Back to reality again.

 

I had a rather nice first day after the vacation at work today. I was in the neighbor factory and everything worked smoothly and without any bigger problems. The job itself is rather boring but I have good work friends there and that is the most important thing at a work place to be honest.

 

 

 

 

It’s snowing again but it won’t stay for long, already tomorrow night we’ll get warmer weather again so this is just a waste of snow really🙂 This is an odd winter and even if it isn’t unusual that we don’t have that much snow it is unusual that it is this warm. I don’t mind though, I pay enough for electricity as it is without turning on the radiators🙂🙂 I do have them on but on a low temperatures just in case it would get really cold during the day. As it is they hardly give any heat at all right now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have changed browser on my computer again. My favorite is Safari but it really doesn’t work especially good on a pc. Explorer 8 and I never became friends to be honest and sometimes it just shuts down due to a problem. I never get to know what problem it is though🙂 So now I’m trying Google chrome. I have to admit that it, so far, works very good! It’s fast and easy to understand too. But I don’t like the idea to get to dependent on Google to be honest. It’s never good when one company gets to big, they may say that they only want to do good things but we all know power corrupts!

 

 

 

 

It’s time to put in some logs in the stove and then to do something to eat. The bread turned out very delicious and one really doesn’t need anything on it🙂 By the way, if You have grape vines this is the last chance to prune them. To do it later is to risk killing them. I took some cuttings from one of mine the other day  and took a couple of photographs on how they should look and how to keep them until it’s time to plant them.

 

 

Here are the cuttings I took from my Frostgrape vine. It is best if it is so long that one has three places on it where leafs has grown. One in the bottom where the new roots will come, one that is placed just above the soil and one in the top. But it usually works with only two as well. It is very important to know what is the top of the cutting so I always cut it slightly pointy.

 

Wrap moist, but not wet paper towels around the bottom part where the new roots will come and put the cuttings in a plastic bag. Place them in the fridge till it's time to plant them in soil. Up here in the north that would be around late Mars. While it's very har to get green cuttings to root, these rarely fails at all. Grape vines really are weeds🙂

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Back to reality again.

  1. Christer,
    I really do envy you all the knowledge you have about plants and flowers. The side garden by the driveway was filled with lilies of the valley, and I had them taken out so I have a whole new garden to start planting in the spring. I love flowers though I know so little about them.

    • Hi Kat!
      Well it once was my job to know these things🙂 I miss that job but not the eceonomy🙂🙂🙂

      Lilies of the valley has a tendensy to survive where they once grew🙂 So keep an eye on that place because as long as there’s a single pice of root left it will start growing again🙂🙂 The soil in my garden is just to bad for them. I have a few but they barly survives🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! love the photo of bertil of course! what is he looking at? i have been meaning to ask you about my grape vines. i have neglected them and they have grown up into my trees and are lanky an not fill at all. how should i trim them and should i do that now? they are concord grapes. thanks christer! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I think he was looking at ravens. They have been circling around us for a couple of days when ever we are out walking.

      I´m not sure if it is to late to do anything about the grapes for You living so much more south than I do. This is as late as I dare doing anything to them up here. Grapes can be cut down hard if one isn’t to late, they will always come back again. But if one does it to late they will bleed to death. But You can prune them when the new green branches comes again.

      When they are green I always cut them back so that only two pairs of flowers ( or group of flowers is best to write I think🙂 )are allowed to stay on every branch. That will make the grapes bigger and then there are less leafs that block the sun from reaching the grapes. So ask around if it is to late to cut down them now before You do anything to them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Här är verkligen ett underligt vinterväder. I dag snöade det för första gången i vinter. Våra element (inte många) är på lite grann. Idag har vi dock eldat rejält i braskaminen eftersom det var frostgrader ute. Min dator är ju MAC så jag har Safari men det sista är det omöjligt att se vissa filmklipp påtex. fb så jag håller långsamt på att övergå till Firefox:) Jag har inga vinstockar så jag har inte behövt att beskymmra mig över beskärning av detsamma:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Nu vräker snön ned här utanför. Kunde ju lika gärna kvitta med tanke på att det skall smälta bort redan i övermorgon🙂🙂

      Jag hade Safari här och det fungerade hyfsat till sista uppdateringen, då tvärstannade hela datorn! Jag måste dock erkänna att Goggle chrome funkar väldigt bra!

      Jag har två vinrankor (de är så tunna att jag inte kan med att kalla dem stockar🙂🙂🙂 ). Dessutom har jag sått ytterligare en, amurvinranka. Då har jag tre riktigt härdiga arter och kan jämföra vilka som klarar sig bäst här i lilla sibirien🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. I’m taking a blog break but I still have a couple I just must read everyday and yours is one of them, Bertril looks in good spirits, beautiful photos, and good luck with the grape vine, I’m not surprised that bread needed nothing more it sounded wondefful. I like the addition of cottage cheese in the recipe,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      I think it’s wice to take a break from blogging every now and again but I’m glad You’ll take the time to come over here🙂

      I have two grape vines in my garden and I hope I’ll get grapes this year. Cuttings from grapes usually get roots rather quickly🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. No grapes here just Florida oranges and tons to be harvested soon. I see a little Bertril hiding in the swamp. At first I couldn’t make it out but what a good shot. Those first days back at work are great when nothing goes wrong. It’s like an extra present.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I wish I could have oranges in my garden🙂 I wouldn’t need tons of it, just a couple🙂

      Bertil really blends in well in nature, at first I couldn’t understand why I had taken that photograph🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Nice that your first day back at work was uneventful. I always hated going back to work after a time away. Not because I didn’t like my job but because I knew there would be a bazillion unread emails and a pile of papers on the desk that all had to be attended to right away.

    I like the picture of Mount Mossberg (?). It’s all honey colored and warm looking even though it probably isn’t that warm.

    Thanks for the tutorial on grapes. I didn’t know that they were so easy to propagate by cuttings. I don’t need any grapes since my whole back swamp is teeming with Concord grape vine. Yes, just one vine that has grown all over the place. At some point there will probably be nothing else back there except bittersweet, grape vine, Japanese roses and jewelweed. Then it will be war to see which of these aggressive, intrusive green monsters is the last plant standing. Skunk cabbage doesn’t count because it just grows along under whatever is there and nothing else bothers it.🙂

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Thankfully I don’t get any emails at work🙂 I don’t miss those days at all🙂

      I had forgotten I had taken the photograph of Mösseberg, I really like those colors and it is my favorite.

      Grapes doesn’t grow naturally here in Sweden, most of them dies in our climate. But the Frostgrape from Northern america manages it and a couple from the baltic countries as well. This year I have sown amur grape vine and it should manage to survive here too. So hardy grapes is something many withou green houses wants here. I’ll bring most ogf these cuttings to the plant swapping day later in summer🙂

      My guess is that the grape vine will be a winner in that war🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, another day of work done and only HOW many more until retirement? Glad all went well after being away for 2 weeks on vacation. Did you also enjoy the movie Pretty Woman? It’s one of my all-time favorites, but like you I so enjoy the classics romantic comedies and the ones with Tracy and Hepburn are wonderful. I also enjoy movies with Cary Grant and once was a huge Clark Gable fan, but it’s harder to find some of his films, not sure why. There’s not even a lot on Netflix. Tonight we will be watching Alice in Wonderland, not the recent one with Johnny Depp but a previous one that is available online through Netflix. The rye bread made me hungry for some home made bread which I will have to make once we return home because it’s been awhile and I have some homemade soup that was made before we left and frozen…perfect with freshly made bread!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Well I don’t know how many days but it will take at least 18 years till I can retire🙂 I can do it earlier but then the pension will be to low I’m afraid.

      Yes I did enjoy Pretty Woman🙂 Impossible not to🙂

      We have a store not far from here that usually have all those old movies so it is rather easy to get what ever one wants from them.

      I have a vague memory of that Alice in Wonderland movie. I think I liked it, but I do like the one with Johnny Depp too, a bit different but still very good🙂

      Few things is better than home made soup and home made bread🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Idag hade vi faktiskt -2 grader, så marken är inte längre så blöt och en aning frusen – vilket är skönt när man ska ta sina hundprommisar!
    Dessutom skönt när hela tomten ska grävas upp för omdräneringen av huset.😦 Södra kortsidan blev uppgrävd igår och dessutom ett stort och djupt dike från första dräneringsbrunnen fram till huset. Det forsade verkligen vatten ut från grunden så halva diket blev fullt. Såg inte kul ut alls, men skönt att det är på gång INNAN husgrunden tagit skada!!🙂
    Idag kommer vår grävare och fortsätter med resten. Det trista i sammanhanget är att jag har ju en del som växer utmed huset. Inte mycket, har varit lite försiktig, men igår rök mitt blåregn!😦😦 😦
    Först klipptes det av och sen grävdes hela den tunna upp som det varit planterat i, så man kan ju hoppas lite…..Sen hade jag 2-3 stora vackra perenner som växte bland stenarna utmed huset på södersidan. Dom är numera borta helt, men går naturligtis att ersätta. Men eftersom det aldrig mer får sättas något precis utmed huset, så tänker jag inte återplantera dom.😦
    Idag är det en ganska stor uppstammad och rundad forsytia på framsidan som ligger i farozonen. Rolle vill behålla den, så den måste grävas upp och flyttas till yttertomten någonstans. Vart har jag än inte en aning om!😦
    Klockan ett ska Santos vara hos länsveterinären i Roma för att få sina klor klippta och för att ta eventuell tandsten.Tycker hans huggisar ser lite bruna ut faktiskt. Det här är ju inte heller direkt kul, så idag är ingen rolig dag precis men snart är den väl över!😦

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Idag har det vänt här igen. Igår snöade det rejält, idag smälter allt så sakteliga bort i plusgrader. Det kunde lika gärna kvittat.🙂

      Sådan tur att ni hann fixa omdräneringen innan det var för sent. Det är ju inte kul i alla fall men grundskador är så otroligt dyra att fixa.

      Växter går alltid att hitta nya och blåregnet tror jag klarar sig fint. Jag har ju ett här som inte alls skall klara sig. Det fryser ned till marken de flesta vintrar men kommer alltid tillbaka🙂

      Jag brukar fixa hundarnas tandsten själv, det går rätt fort och tack och lov bråkar inte någon av hundarna när jag gör det🙂

      Ha det gott och hoppas resten av dagen blir bättre🙂

      Christer.

  9. I agree, that co-workers can make a job more enjoyable…or miserable.
    I get along with everyone at work but to be honest, a lot of them really get on my nerves.
    Stupid is as stupid does type of thing.😦 Sometimes those people just don’t think!
    and I’m always more concerned with the animals welfare than I am about hurting someone’s “feelings”.
    Today I came inside to tell “them” that they still had a dog outside on their “hospital side” and that it needed to come in.
    Of course everone started to say that it wasn’t THEM who was responsible and I just interrupted and said that I didn’t care WHO was responsible, I only CARED about the dog being outside and that SOMEONE needed to bring it in!
    yeah, I probably don’t have a fan club at work but I don’t care… because really, it’s the animals that make me happy and the only reason that I stay.🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think the animals welfare is the only thing that matters when having a job like You have, well always but especially then. Who needs a fan club🙂 I don’t think I have one either, my boss is the kind of person that wishes annoying things will go away by itself and I’m the one seing to that they do🙂🙂 We work good together🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

