Miss Nova.

I talked with a friend that it was hard to find gloves or mittens where I could get one finger free so I could take photographs with my camera. Today I found these in the mailbox 🙂 It is both mittens and gloves at the same time! Perfect! I also got a bag with dried funnel chantrelles 🙂 One of the best mushrooms there is 🙂

 

It is a fantastic evening, a bit cloudy but absolutely no wind at all and just above 0C (32F). I just stood outside in a sweater and didn’t freeze at all 🙂 This is the kind of winter I like 🙂 especially since we have no snow and if I should belive the predictions, wich by the way is hard since they keep changing it every hour :-), we won’t get any these coming days.

 

 

It's hard to see what this photograph shows but it is an old sandbox for children gone since long. Now the old lady living there has placed lots of concrete figures, like lions and cats around it 🙂 I'll try to take a better photograph of it next time.

 

 

Mona said in a comment to yesterdays post that I haven’t mentioned anything about Nova and learning her how to walk without a leash and that’s true. There’s nothing much to say really 🙂 I work much with trial and error sort off 🙂 When she does as I tell her she get lots of praise and if she doesn’t I don’t say anything at all most of the times, I actually ignore her and then she’ll get it right next time instead. There’s nothing worse for a dog than to be ignored. I rarely raise my voice in anger but those times she suddenly gets deaf I do and I have a very strong voice that is hard to ignore 🙂 🙂 🙂 Several years of singing in choirs has helped me with that 🙂 🙂 🙂 Treats isn’t that common either to be honest, they’ll get that when we come home instead.

 

 

 

 

Nova has calmed down considerable since she came here. She was a bit aggressive and very jealous in the beginning 🙂 She did attack Orvar twice but he’s so big that he just bit her twice and then she never tried that again 🙂 🙂 🙂 Hector is her buddy even if Hector probably would have wanted otherwise 🙂 🙂 He is after all 8,5 years old and she’s only two and has so much more energy 🙂  She could be furious if anyone caught a toy before her in the beginning but now she allows the two boys to do so, at least a couple of times before she gets annoyed 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

There once stood a little cottage where the Portal is now. On one side of the road they had a cottage and on the other a small barn. The only thing that reminds of that now are the foundation stones.

 

 

 

She also decided that only she was allowed to sleep beside me in the beginning but both I and the boys has teached her that it isn’t allowed to behave that way. So now if someone gets up in the bed before her she just finds another spot in the bed. Sometimes she even allows the others to change place with her 🙂 She really wants to do the right thing in the right way and I’ve read that it is typical for pitbulls to be that way. She’s also protective when it comes to her family, if she feels there’s something strange or dangerous she is the one standing in the front to keep away the bad that might come. She really doesn’t care much about anyone or anything outside the family (and that includes the cats 🙂 ).

 

 

 

 

So I have to say that this has worked out much better than I had hoped. She came in a time when I really didn’t want a new dog and she was half pitbull wich I really didn’t want 🙂 but the more I read and learn about pitbulls I understand that they really are very nice and clever dogs. It’s never the dogs fault that their owners just don’t know what they are doing when getting a dog like this. Anyone that wants a tough and sharp dog like this is the one that really shouldn’t get one. They should get a medium poodle instead, a dog they can handle.

 

Miss Nova. She's been with us a whole year the 28th this month. Time just flies away!

Have a great day!

30 thoughts on “Miss Nova.

  1. Vilket jättefint foto på Nova! Härligt att höra om hennes “inskolning” i “flocken” för att använda Cesar Milans termer:) Ni hade en verklig tur både hon och du som fann varandra:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Jo vi har haft tur, framförallt att jag gick emot min egen övertygelse om att hämta hem henne när jag inte hade semester. Jag var orolig att det skulle bli problem i hundgården när jag inte var hemma. Men det visade sig att hon ligger inne och sover hela dagarna 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! wow..it has been almost a year. she sure has changed. in that bottom photo you can really see the pit bull in her. i am sure you will love having those gloves.. our weather has been so similar to yours this year. we must have some of the same jet streams. everything is being held up north and not coming down this far. now too we are going to warm up and next weekend will be in the 50’s! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Time just flies! Already one year and it’s hard to belive that 🙂

      Her head reveals her back ground 🙂

      Those mittens will be perfect to wear on chilly mornings. The camera doesn’t want to take any photographs for me when my fingers are cold 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Yes we must share the same jet streams! But You’ll get it a bit warmer than us, we’ll stay around 32- 35 these coming days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I agree with you which is why we got a Beagle for the kids. We had her 17 years and her best treat was dog ice cream we bought at the store. Her entire personality changed when she knew she was getting ice cream. The kids would call to her and say “Icy Treat?” and she’d go mad. Once we gave it to her she would bark while eating it keeping everyone around away from the bowl which was hysterical to watch. She loved her little dish of ice cream. I swore we’d never have another dog again because we were forced to put her down when her kidneys were failing. There was a lot of pain associated with this digression. We couldn’t stand to see her that way. But we also couldn’t go through it again. I’m glad you are happy with your dog family. It takes someone special to care for those larger dogs. You love them just the same. Nova’s changes are remarkable.

    • Hi Z&M!
      17 years! That’s fantastic! I think it must be even worse to say good buy when having a dog that long. I think the reason I always have more than one dog is that I would reson the way You do. Now I always have one left when I have to say good buy to the old one. I do worry a bit now when the two brothers are getting older, I doubt the other one will stay for long when the first one is gone.

      But I have never heard of Dog ice cream. It sounds hilarious the way she behaved 🙂 🙂 🙂 I must see if I can find it here, perhaps soy ice cream works for dogs? Must check that!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,

    Miss Nova has grown into a lovely and elegant lady.

    How nice for someone to send you dried mushrooms and hunter’s mitts. I keep meaning to knit myself a pair of hunter’s mitts but somehow I never get around to it.

    I was out in my back swamp today. I can get out there when it’s frozen solid. There is a pond growing back there. It’s been a dry fall and winter so there shouldn’t be any surface water in that part of the swamp but there’s a lot now and I have no idea where it came from. It will be interesting to see how this develops when the spring rains come.
    Oh, and the skunk cabbage is up. Yay Spring. 😀

    Sunny here, warmer than yesterday but still pretty cold. It’s supposed to get a bit warmer as the week goes on but then it will rain/snow.

    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      She truly has 🙂 But I’m sure we’ll do misstakes every now and again 🙂

      I was so surprised when I opened that mail 🙂 I haven’t found any here where I live and then she had a couple that her husband was supposed to have a couple of years ago. He doesn’t hunt but was thinking about joining them anyway every now and again. But that never happened and they had forgotten about these until I talked about needing gloves like this 🙂 🙂 and the mushrooms will be great to have in sauces or just together with some nice meat 🙂 🙂

      Perhaps it’s ground water filling that pond? We have a couple of places here where the ground water comes up to the surface. I have a spot just outside my garden wher a plant that needs wet soil to survive lives 🙂 It looks a bit strange since I know it’s mostly sand all around it 🙂 🙂 So the skunk cabbage is up already! We have it here too now. Someone had skunk cabbage in a pond where water came in and out via a river just beside it 🙂 🙂 It is beautiful but the smell … 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • There is a brook at the north edge of my property but there is a raised road between me and it so my property no longer drains into the brook. There is also a drainage ditch on the east boundary but that is working fine. This new water showed up where the old tamarack (like a larch) tree was. The tree blew over one winter. Maybe the ground has settled around the old root hole and water is collecting in there. The ground water was always very close to the surface down there so it wouldn’t take much to raise it. I hope it doesn’t come too far up towards the house or kill too many of the swamp maples that screen me from the neighbors on the next road. I’d have to put up curtains in the back windows. Horrors!

        I think skunk cabbage is cool. Did you know that it blooms in the very early spring when it’s still very cold? The plant somehow manages to raise the temperature inside the flower hood so that it is significantly warmer than the outside air. The insects that pollinate it can warm up while they are doing their job. More like a skunk than a cabbage, really. 🙂

      • I guess it’s a combination of ground water and the ground settling after that tree. Lets hope it stays where it is and that those maples will be ok 🙂

        I have heard it blooms early but not that early and even if I like it I am glad we don’t have it here. Just another place where my dogs would go to see what’s smelling 🙂 🙂 🙂
        Christer.

  5. Det äe aå härligt att läsa hur bra allt har gott med Nova! Hon är nu en väldigt trevlig medlem i din flock och hon verkar veta vem som bestämmer utan att du ska behöva ta till stora artilleriet, vilket måste kännas skönt. Sen är hon ju väldigt vacker också och även om det är av underordnad betydlse så gör det ju inget! Man får gratulera till året som gått!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja det har gått riktigt bvra trots att jag gick emot min egen övertygelse. Hon är väldigt lyhörd för vad jag tycker men visst kommer det att bli fel till och från 🙂
      Det har ju gått väldigt bra för er och Santos också 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Glömde att berätta att jag INTE får någon operation, skälet var att jag inte fått någon operationstid från Karolinska. Så dagen har inte varit så kul, speciellt med tanke på att jag fick beskedet om att jag “står kvar på listan”, Men när dom inte vet varken var eller när eller ens OM operationerna ska tillåtas igen. Ja, ja – snacka om jobbiga politiker! Nu har man gått här och planerat i över ett halvår och trodde att det var dags vilken dag som helst…….:-( 😦 😦

    • Men varför har de stoppat dessa operationerna? De vet ju att det inte är något man gör om man verkligen inte behöver det! Vi får hoppas att de snart börjar med det igen så att du äntligen får göra den!
      Jag håller tummarna!
      Christer.

  7. A beautiful photo of Nova, she looks like she is posing for the Westminster Kennel Club! She truly has grown up.You should be very proud and pleased!

    • Hi Robin!
      She was looking after hares and the wind was so strong her ears stood right up that day 🙂 🙂

      I’m very proud and pleased 🙂

      Have a great day!

  8. Hard to believe it has been a year. She is very lucky you found her & brought her into your life. It is nice to be having a mild winter here too.
    Barb

    • Hi Barb!
      Time has passed so quickley! and we are lucky to have found each other 🙂

      I won’t complain if we’ll have this warm weather all winter through 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. she is a beauty for sure and has found the best home.beautiful photos, I still can’t beleive the forest floor is bare of snow, we are to get a big storm later this week, lets see if they are right this time, thankyou for sharing the lovely photos, and those gloves/ mitts are great idea!

    • Hi Laurie!
      She is a beauty 🙂

      It isn’t that unusual to have winters with very little snow here, but it is very unusual to have it this warm. I do hope we won’t get any more storms now 🙂

      Those mitten/gloves is called hunters gloves and I tried them on today and they are just perfect!
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. I didn’t know that Nova was part pit bull but yes, you can really see it her photo now! She looks so proud and intelligent and look at the way she is standing! Just like she is posing for a show! :}
    Nice gloves too…Did someone send them to you? And they look warm!

    Think Spring!
    Chris

    • Hi Chris!
      Official she’s half Staffordshire bull terrier, the name pitbull tends to scare the s..t out of people 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Those gloves are perfect! I had them on today and for once I didn’t get cold fingers 🙂 A friend did send them to me 🙂

      I always think spring 🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. Wow, a year? How did that happen? It was yesterday that you took her to work after she was fixed! Wasn’t it?
    Wow, every year just goes faster. As you know, I know a lot of wonderful pitbulls. I boarded one last week that was scared to pass by the kennel of smaller dogs. He was such a baby about it, running down low and fast to get by the barking. Finally he realized they were just “greeting” him. He was so playful but kinda intimidating when he ran full force towards me. He was just happy to be running around in the big enclosed play area. I will never own one though because some of my little “Diva’s” might jump at it (like Button did Blue) and that would be the end of THAT fight. Nope, Pits don’t always know their own strength in their jaws.
    I kinda understand what you mean about “training” Nova. That’s how I trained Blue except I gestured instead of talking. Somedays I hardly talk at all when I’m home. I guess that goes to show that you don’t have to scream and yell to get a dog to listen to you! 😀
    We had warm weather last week, then snow. Then cold and today sort of warm again and tonight freezing rain and then the weekend in the 40″s again?
    Sigh….hurry up Spring!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      This year has passed so fast 🙂 and it does feel like it was yesterday I brought her to work after that surgery 🙂

      Yes who says one has to be brave just because one looks dangerous 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I’ve realized pitbulls has tons of patiens 🙂

      Tough guys are the last people that should have dogs like this 🙂 🙂 They should have a dog that is easy to handle and train with :-)I do actually gesture a lot too, one never knows when the old dog gets deaf wich my dogs usually does. Old Erna didn’t hear a thing the last year abd to be honest, she didn’t see much either 🙂 But she could figure out the signs I made with my hands 🙂

      Cold and fog here today, not a good combination!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  12. Hi Christer, Nova seems to have learned quickly and that year has really gone by so fast. Hope that Orvar is feeling better with the vitamins he’s getting. Those gloves really should come in handy when you are out taking photos in cold weather, myself, I just stay indoors.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      She is a quick learner. We couldn’t practice anything during summer and some time in to autumn. But now things works just fine 🙂

      Orvar is a bit happier after those vitamines but he’s still loosing fur. I’ll call the vetr already on Thursday to hear if there’s any answer to that blood they took.

      Those gloves are perfect 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  13. It’s sort of funny because I accidently (one of bloggers many pathways) came across an old post of yours that you did when Nova arrived. She has turned into a most beautiful and healthy looking dog! I had to laugh at your remark about people who WANT a dog like Nova not usually being the ones that should have them. Interesting and probably very true!
    I’m with Joyce..WHERE has the time gone???
    I wish Winter would arrive here. It’s been way too warm. Not even any snow in the mountains yet.
    Take care, Christer!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Timy just flies by 🙂
      Yes tough guys are the last ones that should have a dog like this 🙂 They usually doesn’t bother to learn how they should treat a dog like this and when the problems start they can’t handle it. Usually they think that they have to be mean to the dog to be able to handle it when in fact one must be just the opposite!

      It seems to be warm almost everywhere now, exept for northern Canada and Alaska. I won’t mind if it gets a bit cold as long as we don’t get any snow 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  14. You are now a full pack, in her way of thinking — and, look how beautiful she is in that last photo! It’s true, all your dogs want to do is learn the rules of the pack and then they will protect you with their lives. Great photos, today! I have returned to Blogger comments on my blog, now, because they let me reply to individual ones, and that should get rid of the problems I’ve been having, lately.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I think it’s a good change top blogger comments, my comments had a tendensy to vanish after I had written them.

      I’m not sure if the boys would defend me to be honest, two big chickens 🙂 🙂 🙂 But Nova wouldn’t hesitate at all and she has strong jaw muscles 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

