The vet will feel pain tomorrow.

Finally I can see that the days are longer. We were home at 4pm and the sun was on its way down. Haven't seen that in months🙂

 

I went home early today to get Ovar so we could go to the vet in the afternoon. Nova and Hector looked a bit surprised when they had to go to the dogyard but Orvar had to stay in the cottage, but they soon forgot him when I tossed in some treats in the doghouse🙂🙂🙂 Orvar on the other hand was happy to jump in to the car instead. I’m not sure he likes to go by car but I don’t think he dislikes it either. He just lays down and falls asleep.

 

I took some photographs on our way to the vet. There was very little traffic so there was no risk of any accidents because of me photographing. This is also a big part of my way to work. Every now and again I can see the river Lidan and this isn't the most beautiful part of it.

 

I like this guest house way up from the ground🙂

 

A small part of the village Tråvad. This part of the country is called Västgötaslätten (vastgota plains) and is more or less totally flat.

 

It goes on for miles and miles and miles and ...... I love it🙂

 

They put us in the examination room rather quickly and while we were waiting we heard what was going on in the other room. He was examining a German Shepherd that had problems with his anal glands. I doubt that anyone could miss that the dog was a bit “unhappy”🙂 and suddenly we heard a roar and then the vet said something rather bad and I don’t think he said it to the dog🙂🙂🙂 The dog had turned quickly and bit the vet in the thigh, the owner wasn’t ready for that and didn’t hold the dog’s head especially hard. But as the vet said after, the dog had warned and when he finally decided the vet had gone to far he acted. No one stops a German shepherd when that happens he said🙂

 

We stopped by the bathing place in Tråvad on our way home. The water level had dropped rather much since I was there the last time.

 

Anyone is allowed to put up a cottage no bigger than 15 kvm (161,5 square foot) without any permission on their property. I think we can have two of them as long as they aren't connected in any way. We call the Friggebod after the politician that allowed it.

 

The old railroad bridge.

 

 

No injuries on the vet though but it will hurt for a while, that’s for sure. But just seconds after that he came in and scraped some skin off Orvar and looked at it in a microscope. It turns out that Orvar has some kind of fungal infection and now I have an ointment that I have to put on him twice a day for three weeks. We were actually going home before we were supposed to be there🙂 normally its very busy there and sometimes we have to wait for an hour or two🙂 But they are the best vets I’ve met so I don’t mind waiting. For those of You that is interested in what this costed the examination was  450 kr (that would be around $ 65 (half of that price is social security contributions and taxes and some of the rest of that money goes to equipment and other things they might need and the rest is of course for wages, we tend to forget that when we pay our bill) and the ointment was 150kr ($ 22).

 

There's no railroad any longer but it is perfect to walk on instead.

 

 

 

 

The temperature had started to drop already on our way home and now it’s down to -13,4 C (8F), fog has slowly placed itself just above the ground and the sky is clear, it will be a cold night! Tomorrow I’ll leave my car at the garage so they can fix the abs breaks and take a look at the rest of the car before I have to go to the vehicle inspection next week.

 

 

 

 

 

I have a fire in the stove and it will burn for a long time this night. I’ll make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches as well. Tonight they show the Guldbagge gala (that would be something like The golden beetle gala) Our Oscars so to speak, I think I’ll look at it for a while anyway.

Have a great day!

 

18 thoughts on “The vet will feel pain tomorrow.

  1. I’ve been at a Vet when all hell broke loose. I know how you feel. You wonder what’s going on behind the closed door. I don’t like waiting at the Vets, not with two cats. The dogs waiting always break free from their owners to sniff out the cat carrier. Some are too big in size for me to knee them away but it always embarrasses the dog owner. Pretty photos today and of course, I love abandon railroad tracks. The bridges in most parts are rusted and starting to drop metal into the rivers and streams. One in St Joe Michigan is like that and I took a roll of film back then realizing some county commissioner would have it removed based on enironmental standards. Good luck with your car inspection. We don’t have them here in Florida.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I found it quite interesting actually🙂 But I did get a bit worried that the vet had been injured. I have to say that most of the time dogs stay close to their owners at this vet station, there’s rarely any problems like the ones You describe.

      This old bridge was renovated just a couple of years ago and is said to be one of two of this kind in Sweden. I have been sitting on that bridge fishing amny times and i love it🙂

      We have this car inspection every year. I hate it but I think it is good we have them!🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Otroligt vackra bilder, men herregud vad kallt ni har!

    Det var ganska billigt hos vetten tycker jag – och vad skönt att det inte var Orvar som ställde till med nått. Det är aldrig roligt, för det betyder ju att dom upplever något obehagligt eller görs illa!

    Jag råkade ut för en obehaglig incident med vår tax Brasse som normalt var världen snällaste. Han hade öroninfektion och vetten började gräva – hårt – med topz i örat. Brasse gnällde och till slut vände han på huvudet och nafsade efter händerna (enda gången i hans liv han gjorde något liknande), utan att lyckas eftersom jag nästan låg på honom.
    Vetten tog då en gasbinda(!) som han knöt hårt runt käken på honom. Den blev naturligtvis som en smal tråd som förmodligen gjorde jätteont – och jag mitt dumma fån var så upphetsad att jag inte fattade att jag skulle tagit hunden därifrån direkt. Efter det var han livrädd för veterinärer!

    Santos sejour kostade 1285:- och då var veterinärkostnaden 910.00 + moms, men det tog ju över en timma med tandsten och kloklippning. Sen tillkom sprutan han fick och antibiotikan han sköljdes med. Pengarna går tydligen direkt till Jordbruksverket, det var Länsveterinärerna vi var till, hur mycket dom får sen har jag inte en aning om. Men dom kanske har fast lön!?

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det är så otroligt vackert där vid badplatsen, men det är ännu vackrare lite längre bort. Tyvärr är det svårt att ställa bilen i närheten så att man kan gå ut och fotografera.

      Veterinären var ju inte arg på hunden, som han sade han hade ju blivit varnad. Stackars Brasse, kan förstå att han inte ville gå till veterinären efter det. Tack och lov har ingen av mina hundar råkat ut för något obehagligt hos våran veterinär och att de verkar finna sig i vad som helst när de är där🙂🙂

      Jag tror att de veterinärerna har en fast lön från joirdbruksverket. Men det är ju ändå så att det du betalar skall gå till alla kostnader och löner och då inte bara den till veterinären utan alla andra anställda dessutom.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i make my husband take teddy to the vet. i get too nervous plus i think she might try to protect me from other dogs and that would not be good. i wish they could just scrape teddy’s eyes and tell me what is wrong. i noticed another area today. our weather is crazy. yesterday we had snow, this morning it poured rain and now it is sunny and 60 degrees. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes better that he takes her than You if You get nervous. Teddy feels that and would protect You and Chows don’t give up easy🙂

      Yes why don’t they do that? It’s never good if one find new places or if that area grows.

      It is even colder here now, almost 5F. Winter has come to stay!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Stackars vovve:( han hade ju faktiskt varnat:)) Hoppas nu att Orvar blir av med svampen och att allt återgår till det normala, även om räkningen inte blev så hög idag är blir det ju mycket om du ska dit var och varannan vecka. Har suttit och njutit av dina bilder Christer, helt sagolikt vackra är de ALLIHOP:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja inte var han arg på hunden inte🙂 Trots att han blir biten titt som tätt så har han absolut ingen rädsla för hundar. Fast han frågade en gång om Nova var farlig🙂 Hon är inte ens hälften så stor som schäfern är, men hon är en pitbull🙂🙂🙂

      Fast på något sätt känns det inte lika farligt om man är där flera gånger och betalar mindre än om man är där en gång och betalar massor🙂🙂🙂

      Det är så otroligt vackert där vid Tråvads badplats, en av mina favoritställen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. oh wow, what a trip to the vet! Ouch, for sure. I’m glad they found out what the answer is for Ovar, hopefully it will be gone soon.
    Phoots are lovely today,

    • Hi Laurie!
      It was kind of interesting sitting there in the next room listening to what happened🙂 AND very happy that none of my dogs behaves like that🙂🙂🙂

      We will know in three weeks if this helps or not, but this vet usually is right🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful photos. Especially the water ones.

    Interesting trip to the vet you had. Good to know that Orvar has been diagnosed and the condition will clear up with medication.
    In my vet’s office the owner is not allowed to hold the animal while they are treating it. I guess they know that owners will not be as effective as a technician when the animal gets defensive about its parts. Most owners I know would let go and back away. Also, I think the vet may be worried about litigation. One good thing about having to handle horses for the vet is that you learn to hang on during a crisis.

    It was cloudy and comparatively warm today. I saw American robins! Whole bunches of them and they were singing. They weren’t singing a mating song but still, they were singing. First skunk cabbage and now Robins and I just saw on Facebook that it is only 3 months until my absolute favorite ice cream place opens for the season. Spring is coming! Hang in there.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I can never get enough of water, I prefere the ocean but any water will do🙂

      I think they always let the owner hold their dogs at this place, at least have I always been asked to hold my dogs. They never have to worry about ligitation here, a private person almost always loose towards a business even if he wins🙂🙂🙂 If a private person would win the money they get is so small that it isn’t worth the trouble.
      I must admit that I never would hold a horse during a vet examination🙂🙂🙂

      Rather cold here during the day and it will continue like that for quite som time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Good news about Orvar. Not good news about the poor vet, but I guess a bite on the “thigh” could be worse than it actually was. LOL I’ve been to the vets office with our dogs and cats (back when we had cats), and also the avian vet with our parrots, but luckily, I’ve never witnessed (or heard) any particular ruckas. Just lucky I guess.
    Loved the pictures – I love the angle of the sun on some of them; also enjoy pictures of fog and mist. I am not a lover of hot weather. All my ancestors came from England, Ireland and Germany. Now my husband loves summer, but all his ancestors came from Sicily, with just one German great grandpa. Our winter here in Ohio USA has been incredibly mild. Today the high was 58. Hope this winter is just an abberation for us; I’d hate to never have snow………..

    • Hi Autumnrose!
      It’s always nice when one knows what’s wrong so now we have to do the same procedure twice every day.

      The staff suggested he should buy a jockstrap since this was the second time this week a dog had bitten him, the first time was on the other thigh🙂 They said thet next time he might not be so lucky🙂🙂🙂
      None of my dogs has ever done anything like that and this was the first time I’ve experienced anything like this.

      We swedes worship sun and warm weather, not even the summer usually gets especially hot here🙂 I don’t mind cold weather though, I just don’t like snow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. well, you know that I work at a vet’s office and I could tell you many crazy stories! We have several vets but the older one who owns the place moves pretty fast! LOL!
    They don’t like the owner to hold pets either. But I remember one time when one of the techs was holding a “calm” boxer and everything as fine. Then after it was all over and she loosened her grip, the dog turned and bit her in the lip!
    Of course I always hold mine and refuse to let others handle them. But then again, I do know what I’m doing.
    EXCEPT for the time that they used Blue to give a transfusion. He was drugged and they had a hard time getting the vein, I had to leave the room. But I only left because he was knocked out, if he was awake, I would have made myself stay no matter how upsetting it was for me, so that I could calm him.
    There have been some frightened dogs that have come in for procedures and their owners had left and the techs have come back to get me because the dog was one of my boarders. I know them and they know me so I can usually “talk” them through it.
    Anyway….love ALL the photos. My fav is the one after the abandoned bridge and my 2nd fav is the abandoned bridge.😀 – Cindi
    glad Orvar has something treatable.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes I’m pretty sure You could entertain us for many days with stories from Your job🙂🙂🙂

      They always ask me if I can hold my dogs when I’m there and holding is necessary but I think those working there has to step in many times just because owners belives they will hurt the animal when holding firmly. I have no such problems🙂🙂🙂

      I understand why they get You when they have frightened dogs, You know them and knows how they likely will react. It’s easier both for the dog and the techs.

      My favorite of these is the first one, I love all those colors🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. I guess that vets get used to having an occasional nip from one of their clients! Just one of the hazards of the trade, I suppose.

    I love all the pictures, but then I usually do. You have a real talent!

    • Hi Jim!
      Yes they must expect a bit or two every now and again🙂

      Thank You, I do like to bring my camera where ever I go🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

