Steady she blows!

 

I hope I haven't shown these photographs earlier.

 

This storm is the worst we’ve had so far but it isn’t much of a snow storm to be honest. so now I saw they called it a rain storm instead🙂🙂🙂 It . started out quite innocent last night with strong winds and drizzle and it continued that way all night and a bit in to the morning. That made the roads unpleasant to drive on. Some places had black ice, some the normal white and in other places it was thick sludge. I started driving from my home five minutes earlier than normal and arrived after 55 minutes, normally it takes 25 minutes🙂🙂

 

 

 

I was working in the neighboring factory and didn’t realize that the storm had turned to worse so I got a bit surprised when I got out and the rain was pouring down, well down is not the right word since it flew horizontally🙂🙂 :-) and when I ate my lunch at my normal work place the gusts were so hard the walls shook. One good thing with the rain is that the roads became much better to drive on when I drove home again. But the winds are so strong that they tossed my little Mazda as if it was a toy🙂 So instead of going to the grocery store in Gudhem like I always do I drove straight home instead.

 

 

For once all my dogs had stayed in the dog house all day so they were actually clean🙂 ! But none of us wanted to take a walk in the dark in this storm. The roads here in the village is still covered in thick ice and it would be a bad idea for me to slip and fall when it is completely dark and so slippery that no one could come and help me🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

I have already bought my yule ham and I had also bought a whiskey cheddar that I thought I would test yesterday. It was the most disgusting cheese I’ve ever eaten!!! I should know better than to buy a brand I never heard of before, normally I love whiskey cheddar. This one is totally inedible, not even my dogs wanted to taste it more than once🙂 The sad thing is that I don’t think that it is something wrong with it, it just tastes like this🙂🙂🙂

 

 

 

I think I’ll make the ham already this weekend even though it is a bit early🙂 I can always buy a new one if I finish this one to early🙂🙂 But for the moment I’ll just have a cup of coffee but no sandwiches until later. I’ll keep the fire burning in the stove all night because even if it is rather warm outside the wind sort of makes the whole cottage cold.

 

Kirsti's sleigh ride.

 

 

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Steady she blows!

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes it was better with rain, at least now inthe afternoon when the roads got good again. But it really blows out there and I’ve heard they have big problems closer to the coast!

      Nature always takes back what is lost🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Konstigt med denna stormen, jag menar de varnade så för Berit men denna gången var det ju ännu värre. Tur att du kunde ta dig till och från jobbet i alla fall. Bra att du inte gav dig ut på promenad i detta vädret, inte roligt att halka och bryta benet i sådant väder, vi har visserligen fortfarande plusgrader men det finns ju risk att få ett träd i huvudet. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja visst är det mycket värre nu!
      Vinden kastade omkring min lilla mazda rätt rejält🙂🙂

      Vi har några plus här med men det är tjock is på grusvägarna och jag har ingen lust att ligga där ute hela natten om jag skulle falla🙂🙂 .-)

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. I don’t like Whiskey Cheddar but there is a bacon cheddar that comes on the shelves from Europe here that we buy for the holidays. See if you have it over there. It’s really tasty and it has the bacon flavor without losing the cheddar taste. I don’t know why our stores don’t stock year ’round. Your weather sounds like it’s getting rough over there, worst than snow. Perhaps this is just global warming.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I normally do like it but this one is just awful! I’ve never even heard of bacon cheddar before🙂 But I’m pretty sure it taste delicious🙂 I guess they don’t make it all year round, it can be a christmas special.

      The winds are really strong now and it’s getting worse!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I also love the picture of the stump. Are those a kind of fungus growing on the little stalks? My eyes aren’t that great since my recent detached retina surgery……. 😦

    • Hi autumnrose!
      I love those tree stumps that has new life growing on them🙂
      The stalks are so thin that they are almost impossible to see even if the eyes are ok🙂
      I hope the surgery was a success!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Don’t blow away in the winds! It must be bad if the dogs won’t go out, too bad the cheese was no good, thats maddening when we buy something and its not edible.We bought the best cheddar the other day, it was very nippy, old and crumbly, very strong, went really with the nice ripe pears we had.We have sunshine here today with high winds, roads are still very icy here and i suppose will remain so till, um,, APRIL!

    • Hi Laurie!
      The winds are getting stronger by the hour now and will stay strong for a big part of tomorrow they say.

      I got surprised over how bad that cheese tasted🙂🙂 I hate when that happens! But I’ll cut it down in small pieces and give it to the birds, I hope they at least will like it🙂🙂🙂

      It looks like we’ll have rather warm weather for at least one week.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Usch, just nu blåser det hemskt här och vi har ju bondens gamla och enormt höga lärk precis på andra sidan staketet i “kohagen”. Han tycker att “det blir nog lite jobbigt” att ta ner trädet trots flera påstötningar från oss. Man är faktiskt nästan rädd att sitta på den här sidan av huset, ramlar den så faller den garanterat hitåt och når ända fram och slår sönder taket!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Nu har vinden vänt så jag märker inte av den alls🙂

      Det är ju ändå tur att det är en lärk, de är stadiga trän som står emot röta väldigt bra. Hur som haver hoppas jag verkligen att om den rasar att den rasar åt rätt håll!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer! that sounds like some storm! i just made another ham today and tomorrow i will make potato rolls and then divide it all up for the neighbors. it is going to be 17 degrees here tomorrow night but still no snow. i am so disappointed! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It sure is🙂 but it has chanmged direction so I hardly notice it any longer🙂

      The snow will come🙂 Especially if temperatures is dropping like that.

      I was planning on only making one ham but I’m afraid i’ll have to do two🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,

    The stump gets my vote, too. It’s like a tiny world of it’s own on top.

    Jalapeño cheddar is one of my favorites. Especially grated into an omelette. I have never tried whiskey cheddar but I have had one with port wine in it. It was okay. Not high on my list though.

    Good thing your weather was mostly rain and above freezing. It was high 40’s Fahrenheit here, partly sunny and no wind. Yay. I did some Christmas shopping. I think I am done now but I’m not sure. I get confused after long bouts of mall exposure.🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’ve never tried jalapeño cheddar but it sounds delicious! They make so many kinds now days that it is hard keeping up the tastinmg of them🙂

      Yes the weather could have been worse here and it was by the coast.
      No present shopping for chriatmas here🙂 Only what I’ll have to eat or some decoration, that’s it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I’m glad the rain wasn’t freezing rain! I hate that more than snow and I think it’s much more deadly.
    I really haven’t tried many cheeses besides Colby, Cheddar, Swiss, Provolone, Hot Pepper and Processed Cheese Product. (The last one I only use for sandwiches otherwise it’s like eating soft plastic.🙂 ) I really need to be more adventurous and try others….maybe with some wine!

    • Hi Cindi!
      I wouldn’t have moved from my cottage if it had been freezing rain🙂 That and wind would have made it impossile to go anywhere🙂🙂

      I once worked in a super market and was the one ordering the cheese, many of the cheese makers then gave me different kinds to try and perhaps later sell🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

