If winter could stay like this I actually would like it.

 

Something very unusual happened this morning, I slept until 7:30 and I can’t remember when I slept that long in the morning 🙂 Ok, I did wake up around 3 am but only for a short while so I doubt that made me sleep any longer. If this had happened during summer I most probably would have been annoyed but since it is winter and dark until long after eight I didn’t mind that much.

 

 

 

 

I would have liked to walk down to the creek again this morning but since the hunters came early?! it wasn’t possible. It would have been fun to see if I could find any tracks after what ever followed us yesterday.  Well maybe later today I’ll get a chance to go down there again.

 

 

 

 

It was a beautiful start of the day and it has continued much the same. Sunny, cold and just a weak wind is blowing. But however weak the wind is it still makes fingers freeze bad and it was a bit difficult to use my camera 🙂 I have been a bit worried about my camera these last days, I dropped it on the floor and it landed on the lens. The lens did get some damages and it is a bit hard to change the distance on it. But on the other side it focuses actually better after the fall 🙂 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Bullfinches comes daily now. This is the bright red male.

 

And the more mildly colored females.

 

Today I’ll try to get the lights up in to the tree and I think I’ll put the hideous one on the garage 🙂 I do hope I have extension cords that will reach to the tree, otherwise I’ll have to buy a couple of new ones. Otherwise this will be a lazy day, nothing is planned and I’ll keep to that 🙂

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “If winter could stay like this I actually would like it.

  1. Efter att ha läst gårdagens inlägg så känner jag mig extra nöjd med att bo på Gotland. Här finns varken älg, varg eller björn. Dom är väl kanske inte direkt farliga om man hörs i skogen – vilket jag gör när jag pratar med Santos – men det är ju för sina djur man blir lite orolig.
    Visserligen hade vi en älg på tomten i Stockholm 2 meter från bilen när vi kom hem en gång (han käkade äpplen från träden), som var lite ilsken. Men den bedövades och fraktades ut i Huddinge-skogen. Skulle inte vilja att det kom en varg t.ex. och snodde Santos framför ögonen på mig! Hu så hemskt!!
    Vi har dock vildsvin – hittagna för att födas upp i stora hägn – som tagit sig ut och spritt sig. Speciellt på andra sidan ön. Och dom är inte kul när dom har ungar, mend et är likadant där. För man bara tillräckligt med oljud så sticker dom innan man råkar på dom!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det är ju trots allt sällan vi har annat än älg här, ja vildsvin också då, så det är normalt inget jag oroar mig för direkt 🙂 Jag blev mest nyfiken egentligen. Det är ju trots allt inte ofta ett djur följer en på samma sätt som detta gjorde.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! this is the mildest winter here that i can remember. it was cold last night but now another warm up is on the way. i am so disappointed. i can’t wait to see your lights! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      This is one of the mildest we’ve had up here since I moved here too, but I don’t complain 🙂
      But I hope winter arrives to You since You do want it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hua mig, jag skulle då aldrig gå tillbaka och kolla efter spår av “vad det nu var” men det är klart att nyfiken är jag ju:)) Här var det -3 i morse men nu är det plusgrader igen och solen skiner faktiskt;) Har lite slingor uppsatta i trädgården men nu har den ena slingan och en stjärna slocknat för det är en propp som går hela tiden:( Göran ska kolla i morgon vad det kan vara. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jag blev ju aldrig orolig 🙂 Mest nyfiken faktiskt så jag skulle bra gärna se om den lämnat några spår efter sig.
      .6 som kallast här och det är först nu vid 16 tiden som det blivit plusgrader igen. Dagen har varit helt fantastisk 🙂

      Slingorna är uppe men jag måste ha förlängningssladdar så jag kan tända dem 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Interesting about the lens. A smack upside the head made it focus better. 🙂

    Have you tried fingerless gloves or those hunter’s mittens where the part over the fingers flips back so your trigger finger can be free to shoot things? Fingerless gloves keep your fingers warmer because they cover most of the hand and the wrist so body heat doesn’t radiate off so quickly. I used to use them for horseback riding in the winter. Nowadays, I believe they are referred to as “texting gloves” because that’s what most people do most often. 🙂

    It’s below freezing this morning for the first time so far this season. Probably it is going to be sunny out but I haven’t checked the weather for the day yet. I plan to do nothing and relax afterwards. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Perhaps if someone smacked my head I could get rid of my glasses 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I would like to try that kind of gloves but I can’t find any. I could of corse bu regular ones and cut of the fingers 🙂

      Sunny almost all day 🙂 That was a nice change 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • You would have to sew around the ends or the fingers would unravel.
        Or you could learn to knit and make your own. 🙂

      • I have to admit that sowing and knitting is something I’ll never learn 🙂 We had to do it in school and I was never a brilliant student in that area 🙂 🙂

  5. Hello Christer! The photo of the three dogs: looks like Orvar and Hector are whispering to each other about whatever it is Nova is so intent upon. Great photo! I hope your camera doesnt die! Mine failed a few weeks ago, and I have been desolate without it. Good luck with the lights!

    • Hi Robin!
      They probably did that 🙂
      The camera house didn’t take the fall and it can still focus as it should, well better actually :-), so it is just when I want to zoom in or out that problems might occur.

      Both the lights are up but naturally I now need extension cords so I can light them up 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. iT’s a lazy day for us here having had rain all day yesterday and I see the Washington Redskins play on CBS so I’ll get to watch them lose to New England. Other than that, it’s also a “Honey Do Day” where my wife has a list of chores for me to do before the game, three I did already this morning. I’m cooking a Roaster on the grill later for dinner, just the two of us, but we like the woodsy scent that only outdoor grilling can do. Have a good one!

    • Hi Z&M!
      We need those kind of days too, even if it isn’t to fun to have to do things on the to do list 🙂

      Very few grill here during winter, but thankfully immigrants shows us that it works very well even when it is really cold outside.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I’m stunned. I watch the Norwegian cooking show and that guy only cooks inside if there is a Force 10 gale blowing in off the bay and it’s minus 50 degrees with a wind chill factor in triple digits. 🙂

Leave a Reply

