The year of the Dragon.

I did manage to get a couple very dark photographs on our walk today🙂

 

On January 23d we’re entering the year of the Dragon according to the Chinese calendar. A person that is born in a year of the dragon will be successful in business, will be gratified, rich and famous. Unfortunately for us born in the year of the Dragon this only happens to people born on special dates and I was apparently not born on one of those🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

Well I was sort of well known in horticultural circuits for a while, but I wouldn’t say I was famous and gardeners are never rich, we don’t seem to have that economical part of the brain totally developed🙂🙂🙂 So I was certainly not successful in business🙂🙂🙂 But I did have fun and that’s not bad at all🙂

 

 

 

 

For those of You that doesn’t know what I’m talking about here is the story: According to Buddhist tradition Buddha summoned all animals on the earth to get a chance to meet them before he died. Only twelve came and these were: The rat, Ox, Tiger, Hare, Dragon, Snake,  Horse, goat, Ape, Rooster, Dog and Pig and to honor these animals Buddha named the years after them.

 

 

 

We were walking by a creek when Orvar suddenly sank down several inches in to the ground. Water had made these strange looking ice chrystals that broke very easily. I've never seen anything like it before and it reminded me of Supermans home up in the arctic🙂

 

Each Year has the carachteristis´ks of the animals as well, for instance those born in the year of the rat are smart, curious and charming. In China they also include the five elements in this and these are Metal, Fire, water, earth and wind and these are placed on every animal and after 60 years every animal has been together with all these elements. I’m for instance a wood dragon, a down to earth person according to this.

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately dragons doesn’t seem to have lots of energy and this dragon is rather tired right now🙂 It is time to make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches. After that I think I’ll watch a movie, there’s nothing special on tv. Or I might just go to bed🙂 Winter seems to have come now and tomorrow evening we might get up to 15cm (6 inches) of snow.

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “The year of the Dragon.

  1. hi christer! those ice crystals do look like superman’s home. i love the bertil photo. he looks like he has a blue streak down his back. we are getting a storm tonight but it might just be ice. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes they do🙂🙂 That was my first thought when I saw it🙂🙂🙂

      We almost never have ice storms here thankfully but they usually looks cool on photographs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Nice shot of the recumbent crow. It’s good to see him still there in the lilacs.🙂

    I didn’t know about the elements being added into the animal year as well. I was born in the year of the ox but I don’t know what element ox.

    The muddy spots in my back yard freeze like that area that Orvar fell into. I think it is something like what we call frost heaves except that there are big spaces between the clumps of dirt so the water can form big crystals instead of pushing up the asphalt in a lump. Poor Orvar, though, falling into solid ground.

    Sunny and cold here today. It snowed last night and is supposed to snow tomorrow as well. I hope not. I have to go into the city and parking there during snow is a real pain.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Well since the crow is dead he won’t mobve🙂🙂🙂 I’ve decided to keep the lights till late february, i like it more than I could have imagined🙂

      I learned about the elements last year and You can find out what kind of ox You are on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_zodiac. I realised that I’m a Yin Wood dragon. But then we all have a month animal and! an hour animal🙂 So I’m really a Wood Yin dragon, metal rooster dragon🙂🙂🙂 Very complicated indeed🙂

      Orvar got so surprised when he just sank down and then all the others including Bertil had to walk there too🙂🙂🙂 I’ve never thought of it being frost heaves but of course Yoy’re right! This is how it actually looks!

      I know what You mean by parking in a town full of snow, not fun at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer, where can you find out which element you are with the animal of your birth year? I think Wood Dragon sounds awesome! Beautiful ice crystals, interesting how they formed. Very cold here, we will probably get 3 inches of snow tonight.The wind makes a trip outdoors anywhere very painful! Grimm comes on here tonight.

    • Hi Robin!
      I found it on Wikipedia, here’s a link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_zodiac
      But can a wood dragon use the fire without burning up🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve never seen ice chrystals looking like this before and I think they are beautiful in an odd way🙂 Looks like real chrystal.

      It looks like we all will get winter at the same time🙂 thankfully we have no wind at all right now🙂

      How far has You come on Grimm? I think we’ve seen the first nine episodes here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      It will arrive already tonight. I do wish Yoiu could have kept it instead of sending it here🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Var naturligtvis tvungen att kolla vad vi båda var födda i för år och gubben min var naturligtvis född i Drakens år. Själv var jag född i Tuppens, vilket kanske inte var så dumt det heller. Det var faktiskt en hel del som stämde med mig när jag läste igenom det – men det brukar det ju göra när man kollar vanliga horoskop också. Dom skrivs ju så att alla ska hittas något som stämmer!
    Tjusig is och tjusiga bilder, som vanligt!
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Det finns mycket positiva saker med alla år oavsett vilket man är född i. Sedan kunde man ju gå in i det mera i detalj och då var jag en Yin trädrake, metall tupp drake🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. More like you were born in the year of the Bear. Time to hibernate. My two little feral kittens have now joined the breakfast club so I put the kitten tree back out near one of the posts holding up the front porch. It took them seconds to find it. Play, Play, Play and more play. They got tired and slept together in the barrel which makes for a nice place to hide. I love watching them.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I would have liked to be born in the year of the bear if it actually included hibernation🙂🙂🙂

      I can understand how fantastic it must be to watch Your feral cats🙂 Most feral cats dies here during winter if they can’t find some kind of warm place to hide and get something to eat. In this village they get adopted by the farmers that rather have cats than use poison to kill rats and mice🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi again Christer, thanks for the website about the chinese new year animals. I have discovered that I am Black Water Dragon, but my husband is Brown Earth Pig. LoL! I am not sure how many Grimm episodes we have had; tonight’s was about the Mouse and Snake Man; and people spying on the cop and his wife; also Monroe got beat up? Hope you have seen this one, and I didn’t just spoil the episode for you.

    • 🙂 No they haven’t shown that one here yet but You haven’t spoiled anything🙂 I will have forgotten this until they show it here. They are not allowed to show the episodes to close to when they are shown in the US, like when it comes to Eureka we are about a month to six weeks behind You.Our latest episode was called “Fee fi fo fum I smell blood of an englishman”

  7. Hmm..I quickly looked myself up. I’m a Rooster?!?! Yin Fire?
    I didn’t read much more but I would have guessed that I would be more of a Dog and Water or maybe Wind😀😀😀

    I’m not surprised that there’s no Cat. The cat probably couldn’t be bothered.🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Unfortunately we can’t chose ourselves what we are🙂🙂 But I’m quite happy about being a dragon even if dog probably would have been more right🙂🙂

      The cat probably was to lazy to go to Buddha🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. How do you know that it’s not Superman’s home? Maybe he’s a lot smaller than we thought! Bertil does look as though he has a blue streak down his back. unfortunately, Christer, I think that happens with all of us when we check our astrological signs or in what Chinese year we are born. There always seems to be a caveat that means the good news doesn’t apply to us.🙂🙂 Maybe, if we read the books standing on our head and twirling a baton at the same time, we will fulfill the needed requirements to enjoy the benefits? We are still waiting for our snowstorm which may never come, but at least I can enjoy your pictures. Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      He might actually be a leprechaun🙂🙂🙂 But I’ve seen these kinds of chrystals in many plcaes now so it is a huge home he has🙂🙂🙂

      No these good things always comes to friends born in the same year but better dates🙂🙂 Well I have a good life so I won’t complain anyway🙂 But I doubt good things will happen if I tried that🙂 I’m sure the baton would hit me and then I would fall and break something🙂🙂🙂

      We had our snowstorm and now its getting really cold here, at least for a couple of days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

