Local specialities.

 

It snowed rather much last night and we had over 1 dm (4 inches) of snow on the ground this morning. Now it slowly melts away again🙂 Now we’ll have three days with warmer weather and after that three days with colder again. I guess this strange weather at least will help the seeds I sown to germinate better, many species needs many ups and downs in temperature to even consider germinating. Now I’ve gotten the last order (I promise no more now) of seeds that I ordered from Gardens North a couple of weeks ago, after that I only wait for the seeds I ordered from the botanical garden in Gothenburg🙂🙂🙂 I really need to take it easy when I orders seeds, this is just to much🙂🙂

 

 

 

I rarely eat hotdogs but today when I was in the grocery store I just couldn’t pass them without buying some🙂 I also bought some bread to them and after this I’ll grill some in the fire-place in my stove🙂 I remember when I was younger and had been to a party and naturally missed the last bus or tram home, those times I always stopped by a hotdog stand and bought two grilles hotdogs (and bread)  with mashed potatoes🙂 The bread and hotdogs should always be covered by the mashed potatoes. It’s something very popular in Gothenburg and is called a whole special, a half special is one hotdog🙂

 

For a very long time I've wondered if any one lived in this house, I haven't seen a person there in years. But last weekend smoke came up the chimney🙂

 

 

In Skövde where I worked before they have something called half of each. That’s a hotdog or hamburger with half a portion of mashed potatoes and half a portion of french fries🙂🙂 The whole or half special is something that only can be ordered in Gothenburg and Half of each only around Skövde. Try to order them anywhere else and they look upon You like You were crazy🙂🙂

 

 

 

On Thursday I hope we’ll know what’s wrong with Orvar, more and more fur is falling off around his eyes now and he does look rather funny. But it doesn’t seem to be contagious, none of the other animals here looks like that. We have a rather late appointment at the vet so I might not write a post that day. Well those hotdogs won’t grill themselves so I better stop for today🙂’

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Local specialities.

    • Hi Joyce!
      The original whole and half special only comes with Ketchup and mustard. I thought one could buy hotdogs and mashed potatoes everywhere🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. I must try that, hot dogs covered with mashed potatoes. I would also add mustard. Great photos today. Maybe they sold that place where you say no one has lived. Prices here are down all over. Now is a good time to buy. Enjoy your dogs.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Don’t forget the bread to the hotdogs! Very important and they should be covered with the mashed potatoes🙂🙂 One always have ketchup and mustard with this (well I skip the mustard, can’t stand it).

      No I would have heard if it was sold, those kind of news travels fast here🙂

      Prices are going down here too but that’s because they have made it more difficult to get bank loans now days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Trevlig blogg !
    Hälfta, hälfta heter det i Lidköping, där jag växte upp.
    De flesta tog räksallad till.

    A half, half whit scrimpsallad!

    Hörde att de första Tranorna hade kommit till Skaraborg, googlade och på så sätt kom jag hit.
    Har du sett några?

    På återseende!

    • Hejsan Ann och välkommen hit🙂

      Så det finns i Lidköping också! Det visste jag faktiskt inte. Ja räksalladen hade jag glömt, den är ju ett måste till🙂

      Nej det har jag inte hört! Det brukar ju alltid bli svinkallt efter det att de första har kommit, så nu är väl vintern på väg då🙂🙂🙂 Får nog ta mig bort till sjön till helgen då.

      Ha det gott och välkommen tillbaka🙂
      Christer.

  3. Det är lätt att förköpa sig när det gäller fröer, man liksom bara råkar klicka på den ena sorten efter den andra och vips har man beställt lite mer än man tänkt:) Ja du, hel och halv special har man ju ätit några gånger:)) Hoppas att det inte är något allvarligt med Orvar, det låter ju väldigt konstigt att han tappar pälsen sådär. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja det är alldeles för lätt🙂 Dessutom kommer det ju mera från Botan🙂🙂 Ja, ja, lyckas jag blir det mycket att ge bort till andra, annars måste jag nog köpa mera mark att plantera allt på🙂🙂

      Jag tror att det kan vara falsk ringorm. Ringorm smittar ju men ingen av de andra har fått det. Falsk ringorm är en allergisk reaktion på stafylokocker och ser ganska likt ut. Vi får väl se vad veterinären säger.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,

    Local specialties are always interesting. I eat mashed potato and hot dogs together but not piled on each other with bread underneath. Sometimes I cut up hot dogs into rounds and saute them then throw in some eggs and scramble it all up. On occasion I might add some crumbled up matzoh crackers or Wasa crisps. My personal local specialty.
    When my brothers and I were kids we used to put our hot dogs on a toasting fork and hold them over the open flame of the gas burner on the kitchen stove. We thought it was great fun to set one end of the hot dog on fire and pretend it was a rocket ship. Playing with food is fun.

    Do you think you have new neighbors or newly resurrected ones?🙂

    It interests me that you use decimeters. Most folks just say it was 10 cm and leave at that because everyone knows Americans don’t do metric and dm would confuse us all to hell.😀 I woke up to a dusting of snow which would probably have to be measured in mm. It’s mostly gone now except in the shadow places where the sun couldn’t warm it away. More comes on Thursday, they say.

    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It is🙂 I think that it was in Belgium they have mayonnaise on their french fries🙂 In Portugal I had hot dogs with sauercraut but that I didn’t like :-9

      We too held our hotdogs over the gas burner when we were kids🙂 It almosr´t felt as if we burned the hotdog on grill🙂🙂 But I can’t remember if we imagine them to be rocket ships though🙂🙂

      Since I know no one moved in they must be resurrected🙂🙂

      We often say decimeter instead of centimeters, anything over 9 cm usually is said in decimeters unless it is a measurement, then we often use mm even if it is a couple of meters🙂🙂

      The snow we got is already gone but more will come that’s for sure🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Jag äter bara grillad korv på sommaren, utomhus! Och då spelar det inte någon roll vad som serveras till – jo, ketchup och senap förstås – för det är så mysigt. Helst ska man sitta på en bergsknalle i Stockholms skärgård och grilla dom på en pinne över öppen eld. Gubben min gillar det inte däremot, dom blir bara sotiga och svarta tycker han. Men det är något genuint svenskt och somrigt över det – och dessutom är det godare än oxfile!!🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Normalt gör jag som du, men så blev jag så väldigt sugen på det häromdagen🙂🙂 Fungerade riktigt bra faktiskt🙂 Fast jag föredrar en bergsknalle i Göteborgs skärgård🙂

      Ja tänk så gott det är🙂 och som du säger, det är sommar🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer, we have had very little snow so far this season. That is all everyone is talking about: lack of snow. Of course everyone is also talking about how we are going to get hit with a huge snow storm because it has been so late this year. When I was growing up my mom would cook hot dogs, split them open and stuff them with mashed potatoes and cheese, then heat them under the broiler to melt the cheese! Delicious! I have been looking at seed catalogs and have pretty much wanted to select every single thing. I think gardeners like to think big, even when the garden is not so big. It doesn’t hurt to dream though!! I always seem to overbuy seed packets. Sending furry thoughts to Orvar, and hoping the hair stops falling out!

    • Hi Robin!
      Little snow here too and the one we got yesterday is already gone. But more will come, February is usually our coldest month and I think it also is our snowiest too. So fun ,we have much the same discussion over here. It will be a lot when it finally arrives and we also fear that the winter will stay longer in to spring, it normally does when it arrives late.

      We do much the same like Your mother did but with a much lagher sausage. One of my favorite meals that I have way to seldom!

      It is hard to stop in time when ordering seeds🙂 But I know that if I get successful I’ll have lots of plants to swap at the plant swapping days later in summer🙂 Some of my seeds won’t germinate until after next winter, but I will of course buy to many next year anyway🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hope all is well and controllable with Orvar. When I moved to NC, I discovered that they love to cover their hot dogs with a meat chili, too! What?!?! Why bother with the hot dog if you’re going to use another meat sauce. Have never figured it out. But, have also never tried mashed potatoes on my hot dogs and that DOES intrigue me. So, guess what I’m going to be doing…😎 Yup. Gonna try the potatoes and Robin’s cheese, and just add another gazillion pounds to my frame… We’re still waiting for winter, here.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I hope so too and I think it is🙂

      Strange to cover the hotdog with chilli🙂 But in Belgium the pour mayonnaise over their french fries🙂

      It is so fun because I thought hotdogs and mashed potatoes was an universal thing🙂 I had no idea it was typical swedish🙂🙂 and to be honest, one can never have to much cheese on anything🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. We never have had this combo either, Christer, and probably won’t anytime soon. Grenville and I prefer mustard and relish and sometimes chili on our hot dogs, but NOT all at the same time. Hope that Orvar does not have a serious problem and that it will be treatable with some medication. Please do let us know how the visit to the vet goes. Are you glad to see neighbors in the house or does it not matter?

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I only have mustard when I eat yule ham, otherwise I can’t stand it🙂 and I’m not a big fan of ketchup either but it is a must to hotdogs🙂

      This neighbor lives that far from us so it really doesn’t matter but I’m glad that someone lives in the house, to many is empty and just falls apart in this area.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Christer,
    I’m just catching up!

    I love hot dogs and I eat them often. They are never served with mashed potatoes here, chili or sauerkraut maybe. I have mine with mustard and piccalilli or relish.

    When I went to Africa, Maddie, my shy cat, lost the hair off her two backlegs. I noticed it and bought a new crate to take her to the vets but I noticed she wasn’t bothered at all: no scratching or biting so I decided to wait. The hair grew back. It was hair loss from anxiety at my being away so long. I hope the hair loss with Orvar is as simple.

    • Hi Kat!
      You just missed my new post🙂 The vet belives he has problems with his thyroid and a thyroid problem would explain a lot of what is happening with him. He has for example been a bit grumpy lately and that’s the first time he’s been that in his entire life. But we’ll know better next week. Anxiety is something Orvar only experience when he is at the vet station🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

