The Yule Gnome came early! A package from Joyce has arrived :-)

Seing this and You must understand why I love being spoiled by Joyce🙂

 

Yule Eve came early this yearwith a package from Joyce (Octoberfarm) :-) I knew it was on the way and today I could get it from the post office🙂 I’ll tell You what’s in it tomorrow, so far I’ve started to working my way through the candy🙂🙂🙂 I can tell You thisd much, I’m totally hooked on Pensylvania Dutch Candy Sassafras🙂🙂🙂 There’s lots of other goodies in there though :-) You sure know how to spoil me Joyce and I love it🙂 Thank You!

 

I took this photo last night and it shows the star constellation Orion. The bigger red star that You can see here is Betelgeuse and it is an interresting star, a red giant that can explode soon. Well soon when it comes to the universe is anything from now to hundred of thousands of years🙂

 

Our moon however will never explode.

 

 

It has been snowing all day here, sometimes less sometimes more.

 

The big inspection of the stove and chimney went well today. He did think I should repaire the stove and when I showed him the bucket with the clay I bought he didn’t even care about making a note about it. I know how dangerous a bad stove is so I’ll reapaire it after Yule.  One of our more popular actors here in Sweden lived not far from me and they know belive it was a bad stove and chimney that was the cause of the fire.

 

 

 

 

They had made the chimney to hot and then cracks are created and through the cracks comes sparkes that starts fires. But from now on houses will burn down anyway because people tends to forget to put out the lights in the advent candlesticks. It is the biggest single cause for fires in homes this month.

 

 

 

 

 

It has been snowing all day something they never said anything about in the weather forecasts. Cloudy yes but no snow, so I wouldn’t be surprised if the snow stays for Yule. The prediction says warm and rain so I guess it might as well be cold and snow instead🙂🙂🙂

 

Have You ever read the stories about Mrs Pepperpot? It's really a Norwegian story but we love it here in Sweden! This picture shows a TV advent calendar they made years ago. Every year they make a new one on Swedish Television and this was so popular they have shown it twice as a advent calendar and several other times just because we love it🙂

 

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “The Yule Gnome came early! A package from Joyce has arrived :-)

  1. Jam-packed post today, Christer, my goodness! Such a happy fortunate Swedish fellow you are to receive one of Joyce’s great gift baskets! Don’t eat all that candy before Jul!!! I am crazy about the photo of Orion and Beteguese! Thanks for the astronomy lesson! The other photo I love today is of the dogs running towards Bertil, really great, and Nova looking rather snowblown! Glad the fire inspection went well, even though the inspector seemed kind of blase about the clay. It is amazing to me to think of how careless so many people are with their stoves, fireplaces, candles, etc. So many tragedies that could so easily be prevented. Enjoy all your festivities, and again, I say, don’t eat all that candy, the Jul Gnome will not be happy about that!!

    • Hi Robin!
      It is like winning the lottery when getting a basket from Joyce🙂🙂 I don’t think I would manage to eat all that candy before Yule🙂🙂🙂

      I love looking up in the sky and watch betelgeuse! It isn’t that far away really and it might already have exploded. Orion wouldn’t be the same without it though.

      The inspector was pleased with weing the clay, the fire place in the stove is till good enough but only just. So I better do it now when I have a vacatiuon and when it will get warmer again. But that’s hard to believe when seeing all the snow falling right now🙂🙂

      Most people doesn’t know how to burn wood in a stove, usually they put to much firewood in there so that the stove and chimney gets way to hot. I wish they would learn how to do it before they start. The candles is another thing, that’s just stupid!Never burn candles before going to work or to sleep! But everyone seems to think it’s so beautiful that they don’t care and then they forget to put them out. That´s why I never lit the candles in my advent candlestick🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! yeah! it arrived! know you can eat plum pudding. just warm each piece up a bit and top it with some room temperature hard sauce. i am glad it made it in one piece and so timely! i love the photo of the dogs running to bertil! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Thank You, thank You, thank You🙂
      The basket itself is so beautifully wrapped that I only made a hole in the back and picked out the things🙂 I’ll show all readers on thursday what’s in that gift, many will be envious🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Betelgeuse, Bellatrix, the shoulder stars. Rigel, Saiph, the knees. Alnitak, Alnilam, Mintaka, the belt stars. Sirius and Procyon, the dog stars. Carina has some earth-type planets. We live in the Orion Spur of the Perseus Arm of the Milky Way Galaxy. That’s all I know about Orion.
    The weirdest thing is that Betelgeuse may have exploded already and we don’t know it because the light from the explosion is still traveling towards us.

    Lovely shot of the constellation. I see it out my front door. It always depressed me a bit when I walked out before sunrise and saw it there. It meant the dark season was coming. As the season progresses, I see it earlier in the evening and that makes me happy. The dark time is passing.🙂
    Three cheers for winter solstice!

    It’s sunny and cold here and there may be some snow flurries later this evening.

    Glad your chimney passed muster. Enjoy the snow.

    • Hi Caryn!
      And still I think You know more than most people🙂 That’s what’s really interesting with Betelgeuse, it might already have exploded we won’t know for many years or already tomorrow night🙂

      I have always liked that consteallation, it is so easy to recognise and that red star has always intrueged my imagination🙂
      Soon it will turn towards more light, already tomorrow actually🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Ha en riktig GOD JUL, hoppas på flera bilder doftande av jord, mossa,vatten och träd i det nya året.
    kram till alla med fyra ben också.

  5. Christer, we know you will enjoy your holiday package from Joyce and look forward to “seeing” it’s contents even if you won’t be sharing with all of us😦 The boys looked as if they were hurri=ying home to get out of the snow. Glad the chimney inspection went well.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      There’s one kind of candy You won’t see tjough, I’ve already eaten it all🙂🙂🙂

      They always run like that when we meet Bertil🙂 They just love our cats🙂
      I’m really glad about the chimney and stove being ok too! It would feel awful not being allowed to use the stove during winter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. SNOW! Just what I have been waiting for!! I haven’t been by for a few days and then I find this! I hope you got my card. I didn’t send photo’s as we were supposed to..but just a card. You know what we look like anyway.
    How lucky you are that Joyce sent you such a lovely Christmas gift. I have never seen a more wonderful cooking blog than Joyce’s..and when I want a really wonderful recipe for ANYTHING I know I can find it on her blog. She is such an interesting person..not to mention having a good heart.
    I will return and see what goodies she packed!
    Merry Christmas, Christer. It’s nice to know you check that chimney. Every year we hear of disasters.
    Take care..smile..Saint Nick is coming…not to worry if he doesn’t. Joyce has taken good care of you! :):)
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Lots of it as well🙂 It will stay until friday when warm winds and rain is coming.
      Your Christmas card has arrived and I love it! The card and that amazing envelope with pictures inside it as well is fantastic! That’s not just a card!

      Yes I am lucky :-)There are lots of goodies in there🙂 Amongst other things a real plum pudding with hard sauce in a jar with it🙂 That is really hard to find here and I do love a good plum pudding🙂 It is perfect to check the recipes on Joyce blog, there’s always something that fits for what’s in the fridge and usually easy to do as well🙂

      Lots of terrible fires here too just because people neglects their chimneys or doesn’t know how to use them properly. Now I can sleep good at night🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Härliga stämningsfulla bilder – både dom mörka och dom ljusa! Tänk att du åtminstone fick se snö innan julafton. Här fick vi hagel idag, sen såg jag att det var vitt av rimfrost på fälten när jag var till Ljugarn på eftermiddagen. Just nu är det faktiskt -1,5 (kallast den här “vintern”), så risken finns ju att det blir några flingor här med!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag hade gärna sluppit se snön överhuvudtaget🙂 Det gör inget om det är lite kallt dock och rimfrost är ju vackert det med🙂
      -4,6 här för en stund sedan🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Nothing like a good basket of wonderful goodies from friends to brighten the day!

    The snow in your pictures is very nice! Better you than me, my friend!

    Happy holidays to you!

    • Hi Jm1
      That basket really brightened up my day and it will continur to do so for a long time🙂

      The snow won’t stay for long though🙂 The rain will come on friday🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Love the photos!
    Is that a frozen ice drip?
    Love that last photo! It made me smile.😀
    Looks like that basket from Joyce had perfect timing and perfect contents. What a great friend you have.
    The snow looks pretty, we don’t have any yet but I really can live without it.
    I’ve got the flu and I have NO energy to do anything much less shovel.
    Careful with your stove! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes it is and as I remember it it was defrosting again so it had started to drip again.

      You mean the one with MRS Pepperpot🙂 I still love to look at the reruns of those programs🙂

      Snow is nice when it falls somewhere else🙂 I’m happy to just look at it on photographs🙂

      I hope You’ll get rid of that flu quickley!

      Taker care!
      Christer.

      • Actually I meant the one of the dogs running to greet Bertil!😀
        Unfortunately I never have seen Mrs. Pepperpot.

      • The stories abour Mrs Pepperpot is such wonderful childrens stories🙂 I grew up with those stories and just starts to smile when I think of them🙂

        Christer.

Leave a Reply

