Yet another warm and sunny day.

 

I think this is a Thistle Butterfly. It can´t survive a normal winter here so they migrate to us from southern countries.

It is strangely warm here for this time of year. I can´t remember that I’ve ever worn shorts in the beginning of October🙂 I don’t mind it at all to be honest even though I do get a lot of mosquito bites on any piece of skin that is visible to them🙂🙂

The ground cloth and wood chips has worked fine around my little pond this year. Only a couple of grass straws have managed to get through during the whole summer. I will continue to put more wood chips over the ground cloth as long as I have branches to make wood chips off. Next year I can start planting as well because by them my guess is that most roots from the weeds have died beneath it all. I’ll have different grasses, ferns and bushes planted around it.

We still have some butterflies flying around here as well as dragon flies. The bumblebee home beneath my wall is still going on as winter wasn´t even close and I even saw a couple of wasps here outside my kitchen door. But they must struggle now because there’s almost no flowers left flowering, only some autumn asters and sunflowers. But the Larkspur’s have new buds that probably will open up in a couple of days🙂

We had fog again this morning but since it was less thick than yesterday we walked to the part of the village I seldom is. But I do like to walk around on the bog in fog, when it is so think that one only can see a couple of meters (a couple of yards). Listening to the sounds and guessing to whom that sound belongs. If I can’t figure out who it is I usually say that it is a troll making them🙂🙂

It´s time to finish my cup of tea and to take a walk with my dogs again. This is the last day before the moose hunt that we’ll be walking in the forest. I normally stay away a week so that we don´t scare away any eventual moose we have here, they normally walk away anyway but at least I know it isn´t our fault🙂 :-)                                                                   Have a great day!

17 thoughts on “Yet another warm and sunny day.

  1. Härliga bilder som vanligt! Här är varmt för årstiden det håller jag med om, här är gott om både humlor och sländor här med, trollsländan tycker jag är otroligt vacker ser nästan ut som en yttepytteliten helikopter:) Älgjakten ja- där sa du något kanske att jag skulle ta en svampvända i eftermiddag innan det blir förenat med livsfara att vistas i skogen:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Visst är de vackra trollsländorna! Önskar bara att fler höll till här vid dammen, det var ju trots allt för deras och grodornas/paddornas skulle jag gjorde den🙂🙂

      De har en väldigt liten licens här så själva älgjakten är över efter två eller tre dagar. Men sedan frinns det ju allktid de som vill fortsätyta att jaga rådjur. Men eftersom ingen av dem är morgonpigga så hinner jasg gott och väl med morgonpromenaden i skogen inna de kommer igång🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Precis som Monne så trodde jag att du inte gick ut i skogen för att det var förenatmed livsfara, både för dig och dina kompisar! Jägarna verkar ju skjuta på ALLT som rör sig, vare sig det är lila, rött eller orangeklätt och några svarta hundar och en randig katt skulle dom ju garanterat ta för en hjord med älgar!😦
    Nu går det återigen väldigt bra att logga in på din blogg direkt från mailen. Vad hände!?

    • Tjänare Susie!
      De har en sorts liten licens här så de jagar bara i några dagar, men sedan finns det ju alltid de som fortsätter med rådjursjakt. Men ingen av dem är morgonpigga så jag hinner med promenaden i skogen innan de kommit upp🙂🙂

      Jag har då inget gjort, så det måste vara något problem med Google kanske?

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Such bright vibrant colors!
    The last Hoorah before the Frost?
    My flowers also look great but I know they will come to an end very shortly.😦
    I hope you enjoy the warm day!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Well we have already had frost here🙂 But I guess it is the last Hoorah before winter🙂🙂

      The day is just perfect and impossible not to enjoy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I have enjoyed the day🙂
      For some reason all moose that comes here disapeare the day before the hunt🙂 Even if they actually are safer here since they only are allowed to shoot one moose. The neighboring areas are much bigger and they are therefore allowed to shoot many more.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Laurie!
      I do try to make a comment on Your blog but it just don’t work! It just goes out into cyber space and is never seen again!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, no planting for us yesterday, steady rain and never higher that 45 degrees F. Today looks like more of the same. So you have nice weather, and we are chilly. Beautiful butterfly photos. And I too, wish luck to the moose! Love to the family!

    • Hi Robin!
      It is odd but we often have quite the opposite weather here🙂🙂 The day was rather nice with sunshine and a weak breeze. Now it drizzles some but it is still rather warm.

      I think that any moose that is here the day before the hunt starts will be gone and come back when its all over🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I love how everything was covered in small water droplets. Strange how everything can look so much moire beautiful with a bit of water on it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. You cannot imagine how much I enjoy the pictures you take! Just beautiful! You can almost feel Autumn in the air. Beautiful.
    Just while longer and winter snows will be upon you. I am looking forward to the planting of your pond in Spring!🙂
    Smile!!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I almost missed this comment from You🙂
      I do hope that we won’t get snow for yet a month, but they say we might get some already within ten days!!

      I´m looking forward to åplant around the pond as well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Beautiful early fall photos….how about a photo of your pond…even if it isn’t finished. I have a little whiskey barrel pond that I love…tons of plants in it…water snails, goldfish…birds and frogs come to visit it, as well as the occasional, little, garden snake!🙂

    • Hi Chris!
      You can see the pond area in yesterdays post “Fast forward or stop, rewind and start again”. There are some photographs in earlier posts that shows the water lily in bllom as well. But I´ll take some new photographs this weekend if I remember it.

      I do like those whiskey barrel ponds but whiskey barrels are hard to find here and those on can find costs way to much🙂🙂🙂
      I´m not sure if I have water snails in my pond but I think there might be. Rainy summers some of them come up on löand and walk around in the wet grass. I have a natural pond just behind my garage You see🙂 Frogs, toads, birds and insects comes to visit but so far no snake🙂 I have five goldfish and two gobi in my pond🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

