A Good Yule I wish You all.

We were out walking for over two and a half hour this morning🙂

And so it’s here again, the holiday we all say we celebrate in the honor of the birth of Jesus Christ. But to be honest does anyone really do that? We might go to church and send him a thought but the rest is really against most of what he preached🙂 I have absolutely nothing against how we celebrate this holiday but shouldn’t we all really admit that we have this holiday to spoil each other with gifts and just have a good time🙂 There’s nothing wrong in doing that to be honest🙂

 

 

 

 

 

As You all know by now we don’t have santa here, we have the Yule Gnome. He does look just the same as Santa Claus though. But before him we had the Yule Goat giving away the presents here. Usually it was someone having a goats head made of straw on his head or even a stuffed goats head. The goat has a long tradition here and goes way back to the old  Norse gods (Asagudarna) we had here before. It was goats that pulled the carriage with Thor, the thunder god (amongst other things). He drove his carriage over the sky and waved his hammer so that lightning started.

 

 

 

When the gnome took his part in the present giving he became the one pulling the gnomes sled instead. Then the horse took that part and now he’s just a symbol made of straw in most homes🙂 The reindeer is rather new to be honest, at least in this country and I think that has to do with Disney. Every Yule eve since over 50 years back we’ve celebrated Yule with an hour of Disney characters and it is still one of the absolutely most popular programs during the year. Most wait to eat the Yule bord until Donald Duck and his friends is over🙂

We walked down to the old church ruin today, this part of the village looks very different to the part I live in.

Suddenly I see the roof of an old cottage. This is almost impossible to find during summer and can only be seen from two places during winter.

Another very important Yule symbol is the pig. Yule isn’t for real until we have that first slice of Yule ham🙂 Not a thin slice but very thick and I love to have beetroot salad to it on a slice of vörtbröd (a bread flavored with worth according to google translator🙂 ). But the pig has as old ancestry as the goat actually. It was the boar Särimner that lived with the fallen warriors in Valhall. They slaughtered him every night and every morning he came back. This could only continue as long as every single bone was saved till the next day.

There's no road or trail leading to it so we walked up to it through some bushes🙂

We never walked in to the garden because of the risk if glass and other sharp objects the dogs might walk on. But I will return by my self one day to take a better look at this soon to be ruin.

The first Christmas tree, or the Yule Spruce as we call it, was placed in a mansion 1741 ( in the beginning they used to be rather small placed in pots, just like I have done this year. But I had no idea about that until today🙂 ), before that we had decorated with twigs and branches and usually we did that as a wish for a coming fertile year, both when it came to children and the farms. Today I read that the reason they decorated the Yule Spruces with apples was so that the branches should hang more straight so that they could have small candles in them. Otherwise the candle would lean and burn down to quickly.

This is a very peaceful place. It feels like walking in to a church even though there's nothing left but some big stones.

I found an old birds nest on our way home.

It was rather chilly this morning when we started our walk, I think there might have been frost during the night because the ground was a bit crispy when we walked on the grass. The sky was cloudy but since we’ve come home the sun has started to show itself, this will be a wonderful Yule eve. This is our big day and later lots of homes will get a visit from the Yule Gnome, he scared the shit out of me when I was a kid to be honest🙂🙂🙂 and it was a relief to know that he actually wasn’t real🙂

The first signs of the sun showing up🙂

It’s time to have a sandwich or two, today with Yule ham and beetroot salad and perhaps a meatball or two🙂

 

The worlds biggets Yule Goat. They put it up in the town Gävle every year and almost every year someone burns it down.

 

Have a Good Yule!

28 thoughts on “A Good Yule I wish You all.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I’m a bit surprised that the church never managed to get rid of so much from our pagan past. But then again, changes must come from the heart not being forced by a stronger power like the church.

      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

  1. Tog en liten paus i uppdukningen av julbordet. Det blev precis som vanligt alldeles för många sorter, men däremot så blev det inte så mycket av dom. Våra juldagsgäster (grannar) som normalt alltid kommer hit har tyvärr fått förhinder och han är den som äter mest av alla (lika mycket som vi andra tre ihop), så nu kunde man minska. Så på juldagen ska vi istället bara slappa och njuta av varandras sällskap. Inte dumt det heller!
    GOD JUL
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag känner att det nog blev lite för mycket mat, inte ens godis går ner nu🙂🙂🙂

      För en gångs skulle kan jag bara njuta och ta det lugnt, annars är det jag som brukar fara omkring på vägarna denna dagen på året🙂

      Ha en riktigt God Jul!
      Christer.

  2. Thank you Christer, for the peaceful walk through the woods, up to the ruined cottage, past the old stones. I could almost feel the silence and peace of the woods. Enjoyed the history lesson about pigs and goats, and apples on the tree. Such a rich past. Enjoy the day, the meal, and then the night! Happy Happy Yule to you, Christer and to those you love!!! Sending you hugs and good wishes! This is the second Yule I have “shared” with you! Your blog is one of my favorites! Give the dogs and the cats special pats from Robin!! Enjoy that ham!!

    • Hi Robin!
      It was a wonderful walk and my dogs and I was almost totally alone for a long time. A tractor and a car was the only life sign🙂

      It was fun to learn about why they decorated the trees with apples🙂 I had no idea that was the reason, I thought they only wanted something colorful in the tree🙂🙂

      I’m afraid I ate a bit to much today🙂 I will have to take it easy for a day or two now🙂

      Lots of good wishes is sent from the little village at the outskirts of the world🙂

      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

  3. God Yul Christer,

    I had forgotten about the pig the keeps on giving. It’s like the Celtic drinking bowl that is never empty.

    Christmas isn’t about Jesus very much but, then again, Christ isn’t about Jesus very much either.🙂 The early Christians didn’t want to lose their old traditions so the Church co-opted the celebrations and put a Christian spin on them. Very wise marketing on their part.🙂 But the dark time of the year needs a celebration of light which is probably why most cultures have one.

    Different walk today with different sights. I love the house with the lights in all the windows and the Swedish flag flying. At first I thought the picture at the end was a straw horse but now I think the arched things are supposed to be horns so it must be a straw goat.🙂

    Please tell me what is in your beetroot salad. Mine has lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, toasted cumin seed and mint and beets of course.

    It’s seasonably cold today but sunny so it might warm up a bit. I have all my family parties today so I will be very busy and very tired.
    Enjoy Yul!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I wonder why we didn’t have that drinking bowl in our folk lore. I mean what use is it to eat all the time without having an ever lasting drinking bowl🙂🙂

      So true, they were clever in joining christianity and old customs together. But I think we haven’t even a small part of that left. Why not just say this is a big party where we have lots of fun🙂🙂

      It is the worlds biggest straw goat🙂🙂 This year they burned it down quite early🙂🙂🙂 Many are angry about the burning but to be honest, no one would know it existed at all if it wasn’t for that reason🙂🙂🙂

      I buy it ready mad but I’ll take a look at what’s in it. I tell You tomorrow🙂

      I actually felt some heat from the sun today!!! I can’t remember that I’ve ever felt that at this time of year!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Har bara en liten stund på mig att önska GOD JUL!!!!!!!! Får komma tillbaka i morgon och titta på alla dina fina bilder. Den sista med bocken är härligt.
    Ha det gott!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. A very Merry Christmas to you! We are having a Yule pig also, and I’m so looking forward to it. We’re also tracking Santa on Norad here; is there any way online that you can track the Yule Gnome?? Last year, here in Ohio, we had plenty of snow; this year it’s been in the 50’s most of the month and will be today, also. And….the sun is shining bright. Sigh……I love snow, but no matter, Christmas is all about family.
    You take care……….as always, I love your pictures…….

    • Hi autumnrose!
      Since our Yule Gnome really doesn’t fly (at least not originally) and since he meets all children we don’t have that service here. But I read in the news that Santa is clear for flying in over the US territory now🙂 I think it’s great that You can track Santa via Norad🙂

      The sun actually gave some heat today! I got really surprised and can’t remember that ever happen at this time of year!

      Have a God Yule!
      Christer.

  6. Nä jag kan väl inte påstå att jag tänker på jusus när vi firar jul, det är för mig en storhelg med traditioner och som du säger en dag/tid för nära och kära att samlas umgås och ge varandra presenter:) Som jag sagt tidigare firade ju vi vår julafton igår, men i dag har både sonen och dottern med lillprinsen varit här hos mig en stund:)) Har inte alls känts som julafton idag;) Nu ska jag snart ta lite skinka och en o annan sillbit Kram på dig/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja så är det ju, inget fel i det egentligen men jag tycker nog att vi skall sluta kalla det för en kristen högtid för det är det inte🙂

      Jag åt liiite för mycket innan kalle så nu blir det kaffe som mest hela kvällen🙂

      God Jul!
      Christer.

  7. OH! I look forward to seeing photos of the old abandoned cottage.
    Do be careful, you never know who could be inside!😀
    MERRY GIFTMAS!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I’ll go back there when spring comes. But I doubt that anyone would be in there. If one doesn’t know the cottage is there it’s almost impossible to see it, especially when nature becomes gree again🙂

      Good Yule🙂
      Christer.

  8. Nice history lesson but I think the Germans created the reindeer pulling Santa’s sled. The Christians are celebrating the birth of Jesus to compete with the Jewish celebration. The Bible is pretty clear that Jesus was born in the harvest season, certainly not December. But they all have Pagan roots. Today’s post is like a tour of your two hour walk. Enjoy your ham and beetroot salad. I was up late last night so will watch the Redskins game and nap. Have a wonderful Holiday!

    • Hi Z&M!
      ÅPerhaps it is the germans inventing a sled pulled by reindeers but that never reached us back then. I don’t think we ever thought of anything like thgat until we saw Disney at Yule. His cartoons have had a huge impression on us and I doubt many outside Sweden really understands how big🙂🙂 Almost half our population looks on Donald Duck and his friends at Yule eve.

      It doesn’t matter when we celebrate Jesus if we want to do that since we really don’t know the real date. But Yule or christmas is no longer a celebration of him to be honest. It’s really just the opposite to be honest, this holiday is a celebration to Mammon.

      I enjoyed every bit of what I ate🙂

      Good Yule!
      Christer.

  9. hi christer! i got my yule card today..just beautiful! thanks so much! i love hearing about your yule. it feels more like easter than christmas here. did you make a yule ham? if so, you will have some good sandwiches this week. have a very wonderful christmas eve! joyce ps..did you eat plum pudding yet?

    • Hi Joyce!
      So it reached You in time🙂🙂 I was so late posting them that I never thought they would arrive until late next week🙂🙂

      The sun actually gave some heat today and I don’t think I’ve evr felt that this time of year before!

      Yes I did a ham and it’s Ok. I want it more on the dry side than this one got but the taste is just right🙂

      I’m just about to have plum pudding after writing this. I’ll tell You what I thought about it🙂

      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

