Americans searching for their swedish roots.

They have been sending a reality show here in Sweden called Allt för Sverige (All for Sweden) where ten Us citizens comes over here to learn more about us and perhaps finding living relatives. They compete against each other and every week one is sent home again but the winner of it all will get a chance to meet the relatives that person has here. In one way I think it is a terrible program, I mean they come over here and if they lose a competition that’s it!

But I have to admit that it is fun too. They are travelling around in the country and every week one person gets to know some of their history over here. The competitions are rather stupid sometimes and I do hope they don’t think that this is things we normally do, like climbing up in a flagpole tossing down meatballs that someone must catch in their mouth🙂🙂🙂

But the one loosing do get an envelope with all information there is to know about their swedish background with a family tree as well. They will of course only see the positive sides of this country so naturally they love this place🙂🙂🙂 The thing we see most of them is when they are crying, of joy mostly or by sadness when they have to go home. If I believed this to be how americans are You do cry a lot! Almost all the time actually🙂🙂🙂 I don’t know why they decided to show all this crying to be honest🙂 But I guess it is true that americans do care more about their background than we do over here.

The final is next week and there are four people left:

Brian Gerard a pastor from Louisville in Kentucky.

Guy Clark, designer amongst other things lives in New York

Shastin Corona, a sheriff in San Augustin Florida and

Kirstin Highfield a student in Colorado (going to be a teacher).

I think it would be terrible to lose the final and have to go home when being so close🙂 I think they all deserve to meet any family over here but I have to admit that the pastor Brian Gerard is my favorite. The last episode they celebrated Midsummer here and I can tell You that they loved it🙂 One of them said we loved that holiday better than our national day and that’s true. It is a holiday neither the church or the commerce managed to take away from us🙂 They got to wear the traditional dress from the area where their family comes from, Almost all county’s over here has a traditional costume since long back and no one but the ones from that county wears that particular costume.  Not to many does that now days (and to be honest, those costumes cost a fortune because they are all hand-made).

No walk in the dark today because I still don’t knowe if it was a wolf that followed us. I wouldn’t stand a chance protecting my dogs against a wolf if we met it in the dark, in daylight I would most probably stand a good chance though. We talked about it at work and we guessed a lot about it. I think the three most probable things was a wolf, a Gråtomte (grey gnome) wich is the same as a forest gnome, a dirty moomin troll or a werewolf. It was after all a full moon so my favorite is the werewolf🙂 It is time for something to eat and a pot of tea, the fire is already burning in the stove🙂

Moomin trolls and their friends.

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Americans searching for their swedish roots.

  1. My great grandfather was Czech and married a Russian and he worked on a railroad line in Poland. Written documents showed he spoke four languages but not English. My Grandfather wrote a diary which traced the railroad tracks to neighboring countries. I have pledged one day to ride those rails. I’ve already pinpointed the areas in grandpa’s diary of where the train tracks still are today. I’m sure they’ve been modernized. But that would give me a thrill of having seen something a relative in the past was involved in. Apparently he did quite well raising five children.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Interesting history!
      I like to know more about wherefrom my family comes but I really don’t want to meet any relatives more than those I already see from time till time🙂 I know this much that my ancestors most likely came from Denmark and the we have that great great grandmother of mine that we think came from southern Europe. I’ll try to find out more during my christmas vacation.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I vote for the werewolf too though I like the idea of really seeing a gnome.

    Maybe the contestants who lose see the whole adventure as a paid vacation to Sweden.

    My family has been in this country a long time so I doubt I’d go to Ireland and find my relatives. I figure I have enough of them here without adding more.

    • Hi Kat!
      Yes a werewolf would be nice to have in the neighborhood🙂 I´ve always thought them being more exiting than any vampire🙂🙂

      I think they actually is really sad when going home again. The only reason they came here was to find living relatives here.

      I like to look back in history to see where from my family comes from, but I really doesn’t want to meet anyone to be honest🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Now thats an interesting reality show, never heard of it, I’m Canadian, we don’t have many reality shows here, well we see some from the BBC and America but no Canadian ones.I understand how you hope people don’t think you dothese things all the time.We canadians hope others around the world don’t think we are like the idiots on Corner Gas , a most popular sitcom, its most popular around the world but most Canadians ( or just the ones I know ) just shake our heads, embarassing really.
    Those are very frosty photos, I love them, take care and watch out for the werewolf, carry a garlic necklace or silver bullets, what ever one does to repel these creatures.

    • Hi Laurie!
      We’ve had to many of them over here. In fact , if it wasn’t for us this kind of programs wouldn’t exist now. It all started with the swedish variety of Survivor. No tv company in the world thought that would be a good program exept fpr the swedish television. It became an instan hit and after that all these awful programs spread like the plague over the world. I’m so sorry for that :-)It is all our fault🙂

      I don’t think that show, Corner Gas is shown at any channel over here, so we still think You Canadians are intelligent🙂

      Yes what does keep werewolfs away? Garlic is against vampires and silver bullets kill them. But I don’t have a gun and will never get one, do You think it helps throwing them at the werewolf🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. The reality show is not one of my favorite tv genres, I never watch them. And no, Americans are not that weepy a bunch, at least not in my neck of the woods! I do hope though that your favorite on the show wins; it would be nice to see them all meet their families though. Great frosty photos today, many similarities between your area and where I live, as far as country views and that white frost covering everything. I would definitely stay out of the woods after dark until you have an idea of what could be stalking around.

    • Hi Robin
      It is quite nice for being a reality show, but I normally never look at those programs. To be honest, there isn’t much reality in them🙂🙂

      They cry all the time here🙂🙂🙂 I wonder why the producer wants us to believe that americans do that all the time? I think they all deserve to meet any relatives over here and those four still left is the ones I think should be there.

      The photographs were taken on Sunday morning, not any frost here today and we won’t have that for a couple of days they say. Rain and winds but no frost.

      I’ll keep away from the forest and bog while it is dark for a while. If it is a wolf it will most likely keep on walking after a couple of days, the bog is big but not that big that a wolf would like to live there for any longer period of time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i would concider that i was the loser if anyone showed me more of my relatives. i can’t stand the ones i already know about! joyce

  6. Hi Christer,

    I vote for the wolf. Real things can be dealt with. The Unreal is not always amenable.

    I’m not sure that show would go over well in this country. Americans are funny about family and if you brought a bunch of people all the way over to their country of origin and then didn’t introduce them to their relatives even though you knew who they were, some Americans would get a bit ticked off at that and write nasty letters to the network and refuse to buy the stuff that sponsors them.🙂
    Many bits of my family have been over here a very long time and they come from several different countries that weren’t always friendly with each other. My mother’s uncle did a genealogy for his father. My father’s sister did some research on her father. Nobody cares about the female lines on either side but from the little I’ve learned they were the most interesting. I would really like to find out more about Bessie of the Lower Road from some time in the mid-1800’s. That’s all I know about her. No last name. But in the painting she is styling in a grand hat and a fur stole.🙂
    Not too bad here today. High 40’s and sunny. Light winds. The lake was beautiful and full of Canada geese.
    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      But a werewolf would be exiting, after all it only comes when it is a full moon🙂🙂🙂

      I would agree with those angry people to be honest. I can’t understand how they just can send them home, but they do get all existing information about the relaitives still living here if they lose and have to go home. If they can afford it they can stay and find them themselves. It is easy to find any living person over here, so it would just take a day or two to find anyone to be honest.

      We are more interested in the women in our family and we’re trying to find out more about my great great grandmother. From what we heard from my mothers cosine she did speak a foreign language with her parents. My grandmothar said that she was a gypsy woman but the rest of the family does not like that🙂🙂🙂 I would love to be a gypsy descendent🙂 That could explain our hot temper in my family🙂🙂🙂 Our church records goes back further than in any other country and now almost all of them can be reached on the internet🙂

      Drizzle and just above the freezing poiunt here today.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Over here, if you are lucky, you can trace back to the day your ancestor stepped off the boat. This assumes that he/she came when someone was keeping records or that he/she didn’t mind being noticed by the authorities at the time.🙂
        In my case, some of my ancestors were already here when my European ancestors arrived but the European ancestors don’t like to mention them.🙂

      • And those ancesters are the ones really interesting to be honest🙂 I talk about my eventual gipsy backgriund all the time🙂🙂

        Christer.

  7. Jag brukar titta på alla såna här såpor och älskar dom, mend en har jag faktiskt missat! Enligt min gubbe så skäms han när jag tittar på såpor som den ikväll med Gordon Ramsey på 3:an. Han tycker det är under min vanliga intelligensnivå!?
    Jag är t.ex. enormt ledsen över att Robinson är slut och att serien dessutom har blivit lite urvattnad.😦 Såg ett amerikanskt Robinson på nån udda kanal för nått år sen, det var riktiga grejor det. Folk blev sjuka av sina umbäranden och där var det inga soliga vackra stränder inte, nej det var träsk med mygg och orm och….:-)🙂 Det “roligaste” är dock när det blir en massa intriger, det gillar jag!🙂🙂🙂 Förmodligen är det nått dolt behov inom mig som behöver underhållas! *fniss*!
    Har du letat efter tassavtryck efter vargen, eller har dom eventuella regnat bort?

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag brukar inte titta på dem, tröttnar fort på intrigerna🙂 Men jag har sett ett par avsnitt av denna. Tycker det är ett hemskt sätyt med att skicka hem dem när de är så nära! Men det vet de ju om innan trots allt.

      Det amerikanska och australiensiska survivor är riktigt tufft! Har sett ett par avsnitt av bägge faktisklt och jag måste erkänna att jag inte skulle stå ut en dag i den tävlingen🙂🙂🙂

      Jag kunde inte gå dit för det var jägare ute hela dagen och sedan tinade det🙂 Så jag håller på att det var en varulv🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Ser aldrig på såpor i TV men eftersom jag var ensam hemma när det sista avsnittet var tänkte jag se vad det var för något. Vilket dravel, och som du säger vilket grinande! HELA TIDEN ju av både glädje och sorg tyckte att det var helt kasst så jag ska då inte se på det mer:)) Ha det gott och akta dig för varulven/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja det är inte klokt vad de gråter🙂 När de pratar med någon i familjen på andra sidan havet eller när de inte gör det och vilket skäl som än kan finnas🙂🙂🙂 Fattar inte varför producenten tyckt det varit så kul att ta med det hela tiden🙂🙂🙂 Det är nog bara ett priogram kvar nu tror jag, så om jag mins det skall jag kika på det.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. If it was a werewolf, wouldn’t that mean that it’s someone in your village? Maybe someone you talk to? but never see when there’s a full moon?
    I saw a movie where they set fire to the house that the werewolf lived in…kinda drastic measures. But it got rid of the guy…or did it? I do recall something howling in the woods at “The End”.
    I agree with Caryn that Americans would get mad and call the “Today Show” or something and complain and then the “losers” would become famous in another way. I personally hate reality shows. It’s so fake but I do agree, a lot of the people (Americans) act like blubbering idiots, crying at everything!
    OK, I admit that I cry very easily…if it’s something about an animal. If it’s an adult, I tend to say that they shouldn’t have been so stupid.
    I would like to know my family history since almost everyone but me and my sister has passed on. My Dad used to say that his father was German and his mom English. and my Mom’s dad was Swedish and her mom was French. and then my dad said there was some Pennsylvania Dutch thrown in. I never knew what that meant, how do you throw in something? I think my parents just told us whatever was easiest to tell. So I would like to know our history just to see if there was some deep dark secret that they never talked about!

    • Hi Cindi!
      Not necessarely, there are lots of small villages around here so it could come from any of those too🙂 But to be honest, we never see each other in this village anyway🙂🙂🙂 We talked about how to keep werewolfs away but couldn’t think of anything. I mean vampires is easy, garlic and crosses and they’ll stay away, but werewolves?? Silvef bullets kill them tat we know🙂🙂🙂

      I only cry when I have to say good bye to my dogs or if I see a truly sad movie🙂🙂🙂 Like You I think that grown ups shpould think before do🙂

      I do know some about my familys background. I’ve followed the woman line because it has always been the women that has been interesting in our family🙂 We men tend to be rather dull or alchoholics🙂🙂🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

