A day to rest.

 

I don’t know how it is in the rest of the world but this day is a holiday here in Sweden. Today lots of people goes out shopping, the middle day sales has started and it is now we can find the presents we bought before yule for half the price🙂🙂🙂 I’ll go later in the week because I really need a new tv now. My old one tends to make all colors turn a little green and that is a sure sign showing the tv is slowly dying🙂

 

 

 

I’m not looking that much on tv to be honest but since I still have to pay the TV-license, we pay a license all over Europe to have a tv, I just as well can have one. This makes sure that we have an independent tv that feels free to keep an eye on those with power so that they don’t abuse it. It also gives us tv without ant commercial breaks and that I love. We have to pay this license as long as we have anything that can receive tv and that includes most of our computers.

 

 

 

 

 

We had a nasty storm during the night, the worst one so far and even though my neighbor’s house took most of the winds my little cottage got hit rather hard. It squeaked and shook all night. The wind was howling and I loved it🙂 There’s something with winter storms that I love🙂 But I couldn’t see a single tree that had fallen when we were out walking this morning, something that we all are a bit surprised about. The ground is so wet that at least bigger trees, like old spruces, should have had problems standing in a storm like this.

 

 

 

 

I was going to start repairing the stove today but You know how it is early morning when the kitchen is a bit chilly. One turns up the heat or starts a fire in the stove only to remember that was a bad idea🙂 Well it will stay warm for quite some time so I still have time to do it during this vacation. The fireplace in the stove isn’t that bad so I could actually wait to do it till spring arrives. But it is better to do it now so I don’t risk to forget it later.

 

 

 

 

I think it is time for a nap, I’ll just finish the pot of tea I’ve just made. My dogs are already sleeping, Orvar here in the kitchen by my feet and the two others up in my bed. The cats are out looking at the birds by my feeders🙂

Have a great continuing of Yule!

14 thoughts on “A day to rest.

  1. Här har blåst rätt så rejält här också men i dina trakter och högre upp i landet har nog drabbats hårdast. Här är det ett trist duggregn idag så jag tror jag skippar promenaden:) Ska nog tända en brasa och sätta mig och virka lite. Fast jag väntar nog till mitt matbröd (LCHF) som är i ugnen är klart annars lär jag glömma bort det:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja här blåste det rejält🙂 Men det har ju varit mycket värre längre norrut. Jag hörde i mataffären att det varit några elavbrott här men det märktes inte hos mig🙂

      Det är såpass varmt idag att det inte går att elda någon längre stund här, så jag får vänta tills ikväll istället🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! it is a lazy day here too. my daughter leaves to go back to DC and i am making a big brunch for her. i am not much for new years so christmas is pretty much over for me now! joyce

  3. Hi Christer,

    Yes, today is a rest day. Time to finish digesting all the good food from Christmas. It looks like a lovely day to rest over there. Nice sunrise shots. And they are a warm, sunny gold color, not blue.🙂
    I had a political question about paying the government for permission to receive broadcast signal but it’s a day of rest so never mind.🙂
    It’s sunny and much warmer here today. The morning started out at 31F and will get up to mid-40’s later on. It’s okay by me. There were a few snowflakes yesterday but they were only decorative sparkly things floating in the air.🙂
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      We’ve had a rather perfect day for resting. The sun got hidden by the clouds and the wind is still rather strong so it is nice to stay indoors🙂 But it is so warm outside that I had to stop having a fire in the stove🙂🙂

      No day is a bad day for a political question🙂 The license money never comes close to the government. That is one way to keep them away from deciding what they should or not should broadcast. I know some think it would be easier to pay this license via taxes but if we do that, it would be way to easy for any government to interfere. Since those channels are commercial free they can’t be “forced” by any powerful group either just because they threaten to stop the money flow via commercials. So we have nothing like Fox news thank God!!! The tradition of having a independent tv and radio is so strong that none of the coommercial funded channels dares to do anything like that either, they would loose so many viewers if they tried🙂

      No risk of snow flakes here the coming days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Well, since you said it was okay. Who collects and disburses the license fees? Who grants the broadcasting frequencies to the different television companies and who decides what the qualifications are?
        Over here the government grants the broadcasting frequencies and licenses to the companies. We don’t pay a licensing fee to receive broadcast signals so, theoretically, one could get quite a bit of TV for the cost of electricity and equipment. But most of us want 500 channels even if there’s nothing on 499 of them which means subscribing to cable or satellite. If we want telephone, cable or satellite access, there is a federal tax for that service included in the bill.

        Broadcasters will pull programming when viewers get angry about something and start complaining to the sponsors or boycotting the products. Very democratic, if somewhat annoying to rational people.🙂 Congress gets its knickers in a twist about program content every so often and passes stupid rules that mostly get ignored.

        The Public Broadcasting Corporation (PBS for television and NPR for radio) gets most of its funding from private and corporate donations and some comes from government funding. Their government funding gets cut-off or slashed on a regular basis because Congress and the Conservatives think PBS is too liberal. It’s really because of the bright light that PBS and NPR shine on government operations. Congress threatens to shut it down but they won’t. They finally figured out that bundles of money were being generated by sales of PBS programming, dvd’s and Sesame Street characters. PBC wasn’t getting any of it because it’s a non-profit and can’t so the government passed some laws about licensing those things. Now the government gets its tidy little cut.

        I figure it’s a lot easier for the government to justify shutting down something that isn’t generating any money for the government.🙂

      • It is a company owned by swedish television and radio that collects the money and the money is devided between the both. Never comes near the government. The rules are decided by the parliament and all political parties are involved. The government gives a suggestion on changes but no bigger changes are made if not all parties agrees. Independent Tv and Radio is what we call a Holy Cow🙂🙂🙂 Something You don’t disturb to much🙂🙂🙂

        I think it’s much the same when it comes to cable and sattelite tv over here, we do have taxes on everything and it is most probably a rather high tax on that🙂 But none of the broadcasting companies would care if we got angry about anything we can see on tv🙂🙂🙂 Especially Swedish Television seems to think that if a program is popular and has been shown for a long time it must be something wrong with it🙂🙂🙂 Then they usually make changes we don’t want or stop making it🙂🙂🙂 The only time I know they actually got a bit worried was the year they decided to stop showing Ferdinad the friendly bull on Christmas eve🙂 So many complained and threatened to sto paying the license that they showed that program directly after Donald Duck and his friends🙂🙂🙂 We can take much garbage from them but that was one thing we wouldn’t tolerate🙂🙂🙂

        Christer.

  4. I love the sound of that storm, I know I shouln’t but I enjoy a storm anytime, it makes me feel so close to Mother Nature, it reminds us of how very fragile we are,, and also how little control we really have.
    Sorry about the tv, we just bought a new one, carried it out of the store in the card board box , it only weighs, 8 pounds, 32 inch screen, remember how heavy they were once! Enjoy a lazy day, sounds perfect!

    • Hi Laurie!
      I do enjoy a good storm too🙂 The roar from the winds were fantastic🙂 but I have a friend that was so worried that he couldn’t sleep all night, he stayed up until this morning. But down here in the south nothing much happened, some power loss in some places but that’s it. Further north 170 000 lost their electricity.

      Yes the new ones are so light🙂🙂 But it is time to say good bye to my old one, it’s probably almost trwenty years old by now🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hello there Christer! Here I am late, dragging in after yesterday’s feasting and festivities. Today, the whole household is sleeping in late, lazing around in jammies, snacking and napping. I could not begin to think of going out shopping like many many people do here the day after Christmas. I am in agreement with you about storms…love a good one, as long as no serious damage or people hurt, of course. As a Wiccan, we use the energy of storms sometimes in our Work. Otherwise, it is just amazing to listen and watch a storm! No snow at all for us, a green Christmas. Lots of people disappointed of course. Not me. Enjoy your stove, your tea and your leftovers. We are too, today. In fact, I think it’s time for a snack. Take care!!

    • Hi Robin!
      That’s a good way spending a morning🙂

      I didn’t look forward to go out in to those sales either so I went online instead🙂 The new tv will come some time this week I hope, it says 3-5 working days so it might come as late as next Monday. Now I don’t have to stress to get a tv🙂

      The storm came back last night and it still continues🙂 the wind has been roaring all night and still is🙂 I guess that means we won’t walk in the forest this morning.
      I’m happy as long as we’re having a green winter but I wouldn’t mind if the temperature dropped some, frost is beautiful too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. That was enlightening~no commercials of European TV. How wonderful. We use the mute button and go make a sandwich the spots are so long. Especially annoying is when they ran the full “Lonesome Dove” series. If they ran without commercials, it would have ran 5 hours. But with commercials 7 hours. I was really upset it ran past my bed time. So I always look to see who might be playing it again so I can watch the ending. We do have Showtime on cable but we pay for that and none are newly released movies. Kind of boring, if you will. Nice Photos today Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes we have four commercial free channels here in Sweden and all europen countries do have it like this. But we have loads of commercial ones too but I tend not to look at any of them. Like You say, a program that should take an hour without commercials will take at leas 1,5 up to 2 hours with commercials. I can feel how much I age while the program is shown🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

