Up before the rooster!

Hector woke me up already at 3:15 am this morning, or should I write night🙂🙂 I could hear that he was close to panic and that there were no time in arguing with him about waking me up at that hour. Orvar had already gone down to the kitchen door but even if I hurried down I was to late. Both the brothers had gotten bad stomachs so after letting them all out, both dogs and cats I started to scrub the floors with chlorine. It isn´t the nicest of smells but at least it smells like all eventual germs has died in agony🙂🙂 :-)Nova however has no problems what so ever and that´s only because she always is leashed when we are out walking🙂

The Portal. It is a bit hazy this morning but I had hoped for fog. Why is it that the best foggy mornings always comes when I have to work?🙂

There was no use in going back to bed after that, chlorine and floor scrubbing sort of wakes You up🙂🙂 So I posted a spider/beetle photograph at my National Geographic photo album, hoping it will be chosen to the daily dozen so I can force You to vote on it🙂🙂🙂 After that I boiled lots of rice with to much water. That usually stops most bad stomachs and the best thing is if one can mix it with boiled fish or chicken. I also payed my bills since I had a great internet connection🙂

The temperature never dropped beneath 17C (63F) and the humidity is high so it does feel a bit nasty actually. Everything feels sticky and since the temperature will rise up to 27C (80,6F) it will be even worse🙂 But already tomorrow temperatures will drop rather drastically so they predict thunder. But what´s that compared to the furious Irene flying over the east coast of North America. The two latest really bad hurricanes we had here made a mess of southern Sweden (they were called Gudrun and Per) and nothing worked properly for months after that and they were only a category one hurricane according to the american scales. I can´t imagine how bad a higher category would be like.

My second sunflower, the artichoke, is finally flowering now. It is over 3 meters high now🙂 It is a beautiful but terrible weed so I must dig them up now and replant them where they can´t spread to much. This variety is called 'Bianca'.

Maximilians sunflower is lower and doesn´t spread that much.

This is a filled Rudbeckia, doesn´t spread much at all but gets just as high as the artichoke.

I was planning on planting all the rhododendrons I have bought but I feel it is better to wait until tomorrow when the cold air and rains will come. Today will be a day of total lethargy🙂🙂                                                                                                                                       Have a great day and all of You in the way of angry Irene, take care!

17 thoughts on “Up before the rooster!

  1. Good morning, Christer. What an awful morning for you and the poor boys. But at least you got your bills paid. We are all watching the weather forecasts..I have many friends and relatives in the path of Irene. Here in Syracuse area which is about 350 miles north west of New York city, we will probably just get a rainstorm. Who knows what Irene will do? Hoping Hector and Orvar are feeling better quickly. Even without the fog, I always enjoy the pictures of the Portal.

    • Hi Robin!
      Afternoon🙂
      Yes we could have had a better start but it turned out we were up the best part of the day🙂 Most of the day has rained away and lots of thunderstorms has passed too. And the morning was productive🙂🙂

      I´mm looking at the reports of angry Irene as well and I´m glad she will have calmed down rather much until she reaches You!

      The portal finally closed and that means I can walk in to the magical kingdom🙂 I do like that Portal.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. At times like these, I’m glad I live in the Midwest. No hurricanes…just tornadoes and those seem to only touch down in the rural areas (fingers crossed)! I can’t believe that New York City is possibly going to be hit hard?! Where do all those people evacuate to? It is truly frightening and I hope for a miracle.
    Love your sunflower photo. I just took a photo of an empty lot where they planted sunflowers. Maybe I will post it tomorrow. Sometimes a view like that can brighten a dull day.
    Your poor boys, and poor YOU! But I’m feeling your pain. I have left Ralphie at my boarding kennel for the weekend (just to give everyone a break) and I planned to sleep in. But instead I woke to an AWFUL smell. Rosie was having diarrhea on my BED! I think it’s all that canned food, I need to wean her off of that. and thank goodness her poop pile is small and my bedding is all white.
    I’ve washed everything in bleach and then I washed it again. Sigh………
    Have a great day. I plan on moving plants around today and doing major weeding.😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Thank good none of them did anything in my bed🙂🙂🙂 I´m not sure I ever would have used that bed again if they had🙂🙂🙂

      It seems Irene will hit New York bad and as You say, where will they all go while evacuating?

      To hot and way to much thunder here today to do anything outside and then we aren´t even close to those hot temperatures You have had🙂🙂

      Have a great day weeding🙂
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I thought you were up rather late, or very early when I saw your comments on my photos. Now I know you were up very early. Sorry to hear that the guys ate the wrong things and you suffered the consequences. When Rocky eats something that disagrees with him, he vomits it up rather than processing it through the whole system. Neither is pleasant but I’ll take vomit over diarrhea, especially at 3 in the morning. :-O
    I saw your beetle photo over on NG as well as some others of yours that I haven’t seen before. I love the photo of the two dogs by the creek.
    I have an account over there with one photo on it. The site is a bit annoying since I can never find myself. Too much going on and no logical lay-out to the directory. I finally had to bookmark me.😀
    We have a native plant called a sunchoke that looks a lot like the sunflower that you called artichoke. I wonder if they are the same plant. Very tall, weedy and the root is edible.
    Still awaiting Irene. “Red sky at dawning, sailor take warning” is part of a saying we have here. Dawn was red so I guess it means the weather will be crappy. My hurricane kit has been enhanced with matches and lamp oil but I may need more chocolate.
    Hope you have a lovely slappardag.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Normally I would sleep like a baby at that hour🙂🙂 But it could have been much worse to be honest so I feel rather ok about this early morning anyway. These wouldn´t womit even if their lives would depend on it, what goes down stays down🙂🙂🙂

      The NG site is anything but logical to be honest! But as long as You´ve logged in just click on My shot and then on My pictures and You´ll find Your photo album.
      That photo of the dogs by the creek made it to the Daily dozen🙂 But there were so many great photographs that week that I didn´t stand a chance🙂🙂🙂

      We have a similar saying over here but I can´t for my life remember how it goes🙂

      You can never have to much chocolate so if You can go out and get some more🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. ..att den där “Bianca” var väldigt snygg – men är dom sånt ogräs så ska jag ine ha någon!
    På tal om det, är du intresserad av frön från demn dramatiska vallmon “Danish Flag”? Har visat dom på bild i slutet på juli och dom var verkligen speciella.🙂
    Idag har vi varit på den stora hunduställningen i Visby (1400 hundar) och verkligen frossat. Redan på vägen dit hälsade vi på en västgötaspets på 8 månader, Pia, som var jättemysig. Men…vilka valpar/unghundar är inte det!?🙂🙂
    På utställningen tittade vi på massor av trevliga hundar, t.ex. Welsh Corgi – av båda modellerna(!), Jack Russel, Shiba Inu (dfen absolut v ackraste hund som finns) och lite annat smått och gott. Även Lancashire Heeler men då började jag gråta så vi fick gå därifrån.😦
    Sen var vi till min f.d. grannes ring där hon och hennes väninna var domarsekreterare. Dom hade åsikter om alla raser vi tittat på. Inget var bra utom västgötaspets och welsh corgi.
    Så plötsligt så tyckte min granne att vi skulle titta på Podengo Portugues och även domaren i ringen – som var mycket trevlig – tyckte att det var en underbar och tuff liten hund. Absolut något för oss. Och visst var dom det!🙂🙂🙂
    Underbart söta och väldigt “ursprungliga”, precis som Heelern – alltså inte överavlade. Om vi nu ska ha en ny hund (vilket verkar MYCKET troligt just nu, vi har nästan bestämt oss), så ligger den här lilla saken (den väger normalt 5 kg, Penny vägde 6 kg) väldigt väl till. Fast…en valp, gu´ vad jobbigt! Och några omplaceringshundar av den här rasen lär det väl inte finnas!!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jo Bianca kan stå still i några år för att sedan finnas på ganska stora områden🙂 Det gäller att ha den så att man kan klippa gräset runt omkring den.

      Kikade lite på den där Podengo Portugues och den verkar riktigt fin, fanns både som slät och strävhårig såg jag. Fast jag kan tänka mig att det är en tuff hund eftersom man jagar vildsvin med den, på bilderna jag såg så var det hundarna som jagade vildsvin och anföll det. Fast sedan såg jag attg det fanns tre storlekar på den🙂🙂🙂 Det var den stora jag hittade först🙂🙂 Den lilla borde man knappast jaga vildsvin med🙂🙂🙂

      Visst är det jobbigt med valp men det tänker man ju inte på förrän efteråt🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      • Vi har nu – äntligen – haft tid över att vara inne på “Hundar utan Hem” som du tipsade om. Och där fanns ju naturligtvis massor av gulliga hundar som behövde tas hand om!🙂
        Vi har också haft ingående diskussioner om vi verkligen ska skaffa en ny hund och har väl mer eller mindre bestämt oss, vi ska dock avvakta ett par sjukhusbesök dom närmaste veckorna innan vi gör slag i saken. Det är ju så att man bör ju vara frisk om man ska ha hund!🙂🙂🙂

      • Tjänare Susie!
        Man skall ju aldrig stressa fram ett beslut om att skaffa hund trots allt så det är ju bara bra att vänta tills efter sjukhusbesöket🙂 Jo just den siten har alla möjliga hundar i alla storlekar dessutom🙂 Men visst har du rätt i att det är en stor del amstaffar och blandningar med dem som behöver nya hem. Vet man bara vad man ger sig in på klarar man av dem också utan större problem trots allt, men de är så mycket skarpare än andra hundar.

        Då får vi se vad det blir framöver då🙂

        Ha det gott!
        Christer.

  5. Yeah Sunflowers. You captured them perfectly. Sorry to read the dogs got sick. Bad upsets like that are a reason we decided to take in cats. At least they are easier to clean up after and most upsets are due to them not eating the cookies that bind the fur balls in their tummies. I even set out a tray for the feral family. Every bite is gone when I do. Here in the U.S. we are waiting to see what havoc Irene causes New York, a city of millions of people. I’m also checking Kat’s flight schedule to see if she gets out of Boston tonight.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Well these things are expected to happen once in a while and it could have gone much worse if Hector hadn´t waken me up🙂 But You are right, cats do at least get sick in the litter box🙂

      It is Kat´s flight that worries me most🙂 I do hope she´ll be able to get away tonight! She has waited so long for this trip now! But I heard on the news that even the New Yorkers seems to understand that this storm is serious! I will keep my eyes on the weather in the US all evening.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer….well, i could have cleaned up that mess since i am cleaning constantly now with bleach and everything else. irene is the size of europe. i don’t think we will get it because the mountains will keep it away. i wonder what the boys got into that made them sick? your flowers are gorgeous. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I knew I should have called You🙂🙂🙂

      God knows what they find and eat out there🙂🙂🙂 Probably an old dead squirrels or something like that🙂

      I do hope terrible Irene misses You! I knew she was big but not that big!

      Have a great day and do take some breaks every now and again!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,too bad about the boys getting sickand at that ungodly hour, but it sure seems ike you got lot done since you had to be up – cleaning, bill paying, posting photos – hope that Hector and Orvar learned to stay away from whatever upset them, but likely not. We are going through hurricane irene tonight and so far all is well. Grenville has been posting his updates. of course, the worse is supposed to be tonight in the late night and early morning hours, so daylight should reveal some ineresting sights. We hope it’s only lots of leaves and small branches. Thanks for the well wishes, my friend. We hope everyone else affected will be safe too.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Nothing bad that doesn´t bring something good as we say over here🙂 I did do a lot yesterday morning n:-)🙂 But they never learn to stay away from anything that might upset their stomachs🙂🙂🙂

      I guess the worst part of Irene is passing just about now then. I do hope all goes well but I´ve already heard about a couple of deaths.

      Take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

