Reading ads from the other side of the ocean.

 

It is snowing outside, the kind of snow fall that can go on the whole night. It’s a bit to warm at the moment so most of it melts away quickly but the temperature will drop soon ao I guess I’ll wake up to a white world tomorrow. It won’t last long tough, already on Tuesday temperatures will rise again.

 

 

This is the closest we came to any deers today.

 

 

 

When Joyce sent me that basket for christmas she had packed it in lots of pages from her local newspaper and I just had to read through all those pages๐Ÿ™‚ I have especially enjoyed the classifieds and it has been fun to compare prices on different things. When it comes to cars I guess it’s the buyers market at the moment, but it doesn’t seem to be much cheaper in the US than here. But there’s a lot of adds about leasing cars, is that common with private persons? Over here only businesses does that.

 

 

 

 

 

Something we don’t have here is mobile homes. Well some buy them to have as a vacation home during vacations and holidays but that’s it and they are much smaller than the ones I know many live in over at Yours. ย I can see that the price on houses is rather low still. I sometimes look at what houses costs over on Your side of the ocean and these are low. Normally a house costs much more in the US than over here but house prices has started to fall over here too now but that’s because they have made it more difficult to borrow money now.

 

 

 

 

 

I also noticed that dogs and cats are rather cheap in the US. There was a cat, persian 6 weeks old for only $500, they cost at least twice that here. I was also surprised over how little a purebredย dog cost! Everything between $350 to $800, that’s what we normally pay for a mixed breed here๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ A purebredย costs around $2000 here๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ There are of course exceptions but then it has to do with an older dog or because they might have the wrong color or something like that. It’s also forbidden to sell dogs and cats in a pet store here. I guess that’s why we don’t have any bigger problems with puppy farms ( we are not totally free from that awful thing though).

 

 

 

 

 

Like here there’s also a lot of ads from small businesses. Handyman, oddjobbs and tree pruning and things like that. I’ve noticed an increasing number of those ads here in my newspaper and I guess it has to do with the difficulty to find any job at all anywhere now days.

 

 

 

 

 

It has been really interesting to read all these ads so I’ve saved those pages and look through them every now and again. To be honest, ads like these are the only reason I still have my newspaper, the rest is just the same garbage one can find anywhere, either on tv or the internet.

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Reading ads from the other side of the ocean.

  1. hi christer! hahaha…the gift that keeps on giving! lots of people lease their cars here. my sister has not owned a car outright in years. we are still very warm. it feels like late spring here now. i am soooo disappointed! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!๐Ÿ™‚ Yes it just continues to give๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, Bertil and Teodor wants to thank You for the box it is their new cave and they love to play in it (and take a nap)๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s just to expensive to leas a car for a normal person, the tax rules makes it very expensive. But it’s very good for businesses. I wouldn’t mind leasing a car if it was possible to be honest.

      Yes it does feel like spring here too, lots of plants have new leafs here now. The few dips in temperature has had no effect so far.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I understand how you find that interesting, I also recieved a package from someone in the States and it was curious how different things were from Canada and we are close neighbors.The papers stuffed in a package from England I really found interesting,We have car leasing here, a lot of people do this, as long as the car is undamaged when the lease is up its not a bad way to do business.Anyone can lease a car here.We have no cats or dogs in our pet shops, but there are lots of puppies and kittens in the paper for sale or give away, just mixed breed.The prices are higher here on most things compared to the United States, thats why so many cross border shop.We live right on the border but rarely shop when visitng our daughter who married an American fellow.
    We buy some things that we cannot finds here in Canada though, they sell some cold meds that are nmot over the counter in Canad but in the United Staes there are more over the counter products that are not in Canada.
    We have trailer homes here but mostly for vacation, they are not allowed as permanent homes here, not anywhere unless a specific trailer area.The housing prices here are much higher than United States, mostly higher than the southern states because our weather makes it necessary for much more insulation, the prices do vary though.In the big city areas the prices are much higher, I live in a small Northern city and our p[rices are lower, we are qyite a distance fromthe large Canadian cities and no one wants to live that far north, lol,
    Lovely photos today, your weather is so much like ours, very starnge winter we are having, its turning colder tonight and then warm then cold tuesday, we do have more snow than you.Do you want some,,,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes it is very interesting! But I thought things would be even cheaper in the states since we have amongst the highest taxes in the world.

      It’s just to expensive to lease a car for a private person here, the tax rules makes it that way. But it is a great way to have a car if one has a small business!

      I think it is a good thing that all dogs costs rather much to buy here. It sort of makes people think before they toss their dog out the car door in the middle of nowhere. It does happen but not especially often. It will become more expensive to buy cats too now since all cats must be registred and neutered as well. Makes people think twice before tossing them out the car door too.

      Our medicines are rather cheap here since they are subsedized as long as they are on preskription.

      I think it is forbidden to live in a trailer over here too, even in trailer parks. Otherwise I don’t think it’s such a bad idea. But I guess its mostly poor people that lives there.

      My cottage costs less than 10% of what it would do if it was placed in a big city๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But I do live rather south in this country, still much more north than You do ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚
      I rather have the snow where You live๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Wonderful photos. Old buildings are interesting wherever they are. Are some of these buildings dugouts? We had a mobile home out here for 6 years and then we built our house. There are no restrictions on our area except you can’t have a pig farm. You can have a pig but not a pig farm. Our area of 300 acres was once a dairy farm. The Doggett family owned the land for 150 years. Someone bought it in the 70’s and sold acreage of differing amounts. People here will dump dogs or cats in the country if they don’t want them. It is so cruel.We once had a blue tick hound someone had dumped out with puppies. They all died but Bessie lived with us for several years. She nearly starved before she showed up here and forever after she would take her leftover food and hide it. I mean bowl and all. Jerry finally nailed the bowl to the deck because he got tired of hunting it every time!!.Ha ha This is usually our coldest time of year but it is warm. Up in the 70’s yesterday. The plants don’t know what to do. Have a great day.

    • Hi Sandra!
      No they are not dugouts, just neglected over several years๐Ÿ™‚ But I know the new owner will restore them because they have several of the horses I show here sometimes.
      I think the idea with mobile homes are rather great actually, as long as there’s a septic tank that is emptied in time๐Ÿ™‚

      I have much the same rules here where I live even if I only have a small garden. Pigs are actually quite popular as pets in families where they are allergic to dogs๐Ÿ™‚ But pigs are not allowed as pets in towns though.

      We do have problems with dogs getting dumped but it isn’t that big yet and I think it has to do with the fact dogs are pretty expensive. If they have bought something for several hundreds or even thousands of dollars they normally keep them or tries to find a new owner for them.

      I have only see Blue Tick dogs on photographs and I do like how they look! American dogs are not especially common here but I have seen ads for Black and tan Coonhounds lately.
      I can’t but laugh when reading about the bowl being nailed to the floor๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I have almost always had more than one dog so there is rarely any leftovers to hide๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Our coldets time starts in late January and keeps on through February but it is unusually warm here now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    First photo is my favorite. I love pictures of weathered red wood and rusty metal.

    My first job was in a factory that made those toy balsa wood airplanes that used a wound up rubber band to turn the propeller. My job was to put the plastic wheels on the wire landing gear. The landing gear wires came wrapped up in newspapers from the state in which they were manufactured and I used to read the advertisements and comics while I was working. It was a very boring job that I could do with my eyes closed and still exceed quota. Horrid.

    Over here there are two kinds of mobile home: the ones that you can tow behind a vehicle or drive yourself (a motor home) and the ones that are only “mobile” because their pre-fab sections can be loaded on a flat bed truck and moved to another place. I might not want to live in the first kind but the second kind are really just houses.

    I didn’t think the prices I saw for pedigree dogs here were at all cheap. The last time I looked at jack russell terriers the price was over $1000 USD for pet quality, $1500 USD and higher for show quality puppies. Adult dogs that had done well in the show ring were even higher. Ouch!

    It was a warm day here. I walked around outside in sandals! In New England! In January! The weather is very weird. We will have to pay for this somehow, I fear.๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      That’s my favorite too, but I didn’t get that photograph as I wished it to look. The frost made it look so cool but it was to dark to take the photograph without a flash. So it turned out very different from what I had hoped but rather good anyway๐Ÿ™‚

      We used to get parts wrapped in news papers fom china when I worked at Volvo๐Ÿ™‚ No one of us could of course read the text but it was fun just to watch the photographs. They usually showed a proud worker or a proud manager๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I know about those bigger ones, friends of mine in Main lives in one of those big ones, I actually think it’s bigger than my cottage๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I wouldn’t mind living in one of those at all๐Ÿ™‚ But we don’t have those here either, strange really because they are great homes!

      USA is big so I guess prices varies all over the country. But it’s still cheaper than here it seems. Those adult dogs that do well in the ring never turns up in ads here, I actually don’t think they sell them especially often. They do use them for breeding and very often they move to co-owners. Someone that get the dog for a small cost but lets the previous owner use him for breeding whenever they can.

      It didn’t snow as much as I thought it would๐Ÿ™‚ I think I actually can say that this little snow doesn’t bother me at all๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I love that first photo too. Cool!
    I leased a car once and it was a good deal for me because my mileage is always very low. Also the lease included a maintenance plan so I took it in every 3 months for upkeep. The plan included the fact if I went out and it didn’t start, they would come with another car for me. The payments were much cheaper than payments when I buy a car. Of course I had to keep it spotless and out of car accidents. (Although I still carted my dogs around in it). It was a good deal except at the end of the lease I had to turn it over and had nothing to show for my payments. I might do that again when I get very old.๐Ÿ˜€
    Trailers. A few different kinds around here. First there’s the trailer park kind. Some are just crappy run down boxes that poor people live in. Many people call the owners “trailer park trash” because there are so many redneck “Walmart” type of people in these parks,,,but that’s unfair because there are also people who keep their trailers nice and tidy with cute little yards who just happen to not have much cash. Then there are trailers in nice parks like Arizona or Florida where they are sometimes even retirement parks. I know an older woman that lived in one that had sliding doors to a patio and a sunken livingroom and a spa style bathroom and the trailer was much bigger than my house! I also now work with a woman who owns a huge motorhome that costs at least $150,000.00! She uses it to drive to the Dog Shows to “show” her Purebreed Belgian Shepherds. Which brings the topic to $ for dogs. Her dogs are over $1000. dollars.
    And then there’s me. I own a Purebred Chihuahua. Free. after someone threw her across a parking lot. a Purebred PowderPuff Chinese Crested. Free, after owners got tired of her being so needy. A Purebred Papillon. Free. 12 yrs old and suddenly her owner felt 2 dogs was 1 too many. Two Purebred Toy Poodles. Free because one of them vomited all the time (not anymore now that he’s not stressed) and the other was found running in the streets with another one and no one would adopt her because she was too matted for people to see what a diamind in the rough she is. Free , Free, Free. and then of course a couple of mixed breeds Free. Yep, someone paid big bucks for them originally I’m sure but…..so it’s possible to have purebred wonderful loving dogs that have no issues except for the idiots that had them first.
    Have a great day! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do like the idea of leasing a car and even I would keep it spot free if I could do that here๐Ÿ™‚ But it is just to expensive for a private person to do that.

      Even if it is much simpler to drive the dogs in a motorhome like that I would never! pay that much๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ That’s almost three times as much as what I bought this cottage for๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      It is mostly mixed breeds we can get from shelters here, a purebred is just to expensive to throw away. Well I think that $800 for a mixed bred is rather much too๐Ÿ™‚ If a purebred would come to a shelter it’s usually because the owner died or got to sick to take care of it. But I do prefer mixed dogs, they usually are a bit healthier since they doesn’t get those diseases that follows special breeds.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • To me it doesn’t matter if it’s a purebred or mixed. All that matters is if it’s not aggressive and needs a home.
        Except, someday….I would like to get a Golden Retriever again.
        My Golden was the only dog that I ever paid for. Well, actually I didn’t pay for her, my friends did as a Birthday gift.
        My dog had gotten hit by a car and died, so I had gotten a mixed breed pup who died 4 days later from Parvo.
        So my friends decided to pool their money and go with me to look for puppies. I hadn’t even thought of a Golden but there was an ad in the paper and we went to look. It was love at first sight. My Maddie was my soulmate dog. After she died I vowed to never get another but it’s been 8 years now, just this month and I’m thinking of her and maybe, someday I will get another.

      • There are actually two breeds I would like to have one time in life. One is Blood hound and the other is Hovawart, a Czech dog. I have also only payed for one dog๐Ÿ™‚ The others had come the natural way so to speak and Nova came from a couple that couldn’t have her any longer (and they got her from a shelter).

        Christer.

  6. It was a big plus to lease cars here because you could qualify for more car and buy out the back end of the lease when it came due. A Cadillac might cost you $450 a month on a lease but after three years you could buy out the back end on the lease for $7000. So why borrow up front with a big downpayment and have the same monthly payment when you can pay a small setup fee for the lease? It may be different today in our recession but I did it for 12 years, turning a lease car in after owning it until the mileage turned to $75,000 when fees for fixing them were high. I would venture to guess that used cars in newspapers sell well here. The ones I see are always lower than book value and if owned by a retired person an even better value. Dogs and Cats are reasonable here in terms of price; it’s the Vet fees that are outrageous.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I do like the idea to lease a car but it’s just to expensive for a private person to do that over here. I haven’t looked but I think used cars sells very good here at the moment. Even if our economy is very good people are worried about what happens in Europe and what that will do to our economy so they rather buy a used car than a new one.

      Vet fees are always high all over the world๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

