Pears really are a bit strange.

A tiny part of the night sky yesterday. We can see a partvof the Orion with Betelgeuse (a red super giant star)on the left upper part.

 

Strong winds are blowing here again, perhaps not storm but at least strong gale. This time the wind comes from the arctic so now the temperatures will drop and we’ll get some winter they say. I looked at the long time prediction and it says it will drop to -13C (9F) sometime next week. But since they do have problems predicting the weather just one day ahead I don’t take this to serious πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

I went to the grocery store in Gudhem as usual on my way home from work today. The owner knows I like dark-skinned bananas so he had saved those for me, He had also saved over 4 pounds of apples, 2 pounds of pears and 2 pounds of tomatoes he couldn’t sell just because they had a brown spot somewhere on the skin. All this for only 20 kronor ($3). I also got some broccoli and onions πŸ™‚ nd some people asks why I go to that store when I could go to the supermarket on my way home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

Pears are strange fruits to be honest. They tend never to ripe. They just lay there in the bowl waiting. Not ripe yet, no not yet, no wait some more. Ripe! Sorry to late, now we’re inedible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Apples is never like that or oranges but it seems like pears just don’t want to be eaten πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So I rarely buy them otherwise, I prefer them canned with some ice cream πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

It is time to make a pot of tea and perhaps a sandwich or two. Or I might just make a bowl with apples and pears cut down in to cubes add some mΓΌsli and vanilla Β yoghurt. I have that for breakfast every morning and when I’m hungry in between meals πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Pears really are a bit strange.

  1. hi christer! you weather sure has been mimicking ours this winter. we have high winds and cold air but just flurries. i wonder if we will ever get snow. i think you have only had a bit more than us too. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes Your weather has arrived to us a couple of days later πŸ™‚ I think we’ve had slightly more snow here but more will come already on Sunday they say. It looks like the winter will come here now and it will stay I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Pears are very difficult and we were told the trick to them is at the bottom of the fruit. When it’s soft, it’s ready to eat within 24 hours. But it like watching a clock. You must remember to lightly push on them each day. I love pears. And I love them with Vanilla ice cream. I wish I new more about the planets and stars to enjoy your first photo. I thought Betelguise was a movie. So much for that. Thanks for posting it though. Enjoy your lunch.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I’ve heard something like that but it seems I always miss the chance πŸ™‚ They really are tricky and best when canned with ice cream πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Betelgguise was a move and a very fun one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Just remember never to say that name three times in a row, that will give You troubles πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I have the same problem with pears, Christer. They are beautiful to look at in the bowl, though. I prefer chilled canned pears with cottage cheese. We are having a big snow storm today!! Really! We probably have almost 9 or 10 inches right now and it is still coming down. Cold and windy too. So there it is. Winter is here. Joyce should move up to our area; we get a lot of snow (usually) and the summers are not as bad as her area. I loved that movie Beetlejuice, Michael Keaton was hilarious. I never have said that name three times. Enjoy your weekend sweeping up Orvar’s fur!

    • Hi Robin!
      I’ve never had pears together with cottage cheese, must try that!

      I think Joyce woul love Your climate πŸ™‚ I actually think she would like ours even more, but we have another thing she hates, INSECTS πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It was a fun movie πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ve avoided to say that name three times in a row too even though he was hilarious πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      The vacuum cleaner is ready to use in the kitchen πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. My sister has a pear tree at her old house so we could get them whenever and if they went Bad, we had plenty more. I planted a pear tree 2 years ago here at my house and last year I found one little pear on top of the little tree. At first I felt like I shouldn’t eat it and then I felt like it would be a waste if I didn’t! LOL!
    I don’t like canned pears though, ick. But my Dad used to eat them…on cottage cheese too!
    It’s nice when you have a friendship with a store owner. πŸ™‚ They are willing to go above and beyond for your patronage.
    No such thing around here. Just rude people at the big supermarkets.
    Have a good weekend! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think it is easier if one can pick the pear from the tree, they are never ripe in the store and seems to be over ripe when coming home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But it is nice of them to pick those fruits and vegetables for me πŸ™‚ There’s nothing wrong with them, just some dark spots on the skin πŸ™‚

      IΒ΄ve never haf cottage cheese with pears, but I have had it with yoghurt but ate to much of it so it was long ago πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

