Change of plans.

I went home an hour early yesterday and we walked out in to the forest to see if any trees had fallen. This looks like the top of a dead pine, but I have no idea where it came from because all trees there looked fine🙂

 

I got a phone call at work yesterday from the chimney sweeper office and they told me the guy that would inspect my chimney was sick, so now they’ll inspect it at December 20 instead. I hope they won’t get up on the roof because I refuse to get up there myself to get rid of eventual snow and ice before they come🙂🙂🙂 They will only make a more thurough inspection if they suspect that there’s something wrong with the chimney and I’m pretty sure there isn’t.

 

 

This was the only tree that I could find that had fallen down.

 

Om Anders braskar julen slaskar, that didn’t say You anything but it is a saying we have over here. It means that if it is warm when Anders has his name-day yule will be nasty cold. They have checked if that saying has any truth to it and they found out that it is correct 50% of the time🙂🙂 Today Anders had his name-day and it was rather warm. So there’s a 50% chance of a cold yule🙂🙂 Snow is on it way already next week though, the long time weather prediction says it’ll be cold next week and snow will fall on Monday. I don’t look forward to it at all.

 

I had some fun with the editing program🙂 This photograph came out much better in sepia!

 

 

I have desperatly tried to remember what it was I wanted to write about here today🙂 All day yesterday I had it in my head but now its gone🙂🙂 I can’t even remember if it was anything about yule🙂🙂 but I think I thought it was funny anyway :-) :-) It might have been something about Saint Lucia wich we celebrate December 13. Strange really because Swedes are mostly protestants and still we celebrate this catholic saint. But I’ll tell You more about her, our celebrations and some history about it closer to her day.

 

 

 

It is time for some tea and sandwiches. Nova and Hector are up in my bed sleeping, Orvar is in the living room, Bertil sleeps just beside my feet here in the kitchen and Teodor has gone out. But I’m pretty sure he’ll be shouting in a minute or two to get in again🙂

Have a great day!

 

17 thoughts on “Change of plans.

    • Hi Joyce!
      Thank You🙂
      They say we’ll get our first snow next week, but it won’t stay for long thankfully🙂🙂 I hope You’ll get it soon though!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Men de hann i alla fall att ringa mig redan igår så att jag inte stannade hemma i onödan. Fast jag må¨ste rkänna att det hade varit gott att få sova någon timme längre i morse🙂

      Poppar över om en stund!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer,

    The Yule Goat and Gnome today are lovely. They remind me of Jan Brett drawings. She is a favorite illustrator of children’s books.

    It’s warm here today, as well, but I’m not sure Anders has his name day here. Maybe it will not work and we will have a cool Yule instead of a cold one.🙂

    The photos are interesting in sepia. The top one looks like old photos of when loggers came through and clear cut everything.

    Have to go down to the cellar and finish the laundry and go outside and check the Spawn of Satan trap. I hope nothing is in it. That would mean all the spawns that were living in my house have been removed.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I must check this Jan Brett, I’ve never heard of her. This is a John Bauer painting (can often be seen on Yule cards).

      I think Anders is a very Scandinavian name so I doubt he has name- day over at Yours🙂🙂

      The photographs got much better in Sepiua actually🙂 It was hard to see what they showed before I changed them and that was just what has happened there, loggers came and cleared out everything.

      I hold my thumbs that all the spawns of satan are gone by now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. too bad the chimney man cancelled because he most likely will face snow by the look of it.We have almost the same weather forecast here, strange that is. Everyone is enjoying this weather, its like a gift, December 1 st tomorrow and we have very little snow here, as long as we have enough for to ski I will be happy, and white christmas of corse.I love the art at the end of your post,

    • Hi Laurie!
      We’ve had green christmases before so I’m hoping that the snow will keep away at least until he is done here🙂
      I can’t say that I’m sorry that we have no snow🙂 But it will turm towards colder weather now they say. I don’t mind trhe cold though, that would, with a bit of luck, kill a lot of ticks🙂🙂

      John Bauer is one of my favorite artist🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. How cozy with all you best friends around you. So nice. We don’t burn wood in our fireplace here so no worry about the chimney. 🙂 Yep..We use gas. However it IS a wood burning fireplace if we want it to be. Wood is VERY expensive …half a cord runs over a hundred dollars. It sounds as though you love sandwiches as much as I do…dear husband is learning to like them. I remember the lovely photo’s you posted of Christmas last year.
    Snow? OH NO! Seems yesterday that you were worrying about driving and keeping your car on the road during snow time.
    Can’t wait to see it…🙂 Just glad I’m not having to live in it.🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Yes it is nice and cosy🙂
      Gas is practical that way🙂 Wood isn’t that expensive over here, well we have lots of it🙂 It is cheaper to use wood than electricity to keep our homes warm. Since I only have the kitchen stove I need to have the radiators going during the day but I keep it at a very low temperature.

      Few things are as tasty as a sandwich🙂 and so easy to do but I guess it isn’t that healthy to be honest🙂🙂

      I do hope I won’t be able to show any photographs with snow this winter🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Det är ju bra med sotare men jag tycker att det var ett hiskeligt farande här för sotning när vår förra braskamin var ok. Eller också så var det bara en känsla jag hade:) Hoppas att de kan klara sig själva nästa gång de kommer till dig om nu snön har kommit. De kan väl inte gärna begära att husägaren ska upp och skotta på taket. Hoppas verkligen inte att snön kommer på måndag, i så fall hoppas jag det bara blir lite:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det är visst lag på att de skall sota minst två gånger varje år numera, förr var det väl bara en som jag minns det. Fast jag vill hellre att de kommer en gång för mycket än för lite🙂 Soteld i skorstenen är inte kul.

      Jag har för mig att jag läst att man egentligen skall hålla stegen upp till taket snö och isfri, men de har sotat här ändå när det varit som värst. De kan ju inte ha några nerver de där sotarna🙂🙂🙂

      Jag hoppas på en grön vinter🙂 Det gör inget om det blir lite kallt dock, det borde ta livet av en hel del fästingar då🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

