The sixth of September eight years ago.

Well it actually started on the fourth of September. Old Erna, that wasn´t that old back then but still to old to get her first puppies to be honest. She hated most dogs back then, all actually except for one of her brothers and that gave the result of my two boys Orvar and Hector🙂🙂🙂 Naturally I hadn´t planned for her to have puppies and especially not with her brother but some things is just out of control. I can still remember the day Erna was born (a day and night of horror🙂🙂🙂 )and really didn´t want to go through with something like that again🙂🙂🙂

We started to get ready for a walk when the sun slowly rose on the sky.

And off we went as soon as it got a bit lighter. But then the clouds covered the sun and things got much darker again🙂 So I have made most photographs much brighter so the quality can be a bit bad because of that.

I remember that the contractions started on thursday morning and I remember taking the day off from work, I worked late shift that week so I didn´t work on Fridays. I knew this could take some time and sha was a bit early so I didn´t worry that much to be honest. I had put some white sheets in her bed so I could see if the water had broken, it gets green when it dries up You see. The contractions came and went but she didn´t seem to worry too much about them. This continued all night and I was up all the time just to be sure to be able to help if she wanted and needed it. This continued all Friday and she started to look a bit tired (who wouldn´t be🙂🙂 ) but I checked the white sheets and couldn´t see anything green at all.

We walked the same road as last weekend but in the opposite direction this time.

 

I wonder if this was an old stable, It once had a straw roof and it looks like there were room for two or three horses and/or cows.

I must have dosed off an hour or so during the night towards Saturday and it must have been then the water broke and she rearranged the sheets in her bed. But I was worried that nothing had happened and I called the vet several times, unfortunately it wasn´t my regular vet. Instead it was a young guy that didn´t think dogs were especially important when one could work with cows and horses instead. So every time I called him he only answered that he didn´t have the time and that I should call the big animal hospital in the next town. They always had a vet stationed at the hospital except for this time. Some kind of flu had hit the entire staff so they had closed for the first time ever🙂

Suddenly I saw that the water had broken and that it also was completely dry! I called him once again and he just gave me the same answer and when I told him the hospital was closed he said that they never close so I should try them again!! So I called a small veterinary station in Falköping and the vet, a substitute veterinarian from Denmark with a strange accent that I thankfully could understand though said I could come but that they didn´t have the necessary equipment if they needed to do a caesarean. She realized immediately that she could do nothing and said why don´t You call the big hospital🙂🙂

I would buy this property if I was rich. Not for the house even if it could be nice after a lot of work but for the rest, the barn, the guest cottage with a work shop and all the land that goes with it. I have no idea what it might cost though but more than I can afford🙂

Fortunately one of the original vets came in just to check how things were going for the substitute and the first thing she said was, why don´t You call the big hospital🙂🙂🙂 It´s a bit strange really but they never seems to belive what one says so they need to call the big hospital themselves. Then she called the vet at my regular place and then he suddenly realized that he had made a fool of himself but still he was very reluctant to call any other vet at the station and said it would take hours for them to come to work. Well I know they don´t live further away from the station than I do so that was just a sad excuse to be honest.

Bertil followed us all the way around the village.

But she called around and found an open place in a city called Jönköping, around 10 mil (62 miles) away and the last thing she said was hurry because she doesn´t have long time left. That was great to hear when one hasn´t slept more than two hours in two days. already on the way there I started to believe my car was breaking down, I have no idea why but that thought sort of got stuck in my head🙂 I had gotten a description on how to get to this vet station but was tired and somewhat high on coffee and missed it totally. But pure luck made me turn in to a road that led straight to the vet station🙂🙂

This vet station was a fantastic place. First they took care of Erna and then they placed me in a room with comfortable sofas and a tv, They gave me something to eat, I really don´t remember what it was and told me to sleep if I could. I knew that two puppies already had homes and I thought that I could take care of one or two myself so I said that only bring me four of them (if any survived, the only important thing was that Erna made it) and I don´t want to choose wich to keep. But I didn´t have to think of that in the end anyway.

I do like these horses, they come running to the fence as soon as they see us comming. Especially this one, he gallops🙂

It turned out that four of the eight puppies already were dead or dying with little chance to make it and suddenly they came in with a little trolley. First I only saw one giant puppy but then I realized that there were three tiny ones beside it🙂 The huge one was of course Orvar🙂🙂 I guess it was he who blocked the way for all the others.

Now even higher on coffee and still even more tired I started to drive home. The feeling of the car breaking down and the words that Erna wasn´t allowed to wake up beside the puppies so she didn´t hurt or kill them in the confusion after waking up sort of gave me a feeling of panic. This was also the first night of frost so I wondered all the way how I could keep the puppies warm if the car broke down and I had to wait for some friend to drive and pick me up. But there was absolutely nothing wrong with my car and i came home with both Erna and the puppies without problems🙂 It turned out that Erna was a lousy mother I really didn´t want the puppies around her. She gave them food and washed them bay that was it🙂🙂 But she was especially nasty towards Hector, she just couldn´t stand him and the other puppies didn´t like him especially much either, so he is sort of my very special dog🙂 But Orvar did change his mind when he was around six months old and now he stays close to Hector all the time🙂 Erna however didn´t change her mind about him until she was eleven years old (and he five).

This horse is used in some kind of rodeo show. The owner (always wearing a cowboy hat wich is unusual over here) sits on him while lassoing calves. I don´t understand the fun in that but if the horse likes it and the calf isn´t hurt who am I to complain.

I naturally told the original vet what had happened that weekend and after that I´ve been very nicely treated by them. I could see how he was embarrased when I told him how this young kid (he´s younger than me so I can call him kid🙂 ) refused to help me in any way and that I had to drive all that way to get help. everyone can do stupid choices and mistakes so I still go to this vet and there´s no better place to go. But I have to admit that I really don´t like to talk to this kid anyway🙂

 

The only deers we saw this morning.

Time for something to eat I feel and later today they show Eureka on channel six🙂

Do You remember those kittens I photographed a while ago? This is one of them and it is so much bigger already.

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “The sixth of September eight years ago.

  1. Vilken underbar, enormt spännande, rolig och rörande historia om hur dina två grabbar kom till världen!🙂🙂🙂
    Just nu är vår lilla Santos på väg från Ystad till Oskarshamn. Dom landar i Visby 23.05 så dom bör vara här före tolv – och det ska också bli mycket spännande. Vi håller tummarna för att vi ska gilla varandra alla tre, fast man får väl räkna med att det tar ett tag för honom att acklimatisera sig.
    Sen ahde dom löptikar på kenneln just nu, så han var visst lite upphetsad vilket kan göra att han kanske skvättar inne om han känner lukrten av Penny – vilket han förmodligen gör! Vi får hålla 4 ögon på honom första timmen, sen ska vi sova!!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja den händelsen kommer jag inte att glömma i första taget🙂

      Så då är det mindre än fem timmar kvar tills ni är hundäager igen🙂 Det blir säkert en del missöden nu i början men ni kommer nog snart att fungera utan större problem🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer,

  2. Wow, that was an experience.It just boggles the mind how something like this could happen.The love you have for your four legged friends is amazing and how lucky they are to have you.Thankyou for retelling this story, I started reading read your blog in April. I found you through Joyce at October Farm and I have to say I enjoy reading your blog so very much.Your daily account of you and your pets adventures just make my day.You live in a beautiful country and have a beautiful spot.I’m sorry that this happened , but its a memory now, the sting is gone.If not for you none would have most likely survived.Thankyou for sharing this.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I never could have guessed that something like that ever could happen. But it is long ago now and I hope he has learned his lesson.

      I think over half of those reading this blog came here via Joyce´s blog🙂 I´m glad You like what I do here🙂
      But this was nothing compared to when old Erna was born, that memory is the last thing that will leave my memory🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    What a story! I can’t believe the young vet refusing to help you. On the other hand, if he only felt good about horses and cattle, maybe you wouldn’t want him messing with your dog anyway. Fortunately I have never had a bad veterinary experience even when, in an extreme emergency, I had to call in a vet who was considered to be really awful by most of the horse people in the area. Turned out he was a fantastic veterinarian but he was a really nasty-tempered guy unless he decided you were worth his time. One other woman and I made the worthwhile list because of the way we handled the emergency before he got there and after that he always asked for us to assist whenever he came to the barn.
    Beautiful photos today. I like that shaggy bay pony that you say runs up to the fence. Don’t know how he can see through all that mane.🙂
    Time for breakfast. It’s cool and mostly sunny here this morning but is supposed to warm up later on. Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I couldn´t believe it when it happened either. He still only handles the big animals and never works on the vet station wth the pets. But “my” vet is great and I wouldn´t want anyone else to take care of my dogs when they are sick! I remember when old Erna was born and I called him several times even at midnight and he never gotr the slightests irritated🙂

      This was actually the first and so far the only time I´ve had a bad vet experience.

      Personality can really either mess up things or do just the opposite🙂 But I rather have a nasty vet that knows what he is doing than one nice that is plain stupid🙂 I´ve met the nice one a couple of times when I lived in Gothenburg so after a while I asked to go to the nasty one as soon as I phone them🙂🙂
      That horse is so nice! I don´t mind meating him when they are out riding or he pulls a carriage. He is just so cool🙂

      Cloudy and rather chilly here today so it was a great weather to work some in the garden🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Whoa! I loved hearing that story! I would be like you were, panicked that the car might break down.
    That’s so sweet, how Hector is your special dog.
    I know all about vets and their different personalities😀😀😀 since i work with a few! We have one that if everyone else was gone, I’d go to another clinic! LOL! (actually it’s NOT funny) but rumor has it that he is to be let go soon.
    I was so into reading your story that I had to go back and look at your photos, I missed them all.
    I LOVE the horse ones, especially the one with hair in his eyes.
    and the Kitten!😀
    Love this post! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I was so tired and I started to believe that the engine was breaking down🙂🙂 I´ve heard that that engine still works great and never stops🙂🙂

      I can take vets that calls me an idiot as long as they are good to my pets, but I just hate those that are afraid of making me angry and sort of blames my wrong behavior on the pet (it has happened that I´ve done something wrong while my pet was sick). If I´m an idiot tell me that so I do better next time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

