Master Orvar.

 

It turned out that Orvar has no problems with his thyroid at all, so we’re going back to the vet on Monday again. The “old” vet thinks he might have demodectic mange, coming from a mite almost all dogs have but suddenly some dogs react to it. But that’s just a guess from him because this normally happens to dogs from 3 months old to 18 months old (Orvar is 8 years old). It is treatable but takes a long time to get rid of. Well as long as we find out what this is and that it’s treatable it may take the time it takes.

 

 

 

 

 

But the vitamines he got has helped and he’s much happier again , even if he still is a bit grumpy than usual. At the moment he sleeps by my feet snoring loudly🙂🙂🙂 But otherwise he just like normal the big bear🙂 Has a healthy appetite, no stomach problems and always first when we’re going out. He just drops the fur in big spots. The vet asked what kind of breed he is ans when I told him all six certain ones and the possible seventh he just said: That’s a lot🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

Master Orvar in front of the Portal.

 

 

I haven’t worked at my ordinary job since longe before christmas but this week I’ve been back and I have to say it was a bit difficult to remember all things I normally do🙂🙂 and in what order I must do them to work as fast as I need to🙂🙂 They have been laughing rather much at work when I have complicated things a bit too much🙂🙂 When they do I just say that my other work friends (in the neighboring factory) are always kind to me and gives me cookies🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Tonight they show Grimm at channel six so I better get going so I don’t miss it. There’s so little I like to watch on tv so when they actually show something I like I really don’t want to miss it🙂

 

 

 

 

This photograph of Orvar (sitting) and Hector (lying) was taken last February.

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Master Orvar.

  1. I was about to say he looks ok to me but that photo is a year old. Poor Orvar. Mange on cats is just as bad and it takes a long time to cure. Another reason we keep our two indoors. Fleas here in Florida are another huge reason. Lovely photos today Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      This kind of mites lives on almost all dogs already but some dogs sort of gets allergic to them. The vet will take skin samples on Monday to see if he can find something. Mange is terrible, the one that dogs can get, that I call fox scabies, is rather easy treatable now days, they getv two shots with ten days in between and it’s gone.
      It was much worse back in the days when it almost was impssible to get. Fleas are rare up here in the north thankfully and so is mange that goes on cats, they sometimes gets mange in the ears but that is also rather easy to getv rid of thankfully.
      Sometimes this climate isn’t that bad after all because it keeps lots of those things away🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. that last photo of Ovar and Hector is stunning, what handsome dogs. If you start to loose your hair you had better take ovars medicine, you never know.OK, I’m just kidding, beautiful photos,, thankyou for sharing, i’m again in blizzard conditions but its somewhat calming, I have to admitt I love it, as long as I have no where to go!

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes they are handome🙂
      At leat I know what I got if my hair starts to fall🙂🙂🙂

      There’s one good thing with a blizzard, It’s is impossible to do anything but just stay at home and relax and one might as well enjoy it🙂🙂🙂 I never drive anywhere when a blizzard hits, not even to work. I think they prefer me staying at home and come when it is possible rather than me dying or injure myself so I can’t come to work at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. When my animals had problems, I would wipe them down with a wash of Lysol and water. Just a capful to 1 quart of water and it would clear it up within a week, or so. Don’t know if you have anything like that, over there, but it’s worth looking into. Poor Orvar. Know he’s looking forward to not having the problem. I love Grimm, too, and can’t stand to miss an episode. Very high tech for TV. Come visit when you can. I’ve changed my comments section back to Blogger and they now let you make individual replies to specific comments. Very cool.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I don’t think we have Lysol but I read what it was and we have similar products but tghey just don’t work this time. Since it is around his eyes I’m a bit careful putting anything there that might get into them.

      I do like Grimm🙂 but it’s the sidekick the Blutbaden (is that the same thing as werewolf?) that is funny🙂🙂

      I’ll pop over to You after Grimm🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i hope you find out what is wrong with orvar. i just found another area by teddy’s eye that has a rash. we never had this problem until they did the operations but they keep telling me it has nothing to do with the surgery…go figure! i would just like to get her healthy once and for all! we have 2 inches of snow on the way…our biggest snow of the winter! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      The “old” vet (well I doubt he’s older than I but he’s the old vet at that station🙂 ) usually just takles a look att skin problems and solves it right there and then🙂 He’s a fantastic vet! It would be nice to start any treatment soon though.

      Strange thing with Teddy’s eyes too! She might have caught something during surgery I guess. Since she didn’t have it before she must have gotten it at the vets’s, no doubt about that! I hope You too quickly can find out what it is!

      We might get up to 16cm (a bit more that 6 inches of snow this weekend! I do hope it will be less🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja jag hoppas att “gamle” (som antagligen inte är äldre än mig🙂🙂 ) kan komma på vad det är. Det smittar ju inte till de andra så det kan ju vara någon form av allergi? Men i övrigt mår han ju bra tack och lov. Det var just i denna åldern hans far dog i en mycket ovanlig form av cancer, så det var ju naturligtvis min första tanke🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hello from Oregon! My street is currently flooding so I’m sitting inside warm and toasty watching the water go by and hoping it doesn’t get any higher! Good photos as usual. Hope you are having a great year so far and the 2012 brings good things your way.

    • Hi Terria!
      Doesn’t sound good at all! I do hope it doesn’t get any higher!! It is finally getting a bit cold here and we might get up to 6 inches of snow this weekend but I’m hoping they are wrong like they usually are🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day and continuing of this year🙂
      Christer.

  6. Så trist att han kanske har någon typ av skabb.😦 Hoppas vetten hittar några spår av skabben!
    Vår tax fick rävskabb, men eftersom vi sett att det sprungit en skabbig räv över tomten på landet och Brasse sen gick i spåret direkt så var vi extremt uppmärksam på om han skulle börja klia sig. När han gjorde det efter nån vecka-14 dagar och vi hittade lite kalt längst ut på öronsnibbarna så tog jag honom till vetten direkt.
    Vetten tyckte det var jättetydligt att han var angripen, men det syntes inte på skrapproven eftersom det var i ett så otroligt tidigt skede. Trots det fick vi börja med att bada honom och efter 5 veckor var skabben borta. Men det var en jobbigt period…speciellt för mina föräldrar som fick ha hand om honom dom veckor vi var på semester i England. *fniss*
    Men det som var bra var att han inte var hemma på ett tag annars hade vi varit tvungna att sanera hela huset (det var modernt med heltäckningsmattor då).

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Engelskan har egentligen inget bra ord för kvalster, skabb heter ju detsamma mer eller mindre. Så det kan vara så att Orvars immunförsvar inte klarar av ett kvalster som nästan i stort sett alla hundar har. Det finns behandling för det men det tar väldigt lång tid innan man klarat av skiten.

      Rävskabb förr var ju en plåga! Som du skriver, då badade man ju dem i en sörja och så var man tvungen att sanera hemmet. Numera är det ju två sprutor som ges med tio dagars mellanrum och så är det över🙂 Jag hade tre hundar som fick det men en av dem var immun mot kliandet! Hon kände inte att hon hade rävskabb och hade kunnat leva hela livet med det utan att bli dålig. Så var det inte med de andra dock🙂 Det syntes inte hos dem heller eftersom jag, precis som ni, visste att det fanns risk. “Gamle” veterinären bara kollade lite på öronen så visste han direkt vad det var🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Very lovely dogs. So dignified looking….. Interesting about the thyroid, and that test is pretty straightforward. You can trust the results on it. I’ll be interested to hear how this progresses. And of course, lovely pictures.

    • Hi autumnrose!
      They are dignified now in the autumn of their lives🙂🙂

      I do trust that result but I have no guess of my own to what it can be. I’ll tell You all as soon as we know what it is🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer,
    I knew you’d be a Grimm fan! I’m watching it right now. Tomorrow is disaster day on scifi and we’re expecting snow. They sound exactly right together!

    In the morning I’ll pick up a few tasty treats to get me through the storm. I’m thinking something in the chocolate family.

    • Hi Kat!
      I do like Grimm🙂 and especially the sidekick Monroe🙂 The main carachter whos name I tend to forget is a bit boring to be honest but it is always fun looking on Monroe in action🙂🙂🙂

      Yes snow and disaster dat scifi is a perfect match and naturally something with chocolate would be perfect to go through them both🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. I’m not sure but I think that one of the vets at work(the young nerdy one) usually recommends a “dip” which consists of bathing down the dogs and pouring this strong solution over the dog (guarding the eyes) and then letting it air-dry. This would be done weekly? I think.
    I myself, wouldn’t do this to any of my dogs. I believe that some of the topical treatments work just as well (like Revolution).
    I hope your big guy is better very soon!🙂
    love that last photo!

    I had Grimm on last night but ended up getting distracted and missing most! I’m so MAD!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      We’ll see what the vet says but it does look as if the shedding has stopped and thyt new fur actually grows around his eyes again.

      I make sure there’s no distraction when they show either Grimm or Eureka🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

