Katia is coming for a visit.

The hurricane Katia is on her way towards Sweden and my littke village. The wind blows stronger already and tomorrow she´ll start her way over the southern part of the country. But until then we won´t have any stronger winds than gale force.

On Wednesday however we will have storm here. Thankfully she´ll come from the west so I hope the forest will take most of the wind like it has these last storms we´ve had. It does help that I also live in a sort of a pit compared to the rest of the surroundings but one never knows with winds how they´ll act.

We normally don´t lose power here during times like this but I have my firé heated stove if it happens and my cool cellar if I have to cook all food I have in the freezer. But I do need to get water in to canisters and buckets because we won´t have any water if the electricity is gone.

The two latest really big storms (that only was seen as a one on the scale You use in the amerivan continent) came during winter (they were called Gudrun and Per by the way) created chaos here. Hundred of thousands were out of power for up to two months, more forest fell than the cut down during one year and lots of homes got destroyed because they had no other heat sorce than electric radiators.

My mother and her neighbors couldn´t get out of their village for over two weeks because of all fallen trees. The telephones didn´t work nor did their mobile phones so none of us knew if they actually lived. This storm however will be nothing like that even if some people most probably will get out to look at what the winds do and some of them will most probably get hit by falling trees, that always happens.

So after this I´ll get out to see if I have to secure anything and I will remove my little green house I made this summer otherwise it will work as a huge kite🙂🙂 :-)                          Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Katia is coming for a visit.

  1. I am so hoping for you that Katia will calm way down before she gets there. Thankfully you are a wise and common sense person who knows to prepare. So many people don’t do the right things and like you say, go sight seeing during the worst part. Teodor looks very serene and thoughtful from the his perch on the branch you placed. I love all the mushroom villages you have photographed. You must have a large fairy population in your forest!! Take care, and keep safe.

    • Hi Robin!
      She will actually get worse when she hits and I can say that we already have gale winds here. I have secured most things now and the green house is now standing in the garage. For once I´ve secured the garage doors from the inside as well. I won´t go to work if the winds get stronger than this that´s for sure🙂 For some reason I don´t think it would be wise to drive through a forest when the storm hits🙂🙂🙂

      I do love those mushroom villages too! We have lots of something out there but I can´t say if it is fairies, but it is something I can´t explain.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I certainly hope the storm is a mild one,, how frightening to not have contact with your loved ones, preparing for such things makes for an anxious time.Your photos are so beautiful today, I’m very fond of moss and lichens, I just find the many different kinds are so beautiful, as well as mushrooms and fungus,, your photos share so much of the subjects I love, so clear and crisp.Be careful in the storm

    • Hi Laurie!
      They did manage to get a message to us after a couple of days. I have friends not far away from where she lives and they wanted to go and search for them, but even after the storm it was dangerous in that area so I didn´t want them to go there and risk their lives.

      I´m fascinated by moss, lichens and mushrooms and can never see to many of them. The varieties are so many and different🙂
      I won´t risk my life in a storm and if the winds are to strong I´ll stay here at home!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Jag hoppas att det inte blir så allvarligt med stormen men för säkerhets skull har vi satt i hop alla fuchsiakrukorna in mot husväggen där de i alla fall står lite mer skyddad och de får stöttning av varandra;) Idag har vi haft kalas för min moster som fyllde 80 år och inte ville vara hemma:) Det var bara vi “närmast sörjande”;)))) som grattade henne det var riktigt trevligt. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Även jag har ställt vissa krukor i lä nu, sedan får vi se hur det verkar imorgon. De olika prognoserna visar allt från bris till storm i detta området🙂🙂

      Bra när man kan ordna födelsedagar på det sättet🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. The strong winds will move everything that’s not nailed down. Tree limbs can act like spears and fly at tremendous speeds through windows and doors. You really need to button down the hatch if winds are moving more than 55 mph. My neighbor had his enclosed pool screen lifted in a bad storm and the wind was gaged at 85 mph. I agree with taking down the green house.

    • Hi Z&M!
      All things like spades and sticks that might lift in the wind is now placed in my garage as well as the greenhouse I made this summer. The rest will be placed there tomorrow after work. The predictions are very different depending in wich weather forecast site I look at🙂 But the worst scenario is around 55 mph and the best rather weak winds. My guess is that we will get something in between. But I´m rather safe than sorry🙂
      I picked in those few tomatoes that were almost ripe, the rest will most probablt blow away with the wind🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! well, The Cat does not look like he is worried about katia yet! i sure hope you will get through this without too much trouble. i will keep my fingers crossed and do the thing with my thumb if i can remember what it is that you do with thumbs! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It takes much to worry Teodor🙂 Perhaps a Nova in the mood for some tough playing can make him look worried but then he knows he just has to use the claws fpor a second or two and she calms down again🙂🙂

      The trees takes most of the wind as it is now so it´s quite nice outdoors even if it rains every now and again. We are holding our thumbs🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Batten down the hatches! Sounds like you are well prepared but I will worry about you and your furry family!
    I’m thinking only positive thoughts and holding my breath.
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      She´s here but the forest takes most of the wind. It seems she will get worse after leaving this area though. Everything is just fine here so You can start breathing🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Irene came for a visit, but Katia did not for us. And hopefully Katia will be a short-time visitor with no unpleasant memories left behind for you. We also took everything in or ties it down. Our greenhouse is too large to be moved, so Grenville strapped it down and it stayed in place. We have left the tables still covered in case of another storm, which seems unlikely now, but as you said being safe is always good. Hope the forest is OK too. The muchrooms are lovely today, Christer.

    • Hi Beatrice! Already tomorrow the winds will calm down considerable and as it is now the forest takes most of the wind🙂 But I feel I did the right thing by removing my little greenhouse, that would most probably have been far away by now🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!
      More or less anyway🙂 It isn´t that bad here since the forest takes most of the wind, so I can actually stand in my garden not feeling much of dear Katia🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi littlegreengardengal!

      It seem we won´t loose power but I do have some books I haven´t started on yet. Lots of candles and a fire in the stove to keep us warm if things would change🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    Hope Katia is kind to your area and nothing much gets damaged.
    We had Irene. She did some damage and caused a lot of flooding in some places around me. I just had one huge tree limb come down off one of the black walnuts. When the trees get loaded with nuts sometimes the weak branches will break more easily in the heavy winds.
    Love the mushroom colonies.
    Stay safe and dry.

    • Hi Caryn!
      She could have been worse that´s for sure. She did try to flip my car out into nature on my way home but here everything is calm🙂 I have no idea where Irene went though, I guess she was south of us when she arrived. I wish I one day can say that I have a black walnut that lost a branch in the wind🙂🙂 I have a small one in a pot and I think I can plant it in my garden not next summer but the one after that🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

