It has finally turned towards longer days.

 

The last work day for the year is done🙂 I have lots of candy and cookies to eat, my yule ham is soon ready to be eaten, the days won’t become any darker and it’s only two days till Yule. Things can’t be much better🙂🙂 Also the snow is melting away and we’ll get up to 10C (50F) in a couple of days🙂

 

 

 

 

I´ve posted all my Yule cards, the ones going over the ocean will most likely arrive sometime next week. I was a tiny bit late posting them for a sure arrival before Yule. But I’m happy if they actually arrive this year🙂🙂🙂 Tomorrow I’ll just have to go to the grocery store in Gudhem to but the last things food wise and to Falköping to buy some fire logs so I don’t have to think about that during Yule. I’ll also continue with the yule tree decoration and after that I’m ready.

 

 

 

 

We now think it was a wolf following me and my dogs and Bertil the other week. My neighbors told me today that there are two wolves in the neighbor community and that’s not far away from here. I only wish I could have seen it properly. I don’t mind having wolves around as long as I know it because then I can keep my dogs closer to me so that any wolf would hesitate to come to close. They usually keep away from humans but dogs they will kill if they get the chance.

 

 

 

 

I’ve just made a pot of my Yule inspired tea called Gnome Spinn, to be honest it doesn’t remind much of Yule at all but since it contains some ginger I guess they can call it anything Yule inspired :-)🙂🙂 Later on I’ll see an episode of Grimm. The main character is rather boring but his sidekick, the Blut Baden I think he is called, is very funny🙂

 

This is what I found in the Yule present from Joyce. Amongst other things a plum pudding with hard sauce🙂 I love plum pudding🙂 but it's hard to find here and before Joyce wrote down a recipe in her blog Octoberfarm I didn't know how to do one. One kind of candy is already eaten🙂🙂 and soon the Pennsylvanian Dutch candy Sassafras will be finished too🙂🙂🙂

 

Have a great day!

 

This is an illustration from the book "Look, Madicken, it's snowing". The painting is made by Ilon Wikland and the story is written by Astrid Lindgren, the writer of the Pippi Longstocking books.

 

20 thoughts on “It has finally turned towards longer days.

  1. hi christer! glad you like your goodies. i forgot that i sent you those chocolate covered coffee beans. someone recently mentioned them to you on your blog. have you tried them yet? i love seeing photos of your snow. it is still in the 50’s here so all i can do is dream! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I love them🙂 But I’m saving those beans for christmas morning🙂 I think I’ll love tyhem🙂

      The snow is quickley melting away now but I guess it will stay longer in the forest so there might still be some snow photographs the coming days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. iINTE KLOKT VAD FINA GREJOR DU FICK! Det är också extra kul att få saker från andra länder!!🙂🙂🙂

    Jag har några brevvänner (eller rättare sagt hade, 3 av dom är avlidna ;”glada änkan” och det äldre paret) som jag alltid fick goda små julpajer, maltvinäger, godis samt annat spännande av till jul. Numera har jag bara ett “tråkigt” (dom skriver så sällan) par kvar och av dom blir det bara ett julkort.😦
    Själv skickade jag naturligtvis svenska saker till dom också; torkade gula ärtor med recept på ärtsoppa, polkagrisar, sega gubbar, punsch m.m. m.m.

    Jag vet inte om du sett det, men här på Gotland så sköts en räv i förrgår som hade terroriserat folk och deras husdjur uppe i Visby. Det var gammelgubben i en familj på fyra individer som faktiskt anföll både folk och husdjur. Låter som en saga, men tydligen hade den hållit på i ett halvår ungefär.
    Nu vet man ju inte om resten av flocken är likadan, så man avvaktar med att skjuta dom andra tre rävarna.
    Jag håller alla tummarna för att dom inte skjuts, men det är klart om någon räv anföll Santos (som skulle vara en lagom munsbit för en riktigt stor räv) så skulle jag bli livrädd och förmodligen vilja att den avlivades! Man är ju “sig själv närmast”, som det heter!! 😦😦

    Idag hade vi fått 2 mm snö, det var vitt på vägarna med gräset stack upp ur det vita så det var inte riktigt så att den förväntade julstämningen infann sig.🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jo jag blir allt bortskämd av Joyce🙂 Kan ju inte påstå att jag inte gillar det🙂🙂

      Det är väldigt ovanligt att rävar uppför sig så. Det kan vara så att den uppfostrats av människor, då kan de se allt i människans närhet som konkurrenter. Här är det rent av svårt att få syn på dem. Jag håller tummarnma för att de andra skall hålla sig lugna!

      Här smälter snön bort fort nu, regn och värme kommer att göra processen kvick tror jag.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,

    Lovely goodies from Jaz. I especially like those soup mixes though I haven’t come across them in a while.

    You are looking very Christmas-y there with all the snow cover. It’s 53 Fahrenheit and sunny here and I love it. I will go out later on and take some solstice sunset pictures and maybe some of them will be blue again.🙂

    Wolves! Cool! Of course, I think coyotes and foxes are cool, too, even though they eat the cats and other small pets. They also eat spawns of Satan and wood chucks. For that I will love them.🙂

    Enjoy the longest dark day, it’s all into the light from here.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’ll be needing those soup mixes after christmas🙂 All this candy and all the other good food will take its toll🙂🙂 So soup will be perfect🙂

      The snow melts away rather fast now, it will hit 50F shortly after christmas and lots of rain will fall they say. But it has happened that they have been wrong before🙂🙂🙂

      It would have been great to actually see the wolf and not just in the corner of the eye🙂 I love foxes but have no relation to coyotes since we don’t have them here. I would most probably like them though🙂🙂 and our squirrels are to shy so I almost never see them either🙂

      Finally light will come back🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Add some nutmeg to the tea Christer. Then it may come close to the Yule flavor. Lovely photos. We stay at 79 degrees through the weekend. Send me some snow! Happy Yule!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I’m not a big fan of nutmeg to be honest. So I think I’ll put in some cinnamon instead🙂

      I’ll send You some snow if You send my some heat🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I don’t think the wolf/es still are here, none of my dogs or cats has reacted lately. But I will keep my eyes open🙂

      She really is!
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, snowy photos nice to look at, but not so much to experience in real life (at least not for too long). You have got a great stash to go through from Joyce. I bet her plum pudding and hard sauce will be incredibly delicious and addictive! it looks huge too!! A little scary about the wolf, especially for your furry family. Would be beautiful to see though. Enjoy all your time off and Gud Jul!

    • Hi Robin!
      So true!
      I don’t think I need much more for yule now🙂🙂 The ham is ready, so it’s just a few things more for the yule bord and I’m ready🙂
      It is big plum pudding🙂 And I’ll enjoy it in smaller pieces so it lasts a longer time🙂

      I really don’t mind the wolf as long as I know it is here. They do attack dogs and I want to be prepared to meet them. I won’t let them take any of my pets without a fihght🙂

      God Jul!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, what a feast you have in that package from Joyce. I’m sure the snow could last and it would not bother you being indoors now. Good to know that work is done for the rest of the year – enjoy your time off, which I am sure you will do! My favorite snow photos was the last one before the photo of your holiday package.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      So many gooies in that yule present🙂 I’ll make sure it lasts for a long time and not gulp it down in minutes🙂🙂🙂

      I won’t complain about the snow fast melting away now but after that it actually could be a bit colder again, I don’t mind that🙂
      I will enjoy it to the fullest🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. The perfect amount of snow. It’s just beautiful.
    Seeing Bertil out in it makes me wish again that my cats could enjoy some outside time but I’m on a busy street so I just can’t do it.
    We are having weather in the 40’s here and it’s supposed to stay that way all next week too.

    Why do wolves kill dogs? is it a territorial thing, a survival of the fittest? Whatever it is, that’s frightening.

    Boy, Joyce packs a FABULOUS gift basket. I’m glad you got such a nice gift!😀

    Grimm is on tonight, in about an hour or so. I agree the sidekick is very funny. I WAS thinking the main character was “hot” as in cute but THEN (and I am still upset by this) it showed his old aunt’s grave and on her tombstone, her year of birth showed to be 1958,…..
    Yeah 1958! the OLD woman was born a year AFTER me. So now I feel like an dirty old lady looking at someone that way that when he’s young enough to be my son or nephew. Dang, I hate when I forget that I’m not “young” anymore. Sigh….but I do like that show, for more reasons that that! LOL!😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      All snow is gone now and that’s perfect🙂🙂 But I was hoiping for some colder wheather now but t will turn towards the 50’s instead.

      A wolf see dogs as wolves. There’s no difference to them and as they would kill another wolf they therefore kills dogs. Anything that could be a competitor for space and food is treated just the same way. But they have learned through time that humans should be avoided though.

      I’m glad for that yule present as well🙂🙂

      Well his aunt wasn’t old🙂 She was dying from cancer and that’s why she looked like she did🙂🙂 But there’s nothing wrong in having a toy boy🙂🙂🙂

      Good Yule!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

