Viran the food maniac.

 

I started to go through all the yule stuff I have and I need a new electric advents candlestick. Only this one worked as it should. This is a swedish invention by the way.

 

Viran was like most other dogs when it came to food, she took what she reached whether she was allowed to or not🙂 That is, she was until she got puppies, after that she was a food maniac and ate anything that could, with a big imagination, be edible. Even though she got three times as much food than she needed she still wanted more and I had hoped it would pass when the puppies had left, but she remained the same for the rest of her life🙂 The vet never could find anything wrong with her, her brain just kept on telling her that she had to get more food all the time.

 

I drove to the grocery store in Gudhem yesterday and I took a couple of photographs on my way home. This is Gudhems kyrka with the monastery ruins.I have shown this place before.

 

 

Back then I didn’t have any pantry but I did have a lot of space above the kitchen cabinets and that was where I had all dry goods and my bread. To reach anything of it I had to stand on a chair to even be close to reach the things closest to the wall behind. Viran that always studied what I did realized that there were lots of goodies up there but how to reach it?

 

 

The surroundings are quite beautiful.

 

 

 

One day when I came home after being to the grocery store I realized that there were a lot of small pieces of spaghetti on the floor in the entrance. That’s never a good sign🙂🙂 Then I looked in to my living room and saw a lot of torn packages of müsli, flour, macaronies and the list could go on for ever🙂 Unfortunately I didn’t look just in front of me so the first thing I did was to put my foot in a huge pile of something she had thrown up🙂 (we swedes never wear shoes indoors).

 

 

 

 

Viran were just as happy as always and there was really no use in getting angry when I slowly walked the way to the kitchen trying to avoid the mess on the floors🙂🙂 As I remember it (still can’t find my notes from those days) she had eaten 8 bread rolls, two packages of müsli, two huge packages of cat food, 8 pounds of flour, four packages of macaronies/spaghetti, several packages of dried soup and tried to eat a can or two as well. Nothing much of this stayed in her stomach though, plastic doesn’t go well in any stomach, so naturally I could find her piles all over the cottage.

 

 

 

She had simply done like I always did, pushed a chair close to the kitchen counter, jumped up on the counter, stood on her back legs and reached everything up there🙂🙂🙂 I knew this would happen again if I didn’t do anything so I thought it would be a good idea to put everything behind the china in the cupboards. She wouldn’t have much space to open up the cupboards while standing on the counter. I thought I had outsmart her🙂🙂🙂

 

I also stopped by the lake.

 

Bjurums church.

 

 

Of course I hadn’t🙂 I don’t know how she did it but the next day when I came home after walking my other dog Sickan I understood what a fool I had been🙂 The scene was much the same when I opened the door and when I came in to the kitchen I realized that I had no china left. It all was laying broken on the floor. Unfortunately there was a puppy lying there too, Viran had managed to hit him with a huge tureen. He did survive but it took a long time until he could walk properly again.

 

Lots of cars standing outside Dagsnäs castle. This week they have a Yule fair there. To much people for my taste so I never go there.

 

You can almost see the castle behind the tress in the fog🙂🙂 We have one more castle here not far away (just some kilometers (miles) away).

 

 

The lake never was especially deep but they have lowered it several times. Now they slowly makes it bigger again and I think they'll make it as big as it once was (not something some of the land owners like especially much).

 

With no china left I now had lots more space for groceries🙂🙂 But now I used the ultimate weapon, ground white pepper! I spread it all over the counter and on the groceries in the cupboard as well. Not even Viran was mad enough to fight that more than one time🙂🙂🙂 Finally I had my food left alone and I thought I had won the war, so wrong one can be. She knew she wanted food and she knew where to find it🙂 Her next target was the refrigerator but that is another story to tell later🙂🙂🙂

 

 

I think those white spots are trumpet swans.

 

 

I took this photo on my way home, look how strange the trees sort of bends in to the centre of the photograph, they don't in the real🙂 I guess it is the car window that makes it look that way. These trees were once a part of a long tree boulevard but they are old and one after the other have had to be removed.

 

I managed to almost sleep an entire night without coughing🙂 But during one of those cough attacks I managed to bite myself in the tongue really hard, so now its bright red and swollen🙂🙂🙂 The weather is still warm and foggy here with the occasional shower of rain. This will be a day of relaxing, tomorrow it’s back to work again.

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Viran the food maniac.

  1. Oj, vad jag har skrattat! Jag ser för mig en klurig Viran som balanserar på stolen för att nå upp. Och så ser jag minen på henne när allt porslin ramlade ner ur köksskåpet och hon äntligen fick sig ett nytt skrovmål!!🙂🙂🙂
    Det är sånt här som är så vansinnigt roligt EFTERÅT, men precis när det händer så är det ju inte så kul. Men…jag ser verkligen fram mot att få läsa historien om kylskåpet! *fniss*

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Just när det hände kunde jag hålla mig för skratt🙂🙂🙂 Det lustiga är att hon rörde aldrig något annat, bara saker som hade med mat att göra🙂 Ja kylskåps historien var en dyr historia🙂 Men man förlät alltid den stora snälla token🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hahaha, hon verkar ju ha varit en helt underbar hund:)) Synd på den lilla valpen men tur att den ändå klarade livet:) Säger som Susie att jag kan riktigt se henne framför mig. Egentligen är/var det ju riktigt synd om Viran- tänk att vara så himla hungrig hela tiden. Tack för ännu en kul historia om denna fantastiska Viran:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det var hon verkligen om än något dyr i drift🙂🙂🙂
      Valpen var den största av dem som tur var, någon av de mindre hade troligen aldrig klarat av den smällen. Han hette förresten Orvar han också🙂 Den hunden blev enormt stor, nästan så att min Orvar verkar liten i jamförelse🙂🙂🙂

      Frågan är om hon verkligen var hungrig, jag tror att det bara blev en fix idé som hon inte kunde släppa till slut. En gång slet hon ett äplle direkt ur handen på mig precis när jag skulle ta en tugga🙂🙂🙂 Hon var så exakt att hon inte ens snuddade mig🙂
      Det kommer flera framöver🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Glad you are feeling better, Christer, but ouch on that bitten tongue! The advent candles look lovely by the window. The onastery photos are somehoe improved by the foggy day adding a bit of atmosphere to what looks like what was once (and still is) an impressive structure. Yes, I could see the castle behind the trees! Viran certainly wan a smart dog, even to the detriment of your pantry and dishes and house. I could not imagine how much of a cleanup you had even after reading what she had gotten out of the pantry on 2 occasions. You didn’t say what you did to scold her, but you could not have been very pleased with all the work and cleanup.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It feels like I have a giant blister on my tongue now🙂🙂 I hope it will heal fast because it is rather annoying.

      I wish there had been more fog when I was up by the monastery though🙂

      She was a smart dog🙂 She costed me a small fortune though🙂🙂 There’s actually no use in doing anything if one can’ät catch her while doing it. Dogs doesn’t understand what’s happening otherwise. The risk would be that she connected something bad with me coming home or cleaning up🙂🙂🙂 But the white pepper did the job for me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! ouch! i hate it when i bite my tongue. your photos are wonderful. that is so funny about viran. that is one of the chows qualities i really like. teddy would never dig in the trash or eat anything she should not. well, if she comes across something outside she might. but never in the house. i recently dropped a hot dog on the kitchen floor and she stood there and looked at it until i told her she could have it! it sure is warm here!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It feels like I have a giant blister on my tongue now but I hope it will heal quickly!

      That hot dog would never have reached the floor here🙂🙂🙂 None of my dogs have ever missed a chance to get food from anywhere🙂🙂 I guess its the competition between them that makes it that way.

      Warm for the season over here too, normally we would have frost every day now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. OMG! Fabulous photos! If I had to pick favorites it would be very hard!
    OK, #6, #10 and #13
    I feel so bad for that poor puppy! Did that puppy get adopted? or did it become one of your dogs?
    Some days I feel like Viran.😦 🙂
    Both you and she are very lucky that it always came up and didn’t get stuck in her intestines. We get a lot of dogs into the clinic because of that.
    (Usually during the Holidays)
    Once something as simple as the leftover piece of foil from the rim of a peanut butter jar blocked a dog and she almost died in surgery!
    Yup, lucky, lucky!😀🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think number 11 is my favorite today, or maybe 6.

      He was adopted even before he was born that puppy🙂 They knew what had happened to him but he never got any problems later in life thankfully.

      Yes we were lucky🙂 They have a small exibition at my vets office with stuff they have removed surgically from dogs stomachs🙂🙂 But no matter what she ate it always came out again, one way or the other🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hello there Christer. I am loving the photos today, I think especially because of the fog. The monastery, castles, buildings, trees, lake are all wonderful. Thank you for giving us a nice view of your area! You advent candle holder is amazing!!! Viran’s story is unbelievable, what a smart, smart dog to use the chair to reach the top of the cupboard, and then to get into your china cupboard. Too bad the puppy had to suffer for her smartness! And I hate the thought of all the messes you had to clean up, not mention the cost of replacing food and china! what a story! Have a nice, relaxing day recovering from the coughing!

    • Hi Robin!
      I only wish the fog had been thicker up at the monastery🙂

      Viran did things like this all the time and the cost for food and china was nothing compared to other things she did🙂🙂🙂 But if I cought her in action and told her NO, she didn’t do that thing ever again! The only thing was that she was hard to catch doing them🙂🙂🙂 The puppy survived after all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    I missed the part about the bitten tongue. That’s even more painful than the pizza burn one gets on that part of the mouth right behind the upper two front teeth. Anyway, hope it heals up quickly.

    Viran was a very talented dog. Isn’t it amazing what animals can manage when they really want something? I can’t wait to read the refrigerator story.🙂 None of my dogs has been large enough to tackle the refrigerator but they have been able to get up on tables. Forget about the cats. They got into everything that doesn’t have a lock on it.
    Rocky isn’t too pushy about food. If I am cooking by the stove, he will sit next to my feet and stare at the floor. I think he believes if he stares at the floor long enough, food will magically appear there. He’s usually right. I am not the neatest of cooks.🙂

    Your Advent candle is lovely. It looks like a temple menorah. The Advent candle holder that I remember from church was a wreath with four candles in it. A bit like St Lucie’s crown. One candle was lit for each Sunday in Advent. When we children saw the last candle lit, we knew Christmas was soon. Yay! Nowadays I’m not so thrilled about that but it was a big deal then.🙂

    Sunny, warm (61F) and breezy here today. This is the kind of winter I could enjoy. Too bad it isn’t the kind of winter we normally get. I know it’s not technically winter yet but, to me, any time between Halloween and the end of February is winter.

    Enjoy the day.!

    • Hi Caryn!
      Its a close call though, pizza burns are terrible🙂🙂🙂

      She was and she had nothing in her head telling her she just wouldn’t do that🙂🙂🙂 She wanted it, she took it🙂

      Nove does much the same as Your Rocky🙂 That’s why she is covered in flour at the moment🙂🙂 I started making scones and dropped some over her and the floor🙂🙂

      We have those advent candlesticks as well and I decorate mine every year but never lit the candles. Those candlesticks are the biggest reason so many homes burns down before christmas!
      It has been around F here today and I like it🙂 Real winter doesn’t have to arrive at all🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. The church in the distance almost looks like a painting. I think you’ll never run out of dog stories but this one is very sad not only for you but for the dog. Maybe you should have left her in a dog run while you were out. Glad your cough is almost gone.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I don’t think this is especially sad at all, the only sad thing is that she got this idea of getting food all the time. The puppy made it and had a long life with no problems after this and things can be replaced🙂
      I really couldn’t place her anywhere else since she had puppies, this was in late winter/ early spring and the kitchen was actually the best place to leave her with the pups. It was rather big and easiest to clean up mess from🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Rained here all day long. Southern California FINALLY got some needed rain.
    I want to tell you Christer, that you have more patience with your animals than I ever had with my children. At least you understood her and I am not too sure I would have been that understanding. It’s a good thing…patience.
    I hope your hip is doing alright…and no more fever…
    The scenery is rather scarey to me ..but I am afraid when I can’t see much. Sort of spooky looking with the fog. She BROKE YOUR CHINA!! Oh..well…no…she would have been looking for a new home. …Possibly. 🙂
    Hope your weekend was as nice as mine was.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Congratulations to the rain🙂🙂🙂

      As ong as I didn’t catch her in action there’s really nothing else to do that to have patience🙂🙂🙂 Dogs never look back, so what has happened is no longer something they think of 🙂🙂

      I do like the fog as long as I don’t have to drive in it, especially in the dark!

      Well things can always be replaced🙂 There are worse things in life🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi pattyskypants!
      So true!
      I think we could skip November totally🙂 At least in December the holidays lights up the days🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

