I’m already thinking of spring.

Autumn has come but in my mind I´m already at late winter early spring. The first seed order is sent to Gardens North, a frantastic seed firm for us that lives in a bit harsher climate (no I don’t get payed to mention this firm every time I write about seeds, I just think that that firm is so good that I want more people to know about it). I can’t remember exactly what I ordered but they are already on the way here so You’ll know soon enough.

I also got those roses I ordered some time ago and now I’ve put them in a bucket with almost muddu soil until I’ll plant them tomorrow. Roses tend to have different names depending on where they are sold but if You click on the names a new window will open up and show photographs on Google. Blanc Double de Coubert  , Stanwell Perpetual and Persian Yellow.  They can all be used as climbers or as bushes and are really hardy wich is needed here.

I will plant them where I planted those bulbs I ordered and where my Cinnamon rose and the one I don’t have a name on already stands. It is a bit funny that I order roses since I normally don’t like them that much🙂🙂 But these are supposed to be rather pest free as well.

It is getting colder here now and today they got 10 cm (4 inches) of wet snow in the most northern parts of this country. I read that the snow created chaos up there and that’s a bit odd. If any one knows how to handle snow its those living up north and I think it is styrange they got surprised by getting snow now, normally it comes earlier if I remeber correctly.  We won’t get any snow yet but we’ll most likely get frost more often from perhaps tonight or on Sunday night. Well I can´t stop it so I better enjoy it whether I like it or not🙂🙂🙂

So there’s a fire in the stove warming up my little cottage and a pot of tea is ready to warm up my body and I think I’ll have a couple of sandwiches too :-)   By the way, now even more blogs refuses to let me comment on them. I know lots of people have this problem but I just want You to know that I do try!                                                                                  Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “I’m already thinking of spring.

  1. The Persian Yellow rose is especially pretty. Just think how lovely they will all look blooming next summer!
    Fall has begun here, although we will not have any frost for awhile yet – maybe even a month more- but it is cool and rainy all the time now in Oregon. I like fall a lot, but I too am now already thinking about spring because my baseball team lost in the playoffs last night so now I will look forward to spring when I can see them play again. That feels like a long ways a way. I have several plants that need planted also before the frosts come, a couple of winter heaths and some berry bushes so I better do that soon. I just wanted to say that I can really relate to your post title today.🙂

    • Hi littlegreengardengal!
      The Persian Yellow is one of the few roses I have wanted for a long time.

      I learned to love baseball in highschool, unfortunately for me it isn’t especially popular (almost non existing) over here so I never get the chance to see it.
      Otherwise I think I have planted all plants that needs to get down in the ground this year🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. När jag inte kunde kommentera, så laddade jag ner Google Chrome och då funkade allt perfekt. Men du kanske inte kan använda det!
    Den där rosen Stanwell Perpetual blommar den hela säsongen eller bara en kort period!?

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag har kollat runt på nätet och det verkar som vissa har problem även med Google Chrome. Samtidigt tycker jag inte om att bli så beroende av Google i allt jag gör på nätet🙂

      Vad jag förstår så blommar den rosen en längre period och inte bara en gång. Skall kolla upp det ordentligt!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      No one lives in it, he uses it during his vacation and short trips during weekends, very popular over here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. A lot of problems for me on blogger today….long times for loading pages, stop and go typing, and the old error code popping up. SIGH!!! You better get your mind off spring, Christer, that’s a long way off! It is supposed to be a beautiful weekend here, with temps in high 70s (F). Have a super weekend. It is a 3-day weekend for us, though my husband does have to work on Monday. Oh well. Love to the family!

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes lots of problems on blogger and it has been for quite some time now.

      It is the thought of a coming spring that makes sure I don’t go insane during winter🙂🙂🙂 So I’ll just keep mon thinking of spring ordering seeds🙂🙂🙂
      Today will be reasonably fine but the rain will come back tomorrow again!

      Have a great weekend!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! well, summer is back here! it is going to be back in the 80’s for a week now! ugh! i am so sick of summer! i need to plant some roses and some evergreens to replace the ones ruined by the heavy snows. there is just too much work here to keep up with! joyce

    • HI Joyce!
      I just took a look at the weather down in Europe and they too have it rather warm but I guess our cold winds will come down to them in a not to far future.

      I can imagine how much work it is having such a big property like You have, it feels much enough with this small one I have🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Kat!
      Soon all photographs will look a bit blueish again but autumn sun always make things look warmer with its slightly orange color🙂 It isn’t 5 am yet and now thne temperatuires is close to frost.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Phew! I thought it was me. I had a HORRIBLE time trying to post comments over the weekend — and, I really needed to visit my fellow chocolate chip cookie challengers! It was a nightmare! I see where you had problems on my blog, too. 8-( We have finally had a few days of cooler weather and I’ve taken advantage by reorganizing my craft shop — windows and door wide open! Unfortunately, it will get hot, again, in a few days. Haven’t thought about seeds for next year, yet.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      It seems I’ve missed a lot of comments from You! I could see them when I looked in my mobile phone but have had a hard time finding them here🙂🙂

      Today (Sunday 16) it seems I can start comenting in many blogs again. Rain is on its way again. I can’t understand why we must get all of it when there are places it never rains🙂🙂

      These seeds needs a chilly period to be able to germinate but I guess that seldom is the case for things growing so south as where You live🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

