And another day just pass by.

Mute swans flying to the smaller lake.

I had to call the vet again today because there’s something wrong with Orvar. No it isn’t the pain he had in his joints, that has the medicine taken care of. But he looks a bit funny around his eyes and nose. The fur is falling off and it just looks odd🙂 It doesn’t scratch or irritates him in any way, but as I said it just looks odd🙂🙂

The little pond behind my garage is now more looking like a small lake🙂 It has rained a lot here this winter.

Since it isn’t an emergency in any way we got an appointment next Thursday, perhaps it will go away by itself by then. I’ve seen something similar to this before and that just disappeared by itself after a while. It doesn’t seem to happen to the others either, perhaps it is some kind of eczema?

Nothing else has happened since last, the wind has calmed down but the rain has stayed. Well sometimes it snows instead but that’s it.  It will be cold a couple of days now and we’ll see the sun tomorrow they say, that will be a nice change🙂 I had hoped to go down to Gothenburg but my stepson is extremely sensitive to infections and since he will go through surgery next week I’ll keep away. I’ll go down there after the surgery instead .

Tomorrow is a holiday over here and I read in a paper that this used to be much like Halloween back in the days🙂 People dressed up and went out in to the villages doing pranks. But that custom died out in the early 20th century. To bad, we do need anything cheering us up these dar winter months.  I’m glad I bought that dvd player, the weather has been so bad and there’s nothing wort watching on tv so I have looked at a lot of dvd’s instead🙂 Now I’ll make a couple of sandwiches  and then I’ll watch another movie🙂

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “And another day just pass by.

  1. hi christer! another holiday! i love the photos of the stone walls. teddy has been on antibiotics for months and yesterday i noticed the rash by her eye. i don’t know what to make of it! i think this is the least snow i remember you having since i found your blog! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes another holiday🙂 But after this one we have nothing until easter.
      It’s so irritating when things like this happens and we can’t figure out what it is. This might be some kind of relative to ring worm, it sort of reminds of that. I hope You’ll find out what has happened with Teddy!

      It isn’t that unusual with this little snow here, but it will come of that I’m sure🙂 But it is unusual with this warm weather though. I guess that when the winter comes it will come and hit us hard🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Stackars Orvar, hoppas att det snart försvinner! Vilka underbara bilder du visar:) Har ni haft sol? det ser nästan ut som om det är solen som skiner på murarna här har det varit så himla grått o trist så det enda jag gjort är att ha suttit i soffan o virkat:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det kan vara ringorm fast det ser inte riktigt ut som det heller. Vi får väl se vad de säger nästa vecka.

      Vi hade lite sol igår när de bilderna togs, inget idag dock. Här har det bara tittats på filmer idag🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. hope ovar’s condition heals before the ve tday, your photos are so stunning, the greens of the moss against the brownsof the rocks , wow just beautiful.
    Your country has such a wealth of tradition, I think thats its wonderful to embrace your heritage, we are all so a mixed pot ovewr here in Canada I don’t think any of us know exactly where we originated, even the Native Ojibway peoples are partly French!

    • Hi Laurie!
      It can be ringworm or perhaps something we call false ringworm. Both are fairly easy to take care of.
      I do like mosses and they do look so nice towards stone and tree🙂

      Many tradtions are being forgotten now days, I had no idea about this one. Around 10% of our population have a foreign background (three generations back, otherwise most of us has that🙂🙂 ) so new traditions comes and old ones die away. It’s probably just as it should be to be honest. But then again, immigranbts take our traditions to their hearts too, no matter what background or religion they might have🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Maybe dogs there shed their fur in order to get a stronger coat. The eye description sounds a bit like wind burn. I’m sure you’ve seen it all having had many dogs in your life. Hope he comes through OK. Vets are expensive here. One visit with Zoey last week was $157 U.S. and it included a tube of cream to rub on her torn skin. How she tore it is a mystery. So we bathe the area with anti-bacteria soap and dry it really well, then apply the cream. It won’t hurt her if she licks at it which she does. It seems to be healing well and she is jumping again which is a good sign.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes they are shedding their fur but this is not shedding, to much falls off from the same spot at the same time. I guess it can be some kind of ringworm or something we call falce ringworm and that is really an allergy. His skin is dry where the fur has fallen off so I guess this most likely is the falce one. I sort of hope it is because ringworm is very contagious (to humans as well) and even if it isn’t dangerous in any way it is irritating🙂

      I think vets are expensive all over the world🙂🙂🙂 but the medicine is usually even more expensive🙂🙂🙂 I hope Zoey heals well!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Orvar probably does have eczema or a sensitivity to something in the environment. I had a dog and a cat that were allergic to flea bites and topical anti-flea medication. That was a joy to handle. I made myself hyper-sensitive to eucalyptus and pennyroyal because I was told to use that combination to get rid of the fleas instead of the normal unnatural flea sprays etc. Now I can’t be around eucalyptus or pennyroyal or I get asthma-like symptoms. It didn’t work on the fleas, either. So much for the natural solution. Give me chemicals!🙂
    Rocky had a vet appointment today to updates shots. He was not happy about it but he behaved well as always. My wallet was not happy about it either. $194 US worth of updated shots and heartworm meds.
    Love the rock wall photos and the one of interestingly v-shaped brooklet.
    The mute swans are so graceful. Something is happening to the mute swans in one of the lakes in my area. They are turning up dead and no one knows why yet. Mute swans are not native to this hemisphere so the wild ones are the descendants of escaped ornamental swans that rich folks would put in their parks and estates. They are pushing out the native species in some places. Still, it is worrying when things start dying off for no apparent reason. So far no other water birds in that area are dying off mysteriously. Especially not the Canada geese of which we have a super abundance.🙂
    What holiday is tomorrow? Twelfth night? Twelfth Day? Epiphany? Something that involves eating and drinking good stuff? Anyway, enjoy it!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think it might be ringworm or something we call fals ringworm. False ringworm ius really an allergy towards staphylococci and since Orvars skin is dry where the fur falls off I think this is that.
      Yes we know how to handle our chemicals🙂 Many belives that only because something is natural its also harmless🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully fleas are very rare over here but we have the ticks and they usually is prevented with just the same things. Neither Hector nor Orvar can use those so I must go through teir fur every day during tick season.

      Vet visits are rarely cheap🙂 but the medicines are just as bad to be honest🙂🙂 But the only thing we give shots against here is distemper and dog plague and that we do every second year. But since we risk getting more and more diseases from south now when it is ok to bring pets over the border we most likely have to give more shots in the future I’m afraid. That is one of the huge disadvatages being a member of the Europen Union!!!

      Mute swans are so beautiful though nasty evil birds🙂🙂🙂 We’ve had no mysterious bird death here so far this winter but normally those dying has gotten the bird flu. Lets just hope it isn’t a mutated form so that we all can get it🙂 I think we have the same reason for having mute swans here too🙂

      It is Epiphany tomorrow and this is the holiday most people relax before the normal work week comes back🙂 But when I grew up it was a food holiday too🙂 We usually went to my grandmother and ate all the leftovers from christmas🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I Like everything about your area. The rock wall. The moss. It reminds me of the mountains in New Mexico. I think the air would be crisp and clean. We have several acres in a rural area outside Ft. Worth, Tx. When you showed the gravestones of long ago I was reminded we have a grave on our place of a child who died about 100 years ago. I have an old timey rose bush growing over it now. It was a little boy who died at 4 of pneumonia. It isn’t marked except by rocks piled up over it. It is several miles from the little cemetary they used in those times. We don’t know why they buried him here alone but it is beautiful with wildflowers up here. His family members told me about it about 30 yrs ago. I really enjoyed the blog you did on the gravestones. I like history. Hope your dog gets better.

    • Hi Sandra and welcome to my blog🙂

      You should have seen this place before they started cutting down the old spruces. It was so bveautiful here then but even I must admit that since those trees are gone the wildlife has becopme much more exiting. Lots of new species both when it comes to animals and plants. We do have very clean air here and that’s why we have su many different species of mosses and lichens.

      That is an interesting story! Yes why did they bury him there? Perhaps it was a place the boy liked a lot and they wanted him to stay there for ever? Very interesting!

      I hope my dogs at least doesn’t get worse🙂 When old age has arrived I think that is all one can hope for🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  7. I wonder if Orvar has a mite or some sort of mange…but then if he did I would think the others would have it too.?
    I will be interested in hearing what the vet says.
    I’m glad to hear that it doesn’t seem to be irritating him though.
    Good Luck! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I don’t think it’s either. I think it is ringworm since he isn’t the least irritated, it doesn’t itch or anything. But if it is ringworm the others (and I I’m afraid) most likely will get it too. Rather easy to fix though and sometimes it will go away by itself after a couple of months or so🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

