I got an award!

 

 

Like I told You yesterday I got an award from Joyce at Octoberfarm, The Versatile Blogger and I thank her for that🙂 I don’t mind getting awards but I always hae big troubles giving them away, many doesn’t want them and all the blogs I read are favorites of mine in some way otherwise I wouldn’t read them🙂🙂 So instead of chosing I’ve sort of made a lottery of the giving away thing🙂 Now I’m supposed to write seven things about me that is quirky and that isn’t as easy as it might sound, what is quirky for me may be common sence for someone else🙂🙂🙂

 

 

I’m afraid of balloons! I just can’t stand them and I am prepared to hit anyone coming close to me with a balloon🙂🙂🙂 The ones with helium gas in them are the worst and I think I have to blame my mother for this🙂🙂 She mistook helium for hydrogen wich is highly explosive and once told me that they could explode in my face🙂🙂 (I think she was thinking of Hindenburg🙂🙂 )

I rarely get up later than 5 am, more often earlier than that. I hate to miss any of the little sunlight we get here during the half-year we have late autumn till early spring and it is just fantastic to get up that early in summer before the rest of the world does🙂

I can’t stand strong perfumes and I remember back in the days when I was running a lot and ran after someone with lots of perfume or aftershave, it actually made it difficult to breathe! So I did what I could to pass them as quickly as possible. I also get headache from it.

 

I do hope You can see the deer! Two ones just turned up right in front of us and I had no time adjusting the camera, but I have brightened it up as much as I can!

I’m a language snob. I have big problems being quiet when people I talk with don’t know the meaning of the word they use or when they write swedish in an english way, quite common now days. Like an ad I saw some months ago about black labrador puppies, they wrote it in an english way: Labrador puppies black, but if You write it that way in swedish You actually write that You are selling labrador and puppies and blacks, not the same is it.

I was supposed to be a two egg triplet🙂 But the identical one never developed as he should and tiny parts of him had to be removed surgically when I was around 19. The third one miscarried and that is how they found out my mother was pregnant🙂

I’m ambidextrous and most probably born that way. It showed when I broke most things in my right arm ( took the doctors over six hours to get that arm right again) when I was six years old and had no problems switching to the left hand. The only thing is that when I write with my left hand I do it better backwards and mirrored🙂

The last of yesterday fog still hangs around in some places.

When I bought my sailboat I had no idea how to sail🙂 The one teaching me sat in his own sailboat shouting to me what I should do for an entire week while sailing in the archipelago outside Gothenburg🙂🙂 He was a fanatic sailor so he never allowed me to use the engine, so when one day had to I didn’t understand how to do it🙂🙂 It ended with me crashing in to a floating jetty🙂🙂

Hector looks at the deers but that's it. Nova however would have run after them within seconds if I hadn't leashed her seconds before they walked in front of us🙂

And here are the ones that I pass this award to:

Oldfool

Keep the Coffee Coming 

Coffee with the Hermit

When the bough breaks

The Frog and PenguINN

I would really give it to all blogs I read but the rules says five. I won’t feel offended if You don’t want this award🙂 Today is sunny and rather cold, a nice change to the fog we’ve had these last days (or is it weeks🙂 )I sat up sleeping most of the night because the coughing started as expected yesterday evening. It worked quite well but I can’t say that I’m especially alert this morning🙂🙂

The surface on the pond is frozen.

The cold air made me feel so much better while we were out walking to get my morning paper, the brain sort of came back to its real size and my nose got less stuffed, but that naturally changed as soon as we got in again. Perhaps I should sleep with my head in the freezer tonight🙂🙂🙂 Tea with lots of ginger and honey helps the throat to feel less bad so I guess it’ll be a lot of that today🙂

This photograph is a bit older but one can never see to many showing the moon🙂

Have a great day!

15 thoughts on “I got an award!

  1. Grattis till utmärkelsen! Det är alltid smickrande att få men jag “gillar” det inte just av den anledningen du skriver att man måste välja ut några av sina bloggvänner framför andra:( Har av den anledningen vänligen men bestämt tackat nej till sådana den sista gången. Det var ju intressant att veta att du “skulle” blivit trilling, tänk TRE av dig:)) Här försöker solen att pressa sig igenom dimmslöjorna och jag tror att den nu har lyckats, ett par minusgrader är det också så nu är det gott med braskaminen. Ha det gott och krya på dig/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja det är ett elände att behöva välja ut vilka som skall få utmärkelsen. Jag hade ju inte läst någon av dem om jag inte gillat dem🙂 Så därför lottade jag denna gången🙂 Tog bara de engelskspråkiga så att så många som möjligt skall kunna läsa om de vill kolla in dem. Gogle översättare är ingen höjdare måga gånger🙂🙂🙂

      Soligt och härligt här idag, men jag har svårt att njuta av det när förkylningen härjar på🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! well, we sound like the same person except for the triplet part! i HATE balloons! and you know i am always up by 4:00 am. i think that is the most special time of the day! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes we have much the same quirks🙂🙂
      So I’m not alone hating balloons🙂🙂🙂 Must be a name for that🙂🙂
      Yes early mornings are the absolute best part of the day!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,

    I am not afraid of balloons unless I am the one that has to blow them up by mouth. I’m positive that I will blow the thing up too much and it will explode in my face. It happened to me once when I was a kid and I never got over it. I don’t care about balloons that someone else has blown up. I have selective globophobia.🙂

    I am a bit of a language snob, too, but I have gotten more relaxed about it with age. My major peeve is the use of the word “dove” with a long “o” sound, as the past tense of “to dive” as in “He dove off the bridge”. No he didn’t, dammit! He dived off the bridge. English has enough irregular verbs, let’s not add to the list. It’s a lost battle, though. Sort of like yelling at my local weatherman that it is not a “nor’easter”, it’s a “no’theaster”. Sorry. Local downeast Yankee thing. We drop our r’s, not our th’s.🙂

    I bet they write Swedish like English because Google Translate will not translate many of those combinative words. We must cater to the international marketplace, you know.🙂 Google Translate has gotten a little better because I typed in larbardorsvartvalp which is probably not correct Swedish but it came out labrador black puppy. An English reader would see that as black labrador puppy and not as a list of three things.

    Congratulations on your award.

    I can’t pick a favorite photo today. Too many wonderful ones.

    Enjoy the day and get more health restoring naps.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      I just can’t stand those balloons!

      This started even before google🙂 For a while it was popular to use a lot of english words if You wanted to be hip🙂🙂 But I can’t say that google has helped🙂 The right way to write it would be black labradorpuppies, The words meaning changes slightly if one put black after puppies🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. You certainly aren’t at a loss for gorgeous photos. All of them move me. The first one of the moon is spectacular. Now we are all happy to know you better. I had a Christmas present of after shave called Diesel, very expensive, but it cause me to cough and my eyes water. I hate to think the gift giver would go to that expense but I ended up giving it to my son. Glad you’re feeling better.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I know about Diesel and it is just something about it that is to much.

      I only feel well when being outside in the cold, once back inside again I feel just bad again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, glad you are feeling better. it was fun reading some of the things that are quirky about you. I will have to let Grenville know that you have passed the award on to us at The Frog & PenguINN. We don’t usually do awards, so we might just do a joint post listing the quirks we each have…and we do!. The frost photos were lovely, but this week we are having very warm temperatures and can go outdoors wearing t-shirts during the warmest part of the day.. And yes, I could see the deer leaping.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I’m slowly heading towards better but it feels like forever to get there🙂🙂🙂

      Yes a combiened one would be the thing to do for You since You share it!

      It is way to cold for t-shirts here now🙂 This morning it was 19F here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. would it be wrong of me to say thank goodness my blog name didn’t get drawn? LOL!
    hmmm… balloons. too bad you have a bad childhood memory of them. I remember being little and at a park with a group of kids with our names written on paper and tied to the strings and then releasing the balloons to see how far they would travel and if anyone would contact us.
    the Triplets thing, um…do you read Stephen King? if so, have you ever read “The Dark Half”? anyway……
    ambidextrous…if I write with my left but cut with scissors with my right and do everything else with my right but can eat with either..LOL! does that mean I am?
    I agree about the “cologne” thing. I always think people are trying to cover up something stinky! Ha!, but I think if someone wears it, you shouldn’t be able to smell it unless you are standing very close. (NOT across a room!🙂 )
    The language thing? I’m afraid I murder it myself.😦
    I laughed about the sailboat. I once bought a stick-shift car with no idea how to drive it. The salesman gave me an hour “training” lesson and later I was crying because I couldn’t get up a steep hill! Hey, did you once say you LIVED on that boat? Did you have any pets then?
    Boy, this award has just left me with asking you MORE questions!
    Sorry!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Better luck next time🙂 I like all blogs I read in one way or the other and always have big problems sending them on to others. It feels like I’m telling those not getting it that I don’t like their blogs as much as those getting it and that is not true.

      I love reading Stephen King but this one I’ve missed. I looked it up and they sort of cut out much the same parts in me (without the eye, no extra eye in me🙂 ) but they removed him from another part of my body, beside my tailbone🙂

      I’ve read that one can learn to be ambidextrous by learning how to use both hands, like for instance I could have learned it when I broke that arm of mine. But I didn’t have to learn, I just switched hands and continued like always🙂🙂 So in a way I would say that You are at least partly ambidextrous🙂

      Sorry but I did laugh reading about You and Your car with stick shifts🙂🙂 Over here almost everyone have stick shifts in their cars, it’s only these last years that automatick transmisson has become more common. But I had the same feelings many times being out there sailing not really knowing what to do🙂🙂🙂
      But no I have never lived on a boat but I almost did that🙂 I was going to buy an old boat that they had used to go out to bigger boats further out so they could bunker stuff they needed without going in to harbour. It was rather short but wide so it would have been perfect to make a home from. But I ended up here instead🙂🙂 I know people living that way and they have all kinds of pets on those boats cats and dogs being the most popular ones.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

