Last day before reality comes back again.

We got some snow last night and this is as much as I can accept 🙂

 

It has been a rather nice day today. Just below 0C (32f), no wind and now snow or rain falling from the sky. It did fall some snow last night though but it doesn’t even cover  the ground. I guess this is as much snow as I can accept I think 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

 

 

It has been a day devoted to relaxation even though I have washed some clothes and at the moment I’m baking bread. But baking bread is relaxation to me 🙂 I’m baking a rye bread with rosemary and basil in it this time. I was planning on throwing in some cottage cheese as well but I forgot to pick out the package from the freezer 🙂 I usually buy a lot of cottage cheese on the last use-by date and put it in the freezer, works great for baking with it when defrosted.

 

 

 

 

But mostly I’ve watched skiing on tv. I could have done lots of things really but since this is the last day of my yule vacation I just wanted to take it easy. Tomorrow things will go back to normal again and I don’t mind it even though I have liked to be home for two weeks 🙂 But since I didn’t win any millions on the lottery I’ll just keep on working. Only 18 years left to retirement 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

Nova is allowed to be free from the leash more and more now, just as long as I can see some distance ahead.

 

We have lots of stone piles like this all over the village, looking much like the ones at Ekornavallen. But I doubt that these are graves though, they are more likely stones they have found in the fields when the plowed them.

 

There’s nothing good on tv tonight so I think I’ll watch a dvd instead. Tonight I think it will be something with catastrophes in it. Since the super volcano in Germany rumbles a bit I might watch 2012 🙂 Or perhaps I should look at some other kind of disaster like bad climate? The day after tomorrow is rather good. But there are of course invasions from space, those movies are usually catastrophic as well, like Independence day or War of the worlds 🙂

 

 

Yet another pile of stones.

 

 

But first the bread has to be done so that I can have a couple of slices while watching the movie 🙂

 

I took a lot of photographs today that I'll show You during the week. It's still too dark when I come home after work to take any You see.

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Last day before reality comes back again.

  1. I watched 2012 for the first time last night, the one with Cusak, and woody harleson (sp????) .I’m still not sure about the ending on that one but the special effects were amazing at the first when he was driving, and then flying, my husband thinks they shoud be bringing sheep for wool, cows and chickens, pigs, for food, seeds and thaty sort of thing instead of the lions and girrafes they had in that ark.Some parts just left one wondering a bit.I guess this reveals our interest in this , we do think about this world coming to an end and wish we were back on our land outside the city where we were self suffient.But my feeling is, if the world comes to an end and if my family does not all survive I would want to die as well.I could not live without my family.Well now I have depressed you I shall change the subject, your bread sounds really good, have a relaxing lastday off.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I love that movie 🙂 But one must disconnect the part of the brain that controlls reality 🙂 🙂 🙂 I don’t think I’ve seen such good special effects in any other movie to be honest! Spectacular!

      I guess that if the end of the world as we know it comes it’s best to die quickly. This little planet of ours will not be a nice place for many thousands of years again. It takes other things to depress me though 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      By the way, the bread is delicious 🙂
      Christer.

  2. Hmm, I will have to rent 2012. But I have to agree with Laurie, I’m not sure I would even want to try to go on if I had no one left. If my family and my critters were gone….well. Oh nevermind!
    Have a great relax last day!

    • Hi Cindi!
      It is a spectacular movie! I’ve never seen that good special effects in any other movie!

      If things would go that wrong I really hope I’ll die quickly! This will not be a nice place to survive in for many thousands of years.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! still not much snow for you. back to work tomorrow! well, i guess it had to happen. your bread sounds good and i bet your cottage smells wonderful too. i don’t know that i have ever used cottage cheese in bread. does it make the bread moist? i am baking orange loaves today. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Just as well, this snow will melt away on Wednesday anyway. But they say we’ll get colder weather later this week and I guess snow will come with it.

      Yes the cottage cheese does make it rather moist so it has to stay a bit longer in the owen, otherwise it will be a heavy loaf 🙂 🙂

      I’ve never even heard of orange loaves!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hello Christer! Here I am, long-lost and a bit tattered, but catching up with everyone. I just read through about a week or more of your posts that I have missed. I missed your whole vacation, practically! But I think I am caught up now. I got a kick out of your reading the newspaper ads that Joyce packed in her box to you. It is always interesting to see other places’ advertising. I had not heard about the super volcano; hope it stays quiet. I am thinking about Orvar and his skin condition. Hoping that it is nothing serious. What did you think of the film, “District 9′? I thought it was pretty believable, and a good commentary on our society, drawing parallels of course with apartheid; a very sad movie. We just watched a film called “Vanishing on 7th Avenue”. The name is rather vague about what the movie is about. But it is a sci-fi/horror flick, and actually quite good, a little spooky. Hayden Christensen (from Star Wars), Thandie Newton are in it. About a massive power outage, and how people are disappearing and being “consumed” by shadows. Good stuff! I hope you have had a nice holiday, and that the reality of getting back to the work routine won’t be too much of a shock to your system!!! Enjoy that bread, that sounds interesting putting cottage cheese in the dough. Take good care, and lots of love to the family. Oh, and loved loved loved the Jul card you sent!!! My husband wants to put it in a little frame! Thanks so much!!!!

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes it is interesting to read ads from other countries! Very different but yet very similar in many ways 🙂

      The super volcano seems to mumble a bit but so far nothing worse 🙂

      I think Orvar has ringworm but I’m not sure. Easy to fix if it is though. We will know better on Thursday.

      I really liked Disrict 9! It is a bit sad to be honest. But I’ve never heard about the movie You mention. I’ll see if I can fund it over here, but is Hayden Christensen bad in this movie as well? I don’t think he did a good job in the Star Wars movies.

      I’ll be going to the neighboring factory so the star will be rather calm 🙂

      I’m glad You like the card 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Jaså du, nu är jullovet slut:) Hoppas nu att det inte blir mer snö så att det blir jobbigt för dig att ta dig till jobbet. Hundarna kommer nog tycka att det är konstigt att du åker efter att ha varit hemma med dem nu, men de har ju varandra:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Naturligtvis snöar det nu 🙂 🙂 Men det blir ju snart plusgrader igen så det kommer ju inte att stanna länge direkt. Fast jag tror att detta växlande vädret kan vara bra för oss som sår fröer, många behöver ju mycket omväxling i temperaturen innan de gror 🙂

      Jag tror hundarna tycket det var rätt skönt att rutinerna började igen 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, in that movie (Vanishing….) Hayden Christensen was actually good; he is older now, a bit more experienced. And in a more plausible role. I hated him as the young Darth Vader, really bad casting.

  7. Hi Christer, the snow was pretty, but glad there was not too much as we all know you don’t like driving in it and neither do I. We did finally see some snow when we went to Maine yesterday to visit a fellow blogger (Grammie G.) but the highways were clear. Now our car is covered with white from the salt on the roads 😦 so we will need to find a car wash this week. Now i know why there are so many of them in these parts 🙂 We watched a DVD last night and have another one for tonight. I bought 2 at a thrift store – Officer and a Gentleman (Richard Gere & Debra Winger) and The Proposal (Sandra Bullock & Ryan Reynolds. Grenville had never seen the first one before. We’ve seen the second one and it’s a funny movie. Hope you found a good one to watch. Catastrophes and science fiction are not my favorite type of films.

    • Hi Beatrice! It’s snowing again but it won’t stay for long. The temperature will rise again on Wednesday 🙂

      I have mixed feelings about the salt on the roads. I do like that it removes the ice but I hate how it makes our cars rusty. There’s at least one car wash in every town here 🙂 🙂 🙂

      The Proposal is one of the funniest movies I’ve seen in a long time 🙂 I do like romantic comedies, especially the old ones with Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Enjoy your last day/night off before going back to work!

    Nothing like the smell of fresh baked bread filling up the house! Very nice!

    Have a great day, my friend!

    • Hi Victoria and welcome to my blog 🙂

      Thank You 🙂 I actually think he likes to be photographed 🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back 🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

