Fog embraces us.

There’s a fire in the stove this morning, not because it is especially cold, on the contrary. But everything feels damp because of the fog outside. It sort of travels through the walls and in to the cottage. But as You all know by now I love fog, as long as it comes on a weekend. On week days I don´t like it at all because I can´t see where I’m driving🙂🙂

The weather was perfect for a long walk but we’re having more mosquitos now than we’ve had all summer and they are quite annoying. If it hadn’t been for them we would have taken the tour in the village as well. I can see hundreds of them just by looking out the kitchen window.

The sun is slowly breaking through the fog and when it does I’ll get out and plantb those bulbs that has arrived. After that I’ll pick lots of my crab apples so I can bake an apple pie just in time for Eureka on tv. Once again I´ve been lazy and bought custard🙂 It is so easy to make really but this one is so good that it sort of feels as a lot of work to do it oneself🙂

I can’t remember swallows staying this long as they have this year. They still fly around the cottage even if it is the first of October! Normally they fly away already in late August or early September. But I guess they still have plenty of food here because of the mosqitos and other insects. I saw plenty of dragon flies yesterday and one katydid as well. In the evenings I can hear them sitting high up in the trees playing their songs🙂

The sun has almost briken through the fog and I guess that means it is time to be bitten by those insects once again🙂 But first I’ll make myself a cup of tea and perhaps I’ll take a short nap :-)                                                                                                                                      Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “Fog embraces us.

  1. hi christer! i would hate all of those mosquitos! i am surprised you still have some around. we are very cold here and they say we might even have some snow in the higher elevations today. i am enjoying it while it lasts. i did have to cover my basil though so it doesn’t die. hope your pie was good! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I’m not especially happy about these mosquitos🙂🙂 But the frost we had was just to weak so they all survived. This weather is perfect for them as well, warm and rainy/humid.

      I don´t think they have had especially much snow in the high mountains here yet, this is indeed a warm and hopefully long autumn.

      I think the pie will be good, I have some pears to put in as well🙂 But to be honest, it is the custard I want🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Det verkar som om det varit dimmigt i hela västsverige i dag, ja här är fortfarande inte klart utan disigt och fuktigt. Kanske det är därför du har så mycket mygg eftersom det är fuktigt och varmt. Lycka till med pajen, ät inte så du mår illa:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jo de sade det redan på nyheterna igår att i stort sett hela södra sverige skulle få en dimmig morgon. Här är lite disigt men solen värmer på rejält nu.

      Du kan ju tänka dig hur lyckliga myggen är för detta vädret och när dessutom alla djuphål i mossen är fyllda med vatten kan det ju inte bli bättre🙂🙂

      Tror inte pajformen är stor nog för att jag skall må illa efter🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. the fog makes the photos so mystical,, I love the fog, we have a lot of fog now every morning off the water.Sounds like a relaxing day for you,, enjoy that pie,, sounds very good.

    • Hi Laurie!
      As long as I don’t have to drive in fog I love it too, especially when it is so thick that it shows up in the forest too. Nothing better than to walk by the bog foggy mornings🙂 So I´m hoping for fog tomorrow morning again🙂

      Well it hasn’t been as relaxing as I thought, I mowed the lawn and then I planted those bulbs. But I have had worse days🙂🙂

      I like Your bunny paintings even if I don´t like bunnies🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, the fog just looks so wonderflly autumn like, dare not say wintery (yet). And this seems a good day to bake an apple pie and should we bring vanilla ice cream or just some whipped cream. Oh wait, there will probably not be any left by the time we arrive – what a shame. Enjoy the treat and your weekend too. And in reference to your post yesterday about giving up because of problems, always seems to be the best thing to do cause then it only gets more frustrating and so do you.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Not winter yet please🙂🙂 But we have summer temperatures here today again🙂 Unfortunately the mosquitos favorite weather as well🙂🙂🙂

      You know I´ll make a new pie when You arrive, so bring ice cream I’m not a big fan og whipped cream🙂

      Yes its better to give up and hope for the best🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Om du undrar vart jag tagit vägen, så kan jag inte längre komma in direkt från det e-mail som ska visa att du har skrivit nått nytt. Istället måste jag kopiera din adress och sen gå in på Google Chrome för att hamna hos dig. Fråga mig inte varför, men det är verkligen irriterande!
    Dessutom kunde jag, innan jag laddade ner Google Chrome, inte heller kommentera hos någon – ansluten eller inte!!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jag tänkte att ni nog höll på extra mycket med Santos🙂 Men det krånglar mycket på internet nu tycker jag, kanske är det för mycket trafik på en gång numera?

      Jag hade ju Safari förut men det började krångla något vansinnigt efter den sista uppdateringen, så nu har jag gått tillbaka till explorer igen.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. A foggy morning, a cup of tea, dogs and cats by your side. Perfect!! Good luck fighting the mosquitos as you plant. I am yearning for that custard myself now! We just finished up the Eureka season. Did you see they are cancelling Eureka after the next season?

    • Hi Robin!
      No better way to start the day🙂
      I didn´t stand a chance against those mosquitos🙂🙂 Now I have lots of new bites on my back and head🙂🙂 But I’ve been bitten so many times now that it almost doesn’t itch any longer🙂

      So its only one season left after this one! To bad I really like that series, its actually the only one I really like these days. I better order all seasons on DVD so I can see them when ever I like to🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. With all that fog, I think it would be a good day to stay inside and watch scary movies.
    Not slasher ones really but more like Alfred Hitchcock….well, I guess that “Psycho” was a bit of a slasher but “The Birds” or “Vertigo”? I watched “Mr. Brooks” with Kevin Costner and it was actually pretty good. He, like Tom Cruise acts much better when they aren’t TRYING to be “cool” and it was kinda humerous in parts…in a very not funny way but…I liked it. Of course it didn’t make it big at the theatre but then I don’t usually like what the critics like.🙂
    Enjoy your fog.😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I’ve seen Mr Brooks and it’s really good! and You’re right they are much better actors when they don’t play cool🙂

      But the fog is gone since long and they day has been very warm and nice. To bad though that the mosquitos didn’t die those nights we had frost🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I love the fog. It reminds me of Sherlock Holmes movies and books. I think I read everything as a teen as Sherlock was one of my heroes. I like the orange colors and dark trees as contrast. These are mysterious photos today Christer. Good ones!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Fog isd great as long as I don’t have to drive in it🙂🙂
      I didn´t read that many Sherlock Holmes but I did read The Hound of Baskervilles and as I remember it there was a lot of fog in that book🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer,
    I too love fog and see a lot of it here by the ocean. Often it hovers just over the water while other times you can’t even see the wayter. It is damp enough to reach right into the bones, and I think a fire is a perfect idea!

    • Hi Kat!
      I do missthe fog by the ocean! To be able to hear ships and not see them and to hear the fof horn every ten seconds🙂
      I have a fire in the stove this morning as well, just to keep that dampness out of the cottage.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. I seem to have the worst time getting around to visit all the blogs I love…but this one is often the first one I head for. Something very restful and calm about the countryside, the dogs Bertil and Teodor (did I spell that correctly?) Just a nice get away from decorating…etc.
    Now …Fog. Well…to me it’s sort of nice because I feel cozy and warm inside..but…there is a sort of spooky quality about it and I do not like not being able to see what is around me. Not my favorite thing. Rain..yes! I do LOVE rain, always have! Have a wonderful Sunday, Christer…but of course you already are. Right?

    • Hi Mona!
      I think it is a sign of health not being by the computer all day🙂🙂

      It is peaceful here and it seems You all can feel that when looking at my photographs🙂

      I love to walk around in the fog listening to all sounds gessing to whom they belong. If I can´t put a sound to any special creature I usually say that it belongs to a troll🙂🙂🙂
      I don´t mind rain as long as we don´t get it every day, mostly because my dogs gets so muddy🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

