A nice evening.

Stone circle hill.

I know I said I´ll write about when Orvar and Hector was born today but I´ll do it on Saturday instead. Then I can start early if the story gets long🙂

The evening is sunny and warm but with a chilly bite in it if You understand how I mean. I´m a bit surprised that we haven’t had a single night of frost yet but since it will be a clear night this might be the time we get it. So I´ll drive by the store in Falköping tomorrow to order a pallet with fire logs, it’s better to be safe than sorry. I really don´t want to pay more to the electricity company than I really need to🙂

They are predicting yet a cold winter for us here in Sweden by looking at statistics some years back. It seems as if we usually get 3,5 cold winters after a longer period of warm winters. But then again we all know about how sure statistics are🙂🙂🙂

I was planning on making pancakes today but I just don’t have the energy so I´ll just boil some potatoes and open a can with fish-balls. I do love fish-balls but to be honest, they make it of the absolute last pieces of the fish that still are edible🙂🙂🙂 I´ve never tried to make them from scratch myself but I guess it can´t be that hard, I´ll see if I can find a recipe one day.

Nova is slowly learning that she really must share things with the two brothers🙂🙂 Before she just took what ever the two others might chew on or play with but with a lot of No’s from me and some growling from especially Orvar she now understands that it isn´t ok to do what ever she likes. She has stopped to bite on Hector’s legs as well wich she always did when I came home, so now they both races around the cottage for long moments, before Hector avoided that because her biting habit.

The sun is slowly going down behind the forest and the swallows has stopped chasing flies for the day, only a slight breeze makes the leafs rattle some otherwise it’s completely quiet out there. It’s time to make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches.                                                                                                                                          Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “A nice evening.

    • Hi Cindi!
      No not fish balls🙂🙂🙂 That are mushrooms🙂 You should see them when they are old if You think they look disgusting now🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Photo nine got me too. What is a “fish ball”. I can’t imagine from your description. And what type of fish? I think writing that in the same section as a god awful mushroom if that is what it is, gave us a bad feeling for fish balls. Over here we have Hush Puppies where some restaurants shred shrimp to make them into little flour balls. Maybe that’s what you are referring to. Go have your tea, I need to think about this.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Fish balls are just like meat balls but made of fish and usually boiled with a lobster/shrimp or dill sauce. I love them but it is an either or food. Either You love them or Yiu hate them🙂🙂 One can make them from any kind of fish but it´s usually cod or cod relatives. Yes it is a mushroom and I had no intension behind putting that photo close to writing about fish balls🙂🙂

      I´ve never had Hush puppies but it doesn´t sound as if they are remotely close to fish balls.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I know of the fish balls you speak of,, we have finish friends who make fish balls, they’re quite good. we are supposed to be having a cold winter this year as well.My father woul predict the witer by the cones on the trees, the pelts on the beaver and otter and many other things, goodness know what.He was quite often accurate,, I miss him but still when I see abundant cones high in the tree I know we’re in for deep snow.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Finally one that understands me🙂🙂 I love fish balls but either one do or one hates them🙂

      I´ve never heard of those ways to predict the winter but I have heard about looking inside a bass🙂🙂

      I do wish this winter gets warmer than those two we just have had!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. …är det någon mat jag hatar så är det fiskbullar. Det sitter kvar sen skolan när man tvingades att äta dom där äckliga sakerna. Jag har däremot alltid älskat fisk, så det är mnog den där svampiga konsistensen jag äcklas av. Min pappa var likadan, medan min mamma älskade dom – så eftersom vi inte ens kunde känna lukten av dom fick hon stå i köket och äta dom direkt ur burken när suget efter dom blev för stort! *fniss*
    Just nu är vår nya “hundresebur” på väg till Ystad för att fyllas av en liten hund! Den andra tjejen som ska ha Max tar sen med sig båda hit till Gotland. Dom landar förmodligen på sent på lördag kväll.
    Ja, fyllas och fyllas!? Kanske blir det bara en liten hörna i buren, Santo är ju inte så stor precis. Han väger 5 kg. En dum sak…han är ju en avelshane och just nu löper tikarna på kenneln så han kommer förmodligen springa runt och skvätta här hemma. (Lukten efter Penny sitter nog kvar.)Alltså får vi väl kanske sitta uppe hela lördagsnatten och vakta honom, för har dom väl börjat är det ett beteende som är svårt att bryta. Men det gör vi så gärna! 🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det är antingen eller mat fiskbullar. Men jag kan inte minnas att vi fick det i skolan dock. Däremot minns jag att våran skolmat var jättegod nästan jämt.

      Jomenvisst får man stå ut med en del i början när man får ny hund🙂
      Tänk att ni snart har hund igen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, no matter how they are made, fish balls are not something I would like to eat. Your photos of the forest look like wonderful fall shots. I know that soon we will see these same areas snow covered, so will enjoy these for awhile.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Fish balls do devide the people🙂 Either You love them or You don´t🙂🙂 It is actually one of my favorite meals and I have it as often as possible🙂

      I just hope we won´t see snow on my photographs for long yet🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

