A very strange garage indeed.

I managed to take a couple of photographs before it became to dark when we were out walking after I'd come home from work.

 

So I left my car at the garage early this morning so they could fix what I knew was wrong and look through the car before the annual vehicle inspection on February third. So I expected a big bill and a car ready for inspection. But noo, they had started to think for themselves, something they like to do unfortunately🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

They thought since the car is as old as it is why spend a lot of money to repair it? Why not wait and see what they might find on the inspection and then perhaps repair it, or as they said: Come back after the inspection so we can discuss what to do. It’s really better to buy a new car. I really don’t think it’s a good thing when they start thinking themselves🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

I don’t have the money to buy another car because I don’t want to borrow money if I don’t have to. But I do have money enough to repair this one and that was what I wanted them to do. Sometimes I do wonder if they actually wants to make any money?🙂 They do like this to all their customers and it is rather annoying after a while, but when they actually do what one asks them to they are quick and cheap. So here I am with a car that won’t pass the inspection and the only result will be that I tell them to repair my car just as I wished from the beginning🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

Nova is now running around without a leash most times when we’re out walking and nothing usually happens. But today when I didn’t look at her for a couple of seconds she just vanished. I understood that she had walked in to the forest but just couldn’t figure out why. I called loudly for her but no dog, then I saw the foot prints of a hair. Even if they were rather old she had followed them around a small part of the forest and suddenly I could hear a dog running like crazy towards me🙂🙂🙂 She was only gone for about three minutes and she did come back. So I just put the leash back on her and walked homewards. Now she’s sleeping in my bed🙂

 

 

 

It was really cold last night, the temperature fell to -16C (3F) and it will fall just as much this night. But it will get a bit less cold after that even though it will stay cold enough for the snow to remain for quite some time. It is time to put more fire logs in the stove, make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches. At least I never have to be cold in my cottage🙂

 

 

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “A very strange garage indeed.

  1. Vad fruktansvärt irriterande bilreparatörer, hade ju blivit vansinnig. Nu får du ju en extra kostnad på ombesiktning – står de för den? Vad duktigt av Nova att komma direkt när du ropade! Kan ju inte vara lätt att avbryta ett spår:) Här eldas det också för fullt i braskaminen så det är riktigt gott o varmt inne:) Ni har det dock lite kallare än vi – här är väl runt -10 när det är som kallast på natten och sedan är det runt -1-3 på dagen. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja visst är det irriterande! Fast samtidigt kan jag inte låta bli att skratta åt deras lätt konstiga sätt :-)Förutom extrakostnaden för en ombesiktning kommer de ju att kolla extra mycket efter fel denna gången. Ja, ja, de hade ju kommit ändå🙂

      Det som var trevligast (förutom att hon kom tillbaka så fort naturligtvis🙂 ) var att hon var glad när hon kom, inte rädd som hon var de första gångerna.

      Det är mulet ikväll, naturligtvis annars hade vi ju kunnat se norrskenet!!!!, så det kanske inte blir fullt så kallt inatt trots allt. Men här eldas det på rejält nu🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. at least your country keeps check on cars that are road worthy, just in the past 10 years in Canada they keep a close watch on vehicles that don’t pass inspection, there are no mandatory inspections but spot checks along the road side on older cars and trucks, brakes, stearing, and one could be pulled over at any time for loud exhaust or improper emmisions.
    Whe you buy or sell used there are many regulations, it keeps the junkers off the road.If your vehicle is sound there should be no reason to buy new, sorry about the rabbit chase, back to the leash, the snow looks lovely,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Even though I hate to take my car to the inspection I am glad that we have it. At least the worst cars gets taken out from the traffic! At least You have some kind of inspection but I think it should be mandatory.

      Yes back to the leash at least for a couple of days. But she did come back quickly and this time she wasn’t afraid like she was when she moved here, she was happy to come back🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Some beautiful photos, Christer.

    We used to have inspections for trucks here in Illinois but dropped it. Now,,, anything goes.
    My son lives in California where they’ve quite a few regulations but smog is such a problem in the big cities that it’s necessary.

    • Hi John and welcome to my blog🙂
      Thank You :-9

      Even though I hate taking my car to the inspection I do think it is a good thing we have them. At least the worst vehicles are taken off the roads. But still I hate it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  4. We used to have to have our cars inspected, but that has changed since they have made so many changes in the fuels and exhaust sytems. In South Carolina we don’t see to many old cars, but the ones that are around are all in really good shape. Their is never any bad weather to tear them up.
    Love the pictures, beautiful the snow. Your dogs are such wonderful company.

    • Hi Donna!
      I’ve read somewhere that we have the oldest cars in Europe here in Sweden, we tend to repaire them fo as long as we can. But our climate really makes that difficult🙂 Not the climate in it self but they do pour out a lot of salt on the roads during winter and since many of us live close to the ocean that salt too destroyes our cars.

      I do love my dogs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i know how much you dread inspection! i hope they can just fix it. nova has done so well. i guess you can expect these infractions though they are so short. i bet she is snoring and dreaming of chasing that hare! my husband just finished a book written by a swedish writer and my husband made the comment that it seems that swedes eat lots of sandwiches! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes I surely do🙂 Even those times I’ve had cars that were going through their first inspection and I was absolutely sure there were no problems I still hated it🙂🙂🙂

      It is fixable but they just didn’t do anything since they had the idea that it was better to buy a new car🙂🙂 I’ll call another garage tomorrow🙂

      Yes This will happen every now and again until she is old enbough to realize she doesn’t stand a chance🙂 My first dog did like this until she was around four or five. One day she actually almost walked on a hare and just didn’t knkw what to do with it, so she let it run away and then she followed those new tracks🙂🙂🙂

      I think we swedes do love sandwiches. Most people have a couple for breakfast, and perhaps one for unch and dinner and most of us ends the day by having a couple🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,

    That last picture is beautiful. The little sparkles of light behind the ice crystals make the shot.

    Good for Nova for running back happily. Remember, all hares must be chased even if the scent is old. It’s a point of honor.

    I googled my Chinese astrological sign and discovered that I am an Earth Ox but I don’t know if I am Yin or Yang. I couldn’t find that out. I don’t know if pets have signs but Rocky is an Earth Ox, too. My last dog was an Earth Dragon which is very fitting for a terrier, I think. My horse was a Fire Horse. My mother is an Earth Goat and my two brothers are Metal Hare and Water Snake. You can see I had fun with this.🙂

    Car salesmen and car repair people really annoy me. It’s so hard to find any that will not try to do something other than what you ask them to do. I try to walk into the repair shop with a good idea of what is wrong so they won’t do something extra that doesn’t need to be done. I’m not a mechanic and I shouldn’t have to figure out the problem ahead of time just to protect my wallet from that kind of abuse. It’s even more annoying when they don’t do anything and you come in at the end of the day and don’t have a running vehicle. Arggh! Don’t get me started.🙂

    Enjoy the day and I hope you gave those care people a piece of your mind.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I do like that one too but I did think that the flash had been to strong at first.

      Yes that was the thing I really liked, she showed o fear but was soo happy🙂🙂🙂 and naturally one has to follow hare tracks🙂🙂

      I haven’t checked what my dogs are, must do that later to see if they fit with how they are supposed to be🙂🙂 You could see if You are a Yin or Yang on the Wikipedia site I linked too, further down on that page.

      The problem with this garage however is that it’s very hard to make them do anything🙂🙂 The only reason they didn’t do anything on my car is because they don’t think I should put any money in to an old car??!! I wonder if they have one they want to sell🙂🙂🙂 Every time I go there it feels like I’m destroying their day by giving them something to do🙂🙂🙂 I can tell them what it is giving me problems and they say that it most probably isn’t, just to tell me I was right from the beginning🙂🙂🙂 I’ll call another garage tomorrow. Unfortunately I got so surprised that they had decided what I wanted that I didn’t say anything🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi D Quinn and welcome to my blog🙂

      I have a Nikon D3000. In normal daylight I usually use ISO 200 and I try to have it on 0,200 seconds in the shadow if possible but often faster. The darker photographs I take in the morning I usually use ISO 800 and if possible 0,60 seconds. That gives that slightly unsharpe photo that I do like in those darker ones.
      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  7. Christer,
    Gravie would have chased that hare to hell and back. She wouldn’t give up the chase. Nova impresses me a lot! She has come a long, long way. My snow is all gone. It is bnearly midnight and it’s 43°.

    • Hi Kat!
      Nova was like that in the beginning but then a hare ran out on the bog and she gor wet paws🙂🙂🙂 But I too am impressed🙂 What I like most is that she was happy when she came back and not afraid like she was when she moved to us🙂
      No more snow here but bitterly cold during nights.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hur gick det med det enorma tasspåret du skickade vidare bild på för identifiering!? Fick du något svar (som jag har missat), eller väntar du fortfarande?
    Ruggigt kallt verkar ni ha, här är det +-0 grader så det är faktiskt ganska OK, men det skulle visst bli en aning kallare i slutet på veckan. Inte kul, för då blir det halt och jag är livrädd för att halka när jag är ute. TROTS dubbar!😦

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jag väntar fortfarande på svar. De skickade ju bilden vidare till de som kan det här och de kan ju vara lite upptagna kan jag tänka.

      Ja här är det kallt! Klar himmel nu så det sjunker nog rejält tills i morgon när jag åker till jobbet.
      Håller tummarna att det inte blir något fall för dig i halkan!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      They are🙂 But I wouldn’t want to be without them! Now I know thw worst care are taken off the roads with less danger for all of us.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. No inspections here but I have a warranty on my van that requires me to keep it maintenanced according to their guidelines. If I fail to do so and something goes wrong with the van, they won’t cover it, so I do it.
    Glad that Nova came back and you didn’t have to go hunting for her.
    I don’t really trust any of mine off leash. Blue would always come back to me but there’s the issue of him having to see me first, since I won’t be able to call out to him. It’s so scary when dogs get loose.
    Your photos are great as always, that last one is so awesome.
    I just get cold looking at them. It’s in the high 30’s here. Just warm enough for the snow to be mostly melted but ice to be slick under the shaded areas and the “poop” to be mushy when I try to scoop. Ugh!
    I’d rather have it colder or maybe an inch or two to cover that stuff up! 😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Even though I don’t like the inspections I do think it is great we have them, they do remove the worst cars from the roads and make it a bit safer out there.

      I’m so glad she was happy and not afraid when she came back🙂 But now she pays the price by being leashed for a couple of days🙂 When I have a new puppy I always start by not having them leashed when we’re going out on our walks, but we do practice wearing a leash in the garden instead so they doesn’t get afraid for them later on. Lots of treats usually keeps them close🙂🙂🙂 So far it has worked fine, but Nova was 1,5 years old when she came to me so I had to do different this time.

      I like it when it is this cold (upper twenties) and have to clean out the garden from poop, it’s so easy to get it up on the shovel when it is frozen🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

