Sitting in my kitchen thinking of Yule :-)

All lying photographs gets bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

I´m sitting in my kitchen drinking a cup of coffee looking out the window. The rain has fallen most of the day but it stays up in the clouds at the moment. It’s not cold enough d enough to start a fire in the stove but it would be nice anyway. But I better not if I would like to be able to sleep tonight, all the heat from the stove will go straight up into my bedroom 🙂 🙂

I´ll show a lot of mushrooms today, especially Red Toadstools 🙂 The weather wasn't inviting today and I showed most other photographs yesterday 🙂

We have way to much to paint at work, which is good news really, so we won´t be able to finish anything in time. So now we´ll make an extended shift. Some people will start later in the morning but continue later in the evening instead. Since I´m up before the rooster I´ll continue to start early but my apprentice, that loves to sleep long in the morning (never late to work though) takes the late part of the day. But where we´ll get all the other people we need I have no idea 🙂 🙂 🙂 I guess some people from other departments will work overtime to help us.

The rain sometimes showers away those white spots but the mushrooms is till quite beautiful to be honest.

My absolute favorite tv series started this Saturday :-), Eureka. They stopped in the middle of the season because we came to close to You in the US. So it was the Christmas episode we saw this time 🙂 Since that I have had christmas songs in my head and I’ve been thinking of actually decorating for christmas this year (or jul as we call it) 🙂 🙂 🙂

So I’ve been playing with the idea that I will make most of the decorations myself this year. In my mind I can see those perfect red toadstools made of papier maché (yes that mushroom is actually a christmas decoration here or perhaps it´s more for advent to be honest).  I can see all other things I´ll make and they will all be just perfect 🙂 🙂 But I know me so if I actually do make them myself they will be anything but perfect 🙂 🙂

But I do have a spruce in a pot outside and I´m planning on bringing it down to my cold cellar as soon as the weather gets cold, so I can bring it up and have it in my living room on the table during christmas. It is small so I can´t put to much decorations on it. But the size is perfect because I really can´t have a big tree here, my cottage is to small for that and I know what Orvar might do to that poor tree 🙂 🙂 🙂

I would like to have this tree stump with its roots by my pond but I´m not sure if I´m allowed to bring it home with me. But the Public access law however gives my the right to use it in a camp fire if I wish to start one. Laws are never easy to understand 🙂 🙂

I don´t have any Christmas crib any longer either. My mother once very generously gave mine away but sort of forgot to tell me until after it was done 🙂 I must get me one of those again because I don´t think I´ll try to make one myself , I do know my limits even in my imagination 🙂 🙂 🙂

We still have lots of dragon flies flying around here.

The area I cleaned up from roses, false spirea and all their roots. It looks tiny now 🙂 but is actually around six square meters (around the same in square yards). Now I´m not sure what to plant there 🙂

But I´ll do nothing of that now, it is time for something to eat and then I think I´ll read a book. Perhaps I´ll see one of the endless reruns of Simpsons but I doubt it. Channel six seem to think that if they can´t decide what to show show a rerun of the Simpsons 🙂 🙂 🙂 Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Sitting in my kitchen thinking of Yule :-)

  1. Jag har en liten “soft spot” när det gäller kalvar och den där gråa var jättesöt! Däremot gillar jag inte svamp, varken lukten av dom eller smaken. Idag var jag dock tvu´ngen att ta bort två jättestora som växte i sten- och grusslänten. Jag trodde att svampar gillade fuktiga och bärdiga jordar. I slänten är det bara grus och sten, ingen jord alls och allt vatten rinner undan snabbt.

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag smälter varje gång jag ser en kalv 🙂 och det finns ju en hel del här i byn nu 🙂

      Jäg älskar alla svampar utom liksvampar, kan inte med stanken och tyvärr finns det gott om dem här! Men själva svampen är ju allt du inte ser under marken och de kan täcka hundratals kvadratmeter. Var fruktkroppen dyker upp (det vi kallar svamp) har mindre betydelse faktiskt.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Its hard to imagine December is just a few short months away, your talk of yule makes it more real, I love the use of Red Toadstools in your country,, they stand out so bright and proud in any setting,, have lovely day,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Time just flies! It feels like spring just arrived 🙂

      It is funny that we use a deadly mushroom as a yule decoration 🙂 🙂 But it is the red and white colors that makes it perfect for that season.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Mushrooms and Cow photos and some earthly wonders in the woodland. Nice walk today Christer. I hope those Fall colors on the trees don’t mean here comes winter. I think you have at least until November for the snowy weather to hit. I’m heading to a Labor Day cookout, had fun at the beach this morning. Now it’s time for the standard feast of hot dogs and hamburgers.

    • Hi Z&M!

      Well it rained most of the time to be honest 🙂

      As You say, snow mostly starts falling in November here and if we´re lucky it melts away pretty soon 🙂 We weren´t lucky last year 🙂 🙂 I´m hoping for a mild winter this year.

      Sounds so nice to be at the ocean in September 🙂 Well we can go there too but needs more clothes 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Jasså du tänker julpynta rejält iår! Du måste fota alla dina pysselalster så att vi kan få se hur och vad du gjort:)) Eller är det bara ett önsketänkande? En gran i kruka är väldigt trevligt, det hade vår dotter när hon var 2 år och den planterades ut på våren. Den är nu enorm och väldigt fin:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Tanken finns där i alla fall, fast den dök ju upp lite väl tidigt 🙂 🙂 Något blir det i alla fall 🙂

      Denna stackars gran har stått i samma kruka i snart sex år tror jag. Den växer inte fort direkt och egentligen borde jag kanske göra en bonzai av den 🙂 Så när frosten kommer och det lilla jag har skall ned i källaren så får den följa med, då blir det inte så svårt för den att komma in i storarummet som oftast är rätt svalt.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Lovely mushroom photos today, especially the red ones.
    If you know the landowner, ask him if you can take the dead roots. It’s actually logical that you can burn the tree but not take it away. Making a campfire might be a necessity if you are hiking in cold weather but taking away something for decorative purposes is not.
    I don’t want to think about Christmas. Christmas means snow will be coming, if it hasn’t already. I would rather think about the lovely days of autumn that are coming.
    Oddly, I have never found cows particularly cute. Perhaps because all my experience has been with beef cattle that haven’t been handled by people except for feeding, veterinary purposes and to be harvested. The herd always lived outside and had to deal with the coyotes and whatever else was lurking so they regarded people with some hostility. Unless we had food and then we were okay. 🙂
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I´m very much the same with horses. I do like them on the other side of a fence 🙂 🙂 But I do like the more wild cows we have a round here, the highland cattle.

      I can use that tree stump for any kind of fire even if it is fairly warm and I only want to grill a couple of hotdogs 🙂 But I do understand what You mean. But for some reason I just don´t want to ask that land owner and my guess is that he would want quite a lot of money for it as well 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Normally I never think of christmas but I have to blaim Eureka this time 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Wish you hadn’t started talking about decorating already! Now I have that on my mind!

    I really enjoy the colors on that red mushroom! Certainly looks pretty and would make a great decoration!

    • Hi Jim!
      Sorry 🙂 But I do blame Eureka for that 🙂 🙂 Normally I never think of christmas especially much and never this time of year 🙂

      It is a beautiful mushroom and the colors sort of fits christmas 🙂

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer! my computer is finally fixed. i sure was lost without it! i love those mushroom photos. do you know which ones are edible and did you pick any of them? i love mushrooms and this is the perfect time of year for them! we have rain and cold weather! my favorite! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I know how You must have felt 🙂
      None of the mushrooms in these last posts are edible and I´ve been lazy with mushroom picking lately to be honest. I do know quite a lot of edible musrooms, probably more than most people that sticks to picking chantrelles.

      Congratulations to the cold and rainy weather 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I love the mushroom photos and the cows.
    The mushrooms just look so perfect that it’s hard to realize they are real!

    I refuse to think about Xmas already 😀
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do like the red toadstools especially much and as You say they look perfect!

      I blame Eureka for this christmas thinking 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

