It rains horizontaly.

The closest we came to sun this morning.

 

We’re having a nasty weather if one is outside but if staying inside it’s rather nice 🙂 The winds are blowing hard, the rain flies horizontal, it is dark and gloomy and every now and again one can hear a howling made by the wind when it goes around a corner 🙂 Inside it’s warm and cosy by the fire with a pot of tea just beside me. Today the wind comes from south so it hits my cottage somewhat more than last time, still my neighbors cottage takes most of it to be honest.

 

 

 

The night had stayed cold until this morning, so the roads were still covered in ice when the rain started. Very slippery indeed!

 

The old boys mostly sleeps, my cats too even though Bertil also likes to sit under the stairs outside by the entrance. Nova however is rather restless, but she turns by the door every time I open it for her, really isn’t a fan of the rain 🙂 We’ve just come in after a short walk and Bertil followed us for some reason. He started to protest as soon as we came close to the forest and it got worse the closer we came to the bog. Since the winds got worse the longer we were out I decided to turn home instead and then he finally got quiet again 🙂

 

 

The old fence pole is slowly decading in to soil again.

 

 

I looked at the last Harry Potter movie this morning and if I totally forget the book it was rather good I think. To be honest, the final fight between Harry and Voldemort was much better in the film than in the book, it didn’t happen that much in the book to be honest. It is kind of sad though, I love the books and now the story has ended and I really hope she won’t start writing about him again, there’s always a risk that she won’t be able to write that good one more time about him.

 

 

 

 

The weather won’t improve today so I’ most probably watch the two other dvd’s I bought as well. I don’t think there’s anything special to look at on tv either, not until tonight when they show Downton Abbey. It’s strange how they can make us like this upper class family like they do. They lived a life far away from most people and to be honest, they usually didn’t care about people not belonging to their own class. But those brits sure knows how to do a great tv series 🙂

Beard lichen. It can only grow where the air is clean and we have lots of it in our forest here.

 

 

It’s time for another pot of tea and then I might watch the next film. I think I’ll chose The Sorcerer’s apprentice this time, I do like these fantasy stories 🙂

Why not show another of John Baure's trolls 🙂

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “It rains horizontaly.

  1. Today is my birthday (I won’t say which one since I’m over 65….bummer…..) but I loved starting my day looking at your wonderful photos. Loved the kitty and the lichen, and of course John Baure’s trolls. I love that old-timey kind of art….so beautiful. Here in Ohio USA we are having beautiful sunny weather, and it’s expected to be in the upper 40’s today. My mother told me there was snow on the ground the day I was born, and I was actually born about 150 miles south of here, in Charleston, West Virginia. I love snow, but I’ll take today for the lovely day that it is.

    • Hi autmnrose!
      Happy Birthday 🙂
      I do love those trolls and he is more or less responsible for how we swedes think how trolls should look like 🙂
      Normally we have snow or at least very cold by now but I won’t complain 🙂 I really hope we won’t get especially much snow this winter!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Precis som dig så gilllar jag Downtown Abbey och håller verkligen med om att engelsmännen är helt otroliga på att göra bra TV-serier, vare sig det är thrillers eller som här drama. Kan förmodligen bero på att dom har en tradition att redan i skolorna lära sig att skådespela, regissera m.m. m.m. Nu för tiden kan jag knappt titta på amerikanska TV-serier för dom är så vansinnigt slätstrukna och övertydliga, jag vill bara se engelska!
    Som jag berättade igår skulle vi på gårdsauktion idag och det var ju en rätt kul upplevelse – för Rolle! Visserligen gick jag en rundtur med Santos, men sen valde jag att sätta oss två i bilen – det blåste något fruktansvärt!!
    Rolle däremot var med och bjöd på pickisen, Han hade sagt innan att gränsen gick vid 30.000:- , men…efter att ha kollat upp den noga valde han att bara hänga med upp till 20.000:- sen slutade han att bjuda. Den gick faktiskt för precis 30.000:- men det var den inte värd!
    Efter det åkte vi in till Visby och köpte en ny stol till hallen. Vi köpte en pall tidigare i veckan, men den såg så ynklig ut att jag vägrade placera den där så nu var vi tvungna att köpa en snygg svart karmlös skinnstol – vilken istället passade alldeles utmärkt. Den vi haft tidigare hade armstöd vilket gjorde att folk inte vågade sätta sig när dom skulle ta på sig skorna, nu hoppas vi den här funkar bättre!
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja de är otroligt duktiga på tv engelsmännen! Fast jag brukar gilla amerikanska komedier, just nu är Eureka min favorit serie och där har inte britterna mycket att sätta emot.

      Fantastiskt att Rolle kan hålla band på sig så på en auktion! Jag är väl ganska så känd för att inte kunna det 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Trots att min kropp är ganska så stel hade jag nog inte tvekat att sätta mig i en stol med armstöd för att ta på skorna, man behöver ju inte luta sig bakåt 🙂 🙂 Men vi får väl hoppas att de kommer att tycka nya stolen är bra!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Now that is a much more menacing troll. Who is sneaking out underneath the reindeer?

    It looks like an angry sort of day you are having. Much better to stay inside by the fire with a pot of tea, some warm companions and a good movie. Or book. I keep trying to see the last Harry Pottery movie but all I can find is Part 2 and I haven’t seen Part 1 yet. I haven’t read many of the books and keep waiting for them to come out on ebook format. She was supposed to release them in October but is having trouble getting her website running. She should just let her publisher do it. They already know how. 🙂

    Another sunny and unseasonably warm day today though not so warm as it has been. Still, I will accept these shining days. I’m sure there are plenty of not so shining ones ahead. Winter has not yet begun.

    Enjoy your day.:-)

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’m not sure what story that painting comes from. He illustrated several books in a series called “Amongst gnomes and trolls”. Children books with lots of old folk lore stories in them.

      The part1 is a rather good film but part two is a very good film 🙂 and I understand that You don’t want to see the second before the first.
      I guess Rawling wants more of the money her self 🙂 Perhaps money is tight 🙂 I don’t think she’s a billionare yet 🙂 🙂 🙂

      The wind has finally calmed down some and changed direction so now its rather nice outdoors, to bad it is completely dark 🙂 🙂 But the clouds are gone and I can see the moon now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. enjoy your weekend, gteat photos again, oh i am such a fan of moss and lichens, I could look at them all day, great shot of Bertril (I think, lol) maybe tomorrow the weather, my dogs would always turn around and not go out when it rained, I think I liked walking i therai more than they, not side ways rain though and it looks like icey rain, best stay in and I agree I do hopeJK Rowlings doesn’t try to continue the tale, it would be a flop I’m certain.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I’m fascinated by lichens and funguses. Not plants and not animals, that starts the imagination 🙂 and yes that’s Bertil 🙂

      The wind has calmed down and changed direction so now its nice outdoors again. The clouds are gone as well so now I can see the moon 🙂
      My dogs goes out but they don’t mind us turning back home early 🙂 🙂 Nova however doesn’t get out in to the garden if it rains unless she really has to 🙂 🙂

      She has threatened to write more about him but I sure hope she doesn’t!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Fav photo is of course, Bertil on that cool log.
    It’s cold and drab and rainy here though it’s supposed to warm to 40’s by the afternoon.
    My nieces LOVE Harry Potter and have all the books and dressed up in capes and wands and things when they went to all the premiere showings of the movies at the local theaters. I sadly have not read or seen any of it but it’s on my “to do” list. I haven’t seen “Lord of the Rings” either! Boy, I better get busy.
    I plan on starting work on my “homemade” Xmas gifts…I need plenty of time in case I have to toss them and run out and buy something. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Have a warm toasty day watching movies!
    (my little dogs refuse to go outside in the rain, I have to give them a little “push” out the door. 😀 )
    – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Every one likes photographs with Bertil and it’s just because You don’t know the little devil 🙂 🙂 His personality doesn’t show on photographs unfortunately 🙂 🙂 🙂 His big fat brother Teodor is a much nicer cat even if he has his ideas too 🙂 🙂

      I so understand Your nice and going dressed to the theater 🙂 I’m to old for that kind of thing though 🙂 🙂 🙂 Lord of the rings is great too but I prefere Harry Potter, at least the books. When it comes to the movies its the opposite 🙂

      Thankfully no christmas presents here and I have decided to stay at home on christmas. I’m soo looking forward to that! This year I’m planning on not getting sick though 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Nova doesn’t leave the cottage in to the garden if it rains 🙂 unless she really has to 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer! that sounds like some nasty weather but i guess it is better than snow. no signs of snow here either! bertil is too funny!!! he sure is vocal. i have only seen the first 2 harry potters. have a nice warm inside day! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It sure was and I think I saw one or two snowflakes in the rain as well. Thankfully that was it 🙂 🙂

      If one loves the books one shouldn’t see the movies to be honest 🙂 But if one forgets the books totally some of them are rather good. Perhaps this last one and the first is the best of them.

      Finally the wind and rain is gone and the heat from the stove filles my cottage 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Greetings to you Christer. Sounds like miserable weather there. It is very sunny here today, a bite to the wind though. I thought the first Harry Potter movie was the best of all of them. I do love the books, but you are right, as it is true with most books-to-movies. Forget the book when you see the movie! I did not care for Sorcerer’s Apprentice, mainly as I didn’t like the actor they chose to play the apprentice. Nicolas Cage is sort of blah in it too. I watched Downton Abbey last year when I was visiting family in Virginia and I loved it. I get addicted to a lot of those BBC productions. I love that they film in the real country side, using real villages and manor houses. THe costuming is usually wonderful, and the acting is always great. Puts American television to shame really!! Hope your Sunday will be a bit less blustery so Bertil won’t yell so much, lol!! Great troll picture!!

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes it was. It all calmed down for a minute or two but then the wind came back again. More from the west though so I just heard it, it was calm in my garden.

      I can see the first Harry Potter movie again and again, it has that special charm none of the others have. The three last ones are very dark but if one forgets the book rather good.

      I didn’t like the actor playing the apprentice either and even if Cage is half sleeping through the movie he’ sill much better than the apprentice 🙂 I do like the enemy too, he rarely does anything bad 🙂 🙂

      No one can make a costume drama like the BBC can! But then again, no one in the world could do a series like the american Eureka 🙂 They are sending the entire third season here again and I’m happy 🙂 I missed some of those episodes last time 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Bertil steals the blog today. Gorgeous photo. They are running the ADDAMS FAMILY movies all weekend here on AMC so it’s fun to check in and follow what my grand kids went to see without me. Corny stuff but some of it hilarious. I am not sure you got them on TV as a series over there. Enjoy all that tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Oh the Addams family! Love them 🙂 and I remember seing that tv series when I grew up 🙂 I think that show was much more loved over here in Europe than it ever was in the US. Long time since they showed it on any channel I have though. I do like the movies too 🙂

      Have a grerat day!
      Christer.

  9. Detta vädret har verkligen inte inbjudit till att vistas utomhus:( Fast vi hade tur i går för när svärmor ringde på dagen och ville bjuda på middag var det både regn och vinduppehåll en stund, det var skönt att komma ut en liten promenad:) När vi gick hem igen några timmar senare var det dock inte lika skönt, fast det tar bara en kvart att gå så det var inre så farligt:) Resten av kvällen tillbringades framför tv:n med hyrda filmer, mat och sonen som kom ner en stund:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Här blev det inget uppehåll förrän på kvällen, så även här tillbringades mycket tid med att titta på filmer 🙂
      Idag är det ett väldigt mixat väder, ena stunden två sekunder sol, sedan hällregn i tre 🙂 🙂

      ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

