired of showing up at the appointed time only to find that my car was not finished or worse, not even looked at yet. Then I have to get all dramatic and whine about it being my only transportation and how I can’t take off from work another day so they will take pity on me and fix my car right then. It’s nice when they have a loaner car but it’s still annoying.

    Lovely pictures today. It’s nice to see all the buildings and learn something about them.

    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I really didn’t want to walk that way in the cold and dark since I only wore dark clothes and no one would be able to see me until it was to late.

      I thought I should start easy with this new place and didn’t call, now I know better🙂🙂 Almost everything went wrong today🙂🙂🙂 So I’ll have that Matrix tomorrow again, unfortunately I drove home in my own car so I have to drive to the garage once again in the morning🙂🙂🙂 Well everything can only get better from here🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I’m glad you got a nice car to drive!😀😀😀
    The castle is cool but I won’t like the idea of a moat around it if I lived in it. Too many mosquitoes!
    Car repair places are the worst as far as customer service goes! I always have to call the place 2 to 3 times before finding out what’s wrong. Grrrr.
    I hesitate to tell you that it hit 60 degrees here too. I was outside at work in the yard area in my short sleeves!
    It’s craziness! But my kind of crazy! 😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes it is rather nice and I’ll have it tomorrow as well even if that wasn’t planned🙂 Almost everything went wrong today but I’ll tell You more about it tomorrow🙂

      Well living here in a bog and swamp area a moat won’t do any difference when it comes to mosquitoes🙂🙂🙂

      What nice temperature You have🙂 here it feels like -60🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Kat!
      It’s strange but I never get tired of red houses even though almost all are here in the countryside🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Good heavens, Christer! Winter is no time for your car to break down. I am happy they had a car to loan you! Our Winter has not arrived. It’s been 75 to 80 degree’s all week long! Nope..not even any snow in out mountains. LOTS of wind though..
    It looks awfully cold where you are..makes me cold just looking at the photo’s! :):)
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I agree but it is no problesm driving it and it is safe to drive, it’s just because the annual vehicle inspection for my car is this time of year. Otherwise I would have waited until spring🙂 It was a very nice walk that day but I really didn’t want to do that walk when it’s that cold and dark. No one would be able to see me until it was to late.

      It is nasty cold here but that’s winter🙂 I do wish we had Your temperatures here instead🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • By the way Mona! I can’t comment on Your blog!!!??? But I tried to write that those brackets look great where You plced them and You sure know how to spray paint! They look great and justb the right color too🙂🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  9. Christer, it was lovely seeing the buildings along your route, but too bad you had to walk outside in the cold weather to capture and show them to us. Glad you were able to get a loaner car and hope yours will be fixed soon.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      The walk wasn’t bad atv all actually. The sun was shining, birds singing and no wind was blowing. But I’m sure glad I didn’t have to do it in the evening when it got dark. No driver would have the chance to see me before it was to late.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

