The stupidest idea I’ve ever come up with :-)

This is not how I put up those lights 🙂 🙂 Can You see the duckling 🙂

Why not have a light net in the lilacs this winter, that would look nice. I really wish my brain could stop me when I try to think myself 🙂 As we all know this has costed a small fortune and to make it look less strange than it does I think I need to spend another fortune on light cords 🙂 🙂 But I have finally put it all up and the lights shine brightly in the rain 🙂

 

Even though this was just when the sun was supposed to go up it still was so dark that I had to brighten these photographs up so You could see anything on them 🙂

 

 

But naturally nothing comes easy and this was no exception. It started when I was going to connect the extension cable with the one I already have thrown up in the lilacs. It didn’t fit! It was just impossible to put them together and I know I have bought the right thing! It showed that those two small metal things that is supposed to go in to those holes in the other socket pointed in very strange directions. So I had to go inside and try to find a small enough pliers so I could correct that.

 

We couldn't go on our usual tripp down to the creek through the forest this morning. For once a hunter was up early and he had his dog with him. Even though I could hear the dog barking for quite some time they were out of luck 🙂 So we went down to the creek the other way instead.

 

 

The wind was icy so it wasn’t easy to move my fingers after a while. Finally I could put them together and then I’m supposed to screw on a lid that is attached to one of the contacts. Impossible!!!! They have made it to small so the only thing I did was to damage the screw threads. So finally I gave up and taped lots of plastic around the sockets so that no water can get in to the electricity and I placed that package high up in the lilacs.

 

 

 

Then I only 🙂 have to place it up in the lilacs. Only a very thin and light person can place a ladder towards lilacs and not fall in to the damn thing so I just tossed it up as far as I could, guess if I was surprised when that actually worked 🙂 🙂 🙂 It looked really nice when I was finished, but I didn’t count on the strong wind turning. The lights in the top still sits where I’ve tossed them but the wind sort of re-arranged much of the rest 🙂 🙂 Can You see how the lights sort of shows a duckling 🙂 🙂 The beak points towards the cottage 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Something very interesting had walked around on the fields and the road, my dogs followed the tracks thoroughly.

 

But then Nova started to look for filed voles or if it was moles, I never can tell the difference when looking at those dirt piles in the background.

 

I've been looking for tracks to see if I could find any unusual ones. These claws scratches is the only thing I can't say what they come from. The bigger one is rather big, around 7,5 cm or three inches wide. I have no idea what animal can have made those. Badger?

 

I can tell You that I won’t touch those lights again until it is time to take them down 🙂 If the wind want my lights to look like a duckling who am I to disagree 🙂 🙂

This is from another of our more loved artists. She was a writer and illustrator long ago. This is from a strory called Tomtebobarnen (I think) , Children of the forest in English.

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “The stupidest idea I’ve ever come up with :-)

  1. Well, Christer, I know you would probably appreciate honesty from your blog friends. I see more of an image of a dead crow lying on its back.Possibly a magpie. This could easily be symbolic of the Darkness of the Year, before the Return of the Light. Very, um, festive….for Jul, dont you think?

    • 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Hi Robin!
      I have laughed so much now 🙂 I think a dead crow would fit perfect with my mood after putting up this garbage 🙂 🙂 🙂
      the lowest lights are the ground, above them You can see the head (and beak) towards the cottage, as if the duckling looked down on the ground. The rest is the neck of it.
      I’ve had so much problems with this so I refuse to touch them again until it is time to take them down again 🙂 unless the wind helps me to rearrange it again of course, because the next time that happens they will all be lying on the ground I think 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I thought you were building a bomb. What does a duck have to do with Christmas or Yule? You would have been luckier if it looked like a Penquin. Or how bout a Bear to swear off all the wild hogs over there. Oh well, at least you gave it the College try. I think it looks more like an Angel. So there!

    • Hi Z&M!
      You really haven’t read what I wrote have You 🙂 The wind changed the way the lights were placed, so it doesn’t look like the way I had placed them 🙂 The duck isn’t my work really 🙂
      I have some problems seeing the angel but I’ll keep looking at it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! hey, at least you put up lights! lights are one of the most frustrating things about christmas i think! one year, i hired a russian electrician to string lights all over my backyard. i paid him a small fortune in advance. he did it while i was away for the weekend and when i returned, my entire backyard looked like your one tree. i don’t know what he was thinking! i took the few strands down and gave up on lighting my yard. now i just have my indoor tree and the lights on the front porch. one year i place a netting of lights over my rose arbor out front. it was a cold winter and i didn’t take them off until it warmed up in the spring. the roses had grown through them and it was a mess. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Perhaps I’ll rearrange them when I’m not as annoyed on them as I am now 🙂 🙂

      I can imagine how Your back yard looked 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think I would have hunted that russian down and forced him to do it again 🙂 But it is amazing how many things that can go wrong with such a simple task as putting up lights 🙂 🙂 I wonder if I even had bothered taking the net down that had tangeled itself in those roses 🙂 If nothing elkse rust usually takes it soon enough if it stays up long enough 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. wow, thats an adventure and a half,, maybe the wind will take pity on your frustration and rearrange them in a more pleasing dis play, any lights look pretty at christmas.I thought you only had teo dogs but I see three in one photo, I will go back and read again, maybe i missed something.Thankyou for sharing this,,sorry but its kind of funny,

    • Hi Laurie!
      If the wind does anything I think it will trown all the lights down on the ground 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I might do something about this when I’m less annoyed 🙂

      I have three dogs, Orvar and Hector wich is brothers and Nova that came last January. Before Nova came I also had old Erna, mother to Orvar and Hector.

      It is fun 🙂 It is amazing how many things that can go wrong with a simple task as putting up lights 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • It isn’t easy to keep track on how many dogs I have 🙂 🙂 I’ve had five big as my boys at the same time as most 🙂 Only two big and one small is unusual for me 🙂 🙂

  5. Hi Christer,

    Oh, yeah. Dead crow. Definitely. Belly up, feet pointed at the sky. 😀
    Or, it could be a Christmas goose.
    As you say, if the wind wants it that way, leave it that way.

    You have to show us a picture of the Ugly Green Thing.

    Those tracks are a little too big for a badger unless the track is eroded. The very biggest males leave tracks about 6.5 cm. They’re way too small for a bear and you don’t have coyotes. It’s Mega Badger!
    Strange things are walking in your woods. Mysterious shadowy wolf shapes following you. Giant Badgers. It’s not even Winter Solstice yet.

    It’s cold here and snow flurries are expected this evening. Bleh.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      🙂 🙂 🙂 I think I’ll have to show You all how I mean about that duck 🙂 But I sort of like the idea of a dead crow as well 🙂 🙂
      Yes there’s no use in arguing with the wind 🙂 It’s snowy outside as well now so I won’t touch anything at the moment anyway 🙂

      I thought they were a bit to big for a badger and too small for a bear. It could be wolf and perhaps a Lynx, but whay should a lynx scratch in the ground like that? If it didn’t start running there and sort of used the claws as spikes to get a better grip? But then again, this is the time of year the trolls and other beings are the most active 🙂 🙂

      Lots of snow here this morning.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I see the duck but I like the dead crow better. 🙂

        Badger tracks look most like coyote tracks but you don’t have coyotes.
        It’s Mega Badger, the biggest, baddest badger ever. :-D.

      • I like that 🙂 A mega badger would keep most things away from the forest 🙂 🙂 🙂
        I sort of liked the dead crow too 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Christer.

  6. LOL!
    sorry. and that is why I only have a tiny pre-strung tree on my doorstep.
    well….you could just throw some more lights on the other side and hope for the best.
    and then you could just leave it until Spring…I thought you hated Lilacs, so if they get tangled in, you could just hack it down!
    😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      🙂 🙂 and I totally understand why You don’t have more lights 🙂 🙂 🙂

      The plan is to cut down those lilacs in spring, so I better get those lights out of there before I start cutting 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Ledsen – men jag kan inte se något djur alls, men det kanske bara är jag som inte har någon fantasi!
    Eftersom jag är enormt petig när det gäller ljusslingor skulle jag blivit helt galen och rivit ner alltihop och slängt på backen. Har inget tålamod alls. Sen skulle jag fått skäll av gubben och så skulle vi haft ett jättegräl – för naturligtvis skulle det egentligen varit hans fel! *fniss*
    Det är ju typiskt sånt som händer med dom här jäkla slingorna till jul, så numera har vi endast två LEDNÄT – ett litet och ett större. Dom sätter vi upp tillsammans och det blir jättefint. Det är så skönt så att slipåpa bråka om dom! 🙂 Sen har vi en ledslinga där det sagt upp sig några lampor, den knölar jag ner i en liten trekantig metallnätgrej och så ställer jag det hela i en stor blomkruka mellan garagedörrarna. Blir också bra, så jag är nöjd – och inget familjegräl utbröt i år! *fniss*
    TREVLIG 4:E ADVENT
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag tror att antingen ser man ankungen eller den döda kråkan direkt eller så ser man den inte hur man än förklarar 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Jag har ju förstått att ljusuppsättning ute är nervpåfrestande 🙂 Nu sitter den som den gör och så får den förbli eftersom det dessutom är snö ute nu. Jag tänker inte förstöra mitt humör över det i alla fall 🙂 🙂

      Ha en trevlig advent du med 🙂

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

