At least we don’t have any snow :-)

I’m a bit surprised that I don’t feel especially much pain in my body after yesterdays brave and heroic work on the roof🙂 Some sour joints and spine but that’s all actually. I did however sleep a couple of hours longer this morning and since we got back the hour we were stolen of early spring when Summer time (or daylight saving time) started I feel rather alert today.

 

 

 

This used to be a pond and there's lots of places like this here. I don't understand why they don't open them up again because as they are now they are a paradise for horsefly larvaes, something we have quite enough of as it is. Dig them out and put fish in them and much of our insect problems would go away.

 

 

The morning was (and the day still is) grey and dull with some mist doing its best to hang on even if the winds blow some. We walked in to the village today, normally all hunters gather on Sundays and get out into the forest but I’m not sure they will today, they are rather lazy and comfortable to be honest. I’m pretty sure most of them only uses hunting as an excuse to get out into the forest , then they sort of have a reason to get out there🙂

 

 

 

 

 

We started the training on having Nova walking around without any leash today. Naturally I checked so that I couldn’t see any wild life around before letting her run free🙂 She comes as soon as I call her and seems to understand how to walk properly by my side, well we will reach that point eventually anyway🙂 She doesn’t care about cows and it seems deers are becoming less interesting as well. We see them on every walk every day so I think they aren’t especially interesting any longer.

 

 

 

 

 

I got a photo editing program when I bought my camera and I have never really used it. It is amazing how they can complicate things for the user🙂 The only thing I normally do is to resize and make my photographs brighter (like I did today) and to my big surprise I can’t find anything where I can make the photographs smaller? I can cut them yes, but not reduce the size. There are lots of other things I can do though but I don’t feel the need for that. But I have to say this program is much better in brightening the photographs than the old program I have. They tend to look a bit grey in the old program but not in this one.

 

 

Nova without any leash🙂

 

 

The beginning of the bog (or former lake as it actually is) just behind my garage.

 

I won’t be doing especially much today, more training with Nova of course but that’s it I think. The weather will continue grey and dull (wich is far better than the snowfall eastern USA have had yesterday and perhaps today as well) for most of the week. Well I’ll bake a bread too but that’s it, for the rest of the day I’ll just relax and drink tea🙂

 

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “At least we don’t have any snow :-)

  1. Vädret igår var helt fantastiskt här, men idag är det höst igen! Det är vad jag kallar varannan dags väder!!
    Du skriver att du inte har ont i kroppen, men det har jag. Det ömmar precis överallt. Anledningen är att när jag skulle gå in i skogen på andra sidan i förrgår efter lökplaantering och slänga trädgårdsskräp. Då klev jag i en grop som blivit efter en traktor och föll pladask. Ena sekunden stod jag upp, nästa så låg jag platt med näsan i gräsmattan. Hann inte ens tänka på att jag var på väg att ramla – och tur var väl det – då hade man kanske försökt ta emot sig med händerna. Igår morse kände jag inget, men ju längre dagen gick desto ömmare blev jag. Kan knappt röra mig idag….. (fast det kanske är vädret som gör att jag inte vill gå ut *fniss*)
    Vad du än gör med bilderna så är dom mycket vackra. Själv använder jag mig av et uråldrigt program, som är väldigt avancerat. Har dock inte lärt mig alla finesserna ännu, utan det blir “det gamla vanliga”!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      OH! Sådana fall är hemska och man får vara glad om man “bara” har ont efteråt. Väken kommer ju alltid efter ett tag, speciellt när man sträckt sig och du sträckte väl varenda muskel du har kan jag tänka🙂

      Jag gör egentligen inget mer än minskar ned dem i storlek och vissa får jag göra ljusare för att det varit lite mörkt när jag fotograferat🙂 Det är gärna det tidigt på morgonen🙂🙂

      Ha det gott och krya på dig!
      Christer.

  2. fav photos this post are the ones of the grey house and the following one with the horse.😀😀😀
    I wish you luck and patience with training Nova, but you don’t need it because you obvioulsy know what you are doing.😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      The grey house with the horses in the pasture is my favorite too.

      I’ll be needing lots of patiens I’m afraid🙂🙂🙂 The real test comes when there’s a hare that she can see! I just hope all those times she been burnt by the electric fences here will make her stop early🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Snow has stopped. Sun is shining most of the time but the wind is blowing so it’s cold. I lost power for a little bit last night but it was okay. What was really nasty was waking up with electricity but no cable, no internet, no land line phone and no cell phone. No one on the radio was talking about Armageddon happening here so I didn’t know what was going on. I fed the dog and we went out to shovel snow and play in it for a bit. I took some photos. There are still a few inches of snow on the grass but I have internet and TV again so who cares!!!🙂

    Good luck with Nova’s training. She’s a clever dog. She’ll get it. Eventually. I say that because she does have some terrier in her and they tend to forget their training at inconvenient moments. Inconvenient for the human, that is.🙂

    Do they graze cattle around the former ponds? Maybe the landowner wants them to dry up completely so that he can put cattle there.

    Glad there are no lasting effects from the adventure on the roof. Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I read about the power loss but I hadn’t heard anything about the other problems You’ve had. As long as one knows the snow will melt away quickley things will be fine as long as internet works🙂🙂

      It is that terrier part I’m worried about🙂🙂🙂 But I have lots of treats in my pocket so I do hope she will remember that and don’t run after hares🙂🙂🙂

      It used to be cattle there where the ponds has been and I guess You are right about them wanting it to become more solid. But that will take rather many years and now days there’s no cattle there. It would be better if they opened them up again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Phew! I’ve managed to get through all the back posts. Nova is growing up and will probably enjoy staying closer to your side, now. I’m so glad that you have safely fixed the tiles on your roof. That’s the only bad thing about living alone and having to fix things. It would have been safer to have your neighbor aware that you were up on the roof. The weather isn’t conducive to laying around on the ground, until noticed, anymore! And, guess what? The world didn’t end and we’re still here but now I’m out of everything I didn’t replace waiting for the final moments. (Didn’t want to leave too much food for whatever followed!😎 ). It’s such a pleasure to go through your photos and your gentle way of telling a story along the way. Thanks for a great Sunday morning.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I did ety line all the time so I wouldn’t have left the roof if I had slipped. But it feels awful being up there anyway🙂🙂

      I’m still surprised that nothing happened🙂🙂🙂 But has Mr Camping given us any explanatio to why nothing happened yet? He will most probably come up with something🙂🙂🙂
      I’m glad You like what I’m doing here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i just missed that snow storm! we left just in time! way to go nova!!! she probably forgets having ever lived anywhere else except with you. she hit the puppy lottery when you found her. it is really cold here for this early in the season. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I’m glad You made it home begore thw snow started to fall!
      The big test is when she might see a hare🙂 Fortunately I haven’t seen a hare in months so I’m hoping they won’t turn up again for many months to come🙂🙂
      It’s very warm for the season over here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. You liked the “vomiting pumpkin?” lol Ok..figures! 🙂
    We had fun.
    Your photo’s are always so wonderful. Never a disappointment. I was sort of surprised to see that you had no snow when our Eastern seaboard is covered with it unseasonably. Interesting.
    Well…I am wondering if Nova can ever promise you that she won’t chase a hare if she seen’s one. Tempting. We saw one sitting by the side of the road as we entered my daughter’s property…of course since it just sat there and was very small..I had to get out and get up close. Forgot my camera AGAIN..so no photo. I didn’t chase it but when it scrambled into the bushes as all wise hare’s do..I had to scrunch around and see if I could find him. So cute and tiny. 🙂

    • Hi Mona!
      No snow in sight for at least a couple of weeks it seems🙂🙂 We haven’t had this warm since 1952 they said on the radio today🙂

      Yes hares are just so fun to chase even if they always get away🙂🙂 and there’s the problem of getting wet paws when they run out on the bog🙂🙂

      Our hares are rather big, the young ones are hard to find in the high grass. Even if I don’t like to come close to euther hares or bunnies I can understand whay You wanted to get closer to it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

