The Yule season starts this weekend.

 

The Yule season officially starts this Sunday here in Sweden. This year the first of advent and the Shop window Sunday comes at the same day (the last weekend of November). Shop window Sunday is when stores traditionally displays the Yule season in their windows, to be honest, many have already started but I’m surprised over how many actually keeps this tradition. Even I did that when I had my garden centre/nursery and it did make me feel a bit jolly as the season requires 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

 

The Advent star and the electric Advent  candlestick is usually already in place by now and most people have them lit in the windows in the evening. I’m a bit late with my stars though, I have one in shiny goldish metal and I bought a traditional in red paper today but I forgot to buy a new electric candlestick as I had decided to do. I was thinking on placing it in my garage window. Well In still have plenty of time to buy it.

 

 

 

I don’t have that many Yule decorations left to be honest but I did find my different Yule gnomes and Straw goats. I´m not sure how Nova will react to them though so I’ll place them high this first Yule for her in this home. The goat is an old Yule symbol here that goes as far back as the old viking gods. Thor (or TOr as we call him) had a wagon that was pulled by two goats and the goat did usually pull the sled that brought the Yule gnome and his presents, but before that it was the goat delivering the presents himself 🙂

 

 

 

The worlds most famous straw goat stands in the town Gävle ever winter. The tradition of burning it down is almost as old as the tradition to put it up every year 🙂 🙂 🙂 This year they believe they can prevent  the burning by freezing it, how I have no idea because it is way to warm to freeze anything so far this winter. The fun thing is that no one had cared about this goat if it wasn’t burnt down every year 🙂 🙂 I know there are several different betting companies where people can bet on when it will burn down 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

 

I have no photographs of my stars, gnomes or goats but I’ll try to remember to photograph them later on. My little Yule tree will most likely be worth taking a photograph of too, it’s an ugly tiny tree in a pot and it will be filled with to many lights and decorations I’m afraid 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

 

 

It si time for a pot of tea and perhaps a warm sandwich with lots of ham, meatballs, sausages and loads of cheese on 🙂

 

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “The Yule season starts this weekend.

  1. Happy Yul season Christer! All the photos are so nice today! I look forward to your photos of your decorations. I hope Nova will be a good girl during the season. I like the idea of a goat delivering presents, though it does seem odd to me. It is very mild here today, and tomorrow warmer. Strange weather! I am off to drumming circle tonight; gotta drum up some good holiday spirit!!! Take care, love to the family!!

    • Hi Robin!
      I do wonder how she will react to the straw goats 🙂 🙂 My guess is that she will try to eat them 🙂 🙂

      I too think its strange with a goat connected with yule presents 🙂 I know how that tradition started but I’m not sure why the goat was chosen 🙂

      A storm is heading our way. It will hit northern Sweden tonight and southern on Sunday. They are warning people to get out in the strong winds.

      Have a good drum circle!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,

    I’ve seen decorations that have the goat delivering presents in a wagon of some kind. Because the USA is an eclectic kind of place, one sees all kinds of things popping up for the Yule season. There are plenty of polar bears delivering presents with Father Christmas. I’m okay with the polar bears as long as there are not penguins there as well. They are not in the same hemisphere so have one or the other but not both.
    Of course there is always Santa Claus and the reindeer and elves.
    My newest Yule season decoration is a stuffed chihuahua that is wearing a Santa hat and holding maracas. When I press the button on his foot, he shakes the maracas and sings La Bamba. It was too cute to leave behind in the shop. Rocky runs away when I turn it on.:-D

    The weather here is warm and sunny. I heard someone mowing his lawn this afternoon! It should be frozen brown by now, not growing and green.

    Love the foggy wet photos today. Enjoy the day and those sandwiches. They sound tasty.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I guess that the northern stats of the US has a lot of our christmas symbols since that where most swedes and norwegians moved when they emigrated from here. But I doubt we’ll ever see a polar bear delivering any presents here though 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I hate it when I see how they put together penguines and polar bears! They have only seen each other at the zoo 🙂 But I have read about a bird that lived very similar to the penguines but up here in the northern hemisphere. But like always they were so easy to hunt so sailors ate them all up.

      This must be the first time I ever have heard about a chihuahua as a christmas decoration and it singing La Bamba just makes it perfect 🙂 🙂 🙂 Nova would most probably try to kill it but the brithers would run like Your Rocky 🙂 🙂

      Sunny and somewhat chilly here today. We’re all waiting for the big storm “Berit” to hit us tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Our stores are already decorated and have been since early November. Our economy is forcing the Yule on us early, waiting for guilt to set in to people who can’t afford a Christmas. Everywhere I go there are Christmas reminders. Even in bars and restaurants. Love the photos today!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Some stores have already started but this time I think more than normal follows that tradition. But adds and commercials has been going on for long.
      They think the christmas shopping will break the record once again, for the sixteenth year in a row!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. #10 & #11 today. 😀
    I haven’t decorated for Christmas in years and this year I am going to try to make myself.
    In the past I’ve been such a bah-humbug and I’m going to try not to be.
    But it won’t be easy! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I just had some cold turkey and dressing and pie!
    Yum! I love leftovers!
    😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think number one is mine today.

      I haven’t cared to do any decorations for years either but since I’ll stay at home this year I feel I must have something.

      Sounds yummy!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Du glömder att nämna hur stor julbocken i Gävle är, den är ju faktiskt ganska imponerande – förmodligen därför den måste eldas upp varje år. Konstig tradition!
    Trots att vårt hus är upp och ner med grejor som står överallt och hantverkare som springer ut och in hela tiden, så har vi lyckats får upp alla adventsstakar och ytterbelysningar. Men tända dom…..nej, det blir inte förrän i morgon! Eller, om jag är vaken, kl 12 inatt!!
    Idag på morgonen har jag “roat” mig med att sy om några gardiner till kontoret som har både ett fönster samt ett litet fönster på sin ytterdörr. Jag hatälskar gardiner så jag har en hel del att välja mellan U(byter titt och tätt), men hittade ett par väldigt snygga i vitt och så sydde jag en skyddsgardin för solen av samma tyg till dörrfönstret – och jag HATAR verkligen att sy. Så dagen började inte så bra, men nu är det klart i alla fall. Skönt!
    Gubben min slipar och målar lister till kontoret, men han gillar ju att måla så han verkar ganska tillfreds just nu.
    TREVLIG ADVENT
    Susie

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jag vet faktiskt inte exakt hur stor bocken är, bara att den är rejält stor. Liite roligt är det ändå att den bränns ned såpass ofta 🙂 🙂 🙂 Hade det inte varit för det så skulle ytterst få utanför Gävle ens känna till bocken där.

      Måste erkänna att gardiner inte är högprioriterat hos mig, helst är jag utan för då kommer det in så mycket mera ljus i stugan, fönstrena är ju ganska små här. Men på vintern skulle jag vilja ha rejäla draperier som håller kylan ute. Får nog inköpa det denna vintern 🙂 Sy är inget jag kan påstå att jag kan 🙂 🙂

      Ha en trevlig advent!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

