Some thing must be taken care of even if the panic is lurking in the background :-)

My legs still feel wobbly and I will most likely have a worried stomach for the rest of the day, but now I finally took care of the problem. The problem with those sliding tiles on the top of the roof. I realised that I must do something before the snow starts to fall or even if more rain would come, the roof will be destroyed otherwise. So IΒ΄ve been thinking of this since they slid down earlier and the panic has been just around the corner only thinking of it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

We had quite a lovely morning with fog and sunshine but as soon as we came home thick fog came and blocked the light from reaching Β my cottage. I started to prepare for the job with a hammer,Β nails and a safety line and as soon as the sun showed up again I grabbed the ladder and walked upon the roof. The cows in the pasture beside my cottage all started to shout loudly when they saw me up there and I could hear that they were betting on when I would fall down or at least slide down as far as the safety line allowed me.

 

 

Teodor thought it was a good idea to follow us, at least until we came to the big forest. Then he started to shout as if someone tried to stab him πŸ™‚ I told him that he could go back home but quiet since his shouting only would teel the fox where he was. He didn't quiet down but came home safely.

 

 

I’m pretty sure som of them shouted JUMP as well πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s funny but a safety line doesn’t make me feel safer at all πŸ™‚ So I pushed up some tiles so I had somewhere to put my feet and leaned over the roof to the other side. My worst fear was that I would drop those tiles that I was going to put in the right place but that was the least problem I had to be honest. Everything worked fine and I realised that I must do something about my roof in the coming years.

 

 

 

 

I even managed to put them back without any bigger problems. But I did have lots of problems getting those tiles I pushed up back in to place again! It took me five minutes to pull down the two farthest away but the closest one just didn’t want to get down to the right place at all! It was stuck as if it was glued in that position I had placed it in! I had been trying for over ten minutes when I realized what was wrong.

 

 

They haven't caught that calf yet and I don't understand why. It is very friendly and I was as close as 1 meter (the same in yards) and it just didn't care about me or the dogs.

 

 

It was the roof ladder that pressed down the tile next to it that made it impossible to get it down again. So I sort of had to lean in the opposite direction at the same time I had to reach the tile and pull it down. Not easy if You are calm and especially difficult when panic is the closest neighbor πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I finally made it and I could hear a sigh of dissatisfaction from all the cows in the pasture πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

But now its done and it will hold through the winter, but I really need to do something within the two or three years to come so it wouldn’t feel wrong if I won those lottery millions this winter πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Now I feel that I’ve done more than can be expected by a human being for one day, so from now on I won’t do a single useful thing πŸ™‚ Just walk with my dogs, relax and feeling happy I’m back on the ground again πŸ™‚

 

A rose to put on the grave where my courage is buried πŸ™‚

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Some thing must be taken care of even if the panic is lurking in the background :-)

  1. Hi Christer,

    Oh, dear. A grave for your courage? I don’t think so. Courage is doing what you have to do in spite of your fear. I would have paid someone to do that job for me. I don’t mind walking out on the porch roofs as they are only 15 feet off the ground but the main roof is way too high for my comfort. You deserve to take the rest of the day off.

    Fascinating spider web in that photo. I love the dewy leaves picture, too.

    We are due for a big winter storm tonight. More snow! I should go shopping for treats to assuage the pain of having to shovel snow in October. 😦
    Or I could just leave it there and let it melt. I don’t have to be anywhere until Tuesday. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the rest of your day and tell those cows next door to be quiet.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’m afraid that’s the fact πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It is only the thought of future costs if I don’t fix it that forces me up the roof πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I was thinking if that spider was on drugs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ IΒ΄ve seen a photograph of a spider web where they had given the poor spider some kind of narcotics and that web looked much like this πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I would definitely get some treats before the snow storm πŸ™‚ Thankfully I have very little to shovel when the snow falls but I did buy a new snow shovel the other day just in case.

      It seems those cows didn’t have anything more to say after I went down to the ground again πŸ™‚ They are totally quiet now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer, so glad you are safe after doing that roof patch cause roofing is something that it’s definitely worth paying someone else to do. Hopefully, the work you did will keep you all dry with the winter snow (sorry had to say that) and rain. This sounds like a difficult job to do alone and do hope you will get some help the next time a repair is needed. How about thos cows helping instead of voicing their dissatisfaction? Just reading about this job made my stomach unsettled πŸ™‚ I agree with Caryn that the spider webs are amazing and really liked the fog scenes too. Teodor should be careful about shouting loudly with a fox around.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      The cost would be too big if I hired someone to do it for me, so I just had to go up myself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This will hold for several years but the tiles has reached the age when they start to give up now, but they still look good though. But I do hope the snow will stay away πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      One would think cats would be more careful, especially since he was walking in a place he didn’t like πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But he managed to come home without any encounter with a fox or a lynx anyway.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I’m glad to hear that the cows did not get their wish and you are safe back on the ground. I can’t stand heights either, and I could never ever go up on my roof no matter how badly I needed to. I just know the panic would win for me before I even got halfway up the ladder because the roof is so high and steep. I have a hard time climbing up even high enough to clean the rain gutters without starting to feel sick from it. You definitely deserve to rest and not do anything hard for the rest of the day!

    • Hi littlegreengardengal!
      I’m quite happy about that too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      IΒ΄ve been in the Eiffel tower and that hight didn’t bother me at all, but getting up on the roof is just terrible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I always get the feeling the roof ladder will break and that I fall down with it hitting me on the ground πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      I made cookies and coffee because I thought I deserved that after being so great πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. SΓ₯ skΓΆnt att du fΓ₯tt fixat taket, det Γ€r sΓ₯dana dΓ€r saker som man gΓ€rna skjuter framfΓΆr sig:) Vi mΓ₯ste nog ocksΓ₯ byta tak pΓ₯ vΓ₯rt hus inom nΓ₯gra Γ₯r, det upptΓ€ckte GΓΆran nΓ€r vi installerade vΓ₯r nya braskamin i veckan:( Ha det gott/Monne

    • TjΓ€nare Monne!
      Ja den lΓ€kten har suttit fΓΆr lΓ₯gt lΓ€nge men nu var det dags att fixa till felet. Jag har haft ont i magen hela veckan pΓ₯ grund av det πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Man skall nog aldrig gΓ₯ upp pΓ₯ taket, man upptΓ€cker bara en massa fel πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Christer 1, Cows 0. Well good for you. I’m sure if you had fell, the cows would have laughed loudly and not dialed 911 or whatever your emergency hospital number is over there. But it was a job well done. I hate roofing so at my age order a roofer to check for soft spots every 5 years. Doing OK so far so good. Thanks for the humor and the too dark photos.

    • Hi Z&M!
      They would most certainly not have called 112 (our emergency number here in Europe) to get me some help. I had also fallen down on the side of the cottage where no one woulkd have noticed me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      So You had problems with the photographs? They look good in my computer strangely enough.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. WHAT!!!! No pictures of your brave repair????? Couldn’t the cows do something useful like snapping some pictures???? I guess 27 years in the Fire Service made me use to ladders. Grenville

    • Hi Grenville!
      Well I sort of didn’t want to risk my life and my camera πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ And now when I’m done nothing shows that I have done a heroic work up there πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I guess it would help working that long in the fire service πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Otherwise that would be 27 terrible years πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer! hahaha… i love the rose! you are braver than i!!! if a man falls and only cows witness it…..does anyone know that the man fell!!! we drove through areas today that will have almost 2 feet of snow tomorrow. they are saying it will be one of the most destructive storms in 100 years because it will be so heavy and there are still leaves on the trees! i am glad i missed it even though i love snow so much! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      πŸ™‚ That is a question widely asked here where we have lots of cows πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      So You managed to get home before the snow! It is never good when it comes that much snow and all the leafs still are on the trees, no good news for the trees that is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer…It is now 7:11pm and warm as toast outside. It’s been perfect weather..AND it is NOT supposed to be. This is FALL. I want color and rain and a feeling of coming snow in the air. *sigh* Actually I would like to stamp my foot but not a good idea. Calm husband would never understand that sort of behavior .:) He never loses his temper. Not even with me..and that’s really huge! :).
    Ok..now …height. I’m afraid a kitchen chair is too high for me. I think I told you that. I am so afraid of heights that when we visited the Grand Canyon, I could not look over the edge. I wanted to lay down..then crawl up an peek over. But I couldn’t even do that.
    NO roofs for me.
    I see jaz says snow. I have to stop by her blog and hope to see some. Blogs are the only snow I ever get. 😦
    What really is upsetting to me..is to watch those climbers that use no ropes…no safety lines at all, and climb free style miles straight up! Even from the safety of my snug chair…I can’t look. Awful. Have you ever seen them. There is one now who is the greatest in the world they say. I think he is only just out of his teens…not sure..but he is very young.
    Amazing.
    Never mind the cows! WHO cares! Yell at them that they are JUST COWS!! :):)
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      We still have some leafs on the trees here but most of them has fallen down now. It is also much warmer than usual wich I like a lot πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This time last year it was cold and we already had lots of snow.

      Real high hights doesn’t bother me at all. I think it is tha fact that I wopuld survive a fall from the roof and feel all that pain that scares me tyhe most πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Fall from the Eiffel tower or Garnd Canyon and the risk if feeling pain is minimal πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can’t remember being like this when I was in my twenties. I climbed on roofs and ladders without caring at all, I think that with age comes the knowledge of how dangerous things like that really can be πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The cows sure sounded dissapointed πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. All the photos are great but my fav is #7 – MAGICAL!
    and the one of one of your boys walking through the bush and
    the calf one. very cool.
    I think I know how you felt. I get wobbly in the legs if I go higher than 5 or 6 ft. and a couple of years ago the neighbor lady said that she was going to hire a guy to cut down one of my wild trees that had grown over the fence and could be damamging her roof…(her subtle way of warning me of a bill for it) So I got my “Sawz-All” out and climbed as I high as I was able and cut it down and then I cut all the other ones that could become a problem. A couple of times the blade got lodged into the tree and I had to “release” it from the saw and go buy another from the Hardware store. The woman there asked what I needed the blade for and when I told her, she said I needed a chain-saw. I told her that I didn’t OWN a chain-saw. So please get me that blade, thank you! Some people don’t realize that sometimes you have to make-do with what you have. So reading this has me nodding my head yep, been there. Of course the worrier in me wants to tell you to have some one that can use a phone standing on the ground watching over you…but of course that’s not really convenient most times is it?! I do all my work alone too and sometimes wonder if I would lay there all weekend and have to wait until Monday when I’m missed at work for my lifeless body to be discovered. πŸ˜€
    Do be careful! – Cindi πŸ™‚

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think my favorites are number two with the two deers in the fog and that photograph of Hector walking in the grass with lots of dew in it (number ten).

      Over here its the neighbor that wants the tree cut down that has to pay for it and if the tree would fall (or parts of it) it’s my home insurance that pays for the damages. But I would have done like You I think. It must have been hard work getting it down that way πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I actually bought an electric chain saw a year ago, they were on sale and I had the money that day πŸ™‚ But I’m not sure it would have been easier to be honest, those saws do weigh a lot πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and then there’s the danger of doing something stupid and start cutting in myself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I know thwy would have come to look for me on monday if I had fallen down, because I always call if I don’t come to work πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

