Those little signs I don’t want to notice.

I’m noticing them more and more now days, those signs that tells me that my boys are getting old and I don’t like that. They tend to sleep more during the day, don’t play as much as they used to and Hector has had osteoarthritis for quite some time now. He has a great medicine that he takes every day but it is s strong one and the kidneys will get damaged by it in the long run, but so far so good. Osteoarthritis is common in big old dogs and Orvar has been lucky so far.

 

 

 

 

 

But I think he’s gotten it now. I can see it when he walks, he used to bounce along the roads and he and his brother is still walking ahead of me without problems, but I can still see that his legs are a bit stiff. He also likes to lay down when ever he knows I’ll stop to talk to neighbors for a while. He has started to sort of hmmm when he lays down, I guess his body hurts a bit so I better call the vet to see if he too should take that medicine.

 

 

 

 

 

But as I said, they still run ahead when ever we’re out walking and they love to go out on long walks even if they do sleep much longer after we’ve come home again🙂, Hector still jumps over the gate when we’re coming home after a walk and they do still play a lot, but the signs are there and they still sneak awy to the neighbors when they think I won’t notice it🙂🙂 :-) I know and hope we still will have a couple of years left, both their mother, old Erna and their grandmother, old Viran became 13,5 years old and my boys are only 8,5 so far.

 

The storm came back last night and it is still blowing real hard out there. Novas ears flapped around like crazy this morning🙂

 

 

 

 

We walked down to the creek this morning and I did find a track that I really can’t figure out what it is. It is around 13cm (5 inches) wide and it can’t have been older that a couple of hours. My guess would have been badger if it wasn’t that big. I have manipulated the photograph somewhat so that the foot print has become a bit easier to see. It is made in moist sand so it hasn’t changed much when the animal moved. Do anyone have any clue to what it might be? I know we don’t have exactly the same animals in our different neighborhoods, but we have similar🙂

The wind was just to strong last night and the roof of this old shed collapsed.

 

 

I’m not going to the sales this week. I hate crazy shoppers and they never have whet they showed in their ads anyway, for some reason those items always are sold out within minutes🙂 So I bought myself a tv on the internet instead🙂 I read the technological specifications but to be honest, for me it could just as well have been written in chinese🙂🙂 I didn’t understand a thing🙂🙂 What I like about this web business is that I didn’t have to write down my bank card number, I’ll just pay the tv when I get it at the post office🙂 It is time for a pot of tea and a sandwich or two now.

 

This is the foot print I wrote about. I've only made it lighter and given it more contrast so that it can bee seen more clearly. This makes the sand look dry but it isn't. My guess would have been badger but it is way to big.

 

Have a great day!

28 thoughts on “Those little signs I don’t want to notice.

  1. Ja, det är jobbigt när man börjar se tecknen:( mina katter är ju 14,15 och 17 år och jag ser också det där stela i vissa rörelser men en katt kan ju bli så mycket äldre än en hund men ändå. Dina pojkar verkar ju ändå förhållandevis pigga som du skriver:) Spåret du hittade kan det möjligtvis vara en bäver? Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Detb är tråkigt när det sätter igång, fast jag vet ju att de kan hänga med i några år till trots allt, om inte hectors njurar rasar förstås. Men så länge de tycker det är roligt att gå på promenader och att det är roligt att jag kommer hem när jag varit borta en stund så är det lugnt🙂

      Har bäver så stora bakfötter? Ser att Caryn kommit med det förslaget också även om storleken är fel. Undras om man kan skicka bilden till någon expert? Skall kolla det!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,

    It is sad when you notice your animals are aging. They deal with pain better than we do and when they can’t deal anymore, they will tell you that it is time. Help them with the things that can be fixed or eased and continue to enjoy them as long as they enjoy life.

    The track is too big for most things I thought of like otter, beaver, wolverine. It is not the right shape for canids even though I only see four claws.

    It’s Mega Beaver! The biggest, baddest beaver ever. Builds dams higher than the Empire State building, chops down whole forests in a single bite.

    I say Mega Beaver because Mega Wolverine would be way too scary (and smelly) and Mega Otter wouldn’t be bad enough. More like a giant fish-eating puppy.

    Yes, I probably have had too much Christmas. Back to reality.😦

    My internet doesn’t let me pay at the post office. In the olden days of mail order it used to be called COD (or cash on delivery) but I haven’t seen that option anywhere for years. PayPal or debit/credit card. I use PayPal whenever it is available because I can preload it with money or use a card and the vendors don’t get to see the card number.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes it is even if I think we still have a couple of years left together, but it sort of marks the beginning of the end. But as long as they like to go for walks and say hi when I comme home or a visitor comes it’s ok. The day they don’t do that it’s time to say good bye. But I hope we still have a couple of years left before that happens🙂

      I did find a site that showed different animal foot prints and it fits rather well on a couple of asnimals. But I think there’s a fith claw on the right but it is hard to see. This could fit on bear but then it is to small, wolverine but then it is to big and they don’t live cklose to here at all so I doubt that any one of them would walk down here. It could be beaver too but how big feet do they have🙂🙂 I must go back there tomorrow morning to see if I can find any more tracks of what ever it might be. But I do like the idea of a giant otter🙂🙂🙂

      I got a bit surprised when I found the “Pay at delivery” spot! It cost 7 US dollars extra but thatä’s a spit in the ocean to be honest🙂🙂🙂 Internet fraud has grown massive here this last year so I guess they don’t dare not having that bit as well. I do believe their site is secure but I’m not that sure about my own computer. I check it for visruses every week but I’m not sure it doesn’t miss anything to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • My anti-virus program checks while I’m using the computer. I can see the status on my tool bar. Don’t know how good the check is though. It’s a matter of faith🙂 that the anit-virus program does actually catch things.

        Beaver feet are about 4 to 4.5 inches, (10 or 11 cm I think), otters are about the same and wolverines are a little bigger. You would have to go to the Amazon for the giant otters. Giant otters and pink dolphins. Fun!

      • Mine too but still it does miss some trjan horses. I got a couple while looking for those christmas pictures I posted in the bottom of each blog before christmas. I do have another program called Spybot search and destroy (can be downloaded for free) that is very good and it has taken them so far. But I have to search through the computer once a week (or every day if I so like) to see what it can find.

        It would surprise me if I found a cold resistant pink dolphin in the creek🙂🙂🙂

        Christer.

  3. hi christer! do you have bears there? we now have coyotes here. i hate to think about pets aging. it is sad that they live such short lives. teddy is 7 and our last chow doed when she was 10 1/2. she had stomach cancer though. chows usually live the longest of all dog breeds. we are supposed to get snow tonight!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I haven’t heard that any bear should be this south lately. But I checked a site and it could actually be a bear foot print. But even if it is very warm here now they should all hybernate right now. I’ll see if I can mail an expert on animal foot prints, I’m very curious about what this is🙂

      I really don’t like them aging either even if I know they do🙂 Their father died at this age by a rara kind of cancer, his bladder became one huge cancer growth but their mother and grandmother became rather old for being such big dogs.

      Congratulations for the coming snow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Good morning Christer. I have the same thing going on here with my girls. Lexie is over 10 and Gwennie is almost 9. They are both very active and cheerful, though Lexie, the Lab mix, is getting gray, and sleeps (and snores!) a lot. We all know the reality, but truthfully we love our animals so much, it doesn’t bear thinking about sometimes. The foot print is a bit of a mystery; maybe you have a new species in the area! Let us know what you find out. Oh my gosh, Nova’s ears standing full up; she might just lift-off in the big winds, lol!! We are supposed to get 2-4 inches of snow tonight. Of course, the weatherman just wants to put it there in the forecast, just in case!! Enjoy the vacation!!

    • Hi Robin!
      It is so easy to be selfish when it comes to my pets but I once talked with their vet and he said as long as they think it is funny to great people coming to the cottage and still loves to take a walk there’s no problems. But the day they stops it’s time for me to take them to him. I follow that but I have a tendensy to over dramatize how they feel🙂 I worry as soon as I see the slightest change🙂

      It might be a werewolf or a dirty Moomin that left that foot print though :-):-)🙂 But I’ll see if I can find somewhere to send this photograph because now I’m really curious🙂🙂

      Perhaps the wind helped getting rid of that dirt that gives her problems hearing when I call her back🙂🙂 It is funny because she has no problems when I’m telling them that they will get a treat🙂🙂🙂 But to be honest, she is really good in coming back when I call her at least as long as she doesn’t see any hare close by🙂🙂

      I think we’ll get some snow late this week and I’m not looking forward to it at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I’ve just begun to follow your blog. I enjoy it very much. Your photos look like the pictures I had in my mind as I read Steig Larsons books. My little dog is my “my children are gone now” dog and my constant companion. Your dogs are beautiful and I’m sure are great company for you. I’m getting older now and I don’t know if I could take care of another dog down the road. I hope so. Don’t you? On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day my family brought their dogs over too. They had presents and stockings for them.haha I love your creek and your woods. Beautiful!!

    • Hi Sandra and welcome🙂
      I haven’t read his books myself but big parts of Sweden looks like this. Most people live in the cities and towns so there’s a lot of forests and open fields like this all over the country🙂

      My dogs and cats rules my life🙂 I never go anywhere where they can’t follow. After all, they never asked if they could live here, I forced them🙂🙂
      But there’s always dogs that need good homes and rescue centres have dogs in all ages. Why not get an older one as a companion? I have a friend that’s over 80 and she’s thinking of getting a dog now, an older one. If she would go before the dog I’ll promise to take care of it🙂

      I never wrapped my dogs presents, pigs ears and chewing sticks🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

  6. Well the dogs look good in the photos. Only you would know though as they get at a certain age and the signs of wear and tear set in. I’ve noticed our five year old Himmie is more laid back. Zoey, of course, still has the brain of a kitten and keeps us on our toes. I hope the vet can get something that comforts the dog. It’s so hard to tell if it’s age or an inflammation somewhere. Let us know.

    • Hi Z&M!
      They are still full of life but the signs are there. I guess it showes clearer now when Nova is here, suddenly my boys are two grumpy old men🙂🙂🙂
      I’m pretty sure that Hectors medicine will help Orvar as well but I want to be sure it’s nothing else, so I’ll call the vet tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!
      It is rather big and I’ve never seen anything like this before. I have however seen claw marks far away from the creek that fits with this foot print, so I don’t think it is a beaver. I’ll try to find out what it is and I’ll let You all know.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. nothing can stop mother nature and our dogs live as long as planned, hard to take though because their lives seem so short.They are handsome doggs, you are a very lucky man to have such fine four legged friends to share your life.
    A storm is coming for us, they say, they are wrong so often who knows, that is an unusual print,, would be interesting toset a camera up to cature film of what ever it is,

    • Hi Laurie!
      So true but it does feel sad to see how they get older and how they slowly gets bad. But they are still happy and I think it is because Nova is here that I notice the change so clearly. They have become grumpy old men those two🙂🙂🙂

      We’ll get a new storm already on Thursday and this time it will be rather bad here they say.

      I was planning on buying a wild life camera but I bought a new tv instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Man vill ju helst att tiden stannar upp och man får behålla sina älsklingar, men tyvärr blir ju inte bara dom äldre utan även vi med dom! Det är ju både en lycka och en olycka när dom börjar bli äldre. Lycka för att man har haft glädje av – och med – dom så länge och olycka för att man vet vad som väntar. Jag hoppas verkligen att du får ha kvar dina “småttingar” många, många år och att dom tills dess får slippa undan dom värsta smärtorna!
    När jag såg och läste om spåret så tänkte jag också på en sydlig björn. Den kanske har blivit helt förvillade av den milda vintern och inte gått i idé!? I vilket fall som helst så är det mycket spännande. Fast hur ser spåren ut från varg egentligen?
    Såg på Facebook att du skulle ha plantor till Karins träff i sommar. Vet du något exakt datum för den?
    TREVLIG FORTSÄTTNING
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jovisst hade det varit skönt om tiden stannat när det gäller hundarna🙂 Slitaget oc skavankerna på mig själv kan jag ta utan problem dock🙂

      Jag mailade till naturhistoriska mus’eet i Göteborg och frågade vart jag skulle vända mig, de brukar veta det mesta själva annars brukar de veta vart man skall vända sig🙂 Vargspår är som hundspår fast upp till 12 cm breda, Mina pojkars fotspår är hälften av det🙂🙂

      Tja först skall jag ju lyckas med sådderna🙂🙂🙂 Hon brukar ha det i slutet av Juli när jag har min semester🙂 Hon meddelar alltid i god tid!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer, your holiday greeting arrived today. It was a lovely shot. Thanks for doing a card exchange with us again this year! Yes, it is sad when our pets show signs of again. We do not have any pets now. We both have had cats and dogs in the past. But with our recent road trips, we decided to remain pet-less as there is no one here to tend to them when we would be away. My cat was named “Sambuca” after the licorce liquor of the same name, because she too was black.She was totally devoted to me, but developed an internal problem that made it necessary for me to have her put to sleep. But she had a very comfortable 12 years and for that I am thankful amd remember the companionship she brought me. I hope that Hector and Orvar continue to be able to go for your walks and that you do not have to face sadness for awhile, my friend. Good luck with your new TV. I feel the same way about sales so did not buy anything before OR after the holiday, except for some holiday movies I ordered online. Happy New Year a bit early from Grenville and myself.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      So it arrived🙂 I know some of You that I sent cards to got it just before christmas🙂

      Yes it’s sad but it comes with having pets I’m afraid. I’ll call the vet in an hour so he can take a check on Orvar. I’m pretty sure he’ll say that I should give orvar the same medicine as Hector already get🙂 But it is always better to be sure and not just start with a medication that might help with pain but really just covers the real problem.

      I hope the tv will come this week🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Christer,
    Gracie is only 6 but already has gray in her muzzle. I am nervous as my other boxers only made it to 8. Miss Gracie is the most active of all the dogd I’ve had and the smallest so maybe she’ll be around a while, the same with your dogs!

    • Hi Kat!
      Neither Orvar nor Hector has especially many grey hairs oddly enough. Theur mother looked like 100 when she was this age🙂🙂 :-)I do hope both Miss Gracie and my two boys have many years still🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. I just read your last 2 posts. trying to catch up and I wanted to leave you a message here. I’m working extra long hours and just come home and feed the dogs and crash. I can’t wait until the Holiday season is over. I currently am caring for 36 dogs and 10 cats by myself and most have special feeding schedules and medications. I’m exhausted. But I actually had a great Christmas (went to my sisters) and it started out nicely on Xmas eve with a Good Yule card from you! Thanks so much! I intended on sending out Xmas cards but somehow time got away from me.😦
    I lnow what you mean about noticing our pets getting older. Did you ever read the book “Amazing Gracie”? She died young, at least I thought she was young I’m thinking it was at age 7. (a deaf Great Dane) but then I was told Danes don’t live as long as smaller dogs. My Blue just turned 6. Sometimes I think I notice things but other times i think I’m just paranoid. I don’t know what I would do without that dog. It breaks my heart to think about it…..so I won’t.
    Anyway, Thanks again and glad you had a good Xmas and Happy New Year!
    (oh, and I use PayPal too. works great so that no one has your credit card #)🙂

    • Hi Cindi!
      I thought You would have lots to do at work now, lots of people go away over the holidays and can’t bring their pets.

      I’m glad my cards reached You on the other side of the ocean this year🙂 and in time as well🙂🙂

      It is hard to see our dogs and cats going old. Big dogs tends to leave us earlier than smaller ones but I’ve been lucky so far🙂 3 is the standard age when it comes to my dogs. Since Blue is part labrador he does stand a chance of getting very old too🙂 I do hope this medicine helps and I took a look at his teeth as well yesterday. I’ve seen worse but I cleaned them up and removed some calculus or plack, I’m not sure what You call it🙂 His breath is at least nicer now🙂

      Not all web sites allows paypal I’m afraid and it wasn’t that long ago someone managed to break in to paypal and stole lots of account numbers. I love how easy it is to buy things on the internet but I hate how easy people can rob me without me even being close.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

