Just like christmas when I was a child.

It looks rather nice in the dark since one can't see the spruce imitation πŸ™‚

 

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, at least most of the ones we had when I was a child living by the ocean. The rain is pouring down and once again we have strong winds πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They say that it will be warmer again next week and I won’tΒ  complain πŸ™‚

 

 

 

I have finally lit one of the light chains I’ve bought πŸ™‚ What started out as an idea to buy one light net for a small sum has now grown in to several light chains for a cost of 1900 swedish kronor, that would be around 272 US dollars πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It is the hideous one that shines along the garage door. I might change position on it this weekend though because I had nothing to attach it with on the place I really wanted it.

 

 

 

 

I realized that ten meters (much the same in yards) of light chain in a lilac that is six meters high and wide isn’t especially much to be honest. So I had to buy an extension for that one otherwise it would look just stupid πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I also had to buy two extra electrical cords as well so I could light them up πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Next time I get an idea like this I’ll just stop thinking of it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

Tomorrow I’ll bring the tiny spruce up from the cellar and put lights and decorations in that too. After that I only have the gnomes (well one of them is most likely a VΓ€tte (there is no good translation for that name, goblin was one suggestion but it’s definitely not that) and my Yule goats to put up, then it’s truly Yule πŸ™‚

 

In the Christmas night by John Bauer.

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Just like christmas when I was a child.

  1. beautiful photos! The moss on those rocks by the birch tree is beautiful. I see the most interesting red growth shooting up from the moss on the wooden beams, are they some sort of spore?Thetraditions of your country are amazing, Canada is such a young country , the only true traditions of Canada would be of our Native people and those poor people were squashed to the ground, made to forget their culture in embarassment, its just in the last years they are finally being given the respect they are due. We are just recently learning our own countries culture!Such beautiful paintings you have been showing us,

    • Hi Laurie!
      I like those photographs too and I think the red things are the stems to the spore spreaders.

      Most of our traditions are a mix between our pagan past and traditions imported from Germany. It seems most of our imported traditions comes from germany πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I would like to say that we have treated our native people better but if I did I would lie. It is better now days but still they are mistreated.

      I thought that most of the traditions in Canada were the old ones from Great Britain.

      I do like our old painters work πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i love your lights! but, wow, that is expensive! they are dirt cheap over here. you can buy them for a dollar or two a box. i often just throw them out at the end of the year. i can’t wait to see the rest of your decorations! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They do look nice in the dark πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The things IΒ΄ve bought is probably meant to last these coming ten years πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen any cheap ones to be honest. They cost a fortune and still I don’t have especially much πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • TjΓ€nare Monne!
      Det vΓ€rsta Γ€r ju att det inte Γ€r sΓ₯ mycket jag kΓΆpt πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Nu hoppas jag att det inte blΓ₯ser sΓ₯ hysteriskt pΓ₯ lΓΆrdag sΓ₯ att jag fΓ₯r i ordning det sista πŸ™‚

      Ha det!
      Christer.

    • Hi Kat!
      It does look nice in the dark, but not so much when there’s daylight and You can see that green stuff πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It just looks odd πŸ™‚ But as You say, it’s when it is dark it counts πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!
      And this little You can see is a bit more than a third of that cost πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’ll pick up the spruce from the cellar tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,

    You do have some interesting folk wandering around on Christmas night. πŸ™‚ We just have Santa, elves and flying reindeer. Strategic Air Command used to track him but that’s gone so I don’t know which government agency does it now. Probably Homeland Security. Just in case. πŸ™‚

    I like the last photo. An old window? I don’t know what the red stuff is but it is very interesting.

    My Christmas tree is still in the box. I will take it out next week sometime and plug it in. I do have a few other decorations up though so it is not all un-Christmasy.

    We are having cloudy, damp and sometimes rainy cool weather these last two days. It’s supposed to get colder so I hope the wet pavement has a chance to dry out before then. I don’t like walking around on the slick stuff. I don’t bounce as well as I used to. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the lights!

    • Hi Caryn!
      One must be careful these nights πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes it is an old window on the barn ruin and the red stuff is the stalks to what I think is the spore spreaders.

      I saw a very well made fake christmas tree in an add yesterday. It actually looked very real! but the price told me that it wasn’t for me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Nice weather most of the day here but the rain came as soon as I sat down in my car to drive homewards πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. We did not put up as many lights as in previous years, but it wouldn’t seem like Christmas to us without any at all. We have not had much cold weather here and no snow, just some frosty mornings. Our little tree is decorated with the newer LED lights and while energy-efficient, we find we like the brighter colors of the older light styles.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I’ve never put up lights before and the start of this adventure almost made me regret that idea πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      LED lights in everything here as well, the first time for me too. But so far I think I like it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

