I´m a bit distraught.

We´ll get some ripe blackberries before frost this year. But my neighbors says we already have had one night with frost here but my cottage is placed lower than theirs so it never reached my garden. I don´t know if we ever have had frost that early before.

I feel a bit distraught today, sort of can´t concentrate on what to do for more than five minutes🙂 I was thinking of a million and one thing to write about here today but now all is gone🙂🙂🙂

More and more trees are changing colors now.

I decided early this morning that I would drive by the supermarket to buy something I really needed but when I arrived I just couldn´t remember what it was I had to buy there that I can´t buy in the grocery store in Gudhem. So I walked around looking here and there hoping to remember what it was I wanted🙂

The Angelica had a successful year. Lots of seeds to secure next generation and lots of food for small birds as well.

I don´t think I bought it though but I did come home with two rhododendrons, a Koster rose, a bougainvillea (all plants were reduced with up to 70% in the price except for the rose), two big jam jars to fill with rowan jelly I suppose and yoghurt. It is a bit strange with the yoghurt though because I´ve bought yoghurt these last four days for a reason I just can´t figure out so I already have plenty of it🙂🙂🙂

Most rhododendrons freeze to death in my garden but I found two that will survive. This is Catwbiense grandiflorum.

And this is Roseum eleganse. They only costed 59 kronor each, that would be around 9 US dollars each and that´s cheap here.

I´ve been doing lots of things while trying to come up with something to write here but sort of only half hearted🙂 I think it is best I make myself a pot of tea and something to eat, perhaps there´s something on tv that I can fall asleep to🙂🙂 But I did do one thing today, I was the first one to ask to have vacation during christmas or Yule as we call it over here. The factory owner just smiled when I asked, I think he just had waited to see how long I would wait this year🙂🙂                                                                                                       Have a great day!

This is the little rose I bought and it alone coasted almost as much as the two rhododendrons did together🙂🙂

17 thoughts on “I´m a bit distraught.

  1. We call that sixes and sevens in these here parts… floating from project to project and can’t light anywhere. But, this will pass. You did, however, manage to get some very beautiful pictures so you can still focus. Guess they won’t be marching you off to the Senior Home for a while; no?

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I´ve heard that expression but never really understood it before🙂

      I would fit in well at a seniors home at the moment🙂🙂🙂 I couldn´t even fall asleep in front of the tv🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. thats so funny,, march you off to the seniors home,, lol,, I think everyone has flighty days,, not able to settle on any one thing.Chin up, tomorrows another day,,

  3. A mental block. I’m sure it’s not your first and won’t be your last. Sometimes I go into the kitchen to get a cup of coffee, see the car keys handing on a pin and decide to run up to the Mom and Pop store for a newspaper. Hours later I remembered that I never got the cup of coffee. I was side tracked. Today we await the outer rings of Irene. So I’m on early because I will be shutting the system down by 5:30 PM EST expecting a down pour and light show between 6PM and 6AM. We are told we’re going to have a night of it. My wife loaded up on groceries and extra ice cream, another dozen bottles of water. All that’s left is to hopefully feed the feral cats. They’ve not been around all day. I think they know what’s coming.

    • Hi Z&M!
      So true, they come and go those days🙂🙂

      I´m keeping an eye on that weather of Yours. It seems to be very strong and I hope it turns out in to the ocean and calms down. Otherwise there will be panic in New York I guess.I think those feral cats already has taken shelter somewhere already. I do hope You´ll be fine during the hurricane!

      Take care!
      Christer.

      • Thank you . . . we made it through pouring rains and strong winds and all four feral cats showed up this morning hungry as little bears. Lacey even went to the wet food while I was still pouring milk. She likes me. We are now watching DC and NY. I think the first landfall though is the outer banks of North Carolina.

  4. hey christer…i am there with you! i must be getting old. i used to be able to do this work and then some. i am so tired i can hardly type. and i am running out of time! i have so much to do at the main house and i don’t know when i will get it done. plus, i have to cook for guests. and shop! ugh! i think i will just go to bed. maybe this hurricane will cancel everything! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´m glad if I can do half of what I could when I was around 20.

      That hurricane might actually cancel a lot of things I´ve heard. I do hope it turns out in to the ocean and calms down! But don´t work to hard now! Guests can take not perfect You know🙂🙂

      Have a great day and take care of Yourself too!
      Christer.

  5. Last weekend I went to the grocery store for 3 things and I couldn’t remember the third. I walked up and down the aisles until….toilet paper! Ha! LOL! Thank God I remembered!🙂🙂🙂
    Then on Monday morning I came to work to find one of the tech girls doing my job! I asked why she was doing it and she said I had scheduled her to cover for me. I stood there for at least 5 minutes until I remembered I had a Doctors appt! (Missed that one!) Sigh…..you are not alone!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Toilet paper is one thing I never seem to remember to buy when I need to🙂🙂 :-)Thank good I only have two steps to get in to the shower🙂🙂🙂

      But I have to say that I´ve never forgotten that I have taken a day of from work🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, everyone is telling you not to worry about having what I call a “brain cloud”. It is frustrating, I know, but just write notes to yourself! Let us know what you remembered to do with all the yogurt!

    • Hi Robin!
      Well i´m not that worried to be honest🙂 Today was better but not much🙂🙂 I think it is the sudden heat (well that is a lot to call it to be honest) wave we have here now. It is even warmer at night now that it was during my vacation🙂🙂🙂

      Thankfully I love yoghurt🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, I think we all have moments like you described. My latest one is not remembering whether or not I locked my car if I’m leaving it for some time. It’s always locked, but sometimes I have to go out “jut to check” and then I feel a little silly for not remembering that it was locked. It was interesting how you went to the grocery store and came home with all those plants. Have you figured out yet what all the yoghurt will be used for?

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Yes I think we all do have those days🙂 Strangely enough I rarely worry about the car being unlocked but then again who would come out here to steel it? They would need a car just to get here🙂🙂🙂

      I have absolutely no idea why I have bought all this yoghurt but I love it so it won´t become to old in this cottage🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    I think we all get distracted like that now and then. When you start being that way all the time you should begin to worry.🙂
    The photo of the angelica is my favorite today. I have a fondness for angelica and I don’t know why because there isn’t any growing around here. Possibly I like it because it reminds me of Queen Annes Lace which I also like.
    That’s a lovely little rose bush. Will it get bigger or is it a miniature type?
    I was just out in my yard and noticed that there are flowers on the wild grapes. They don’t always bloom but maybe there will be a few (not very edible) grapes on them this year.
    Hope you enjoyed your tea and sandwiches and have recovered your ability to focus.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      A liottle bit better today but not much🙂 At least I didn´t buy any more yoghurt🙂🙂🙂

      I have to admit that before I moved here I actually disliked angelica🙂 But it sort of grows in liking after a while🙂 Now I´m actually thinking of letting it in to my garden🙂🙂 I do like that photograph too.

      To be honest, I don´t know much about roses unless they are wild species so I have absolutely no idea how big it becomes🙂🙂🙂 But I fellin love with those small flowers and just felt the urge to buy it🙂 I´m asking on different garden sites right now about how hardy it is and everything else they can tell me.

      My Frost grape flowered to early again so all f´lowers got destroyed this spring, so I´+m hoping for next year again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

