And so it came, that white garbage from the sky.

This is waht I saw this morning. I took some photographs with my mobile phone today just to show You how it looks here now. Not the best of quality though.

 

I know I shouldn’t be surprised when it comes, the snow that is. It is december and it was rather cold last night. But none of the weather sites I looked at showed any predictions of snow, especially not last night. But there it was and it was no use wishing it away🙂🙂 Believe me I tried :-)  cm (two inches) of it covered my little part of the world.

 

 

 

The two brothers love snow so they played like puppies as sooin as they got out to it, but Nova looked more surprised at first🙂 But that changed and she even wanted to go out in the dark a couple of times now in the afternoon. Last winter I bought a coat to her, something she didn’t like at all. She looke like I tried to kill her when putting it on🙂🙂🙂 But her fur was so thin I didn’t dare letting her stay in the dogyard without it.

 

There's a risk that they over decorated with lights this year🙂🙂 But to be honest, no one else has any lights up at all yet. I´ll put up my lights on Wednesday I hope.

 

My neighbors cottage.

 

This year her fur is much thicker and to be honest,´she almost never leaves the dog house so I’m not sure what to do this winter. The other one sort of went up her back if she played in it or run so it looked a bit to small, so if I’ll put one on herv thgis winter I need to buy a new one. As long as it isn’t colder than it is now (just below freezing point) I won’t do anything but if it gets colder I think I’ll bring her with me to the pet store to try out a new one. I don’t care if she looks miserable🙂🙂

 

My entrance.

 

The Bullfinch came to the birdfeeders yesterday🙂 They normally doesn't show until there's nothing left to eat in the forest. The photograph is a blurry because I took it through a not especially clean window🙂

 

Everyone on the road drove very carefully when I went to work this morning and also on the way home, still lots of accidents happened during the day. I guess most peoplr still had summer tires on their cars because it wasn’t that bad to be honest. I have winter tires on and even though the road was slippery I still could handle the car alright. I guess some never learn.

 

From yesterdays walk in the forest.

 

Bertil the tiger.

 

It is time for a cup of coffee and a couple of sandwiches. The fire is already burning in the stove but I did star two radiators this morning, that annoyes me a lot🙂 I had hoped I wouldn’t have to do it until closer top Yule🙂

 

I'm not sure if this is a part of a painting or the entire painting. The artist is one of our most loved painters, Carl Larsson. He lived at the same time as Jenny Nyström and John Bauer whos paitings I've shown here before. To own a Carl Larsson is the same thing as being a multi millionare🙂

 

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “And so it came, that white garbage from the sky.

  1. Igår kväll haglade det och sedan frös det på under natten så i morse var det liksom isgata ute:( Fast det blev plusgrader under dagen har faktiskt istäcket legat kvar. I morgon ska det tydligen komma snö här också, inte mycket annat att vänta men…… Tur att bröderna gillar snö då är det i alla fall några som blir glada:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det blev aldrig plusgrader här i trakten. I kvänum smalt snön bort men ju närmare hem jag kom desto mera snö fanns det kvar. Ja ja, hundarna är ju renare efter våra promenader i alla fall🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Well, here we go. The snow season in Sweden. I went to my doctors appointment this afternoon in shorts and short sleeve shirt. It’s hot here in Florida. Sometimes it gets so hot that we wish it would snow. I think Nova is getting used to it. I know our Himmies have to keep a long coat on for the winter or they get very upset and cling to soft blankets especially at night. Make a snowball for me.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Unfortunately it seems to have started now. I wish we could go in shorst here🙂

      Do they really need a coat in that climate? They have that thick fur anyway so I thought that waqsn’t necessary at all🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever seen a himmi wearing a coat over here🙂

      Have a greaT day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Those two little things of lights are considered “over decorating”?🙂

    It’s 62 Fahrenheit here and I saw a purple leaf plum tree with new leaves on it. I will take all of this that I can get. We have had two snowstorms already this season and that is enough. I don’t care if they were in October, they still count.😉 Besides, I just got a letter from my snow plow person who regrets having to make the business decision to stop plowing my driveway because of staffing/scheduling/routing considerations. He means he has too many commercial contracts now to plow my tiny patch of asphalt. Customer loyalty counts for nothing nowadays, it seems. Oh, well.

    Your entry looks so inviting. I love the window frame.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      No I was just kidding🙂🙂🙂 But we have very little lights in our gardens compared to You in america.

      I’m not surprised that the plum tree has new leafs when it is as warm as it is, but I hope it will survive if winter suddenly comes. I would count those snow storms too🙂🙂

      It is bad when they don’t care about customer loyalty!! One day things might not go as well for him and then he will wish he had those loyal customers still!

      It does look inviting with the snow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, I saw my first Carl Laarson painting many years ago, when I was probably 9 or 10 years old, and absolutely fell in love with his art. I like this one you have shown today very much. At least your first snow wasn’t a big one; it seems people forget from one winter to the next how to drive in snow; though some never learn. I hope you can find a coat that fits Nova; she may hate you for it, but it will make a big difference. Bertil really blends in with the forest in this photo. Your photos today make me shiver, hopefully it will all melt away!

    • Hi Robin!
      I do love his paintings too and many homes has reproductions of his paintings hanging somewhere in the house🙂

      We got more snow last night and will get even more tonight they say. I always hate to drive in that first snow for the season. But alreadyu today it felt ok again🙂

      Yes Bertil is like a little tiger in the forest🙂

      I will buy a new coat to Nove even if she doesn’t like them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Oh Christer, I want snow ! lots and lots lol . we have had such pathetic winters the last 15 yrs with this wacky global warming . I long for the big snows of real Canadian winter ! I think I could handle not so much snow if we were not in the city but the city without snow is a depressing grey bloby mess.
    Christer why does your country have such great artists ! ? is painting a winter pastime lol . the paintings remind me of that book Hans Brinker, my Gramma used to read me that story I loved the idea of skating on canals for miles .which is really odd because I was a horrid skater lol
    hope you are all toasty warm .take care . lov rox

    • Hi Rox!
      I wish I could send You our snow🙂🙂 The two latest winters has been unusually cold and snowy, I think we haven’t had winters like that since WW2 and I’m hoping for a warm and mild winter this time🙂

      They say people like paintings from scandinavia because we have a special light here. Lots of danish and norwegian painters painted much the same back in the days. Search after Skagenmålarna on google and You ‘ll se some great paintings🙂

      I was actually quite good at skating back in the days, now I think I would fall as soon as I tried to move🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I love the painting..it’s wonderful. Nothing but wind, wind, and more strong winds. Not as destructive as before, thank heavens, but still strong enough that I can hear it blowing. The roofers will get lots of business. At least that’s something.. (I guess.)
    I have two pairs of ice skates…and never had a pair on but once…maybe twice. Never been on ski’s either.
    A new winter coat for Nova might be cheaper than a Vet bill…or you could take her to work with you.🙂
    I was wondering why you don’t have a doggie door…one you could lock when you are home..then the dogs wouldn’t have to be out in the cold while you are at work. They aren’t allowed to be out to roam all alone though, are they? Seems like when they go out you are always with them. I forget you don’t have a fenced yards..at least I don’t think you do.
    Most people where I live have fenced back yards…:( Yep..it’s really the life here. 🙂

    The “forbidden forest” always gives me the chills! Looks dark and very scary.
    Thanks for stopping by Christer. It’s always nice to see you.
    Drive carefully…(love the snow but I don’t have to drive in it!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I do like that paibting too! But I guess that its just a small part of a bigger painting.
      The winds are calm for a couple of days now but will begin again this coming weekend. I’m a bit tired of that now🙂

      I was quite good at skates back in the days but lousy on ski’s🙂🙂🙂

      I have a dog house in the wood shed where my dogs can go in if they like to during the day but I can’t turn up the radiator in there to much because Hector and Orvar doesn’t like that. They rather stayb outdoors when it is -22F than go in to the doghouse if the radiator is to warm🙂🙂🙂
      Most homes have feb´nced yards but mine is to low so my dogs can jump out to easily. I wouldn’t like to hear about Nova hunting deers and hares all day when I came home🙂🙂🙂

      The Forbidden Forest really looked scary that morning🙂🙂 I have actually never even seen animal tracks leading in to that part of the forest!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Tror nog Nova klarar sig hyfsat bra utan täcke i år – det kommer inte att bli så kallt som förra året, jag lovar! *fniss*🙂🙂🙂
    Precis alldeles nyss så snöade det lite här, men det är mer snöblandat regn så det lär inte ligga kvar. Rolle skulle dock upp till Visby idag så han var tvungen att lägga om till vinterdäck innan han åkte. Strax innan var jag också tvungen att rusa ut med en nödig liten Santos – barbent i röda knäbyxor med en stor ljuslila vinterjacka – så jag såg nog så där lagom knasig ut. Men är det bråttom så är det…..
    Nu sitter jag här på kontoret och kollar in datorn samt målaren som håller på att spackla “smacken”. Det är faktiskt det enda som är kvar av renoveringen förutom dom handukshängare Rolle ska slå upp i duschrummet när han kommer hem. Vår vän elektrikern var nämligen här igår kväll och fixade sitt jobb. Det blir alltså klart innan jul, helt otroligt!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag hoppas verkligen du har rätt, det var lite väl kallt förra och förrförra vintern! Den verkar ju i alla fall bli kortare🙂

      Här kom det mera snö i natt och ännu mera skall komma om ett par timmar. Lika bra att det håller sig på minussidan då så vi slipper slasket! Vinterdäcken har dock varit på länge här🙂

      Måste kännas skönt nu när renovveringen snart är över! Jag borde börja med min här nu🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. My little dogs have coats but they onyl wear them when they have been shaved dwon and its very cold outside. Or if it’s Twinkle. With her short hair she gets cold very easily. Do you have a “Target” store over there? I’ve gotten most of my dog coats from there. Years ago I had a little boxer who was very skinny from running non-stop and her white coat was always damp from her excessive drooling. So I went to the Goodwill Store and got a boys large sweater and put it on her. I rolled the sleeves. To be honest, sometimes she’d get kinda tangle up in it because she was so frantic all the time but it kept her warm for the drive to and from work.🙂

    We had a very light sprinkling of snow today and later it just looked like Frost. I really dread the real stuff coming.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      No we don’t have Target over here so I’ll have to go to a pet store. But it will get warmer again so I’m in no hurry thankfully. Nova is actually getting a bit overweight so now I’ll have to check how much she eats🙂 Well that’s better than how she was a year ago, then she was only skin and bones. Perhaps I should try a sweater? But those coats are usually made in a material that is easy to clean and sweaters usually aren’t🙂🙂

      It was anything but fun to drive home today!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Hi CHrister, I had to look at this older post to “see” the snow cause like so many others who posted, we DO miss it. It does snow here on the Virginia eastern shore (last year we had a 14-inch storm at Christmas) we have milder weather overall than when we lived in New Jersey. I know you would surely send some of your snow to all of us and trade for the milder weather! I hope that Nova stays warm and so do all of you. The photos from your phone looked pretty good. I usually forget to use the camera in my phone😦

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I really wish I liked snow but I doubt I can learn to like it now🙂 It is beautiful in photographs though, that I admit🙂

      It’s getting warmer already by the weekend so Nove won’t freeze yet🙂

      I’m actually impressed bynthat camera in my mobile phone! The only problem is that I can’t zoom with it when I use over 2 mega pixels.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

