Viran the thief.

 

My eyes told me the light was rather bright this morning but my camera told me otherwise. I had to adjust the camera for poor light (ISO 800) to be able to get anything. THat's why the photographs looks a bit unsharp.

 

When I moved here I had a neighbor that loved Viran more than anything and all summer she was just as much over to him as she was here at home. No matter what she did he just laughed and said that she was wonderful. He had his own welding firm and so skillful that he had work all over the country. That meant that he sometimes worked way in to the forest where there were no place to eat when he was hungry. So every now and again he made his own lunch boxes because there are always a micro somewhere close. The boxes he used had the lid attached to the bottom part, so one just flipped it open.

 

 

 

So one Sunday he stood in his kitchen making dinner for three days and like always Viran came in for a visit. He was only going to fry the potatoes and then he would be able to go away. He told me he had been talking to Viran ad she had been standing just behind him all the time. He gave her a treat and off she went happy as ever. During those few seconds he had been looking for the treat Viran had quickly moved to the table where the lunch boxes stood, flipped the lid and taken everything in them 🙂 🙂 I guess that the one hiring him had to pay extra for petrol that time because he had to drive 20 km (12,5 miles) to the closest fast food place to get something to eat those days 🙂 🙂

 

 

 

Just a couple of weeks later he once again was making new lunch boxes and this time he was prepared for how quickly Viran could be. The lunch boxes were placed that high so she couldn’t reach them without making lots of noise. He stood there and talked with her while frying the sausages he was going to have the coming days. He looked some towards his left side to give Viran her treat.

 

 

I was standing in my garden doing something that I can´t remember but suddenly I heard this loud laughter from my neighbor and I heard him say to Viran”You are just wonderfully amazing”. It turns out that during that second hee looked away Viran had stood up on her back legs taking all sausages at the same time and swallowed them whole directly from the frying pan 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is a miracle she didn’t scald herself doing that. She got her treat anyway 🙂

 

 

 

Another time she went over to the neighbor closest to the bog, it was rather late and quite dark outside. By that time they too had a rather big black dog and they had opened the door to let him in just before they were going to sleep. They just couldn’t understand what had flown in to him. He ran around the whole house, ate all dog and cat food he could find and just behaved very strange. So they turned on the lamps in the house and realized that it wasn’t their dog but Viran instead, their dog sat on the porch looking sad wanting to come in 🙂

 

 

 

They told me the story next morning laughing rather much and I could tell something more to them. It seems when they let Viran out again she stole a hair brush and a comb on her way out. I found them under my pillow that evening 🙂 🙂 and I di wonder where they came from 🙂 They never wanted them back though 🙂 🙂

 

 

It is a cloudy and foggy/hazy day here today. The sun shines through it now and again but it is a lost battle for it. The hunters are out in the forest but so far no sound from any rifle. I doubt they will stay out for long though, they come late and go home early, this is a fairly safe place for most wildlife 🙂

 

I thought I should show You these photographs on Niva that I took by the Portal yesterday.

 

 

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Viran the thief.

  1. Haha du milde vad jag har suttit här och skrattat för mig själv:)) Du borde skriva en bok – typ barnbok “Virans äventyr och upptåg” du verkar ju ha ett helt lager av historier om henne;)) Tack för dagens skratt. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja historier med Viran som huvudperson finns det gott om 🙂 🙂 Det finns flera som inta jag varit med om dessutom som när styvsonen var ute med henne på dagarna 🙂 🙂 Tror inte jag fått reda på de alla heller om jag skall vara ärlig 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,

    Flying Nova! She looks so happy running free back to you.

    Viran was a talented dog. Good thing she belong to you and not someone who could have trained her to be more specific in her choice of stolen objects. 🙂

    I’m glad it was light enough outside for you to get a picture of my favorite shaggy pony. You must find out his name for me because in my mind I am calling him Thelwell and he is probably much more well-behaved than any Thelwell pony generally was.

    The weather is supposed to be sunny and 55F but I can’t tell yet. It’s still very early morning. Time for coffee and breakfast. No painting today, either. The arthritic fingers are still very annoyed. I will sit and knit instead.

    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      She is so happy when she’s free from the leash 🙂

      Viran never came home with anything useful (to me that is) unfortunately, like money 🙂 🙂 🙂 But what ever she stole she always put ir behind my pillow 🙂 🙂

      I´ll ask for his name if I remember it 🙂
      I know all about arthritis but is it really better to knit? Doesn’t the fingers work all the time while knitting? 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • If I don’t move the fingers a fair amount they stiffen up and hurt even more. Knitting is a gentle movement that doesn’t need any strength so there’s not much stress unless you are a new knitter and have your needles and yarn in a death grip. 🙂
        Painting, shoveling snow, scraping wallpaper, giving a massage all require more strength and put a lot of stress on the hands. Playing games on my computer when all I have is a track pad is also a very bad thing for me. But they are fun. 🙂

      • I was thinking of crocheting to be honest 🙂 Knitting is as You say gentler for the fingers.
        The only game I play on my computers is solitaire 🙂

        Christer.

  3. Oh! I LOVE your stories of Viran. I wish you were able to post photos. 😦
    She sounds like she was quite the character! 🙂 and a very smart one.
    great photos especially the deer and the horse but LOVED LOVED LOVED Nova!
    I’m currently reading the book “Oogy”. Have you heard of that one? It’s about a puppy that had been used as “bait” for dog-fighting but rescued and ended up with a very loving family who named him Oogy. You would love that story that’s all about how sweet and happy this dog is no matter what he had gone through. I’m not done with it yet but so far it’s been uplifting.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I have loads of photographs of her but I’m having problems with transferring them to my hard drive on the computer. The photo program on those cd’s is so old that it really doesn’t work on new computers. But I´ll try to get some till next time I write about her.

      I see that I gave Nova a new name today 🙂 Niva is fine too but its also a name of a car 🙂 🙂

      No I haven’t heard about Oogy, but I have read similar stories about other dogs. I just can’t figure out how people can like dog fighting and how they willingly sacrifice poor dogs so the fighters can train on them???

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!
      She really was but especially in her younger days lots of people really didn’t like her that much because she had a tendency to be everywhere at the same time 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Thanks for the postcard! I’ve been meaning to say that for a couple of days now! Love it!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi there Christer! The stories of Viran are hilarious! I can’t believe she wolfed down those hot sausages. Thank goodness your neighbor was kind and loved Viran! I wonder why on earth she took the comb and brush? Very odd! Our Super Nova looks wonderfully healthy and happy, flying down the road, with ears flapping and a big smile on her sweet face. She is doing great off-leash! Wishing you a great week ahead, and big hugs to the family!

    • Hi Robin!
      Viran was hilarious many times but also exhausting as well, mostly I laughed though no matter what she had done 🙂 🙂

      Most people just accepted her for how she was 🙂 🙂 They just had to keep their eyes on her all the time 🙂 🙂 Looking back to the thigs she stole throughout her life the brush and comb was most understandable even if I did wonder why she wanted them 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Nova actually didn’t run after the pheasant she discovered yesterday, I see that as a big step forward 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Underbara historier om Viran! Jag gillar faktiskt hundar som inte är “alltför” väluppfostrade utan har lite egensinne kvar. 🙂
    Fast det är klart, ibland kan det gå till överdrift och det är kanske inte så kul precis när deras upptåg händer…..men efteråt! 🙂 🙂

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Det lustiga med Viran var att hon egentligen var väldigt lydig 🙂 Jag kunde säga till henne att stanna på ett ställe och så gjorde hon det i timmar utan problem, men hon var tvungen att få den där ordern annars gick det som det gick 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Don’t know what’s going on but I can’t seem to leave comments on this new blog setup of yours. It’s wonderful to have their companionship and watch them become a part of our ‘pack.’ They watch so closely, it’s almost human. I’ve loved all my pets, each in a different way, both large and small, and would never trade any of them. You have such a lovely trio with you, now. So much unconditional love — and, fun!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      As far as I know You’re the only one with that problem. I do hppe that if any more people have problems they’ll tell me so I can change to another.

      Yes all living things are special and I have loved all my pets too. But some sort of stays in my memories as more bright shining stars 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

