I guess she was tired.

 

The best place to capture a storm is really byb the ocean not in the forest by a bog, but here at least You can see the top of the birch bend some🙂🙂

It is calm in the little village at the outskirts of the world even though Katia did arrive last night. I think I woke up around 11:30 pm by lightning. Two flashes made the whole room brighter than the sun🙂🙂 But I could never hear any sound except for the one the wind made. I didn´t notice much of the wind when I woke up though since the forest took most of it.

I did however notice it a lot when I drove to work and even more on my way home🙂 The wind gusts tried to toss my car out into the nature and that is actually what it did with another car closer to the ocean. But nothing happened to the driver thankfully.  They have dug down most of the electric cables now days so it seems only a couple of hundred households lost their power. All in all Katia seemed to be a bit tired when she arrived here🙂

The old road is almost impossible to see now.

I´m sitting in my kitchen listening to the wind roaring in the trees and enjoys a cup of coffee. There´s a fire in the stove to keep us all warm and ´m thinking of making a one portion apple cobbler. I made one the other day and it was perfect both in taste and size. I have a small copper sauce pan that is just big enough for one portion of cobbler🙂

Bogs are treacherous places. Just in front of us is a deep hole filled with water and mud, but it's impossible to see it. Grass, moss and lingonberry bushes covers the surface. The reason I know there is a deep hole there is because Hector sort of plunged in to it one time🙂🙂🙂

 

I put some dough in the bottom and over that I lay two round slices of apple, sprinkled some cardamom over and then added a layer with dough again. I continued like that until I reached the top of the sauce pan. Every second layer however I sprinkled cinnamon instead. I had no suger at all in the dough but I did sprinkle some vanilla sugar on the top of it all🙂 I didn´t have any icecream or custard but this worked great with a cup of coffee as well :-)                                                                                                                                           Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “I guess she was tired.

    • Hi Joyce!
      The wind turned for a while and hit the cottage with full force so the whole place trembled🙂 But now it has turned again and my dogs just came in after being outside for a while.

      They all know there´s no use in hoping for something directly from me when I eat🙂

      It is amazing how long it has been warm over at Yours this year!

      Have a great day!

  1. Vi sov lite oroligt i natt vi också, vaknade till titt som tätt av att vinden tog i så våldsamt. Det åskade dock inte. I dag har vinden friskat i igen eller i alla fall nu i kväll fast berget bakom oss tar udden av det mesta. Hoppas att det inte blir värre än nu för då klarar vi oss nog från skador. Din cobbler lät god:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Vinden vred sig lite mot sydväåst och träffade sidan på stugan min med full kraft så allt bara skakade🙂 Men nu har den vritt sig rätt igen tack och lov. Men nu skall det väl börja lugna ned sig igen tror jag. Blir det värre kommer inte jag att åka tiull jobbet imorgon i alla fall.

      Den smulpajen var riktigt god igen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Once again it came out delicious🙂

      I think she will calm down rather much until tomorrow but one never knows with storms.
      They all seems to love this weather and came just inside after being out in the storm for quite some time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Very good news about the storm. Since it wasn’t a “killer” storm, it must have been fantastic to listen to, and to watch the trees play with the wind. My dog Gwennie will not step outside if it is raining or blowing. She is also terrified of thunder. Lexie doesnt seem to mind anything really, she will run right out. I am guessing the cottage was filled with the delicious aromas of apple and cinnamon cooking!

    • Hi Robin!
      It seems she was worse by the ocean though. I do love to listen to that roaring sound as long as I know my home is out of harms way🙂

      Nova isn’t to happy about storm and darkness combined but she goes out with the others if I tell her to. None of mine cares much about the thunder but Hector has started to dislike ths flash, the sound doesn´t bother him at all.

      The smell of that cobbler was almost better than the taste of it🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi, Christer
    Good thing Katia was mostly blown out by the time she got to you.

    I hope you do have a black walnut with nuts on it someday. You’re a bit far north for it but if you have a micro climate on the property where it would be sheltered from the worst of the winter wind and cold, you might get there.

    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I’ve heard she was worse byb the ocean than here as storms usually are. But I haven´t heard of any bigger problems in her trace.

      The black walnut is said to work great in my kind of climate if it spends its first two or three winters in a cool space indoors so I have high hopes🙂 Unfortunately there´s no calm and sheltered place in my garden🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, glad to read that Katia was a short-time visitor with no damages to your home. Looks like the forest did OK as well. The apple turnover sounds really good and funny but I was thinking about making one as well. But, our oven is not working and we need to get a new stove, so perhaps I will just cook the apples on top of the stove since the burners still work.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Storms like Katia is welcome here🙂 She wasn´t much of a storm to be honest but she did after all toss around one car closer to the ocean🙂 The driver wasn´t hurt though. I think one dying tree fell but that´s all.

      Cooking apples on the stove with some sugar and cinnamon makes a great dessert🙂 With some ice cream its delicious🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer! I’m so glad the storm tired out some! I always enjoy your pictures of the mossy, mushroomy forest. The hidden bogs make it seem all the more enchanting, though. I had just set to planning the mushroom and barley soup from Octoberfarm, but after hearing about your cobbler, i think a mushroom pot pie might be in order. Do you forage wild mushrooms?

    Peace,
    Chris

    • Hi Chris, nice to see You here again🙂
      The bog is a fantastic place if one is careful🙂 I just love it out there but only walk around on those plkaces I know is safe.

      I´ve been lazy with mushroom picking lately but normally I do pick a lot and save for winter. A mushroom pot pie is never wrong🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hejsan Christer!
    Nu är det evigheter sedan jag var här sist. Har haft häcken full sedan i början av april. Många besökare, vilket jag är inte van vid och då har jag känt att det måste se snyggt ut hela tiden liksom;)))! Antagligen typiskt för en 40-talistisk tant med sträng uppfostran i bagaget;))))!
    Katja var då inte jättetrött precis när hon härjade här igår!
    Så fina naturbilder du tar Christer! Hade jag det inte lika fint som du skulle jag bli grön av…;)!/Anja

    • Tjänare Anja!
      Så roligt att du haft många besökare! Från det jag sett på dina bilder är den väl värd ett besök! Själv är jag för lat för att ha det så fint🙂🙂🙂

      Förstod att hon var lite värre hos er. Vissa vindbyar ruskade ju om rejält här men annars höll hon sig hyfsat lugn, skogen dämpar rejält och så bor jag ju i en svacka så vindarna oftast far över stugan🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Här var stormen inte så vansinnigt häftig, men det är klart att det blåste lite. Den enda som var lite orolig var Santos som tyckte att det var lite läbbigt på kvällen när vi var ute i mörkret. Träden runt om gungade och såg tydligen “otäcka” ut. Han har ju inte hunnit varit runt ordentligt ännu och lärt sig naturen här.
    Eftersom vi bor mitt i en liten skog lider vi bara när det är sydlig vind – vilket det alltså var den här gången. Så det ser hemskt ut på tomten med alla nedblåsta kvistar från björkarna samt alla barr (och kottar), både från lärkarna och tallarna runt om.
    Men nu har vi fått ytterligare 2 björkar och en jättestor gran nertagen på yttertomten och i morgon kommer vår “hustomte” med en skylift och ska ta ner den sista stora björken på innertomten. Det blir ett litet drama för det går inte att fälla trädet, det finns grejor som tar emot runt om; stängsel, pallkragar och hus!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Kan tänka mig att Santos tyckte det var lite kymigt med tanke på att han är helt ny hos er.

      Här är det nordostlig vind som jag drabbas av, hela huset känns svinkallt när det blåser från det hållet.

      Så då blir det riktigt spännande hos er i morgon då🙂

      Ha det gott och lycka till med trädfällningen🙂
      Christer.

  8. Thank Goodness you are all OK!🙂
    I do like it when it storms as long as I know that my loved ones aren’t out in it and are safe.
    But I hate when the power goes out. I just about lose it! I HAVE to have my computer and my washing machine!😀😀😀
    Apple custard sounds yummy!
    Glad you are all safe, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´ve heard she was worse in other places than she was here. But as storm considered she was weak🙂

      I don´t mind loosing power as long as I can keep my little cottage warm and make some tea on the stove🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

