A simply fantastic autumn morning.

It is one of those mornings that really only can be experienced in autumn. Slightly chilly but with sunshine, just a slight breeze that brings the smells of ripe fruits and mushrooms, no flies and some geese migrating south for the winter. With other words, simply fantastic!

Yesterday evening was very much the same with the exception that we hade loads of mosquitoes flying around. It seem they have gotten e second spring so to speak with the warm air we´ve gotten for a couple of days now. I had hoped for fog this morning as well but I´m kind of glad we didn´t have it.

Normally I turn left here to get home but this morning I decided to walk the other way. The road is like a huge circle so I would come home without problems anyway.

We started our walk like we usually do, towards the forest but since it still was a bit dark it would be difficult to take any photographs in there, so we turned and walked out towards the fields instead. My neighbors had sown oat this spring and I´m not quiet sure why because the soil isn´t especially good for that here. Unfortunately for them it has rained som much here that the ground was too soft to cope with a harvester until now (well it is still to soft but now they have to do it).

Do You remember that house with red bricks? This is it. I can´t for my life understand why the put up wood panels on it instead. Why change from a problem free surface to one that You really must maintain a lot??? It is for sale now but they have made it tougher to borrow money now days. The property has land enough so one can keep a couple of horses if one wishes to.

This county has more horses per person than anywhere else in this country. One of my neighbors has six 🙂

The harvester they use seems to be as old as I am 🙂 but it does the work it is supposed to after all but it takes a lot of time. So we passed the place he worked on yesterday and saw that he hadn’t done much since then. I can understand the problems he has after mowing my lawn yesterday, I sort of had to pass the same area twice before the grass was cut down properly and not just folded 🙂 🙂

When it was time yo turn homewards I realized that there is a part of the village I almost never go through so we continued our walk. The road is like a huge circle here so I would come to the exact spot after a while anyway.  So we were out walking for almost two hours and when I came home I planted 25 Golden columbines (Aquilegia chrysanta).

Lying photographs will get bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

It was impossible to pass the property You can see here for a rather long time unless one was driving passt it. The road goes straight through the yard and the ones renting it wa, lets say a bit difficult and they also had one aggressive dog. Now they are gone and the property is or will be out on the market.

But I wasn´t that lazy as I had planned to be yesterday 🙂 I dug up one big dog rose and a bigger area with japanese roses a job that always makes me bleed 🙂 🙂 The japanese rose is rather easy to get out of the ground but it has a zillion small sharp thorns that stays in the skin for a long time (no I couldn´t find my garden gloves 🙂 🙂 ) It spreads heavily via its roots so it is best to get as many of those up from the ground as possible already now.

I was out walking yesterday evening as well and it was just as nice as this mornings walk was.

Suddenly I found some sunflowers not far from home and I do hope they´ll get the chance to open up before it gets to cold.

The dog rose how ever doesn´t spread but has deep and thick roots so that is a bit harder. I managed to whip myself in the face with one of its branches and that hurts I can say 🙂 🙂 But now I have around 6 square meters (about the same in yards) to plant new things in 🙂

It isn't the lastes model amongst harvesters 🙂 but it does what it is supposed to. The only problem with it as I can see is that it doesn't have a lot of storage capacity so they have to empty it a bit to often.

A new member in the family of spiders 🙂

It is time for something to eat and since the morning is so beautiful I think I´ll have it while sitting on the kitchen stairs 🙂

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “A simply fantastic autumn morning.

  1. Precis som vanligt tar du otroligt fina bilder – en eloge!
    Jag var också uppe tidigt i morse, redan 04.00. Har svårt att sova nu, tankarna – och tydligen drömmarna – bara cirklar runt det här att vi återigen ska bli hundägare. Fortfarande saknar jag Pernny som individ, men det blir nog lättare när vi får något annat att ägna oss åt.
    Fast det blir ju tyvärr ingen Max som vi hade ställt in oss på, utan det blir den lilla 4-åriga Santos istället. Hoppas jag! Man är ju inte säker förrän hunden är här på plats hos oss!!
    Trevlig och skön söndag hoppas jag att ni får allihop!
    Susie

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Tack skall du ha 🙂

      Jo jag såg det i din blogg 🙂 Roligt att de kan se såpass olika ut 🙂 Vi håller tummarna för att det inte blir någon negativ överraskning denna gången utan att han snart är hos er 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. that spider web photo is brilliant,, well all the photos are really, I wonder why it is there are so many horses in your county,, that was a big job plantingh all those plants,, you deserve a rest today! Your landscape and foliage is so much like ours its like looking out my window as well as the geese are starting to fly over in formation these last couple of weeks.Have a restful day and take care of your cuts from the roses,

    • Hi Laurie!
      We have a lot of big studfarms for trotters around here but it seems most people here loves horses a bit more than elsewhere. A lot of us lives outside the towns as well so the area sort of fits for horse owners.

      I wish I had planted those flowers, I dug them up and that´s much harder:-) 🙂 I continued today by digging up even more roots from my neighbors hedge! But I really can´t complain since my japanese roses now days grows up in his hedge 🙂 🙂 🙂
      I can imagine that it looks very much the same where You live as it does here 🙂 I guess we have a very similar climate thanks to the gulf stream that makes it warmer here than it should be otherwise.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I would love to live somewhere with more horses than people. 🙂 The shaggy bay horse is particularly cute.
    I don’t understand why someone would put wood over brick, either, unless they wanted to hide something that was wrong with the brick. Maybe the whole thing needed to be repointed or there were big cracks somewhere. The wood does make it look shiny and new, though.
    Good shot of the spider web. You caught the early morning light on the strands just right.
    Going to be hot here today and humid as well. It’s a good day for an ice cream run so I think I will do just that.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I don´t think it was anything wrong with the bricks but wood houses is more easy to sell out here in the countryside. Most swedes have a dream that one time in life be able to live in a red house far from the city, surveys has shown that. Brick buildings, how much better it may be, doesn´t fit in to that dream 🙂 🙂

      Unfortunately the camera didn´t get all the colors in that web, it showed all colors in the rainbow when the sun hit in a certain angle.

      It has been a great day here 🙂 Sunny, warm and with a just enough strong breeze 🙂 Tomorrow it will be colder again.
      I didn´t get much rest I´m afraid. I dug up even more roots where I took up those roses yesterday, my neighbors hedge send out its roots to my garden so I had to dig them up. Otherwise my whole garden would be a one plant jungle 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Vi var också uppe relativt tidigt i morse, i alla fall för att vara en söndagsmorgon:)) 07.15 var klockan när jag kände att nu var det dags att göra lite nytta:)) Vädret har varit helt fantastiskt idag, solsken och ljumma vindar. Var uppe hos sonen en stund mitt på dagen för att hjälpa honom att måla huset, han blir aldrig klar annars stackaren. Göran och Henrik var på framsidan/solsidan och de höll nästan på att få solsting. Jag var på skuggsidan och målade fönsterfoder:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Inte illa! Fast jag var uppe innan fem 🙂

      Visst har det varit ett fantastiskt väder idag! Så jag passade på att gräva upp rönnspirea rötter som kommer från grannens häck. De låg som en matta strax under jordytan. Men jag kan ju inget säga, nu växer det vresrosor i hans rönnspireahäck 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Photos are great today and we might start calling you the Spidey Man. I like the exterior of the old brick house with acreage. It looks new. It also has a great landscape. How much are they asking for the property?

    • Hi Z&M!
      I do like spiders 🙂 at least as long as they are as small as those I´ve photographed 🙂 🙂

      I’ve heard that they want somewhere around 1.5 -2 millions for it, divide that with 6,5 and You´ll get the price in US dollars. That is less than You´ll have to pay for a small apartment in Gothenburg 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I know, I know, I KNOW I shouldn’t feel so creepy about spiders…but I do. Same with snakes. I just cannot take them and yet at the same time I am in awe of their webs. Fantastic architects!
    That one looks strong enough to hold anything at all that may stumble into it.
    LOVE the photo’s Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I totally understand You, before I moved out here I was terrified of spiders 🙂 But it sort of disappeared when I had them all around me all the time 🙂 🙂 But I have always loved snakes though 🙂

      To be honest, the spider is rather small, tiny really 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Whew, that was a long walk, Christer, and glad the weather was nice and cool. It sure does look like autumn has arrived for you. It’s still warm for us with more rain in the forecast for the coming week.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Yes it was but I enjoyed every second of it 🙂

      Now more and more trees turn colors, mostly towards yellow but it is still rather warm and nice outside even if it rains.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I’m always amazed at your spider and spider webs photos. Wow.
    Yeah, why cover up brick? Seems such a waste.
    More horses than people? Ah…what a dream.
    It’s VERY cool here today, so I am happy! 😀
    I’m still working on my fence, yesterday I only did a little and worked inside instead.
    Today it will be the fence and moving more plants and WEEDING!
    I hate weeding. I should pull out the plants and seed it with grass like everyone else and then I would only have to mow.
    It’s been a bad weekend as far as Ralphie is concerned. He’s gotten into 2 fights with Jimmy and one I accidently got my hand in the way. Luckily it was only the tip of my finger. And now he’s taken to lifting his leg on stuff again. I thought we were past that stage.
    I’m kinda at the end of my rope but today is so beautiful that I won’t think about again until tomorrow!
    Enjoy your beautiful weather too!
    😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´m very grateful towards the spiders because they actually sit still while I come very close with my camera 🙂 🙂

      Perhaps I should have written more horse per person because I don´t think there actually are more horses than people here, but I think it is even between us 🙂 There´s even more cattle here and more will move in to the village soon and that I like 🙂 🙂

      I would never work that hard outside if it was that hot here 🙂 But I do like weeding 🙂 I think it is relaxing to be honest. In a way I can say that I was weeding this weekend because I dug up lots roses, false spirea (Sorbaria sorbifolia) and all their roots. It took me two days to get rid of most of it but I know I still have plentry of roots down there in the ground 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Sorry about Jimmy being a pest. I think You really need to find him a home where he is the only dog. As it is now he only stresses both You and all then other dogs and that only brings chaos I´m afraid.
      But enjoy the day today and worry about that tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Phew! I’ve been playing catch-up with all your posts… It has been a rough week, and you post every day! A very dear friend passed away suddenly and we’re still reeling… He was my summer bowling partner and said he had a bad stomach and then, five days later, he was gone. And, there’s so many end of summer projects for the gardens. Your pictures are always fantastic but those of the spider webs are breathtaking… A bunch of September birthdays at your place, huh! Mine is in two days and I’m going backwards because I’m not an old fuddy-duddy like my daughter… tee hee… have a great day and I hope everyone’s tummies have settled at your place.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I´m sorry about Your friend passing on. I lost my sister in law this summer and it is tough to loose a friend.

      I do have some end of the summer projects as well but they can wait until next spring as well to be honest 🙂

      It is the boys birthday tomorrow so they´ll get something nice to chew on. But Orvars tummy gave up today again, so many rotten things to enjoy out there 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

