The barometer’s low today.

Very mixed weather here today. Sometimes we have two seconds of sunshine and then we have three with pouring rain. The wind is strong and steady though. I looked at my barometer and it was a long time since I saw it that low. If I had lived in a Harry Potter world it would have screamed “TAKE COVER, STORM APPROACHING! WARNING WARNING!🙂🙂🙂

It was really dark down by the creek.

The Forbidden Forest.

So the roads will stay wet all day and already tonight the temperatures will drop way below freezing point. It’ll be exiting to drive to work tomorrow I’m afraid🙂🙂 Well as long as we don’t get snow as well I’m happy🙂 But northern Sweden will get rather lot of that white garbage today I’ve heard.

Clubb moss and lichen.

Now it’s less that three weeks until I have my Yule vacation and I long so much it almost hurts. I’m not a winter person that’s for sure. I asked for this vacation two days after the summer one was over :-) I could have waited until they put up the list where we can write down what days we want to stay at home, but by waiting that long it isn’t sure that I would get any vacation at all, because it all depends on how much we have to do in the factory and what our customers demands. So I’m the only one in the factory that can be sure of getting that vacation we all want🙂

We will soon go out on a walk to the forest and bog because I heard two shots while I was out putting the trash in the trash can. That usually means the hunt is over for the day. Thankfully none of our deers are out in that area. Since we feed them they don’t fear us and stays close when we are out walking our dogs. But I think Doris the doe is gone now, she was already very old and the lynx took some of those walking in my neighborhood. But we already have a new Doris and we think it is one of her daughters🙂

 It is time to make a new cup of coffee and perhaps a sandwich or two as well🙂

Have a nice second of advent!

22 thoughts on “The barometer’s low today.

  1. The Forbiddem Forest looks so scary.
    I don’t have any vacation time left until the end of March…so it will be April before I have any time.😦
    Poor Doris.
    Love the horses.🙂
    The elf guy looks like the guy ringing the bell outside of the drugstore.
    He’s kinda scary too.

    • Hi Cindi!
      To be honest, it is one week of vacation (I only used four weeks during summer so I have one week left) and the rest is compensation hours. By law our work week is around 38,5 hours but we work 40 so we get those hours in a compensation bank to use when we need to. I definitely need it during Yule🙂🙂🙂 Our vacation period goes from April first till March last.

      That is not an elf guy🙂 That is a gnome and most probably the Yule gnome, our santa. As You can see our “santa” has a different origin than Yours.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Ruggigt väder ni haft! Här har det varit riktigt soligt – men blåsigt förstås – fast det hade man ju ingen glädje av. Råkade glufsa i mig för mycket av salladen till lunchen igår och det har man ju fått lida av. Min galla gillar inte blandad sallad med bönor bl.a. alls trots att jag tog bort skalet på gurkan. I alla fall inte i den mängden. Så jag har spenderat natten och halva dagen i sängen med gallsmärtor – inte kul alls!
    Nu verkar det dock som om anfallet är över för den här gången, så nu håller jag på att göra porterstek. Det blir kokt potatis till den – och det funkar ju alltid. Det var faktiskt hela 1,5 år sen som jag hade mitt förra anfall – som höll på i 4 dagar – så jag har skött mig rätt bra. Men…minnet är tydligen kort, eftersom jag vet att jag inte kan äta för mycket sallad. Jag får trösta mig med att salladen var enormt god!!!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Ja skönt har det då inte varit🙂🙂🙂 Men det behövs väl helger som denna så att man verkligen slappnar av och njuter av livet vare sig man vill eller inte🙂

      Så du har såpass problem med bönor, inte kul alls. Jag tycker det räcker med alla gaser man får av dem för att hålla mig lugn på den fronten🙂 Hoppas att det lättar snart för dig! Jag har ju inte upplevt den smärtan själv men jag vet ju att den kan vara hemsk, så att stå ut i fyra dagar måste ha varit svårt!

      Porterstek var det längesedan jag åt, det som är så gott!
      Ha en trevlig middag!
      Christer.

  3. hope the snows stays away for you but that would be like whistling in the wind, its coming whether we want or not.The horses in the photo are so beautiful, they look like they have a heavy coat for winter also.I really miss walking in the boggy areas.On our property we had an area that was very bog like, the most beautiful moss, you would sink in it as you walked, little green snakes lived there in summer.Your photos make me think of this area.Have a good sunday, I’m rewatching my Harry Potters today, the last two are on for today, although I liked the Prisoner of Azkaban the best I think.

    • Hi Laurie!
      So true🙂🙂 But I can always hope🙂 But they have changed the forecast so according to that we won’t get snow this week either even if they said so earlier🙂

      They do have a very thick coat now and I don’t think they will go in to the stable by own choice. They can if they want to but I have never seen them going in there🙂

      I love walking on and by the bog🙂 We have that kind of moss too but no gree snakes🙂 In those eleven years I’ve lived here I’ve only seen one snake?! and it bit my old dog so we had to go to the vet🙂 We only have one snake with toxic bite and naturally it had to be that kind biting her🙂🙂 Everything went well though, the toxic is just as strong as the one a wasp has.

      I think the first one of the Potter movies is my favorite but I ahve to admit I really liked this last one too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Vad skönt att du kan ta semester vid jultid:) Tur att du var ute i så god tid! Här har det varit ruggigt och dassigt väder i dag men jag har suttit inne och pysslat så det har inte gjort något:) Jag hoppas att det dröjer innan snön kommer (fast det blir ju ljusare och rätt mysigt är det ju) Nu har vi i alla fall fått på vinterdäcken så nu är vi redo i alla fall:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jo här gäller det att vara snabb🙂 Nu kan han inte neka mig ledighet även om vi skulle ha massor att göra🙂

      Egentligen blir det bara ljusare om det finns något som lyser på snön. Om det är molnigt eller månen är ny märks det ingen skillnad här vid världens ände kan jag säga🙂 Vinterdaäcken har varit på länge här🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Yes, it is very dark in the bog and even darker and more menacing at the Forbidden Forest. :-0

    I always put in my vacation requests as close to the beginning of the year as possible. Like January 2nd.🙂 I had to use five and half weeks each year or I would lose it without compensation so they had to let me use it. I would take time around Christmas and New Year. After I became an instructor I stopped that because I needed to be in work at that time to prepare for my classes which would begin immediately following the New Year holiday. So I would take that time in November which was a crummy work month too. There was a two-week review class each year. It took place in a different part of the country and seemed just like a vacation even though it was hard work. I always came back very rested from those things and it was on the employer’s money so that was even better.

    Love the shaggy ponies when they are in their winter coats. Not so much fun when they shed them out, though. Horsehair everywhere!😀

    Partly sunny, mid-40’s Fahrenheit here. It’s supposed to rain later on.
    Enjoy your dark and sometimes rainy sometimes sunny day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes this morning I think the Forbidden Forest looked dark and dangerous🙂

      I used to save the last week of vacation for November before but now I tend to have it during christmas instead, But here we can save those last five days up to five years and if we don’t use them by then they will turn to money instead. I’ve never saved any vacation, with my luck I would die and then I would have lost some nice time off🙂🙂🙂

      I guess horse hair is just as fun as dog hair when it falls🙂🙂

      It’s getting cold here now and we’ll have frost tomorrow morning.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I envy that lifestyle so much….we hoped for that when we retired, but since the housing market crashed, I doubt if we could even sell our house, and it would be at a terrible loss. So I stay here and enjoy my cyber friends who are wonderful enough that the post stories and pictures, and I can dream…..

    • HI autumnrose!
      I hope You had a nice birthday🙂
      The housing market never crashed here but we are waiting for it to do so now instead. Prices just kept going up and up and suddenly half of Europe had bad economies and now the house prices are falling. I must say that moving here was the best thing I’ve ever done🙂 I really hope things will turn over at Yours now! The world needs it really!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer! your forest looks very scary! i can’t imagine going out there after having just watched harry potter! those horses are beautiful. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Well I would never walk in to the Forbidden Forest anyway🙂🙂

      I love that kind of horses, as long as they stay behind the fence🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer, you’re hooked on Potter. More books please! Is that a colt in the horsey photo? Looks very young and beautiful. I would really love to live there but not in winter. Enjoy your lunch.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes I am but no more books about him though. I feel I only would be disappointed.
      No none of them is a colt. I can’t remember the breed the light colored is but I have it back in my head somewhere🙂

      I doubt You would like the flies here at summer though🙂🙂 Spring till early summer and autumn is perfect here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Happy 2nd Sunday of Advent, Christer. I always enjoy the photos of the horses, they look so different from horses around here. Excellent planning on your part to get your vacation time for the Yul season! It is very mild here today, sunny and in the high 50’s F. Very odd! My son and husband are putting the outside Yule lights up today. The five dwarf alberta spruce will be twinkling with white lights tonight. I wish we had a Forbidden Forest in our area; a mysterious place that would generate a lot of scary stories! Enjoy the day and love to the family!

    • Hi Robin!
      These two kinds of horses are the ones they used back in the days before the tractors. We do have rather many of them in this county actually.

      I was going to put up some lights today too but the winds was still to strong for a job like that. I hope I can do it some day next week, perhaps on wednesday when I don’t write here.

      I can stop smiling when I read about Alberta🙂🙂🙂 I’m sure she will look beautiful with the twinkling lights.

      I wish the forbidden forest wsn’t here but it is a great sorce for scary stories🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

