The day is so short now.

 

I still feel sour in my thighs after yesterday tour on the roof🙂🙂 I think those legs got more exersize from this than they have gotten in years🙂🙂 and I just heard from my neighbor that the cow still is on the loose. She was walking with their little drever Hampus when the cow got very curious and came towards them. She and Hampus turned the other way and walked home again🙂🙂

 

 

 

 

I think I might have broken the curse that always makes clouds come to cover the sun when work ends for the day. It was the opposite this time but I barley made it home and out to the bog before it started to sink below the horizon. Today the sun went up at 8:07 am and went down at 5:43 pm. I think I saw Mars this morning as well but it might have been Jupiter as well, I’m not sure wich one is wich🙂

 

It isn't a ladder leaning to that pine, it is a temporary hunting tower. One can sit rather comfortable on the top of that.

 

 

 

Otherwise nothing special has happened here. I work in the neighboring factory most every day now. That is a bit of a problem because we have lots to paint at my ordinary workplace as well🙂 It’s great that we have lots to do but it dpoes create some problems because I can’t be at two places at the same time🙂🙂 Well my aprentice is doing a great job while I’m away but we do need more people in my abscence and even if things goes great the unwillingness of hiering new people is a problem. We are all waiting for bad times since the economy in Europe is anything but good.

 

 

 

 

Teodor is sleeping close to the stove, Orvar in the living room, Bertil is outside and the two others are sleeping in my bed. I have a cup of tea by my side and now it’s time to make a couple of sandwiches🙂

 

 

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “The day is so short now.

  1. Hi Christer,
    It gets dark early here too, at about 5:45, and the sun rises around 7, which also makes for a short day. When I worked, I went to work in the dark and came home in the dark. Now at least I get to enjoy some of the day.

    Your woods are looking bleaker than they have been. I love the leaping deer picture.

    Fern and Gracie sleep with me while Maddie stays on the afghan downstairs or on the spread in the guest room. She has always been shy and Maggie used to chase her and now Gracie does. Lately she has become bolder and sleeps down with us all in the den at night when I read or watch TV.

    The mornings are really chilly now.

    Have a wonderful evening and lots of delicious tea.

    • Hi Kat!
      Your day is almost as short as ours, I thought the difference would be bigger already. It is dark when I go to work but its still light when I come home, but that won’t last for long.

      None of ,my animals is shy🙂🙂 but at least they don’t fight over the more popular places to sleep at🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Love your photos as usual, but I can´t take them in correc!
    I´m a bity “tipsy” after been celebrate with champagne that I had no cancer. My tests were completely OK, which I hadn´t expected – and on top of that I will have my “ower wheight” operation in spite I´m too old!!
    But I don´t feel so old, but my birth certificate says I´m 66! Can´t be ríght! At least tonight I´m only 33!!!

    • Hi Susie!
      Congratulations to no cancer and a yes surgery🙂🙂

      We aren’t older than we feel so I must be around 100 now🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Boy, you caught that buck in flight. Lovely photos. Why will the EU economy hurt Sweden? I always thought Brussels was the global economic world location. Everything goes through Brussels.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Our economy is almost totally based on export. We are only nine million people here so the internal market is way to small for most bigger companies to survive on. So if Europe falls so will we I’m afraid. But as long as Germany still has a good economy and China continues to buy things from us we will just barely make it I hope.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Our days are getting shorter..but so far a bit longer, so it seems, than yours.
    Great shot of the running deer! Loved it.
    Can you believe it rained just on our house. At least that was the way it seemed. The sun was shining and it was pouring rain. IN SHEETS it came down..
    I thought my husband had turned the hose on the roof at first and went out to see why. 🙂
    I knew what the ladder was for because I came from a family of hunters.

    Nice photo’s!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Soon we’ll have less than eight hours of daylight, I’m not happy about that. But it is quite the opposite during summer to be honest, then we barley have any dark hours at all🙂🙂

      It is funny sometimes how it can rain on one side of the house but not on the other🙂🙂🙂

      I had never seen that kind of portable hunting tower before🙂 But it wasn’t hard to guess what its purpoise is🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. amazing photos, I would have thought the deer would be more scarce, hiding from the hunters.Here we see deer all the time until hunting season opens then they are scarce.I think someone gives them a memo to keep under cover, the hunters are out!You have a very warm happy family life you do, sounds perfect, and they don’t atlk back, well in language you acn understand. ( of course I’m referring to the cats and dogs) I’m not certain if their are humans involved!Our sun is going down around 6 oclock, 6.30, sun up at 7.30, I thjink close to your times as well.Very cool here now,

    • Hi Laurie!
      The deers know what areas they can walk in without anything happening🙂 My neighbor doesn’t allow deer hunting on his property so they have learned through the years that this area is safe and they have learned that our dogs doesn’t care about them. We feed them during winter as well🙂🙂

      It is only me and my pets here in the cottage and I can’t complain🙂🙂
      It is cool here too now but thankfully the snow and winter keeps away yet🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer! your days are shorter than ours. our sunrise is about 7:30 and it sets at about 6:30. i love it. i could live in the dark all the time and be happy! it is supposed to snow in salem on thursday! i can’t wait. how cool to have snow before halloween. it is sort of spooky! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      You would love living this far north, at least during winter. Almost no dark hours during summers and lots of mosquitos and flies🙂🙂🙂 so that wouldn’t be anything You would like🙂🙂

      I do hope You’ll get some snow if You want to🙂 Just as long as it stays away fom this area🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, I felt cold just looking at these forest photos, but, oh my, the deer springing in mid-air was terrific. How fortunate you were to capture that action shot. It’s getting somewhat chilly here in NH on our road trip. We will be back to our home on the VA eastern shore next Monday on Halloween evening where the temperatures have been at least 5-10 degrees warmer. We have been having a wonderful time visiting this state, even if we don’t see any winter weather before leaving. We plan to return in the future. As for your work being so busy as you said with the economy being as it is in Europe and the U.S. being employed is very good.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It is that kind of weather that is to warm for a jacket in the sun but too cold in the shadows🙂🙂
      It isn’t that hard to get a photograph like that when it comes to deers, they run a couple of yards and then they always jumps high🙂

      I have followed Your NH trip even if I haven’t commented all the time and it looks like autumn almost has come as far there as it has here. I’d rather have You temperatures though🙂🙂

      I’m very happy about having a job🙂 even if it feels rather boring sometimes🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    We are still on Daylight Savings Time so the sun rises about 7 AM and sets about 5-ish. When we go back on standard time the sun will rise an hour earlier but it will set an hour earlier, too. When I retired I told myself that I would not get out of bed before the sun was up but I get a little restless waiting until 7 AM for it to poke above the horizon so I just get up.
    Great shot of the deer jump. I love the light on the pines in the shot with the deer stand.
    Rocky is sleeping next to me on the couch. He is untroubled by yesterday’s adventure with the boxer. Good thing dogs live in the moment. Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      We too but I think we’ll change the timne this coming weekend.I would rather have it like this because I have no use of light in the morning but I do in the afternoon. Now I’ll wake up even earlierin the weekend🙂🙂🙂

      I’m glad Rocky doesn’t care about yesterday any longer🙂 My cats just went outside and now the rain is pouring down🙂 I guess they came to far away because no one of them wants to go indoors again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Cool deer photo!
    Sounds like YOU are in much demand at work, which I would think is good. Right?
    The rose photo makes me think of mine. They all look so lovely now but will probably be gone by next week😦
    oh well, at least they will return next Spring!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It is always a good thing that we have lots of work to do🙂
      I think that rose will get a chance to open up if we don’t get any frost this week. It looks beautiful as a bud so I hope it will as open too🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

