Back in the days and now.

 

I think most of us remember when buying a tv wasn’t just buying a tv. It was buying a furniture! The screen was small but the furniture was big๐Ÿ™‚ Some even had a record player in them but those were so expensive that very few had that kind where I grew up. I remember how the whole neighborhood came to look at the tv and there was a lot of OOhing and Ahhing and that was even before anyone even had managed to set the one channel we had back then๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

The tv was the most important thing in the home and one could even buy special thermos flasks called Tv pitchers over here. To set the channel wasn’t that easy all the time either. First one had to turn a button so that the right wave length was right and then one had to adjust the tv antenna too. There were always a lot of: no, no, no YES, no you turned it to far and so on๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

It’s not the same today is it. Unless the tv screen is over 50″ there aren’t any Aaaahs or oooohs at all๐Ÿ™‚ Rather why did You buy such a small screen๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ There are no problems setting the channels either, the tv does that itself and it doesn’t matter if the tv antenna isn’t completely right, it works anyway :-)ย As You must understand I fetched my new tv at the post office today๐Ÿ™‚ and I must admit that I did say a little Ohh and a little Aaah๐Ÿ™‚ Compared to my old one this is huge๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

I guess I’ll be watching a lot of tv today because the storm we’re having is anything but nice. It isn’t that bad down here in the village or even at the open fields. But my little Mazda did jump arround a lot on the road when I drove up the mountain to get the tv๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ The winds pushed it like it was a thin leaf๐Ÿ™‚ and I am amazed that the roads were wet because the rain didn’t fall down to the ground, it flew horizontally๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

So now I leave You for an afternoon and evening in front of my new tv, drinking lots of tea and eating lots of sandwiches๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, Orvar started playing with us on our walk this afternoon, something he hasn’t done in a long while๐Ÿ™‚ I think the medicine helps๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Back in the days and now.

  1. Merry Christmas, Christer! Congrats on a new TV. We got a new TV, too. Our first flat-screen! I think we were officially the last family in the US still watching television on a “tube” screen! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe how sleek and flat our new TV is. Takes up less space, yet has a bigger screen.

    No snow?

    We have had ZERO snowfall in the KC area. We had some flurries one day in December, but nothing that stuck to the ground. Today, we are supposed to reach 56 degrees (F) and over the weekend, possible hit lower 60s (F). I’m not complaining, but Benjamin is. Daddy took him to buy snowboots in November and he has yet to wear them!๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great evening,
    Val

    • Hi Valerie!
      Merry Christmas to You too!

      My first flatscreen too๐Ÿ™‚ The screen is huge compared to my old 20″๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      We’ve hjad some snow a couple of times for a couple of days but that’s it. I’m not complaying either๐Ÿ™‚ But winter is still Young and I’m pretty sure it will come in a couple of weeks.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I remember the TV my parents had when I was very very young. It was a piece of furniture made of some dark wood. The tiny screen was hidden inside. You opened the top of the cabinet which had a mirror on the underside and you viewed the reflection of what was on the screen. I think it was supposed to help make the picture bigger. I don’t know. I wonder now if any printing on the screen would have been reversed the way it is in mirrors. But I was a toddler and couldn’t read anyway.๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s true what people think about new TV’s. If it’s not at least 55 inches, it’s nothing. I just bought a 26 inch flat screen. LCD or LED whatever the latest is. Anyway, my rooms are small, I have no place to put it and I can’t get far enough away from it to appreciate the picture. My friends said that at least it was the latest technology but why did I get one so small. Hey! It’s 7 inches bigger than my old one. Huge!

    Glad to hear that Orvar has regained his youth.๐Ÿ™‚

    Number 10 photo is my favorite today. I think because the place looks abandoned but there is a light shining on the corner of the building.

    Cold and sunny here today. A little bit of wind, just enough to make it uncomfortable to be outside. Enjoy your new TV and tea and sandwiches.๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Caryn!
      That was a cool tv You had back then! Ours was made of light tree, probably birch and we had to open a front door to see the small screen๐Ÿ™‚

      I guess You have a LED tv then, mine is a LCD tv, slightly older technology๐Ÿ™‚ But it is a huge difference to what I’m used to๐Ÿ™‚ This one is twelve inch bigger than my lasty one and it almost feels to big๐Ÿ™‚ I probably have to move it down to the livingroom๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ A work friend told me one should count ten inches/meter one sits away frtom the tv in the room (much the same in yards) so I’m probably sitting a bit to close now.

      I do hope it is the medicine helping and not just a short moment of good mood๐Ÿ™‚ One never knows with dogs๐Ÿ™‚

      That is my favorite photo too, I think it is an old wood shed, the house isn’t far away.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! great news about orvar! what kind of medicine is it? have fun with your new tv! i remember the days when you had to pound on the tv to get it to work. they seemed to always have loose tubes. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I do hope this means the medicine is helping. it could be a short moment of happy mood too๐Ÿ™‚ It is called Metacam and is a pain reliever and an anti-inflammatory.

      Yes those tubes๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ My mother always had a couple of spare in the kitchen just in case๐Ÿ™‚ Easier to repaire though, if it breaks down today I doubt anyone would like to repaire it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. good news about Ovar, back to his frisky self maybe, enjoy that new tv, I bet its a lot lighter to carry than the old one.We dodn’t have a huge tv, we bought a new one a few months back but a 32 inches is plenty big enough forour small home.We have quite a bit of snow now, its beastly cold today, minus 30 wind chill, have a wonderful time enjoying that new tv!

    • Hi Laurie!
      I do hope it is the medicine helping and not just a moment of good mood๐Ÿ™‚

      It doesn’t weigh much, 8 kilos. The old and smaller one weighs much more๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I really can’t have a bigger tv than 32″, I would have to stand outside if it was any bigger, my cottage is very small๐Ÿ™‚

      So winter has arrived to You now! I do hope it waits a couple of weeks more before it comes here, because it will come๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Good boy Orvar. I remember those days of old TV’s. And when the channel turner broke we had to use pliers to turn the channels. I hated those rabbit ears as the cats would always push them off the TV and to the back of the unit. Then we had an outdoor antenna on the roof. What a joke that one was. If a bad storm came through you got no channel reception at all. Most people today have two and three and even four TV’ s in their house. One for each kid. I hate seeing them in swimming pool areas but thankfully those are few. I like the small ones on pedestals in the kitchen so the chef can follow the recipe as the chef demonstrates it. I doubt it has a better use than that. Enjoy your TV.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Pliers was a standard tool in all homes back thrn๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ We never had those rabbit ears and rarely any problems with the antenna outside either. Many of us that only have the free of charge channels still have those antennas and they are far better now days๐Ÿ™‚

      The same over here with lots of tv’s in the homes but I will only have this one, I don’t look that much on tv anyway. To have a tv by the pool is like asking for problems and early death๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Merry Christmas, Christer! Santa has been good to you! Our first TV was 5″ round in a monstrous cabinet. We would watch the countdown pattern before shows would come on and thought it was so great. I now have a big-screen digital TV because I can’t read the print from across the room on my old TV, which is now in my craft shop! TIme’s definitely change. I apologize for missing some of your posts but it has been a very busy time, this year. Take care and enjoy your TV. I’m glad that Orvar is starting to feel chipper, again. It’s so hard when our pets don’t feel well.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      But those old tv’s were easier to repair๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ It’s sort of funny but now days our mobile phones has almost as big a screen as those old tv’s๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚
      My old one started to show all colors with a touch of green so it was time to get a new one๐Ÿ™‚

      I do hope the medicine helps with Orvars problems so it wasn’t just a moment of a happy mood๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I got a new TV for Xmas 2 years ago when everything went Digital. A nice HDTV. I just measured it and the screen is 10″ tall and 16″ wide. Hmmmm
    Well, I WAS happy with it. I don’t have cable or a “dish” on the roof….I have (I’m whispering)…. an antenna.
    YEAH! there I said it! I have an antenna!
    and I hate it. Sometimes Blue will move on the sofa and the screen will black out and a message appears that says “digital signal strength is low” so I will have to move the antenna. Or a good part of the program will be coming up and it loses the signal again….and I jump up and scream and run around holding the antenna up. yeah, not years ago but yesterday….but I refuse to get cable.

    Metacam? That’s what we send home with the pets after surgery for pain. That’s what they gave Rosie after the pole falling on her incident. But I thought they said that after a weeks time it lost it’s ablity to reduce the swelling…Maybe I got that wrong, I will have to check into that for you. Why isn’t he on Deramaxx? That’s what I usually see older dogs on. (Safer than Rimadryl) anyway…I will be looking into this but I give my old Griffin Deramaxx when he’s really stiff.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do have an antenna too but not the indoor kind and it works perfectly. I refused to go up on the roof with the new one when the old one gave up๐Ÿ™‚ So I just hang it in the window on the upper floor๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Doesn’t matter what we doo in the room, it just works as it should anyway๐Ÿ™‚

      Metacam is one of the most used medicines over here and it works very well. Lots of older dogs takes it daily for years and it still works. We’ve tried some other kinds but they didn’t show any good results. But I have to say that none of my dogs ever gotten metacam after surgery. Didn’t know it could be used for that since it does take a day or two to show any result in redusing the pain. Perhaps we just have different names on the medicines on both sides of the ocean?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

