Dogs on the run?

I thought it was my neighbors visitors that owned this dog and he didn´t move an inch when I talked with him, so when they opened the door I said that it almost was as well behaved as my dogs are🙂🙂🙂

We´ve had a couple of dogs that has run around here lately and we think these are the ones that chases cows. Two big black dogs, one of them have some whit on its chest. Naturally everyone thinks it is my dogs that is on the loose. On Friday evening however I saw a big border collie mix run around on the outside of my garden and my neighbors had something outside their door making noise. But they couldn´t see anything when they opened their front door.

He didn´t look to happy at first about me and my dogs stopping to talk to my neighbor but that soon changed.

He is very beautiful and he stayed on the right side of the hedge all the time when we walked away🙂 Its a shame Hector didn´t like him🙂

At first they thought it was the big badger but today they know different🙂 Two big dogs stopped by and said hi to their little Hampus🙂 The big totally black one ran away as soon as he saw people but the other one stayed. They told me he has been there all day and he and Hampus seems to get along very well. Since they believe this is one of the dogs that might be a cow chaser they called the police and asked if someone had reported their dogs missing but no one has.

This katydid came flying through the air. Look at its side, it looks very much like a leaf!

I have a catalpa in my garden and it struggles to survive every winter. It is ten years old and has never been higher that half a meter (much the same in yards)🙂🙂 There´s a mix of photographs here today and I realized that I had veruý strange settings on my camera and that´s why some photographs looks a bit bad.

He is very friendly but a bit shy. But he did come to say hi after a while and he did let me check his ears for tattoos. We have to mark our dogs in some way, either a tattoo or a chip beneath the skin. No tattoos though in his ears. The fun thing is that now the dog refuses to leave their garden🙂🙂🙂

I´ve never seen this kind of mushroom before so I have no idea what it is. I found it out by the bog yesterday evening and I´ll have to go back there again to see how it looks later on. I´ll send my photographs to the Natural history museum in Gothenburg , they usually knows what anything is🙂

This however is a false chanterelle. Taste absolutely nothing but is at least harmless.

There´s only three reasons for dogs not to stay at home and the first one is that the owner doesn´t care much about them and lets them run around all day as they please. If so they shouldn´t be allowed to have dogs at all. The second reason is that they have run away, but then any owner would call the police just in case someone has found them. The third reason is that they simply has thrown them out of a car and left, unfortunately not uncommon now days. I´m not sure what´s the case is here.

We passed this deer yesterday and first he took a look at us.

And then he kept on eating🙂🙂 We were only fifteen meters (the same in yards) away from each other.

I would have brought him home with me myself if Hector hadn´t shown that he didn´t like this dog especially much. So I told my neighbors to call the police again and leash the dog while waiting or call an animal shelter so they could take care of him. But we have the other dog to think of as well. He ran away and seems to be so much more shy than this one.

Lemon flower.

Its time for a cup of tea and something to eat. I baked bread yesterday and everything went well but when I tasted it I realized that I had forgotten to put salt in it🙂 It doesn´t matter how great a bread might be, without salt its just boring🙂🙂🙂                                   Have a great day!

 

 

20 thoughts on “Dogs on the run?

  1. Hoppas verkligen att hundarna kommer tillrätta. Det verkar ju underligt dock att ingen polisanmälan gjorts. Blir så upprörd när jag hör om sådant här, det är ju så synd om de stackarna som kanske är hungriga, förvirrade och rädda. Hoppas att du kan lämna en “redogörelse” senare om hur det har gått? Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det passerade just en bil jag aldrig sett här, så kanske de har hittat ägarna? Jag berättar mer så fort jag vet något.

      Denna hunden had ju bestämmt sig för att detta var ett bra hem i alla fall, men den andra blir det nog svårare att hitta. Den var visst mycket räddare.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Good looking dog to be a stray. Some owner is out there combing the corn fields for sure or rounding Crane Lake. Every time we have a feral cat altered the Vet clips an ear showing other vets that the cat has been neutered and treated with shots. A marking none we have left have since I can’t trap them until I have the funds. The ones I did last year, all five, cost around $1200 US and all of them over the year have left. Two were taken in by my neighbor across the street who is a florists by profession. The other three just left the nest. One stayed, Karlacita, and she is the daughter of Annie who gave birth to Yoda and Lacey. Bruno is the Dad and he shows up at dinner daily eating what’s left. But I am sure Yoda will be the first to leave of this feral family because he goes off for days at a time and that’s how it happens. Some kid spots him and takes him home . . . “Mommy can I keep him”? She can’t say no and Yoda then has found a home. They are all cuties.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It is more common now that they just push their dogs out of the car when they want to go on vacation. The dogs can be well kept and the owners hopes that they will be found quickly but that´s it. I just can´t understand how they can behave like that! But a car I´ve never seen before just passed my cottage so it might be the owners that has been here now. I´ll tell You all more as soon as I know anything.

      It´s even worse with cats! They keep them during summer at the summer house and then just leaves them or they drive far away and throws them out of the car in the middle of nowhere. Our winters are to tough for them so most starve to death or freezes to death painfully. But a few finds a farm that rather have half wild cats than use rat poison, but these lucky ones are few.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. So sad about about the loose dogs,, I feel bad for them.That deer is in very good shape.Do people hunt in the forest around you? I hate to see the poor deer shot and if i was to have to kill them I couldn’t.I was raised where my father provided our family with deer, moose, duck and of course fish, we raised our cows and pigs and chickens as well, I now am almost vegetarian.I was just curious if hunting is popular with your area.

    • Hi Laurie!
      That dog will have a new home fast if it doesn´t have one right now. It was so well behaved that its easy to fins a home for it. I do hope the second one is found as well! I just saw a car I´ve never seen before pass my cottage so it might have been the owners.

      The neighbors that found the dogs doesn´t allow hunting deers on their property. We have very few of them so they feel we should give those deers a chance! So both them and I feed the deers here during winter so they stay on the right places and not wander in to those areas where they can be hunted🙂🙂🙂

      Moose hunting is popular though, but even if Sweden has more moose to its area than any other country they seldom gets a chance to shoot any around here🙂 To be honest, I think the old hunters doesn´t mind that at all, they just sit out there in the forest enjoying life🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, I hope everything works out for those two dogs. It is a shame to think of them roaming, hungry and possibly in danger of getting hit by cars. You will have to keep us updated on the situation. Katydid, catalpa, lotus and lemon and that fantastic deer. So interesting. Better put a lot of the jam you made on your salt-less bread!!

    • Hi Robin!
      I´ll tell You more as soon as I know anything more. But a car I´ve never seen before just passed my cottage so it might be the owners.

      By the way! Eureka starts here again om September 3🙂🙂 Finally something I really like on tv🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I do hope that the strange car is the owners looking for their pets!
    It makes me sick to think of someone just dumping their pets. Why don’t they take them to the shelter where they try to find them homes or maybe look for homes themselves.
    Grrrr, some people are so horrible. I hope that meanness swings around and gets THEM.
    Probably a good thing Hector didn’t like him or else you’d have 4 and then 5 when his buddy finally warmed up to the group. I tell ya, it’s a slippery slope and then next thing you know you are fighting for a seat in your own home!🙂
    Take care, cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´ve had five dogs in that size before so I wouldn´t notice any difference🙂🙂🙂 But it could be nasty warm in the bed at night🙂🙂🙂

      Ten years ago this was something that never happened, no one just tossed their pets out of the car and drove away. Now days its not that uncommon I´m afraid. Dogs usually gets new homes fast, it is worse for the cats, Most of them starve to death or freeze to death when winter comes. I just can´t understand such a behavior from humans!!! But a car I´ve never seen before just passed my cottage so I´m hoping it was the owners that had been here for their dogs.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Hope the strange car is the owner looking for his dogs. If not, I’m sure you could persuade Hector to accept a new brother or two. After Nova, a well-behaved brother would be a nice change.🙂
    For your saltless bread, try putting butter and salt on a piece and putting it in the oven for a bit. You could add some herbs, too, if you like. It would taste much better.
    I have been hanging about waiting for the cable guy to come. He showed up almost at the very last possible minute that he could have without being actually late. I’m bundling my phone, tv and internet. The poor guy had to deal with elderly electricity, elderly cable wires, elderly phone. Nothing has been done to the cable since it first got put into the house back in the 80’s. He was amused.
    I have to go take some pictures now that there is no light left. Enjoy the day.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      I´ll tell You more about those dogs and that car tomorrow🙂 But I doubt that I could have persuaded Hector to let that dog come home with us. He showed quite clear that he wouldn´t accept any of that🙂🙂🙂

      I never use any butter on my bread so I just sprinkled some salt over instead and that worked fine🙂

      I wish I could do like You when it comes to all those things, but it´s not possible out here yet. Perhaps, with a bit of luck, we can do the same in a couple of years. My cottage is much the same here, nothing has changed since the early 80´s🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hoppas verkligen att ägarna till hundarna har dykt upp, om det nu bara är en ägare!? Det är en sån där mardröm jag hade förut, alltså att min hund försvann och jag aldrig hittade den igen. Aldrig fick reda på vad som hänt den – fy 17!!
    Själva skulle vi ju absolut inte skaffa oss en ny hund, men…ibland pratar vi ganska mycket om att ta hand om en lie äldre omplaceringshund. Speciellt om man sett nått hundprogram på TV. Då blir man ju väldans sugen igen!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jag berättar mer om hundarna imorgon🙂

      Det måste vara riktigt otrevligt att bli av med en hund sådär! Om man bara fick reda på hur det gått med den kanske det kännts lättare.

      Ja varför inte ta hand om en äldre hund? Det finns en del på de olika djurhemmen så ni skulle säkert hitta en som passar er riktigt bra🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer! i sure hope those dogs find a home. it is so sad that they are running lose. i hope their owner didn’t just let them go. i have house guest and have been cleaning the guest house which is where my daughter used to live. what a project!. i worked the for 8 straight hours and it isn’t even half done. i am about to go back there shortly for another full day! no cooking here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´ll tell You more about those dogs tomorrow. I´ll write even if it is wednesday. I´m to busy today making plum jelly🙂🙂

      I´m so glad this cottage is tiny because there´s no space to place things I don´t use🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Christer! can you believe I just put a great big apple pie in the oven? Yep! I haven’t baked an apple pie in years. Got a nice beef stew simmering on the stove…so just hearing about your plum jam made me hungry. At least I have something good coming for dinner. 🙂

    The dog looks more like a lost dog than a stray. I lost my dog once..or she was taken rather. I remember crying for days and day! I would watch out the window for her until late in the night. It was horrible. Aftera week I was still watching…and hoping..
    And then one day I heard my children screaming in the front yard. SIX of them! I ran to the front door and there they were all pileing on top of Susie in our front yard! Some were crying and some were going mad with joy! I ran and joined them…what a time it all was! Our precious girl was home!
    There was a rope tied around her neck that had been chewed.
    It is a memory that will last my lifetime…and my children’s life times.
    Our dogs are family. They go where we go and live right with us. What a joy it is to have a loving pet. I hope the lost little dog finds it’s home.
    Take care Christer! Enjoy the plum jelly. My plum tree in the back yard is GROWING! :):):)
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Its a bit to early for making apple pie from my apples, they ripe rather late. So I do feel a bit envious🙂🙂

      The dogs were not really lost but they were a far way from home, but I´l tell You more about them later today.
      It must be terrible to loose a dog like that! It is bad enough those minutes Nova takes a walk. But all ended well for You anyway🙂

      Yes our dogs are our family and it is terrible when something happens to them.
      Soon You´ll have plenty of plums🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. I once moved to an apartment and the previous renters had just left their dog! The poor thing was so sad and refused to eat anything — even steak and ice cream! (not together, of course 😎 ). I, too, do not understand these people. Pets are a responsibility and it says a lot about the people, I think, when they do things like that. They sure do look healthy. Let’s keep our fingers crossed that this has a good ending… back to the grind. I’ve found two very nice neighborhood boys who have been helping me with the extra heavy stuff around here. They sure do work — very rare, nowadays. Take care and enjoy your tea. Don’t forget the salt, next time.😎

    • Hi Sharlene!
      People that behaves like that to a helpless dog is people I don´t trust. A behavior like that isn´t acceptable! How did it go with that dog? These dogs story will be told later today🙂

      Yes it is unusual to find young people that works hard🙂 Congratulations in finding them🙂
      Yes I´ll remember salt next time🙂 The only reason I forgot this time is that I had made a biga and thought I had put salt in to that🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

