To sow a seed is to have hope for the future.

I know it is Weednesday and usually my day off from blogging, but since I am at home and won’t do anything speacial anyway why not post a blog? We are just waiting for the next storm to arrive, this one it will hit the west coast and go straight over here. They are warning of hurricane force in the strongest gusts this time.

 

 

 

 

So I drove to the grocery store in Gudhem after our walk just in case power will go out and trees would fall and block the roads. The Norwegian weather forecats says it will be fairly calm here but one never knows. The owner of the store knows I love brownish bananas so he had saved  a couple of kilos (over four pound) for me. He also tossed in a big Iceberg lettuce and said “Your cats can have this”. Well to be honest, I don’t think he ever have had a cat living close to him🙂🙂🙂 But the deers will like it, that’s sure🙂🙂🙂 By the way, I called the vet and described how Orvar behaves, how he walks and how he sort of hmmms when he’s laying down and when he moves while laying on the floor. So now I’m testing how Orvar will react this coming week while giving him the same medicine as hector has. He agreed with me that he most probably is stiff in his joints.

 

 

 

 

I started the spring season yesterday by starting the sowing of trees and perennials🙂 Most trees and perennials living where winters get cold (or at least should get cold🙂🙂 ) needs a winter to break down those chemicals that prevents their seeds to germinate.  I also, for a reason I just can’t figure out, ordered even more seeds fpor trees and bushes🙂🙂 If I am successful with all these seeds I better buy a huge field because I have the start of a big forest in my pots then🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully we do have our plant swapping days during the summer so I might be able to get rid of most things on those days🙂🙂

 

 

 

While taking this photograph I had to stand on that little bridge in the next photograph. It is rotten so I wasn't sure it would hold my weight🙂

 

But why sow seeds this year when we all know the end is coming🙂🙂🙂 The Mayan calendar comes to an end and even if the mayans says nothing about the end of the world, the western world sort of has decided it is🙂🙂🙂 BY the way, has Harold Camping come with an answer to why he failed again with his predictions about the end of the world? I do think we need an explanation from him, after all who would have guessed that he was wrong, again!🙂🙂🙂 So I guess the reason for me sowing seeds is that I really have doubts about all these theories about the end🙂 But a friend of mine has now heard about a new one, if we don’t go under this time it’s 2017 we can look forward to🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

By the way, I have sent a question to the Natural History Museum in Gothenburg about that track I found yesterday. Didn’t see any new this morning though, but I did find a couple Lynx foot prints.

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “To sow a seed is to have hope for the future.

  1. Hi Christer,

    We had a windy rain storm last night and it was about 58 Fahrenheit here at 1 AM. Now, at 8 AM, it is 10 degrees cooler. It’s a crazy season.🙂

    I love that mushroom picture. It looks like a well-presented plate of some tasty delicacy.

    Rocky and I went for a walk by the lake late yesterday afternoon. There was a flock of seagulls standing about on the few bits of ice left on the water. Then I noticed a lot of seagulls standing and walking on water. There was more ice than I thought but most of it was covered with a thin layer of water so the gulls looked like they were doing a magic trick.

    Harold Camping has faded quietly into history. He will join the ranks of other unsuccessful apocalypse predictors. Eventually, some one will get it right, though. There is a prediction for a Solar Mass Ejection Event for 2012 as well but now the scientists are saying it might not be until 2013. Maybe.🙂 A Solar Mass Ejection will be apocalypse because it will blow out most of power grids and we won’t be able to function. It will take years to fix it. There’s always something coming at us. The star Gleise 710 is due to glance off the Oort cloud in about 1.5 million years sending comets crashing about the planets and causing havoc. Perhaps we should start worrying now?🙂

    Enjoy your brown bananas and your Wednesday.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      It sure is windy anyway🙂 Even though we do have storms more often in warm winters this is a bit absurd. We’re having a new one every second day it seems🙂🙂🙂

      We actually have seagulls here too, they normally don’t stay here during winter. I also saw a heron today! Very unusual! But none of them walked on the water🙂🙂

      I guess the scientists guess as good as anyone else🙂🙂 A giant solar mass ejection woul create a lot of problems here though, but I guess that if it happens on the wrong side of the sun we won’t notice it that much after all. So I guess we might as well worry about Gleise instead🙂 But shouldn’t someone find that Harold so he can explain why he told that lie?!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I hope they return an answer as to what the print is, I’m curious also.I have always had a keen curiousity for animal tracks and have even plaster casted them, bear and wold tracks.
    That sounds like a great storm approaching, take cover, I love to hear the strong winds but I know I shouldn’t enjoy it so much as the destruction a storm may do is very scary.I laughed when you said the shop keeper gave you lettuce for the cats , thats funny.I wonder why it is some breeds of dogs get arthritis more so than others, we gave our old dog joint supplements from the health food store and I think they helped him alot.
    Take care in the storm.

    • Hi Laurie!
      So far I’ve only asked them if they or anyone else can take a look at that photo if I send it to them. I doubt I’ll get any answer this week though and most probably not next week either. Most of us has taken a vacation this and next week. But I promise to tell You what it might be if someone can see what it might be.

      Yes this one is said to be nasty. But I hope it comes straight from west because the forest will take most of it then. But nothing beats sitting indoors listening to the roar of a storm🙂 I do wonder if he knows anything about cats🙂🙂🙂

      Big dogs do get arthritis much easier than smaller just because they are so big. I’ve read that a dog isn’t supposed to be that big when one loks at its coinstruction so to speak. Therse two loves to stay out when temperatures drop very low as well and that doesn’t help🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Ska bli mycket spännande att läsa om vad det var för djurspår!
    Här är det inte fullt så kul just nu. Först och främst så har jag lite “gallkänning” idag, men det är faktiskt den första på hela julhelgen så jag har skött mig riktigt bra. Fast idag åt jag lite för mycket hemgjord vitkålssallad och den är ju hårdsmält. Men…det värsta är att nu efter det att vattenläckagets hörjningar är fixade så fick vi besked om att vi måste dränera hela grunden. Jag trodde ju – i min enfald – att det bara vara utgången från huset till första dräneringsbrunnen som behövde spolas, men se det var det inte!
    Alltså måste ALLT runt huset grävas upp inklusive mina – som jag tyckt – ganska fåtaliga växter; blåregn, 5 clematis, forsytia, sammetshortensia + lite perenner. Man får ju dock vara glad att man varit lite föriktig och inte gjort alltför många rabatter utmed huset. Men kul är det inte! Och dyrt lär det bli!!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag hoppas att de eller någon de känner till vill kolla på bilden, men jag får knappast svar förrän nästa år eftersom många tagit ledigt lika länge som jag🙂

      Skönt att gallan inte bråkat mycket men jobbigt det där med huset. Inte roligt att behöva fixa hela dräneringen runt huset. Hoppas ni känner någon grävare så att ni får ett lite lägre pris. Växterna klara sig alltid dock🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Blir galen på dessa förb…. stormar som kommer var och varannan vecka:( Hoppas verkligen att det inte blir en massa strul nu med strömlöshet och annan skit. Ska verkligen bli spännande att höra vad det är för spår:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      De kommer lite väl tätt nu tycker jag🙂 Nästan varannandagsväder nu🙂🙂
      Vi brukar inte ha problem med elavbrott men blir set ett större fel lär inte vi klara oss heller.

      Jag hoppas att de eller någon de vet kan berätta vad det är för djur. Inga tecken på bäver så det djuret har jag räknat bort nu.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! batten down the hatches so you don’t blow away. fabulous photos as always. of course, i love the one of bertil looking off at something! i hope the medicine will help orvar. we didn’t get any of the snow they promised. at least it got a bit colder though! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      The wind comes from the right direction, so I cvan hear it but it’s rather calm around my garden. Just the way I like it🙂🙂

      Everyone loves photographs with Bertil🙂 it’s a shame he is such a grumpy cat🙂🙂

      I do hope this medicine will help Orvar and I’ll know in a couple of days if we need to go to the vet or not.

      To bad about the snow not coming, but winter is still young🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Welcome back Wednesdays, Yay! I recall you prepared the same last year for spring seedlings. I really like the exchange of plants in the summer there. We don’t have such a gathering here. Good luck with the paw print. We all await the answers on that one.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I’m much worse with seed sowing this year though🙂🙂 God knows how I’ll manage to take care of everything this spring🙂🙂🙂

      It is a fun tradition those plant swapping days🙂 It’s a great way to get those plants one didn’t have the space for and to get rid of some of what germinated to well🙂

      I do hope they can help me with that foot print because I’m so curious about what it can be. It does look a bit like beaver but it is too big andd there are no other signs of beaver being here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Nu har jag tittat på alla dina bilder. Skogsbilderna påminner om skogen här. Men vii har inga spännande ruiner här.
    Visst känns det när djuren blir gamla. Man försöker göra det så bra för dom som möjligt. Vi hade lyckan att ha en häst i 29 år, han blev 34. Men de sista åren så visste vi att det kunde vara slut när som helst. Turen var iallafall att han fick dö en naturlig död i sin hage. Men det var hemskt att hitta honom. Med alla dina promenader har så klart hundarna det bra. Även om dom är lite till åren kan dom glömma det för en stund och få vara unga igen.
    Jag avskyr när det blåser. Dessa stormar tar på mina nerver, inte för att jag behöver vara orolig men det finns där ändå. Skulle strömma försvinna har vi en motor så det blir inga problem. Även motorsåg finns. Kanske är jag påverkad av hästarna som inte gillar när det blåser. Inte dom jag har just nu. Hade ett russ för länge sedan som inte brydde sig om att det blåste han liksom bara kröp ihop och så var det framåt. Men mina nuvarande flickor vill bara vara inne. Fast enligt alla regler ska hästar vara ute ett antal timmar per dag men vad gör man när dom hänger utanför ladugårdsdörren och bara vill gå in. Då släpper iallafall jag in dom. Hoppas att väderprognosen är rätt så det inte blir så mycket storm.
    Jag har små mullbärsträd i fonstret. Inte tror jag på en undergång av världen. Bara en av dessa domedagsprofeter som vill ha anhängare och kanske tjäna lite pengar på alla som är lättlurade.
    Ta väl vara på er i ovädret. Ser framemot fler vackra bilder.

    • Hejsan Vittran!
      Det finns mängder av lämningar after olika torp som funnits här, men de flesta kan vara svåra att hitta numera. En gång fanns det över 60 torp här, nu finns det runt 20 hem kvar.

      Jo det är jobbigt när man märker hur det går utför med dem. Orvar och hector har jag ju dessutom haft sedan de föddes på djursjukhuset i Jönköping. Jag hoppas att medicinen jag ger honom nu skall hjälpa annars blir det till att åka till veterinären nästa vecka. Ute märks det ju inte så mycket som tur är. Han har fortfarande matglädjen kvar och gillar ju att springa runt överallt när vi är ute på promenader🙂

      Till och med katterna verkar gilla vinden här så den stör inte oss. Men jag skulle göra precis som du om jag hade hästar och de ville in! Inte skam kan man tvinga dem att vara ute om de inte vill!!! Detsamma gäller ju på sommaren när bromsar, blinnngar och hästflugor är som värst, naturligtvis skall de då få gå in om de vill!

      Tack och lov har jag inget växande i fönstrena än🙂 utom en tomatplanta som jag skall ta sticklingar av senare i vår🙂

      Jag kan inte hjälpa det men jag älskar dessa galna domedagsprofetior🙂🙂🙂 Har lika kul varje gång någon kommer fram med en ny🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Greeting us today is the beautiful photo of the moon over the roof, gorgeous! And of course the photo with Bertil lit up by light directly on his face is very captivating. I hope the meds will help your old friend, as well as it helps the other one. I received my first seed catalog (on Christmas eve!) and of course always look at everything, want everything, and as you say, would have to have so many acres to plant it all. Gardeners love to dream! Well at least you will have a lot to trade with at the plant swap!! Your plan to plant seeds with the hope of a future is my kind of plan. Not worried about the end of the world here!! Hey we are having a big snow storm right now..strong gusty winds, several inches of snow already and still coming down. so we are stoking up the fire and watching movies.I hope it is snowing where Joyce is!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I do hope so too. I took a look at Orvar’s teeth as well so now they are clean🙂 Bad teeth can also be a reason to why he isn’t to happy. They weren’t that bad to be honest but one never knows.

      My first seed catalouge came in early december, but the fun thing is that I haven’t ordered anything from that one🙂🙂 and I haven’t looked at any vegetables yet either so more will be ordered🙂🙂🙂 But as You say, if I’m lucky I’ll have lots to swap with this summer🙂🙂

      I’m never worried about the end of the world, it comes when it comes🙂 But I can’t stop loving these theories🙂 Why on earth do people use so much time in their lives to try to find out something they can’t do anything about anyway🙂🙂

      I woke up by the roar of the wind half an hour ago but I’m lucky, the wind comes from west so I just hear it🙂

      I too hope Joyce gets lots of snow! Have a great movie day in the snow storm🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

