It only took me eleven years to go there :-)

I like these colorful sunrises.

I finally did wake up yesterday 🙂 I realized that I didn´t have enough cat food for the weekend so I drove to the grocery store in Gudhem. For once I actually remembered to bring my camera with me so on my way back home I stopped at a place in the village I´ve been thinking of going since i moved here. I´ve only lived here eleven years now and the place is placed in the wrong part of the village. Well I do pass it every day to and from work but either its to early or the longing for home is to strong when I pass there in the afternoon 🙂

The last remains of the morning fog.

Once upon ago there was a church in this village but for a reason I don´t know they abandoned the church, tore it down and used most of the stones it was built of to build the new church in Bjurum. Looking back it probably was a worse idea than they ever could believe back then, because the church in my village was very old and something they would have been proud of to have today.

I couldn´t see any graveyard but I guess there is one since almost all old churches had one just beside them. To be honest, I couldn´t see much  of the old church at all, only piles of leftover stones. But the place was so quiet and peaceful so it sort of felt like I stood in that old church anyway. I saw lots of butterflies and dragonflies but only one butterfly sat still long enough for me to take a photograph 🙂 🙂

Teodor greeted us when we came home. He was hungry and showed that he didn´t like the new brand of cat food that I´ve bought 🙂

The way to the ruin. This church ruin is marked on maps but only a small blue sign by the road shows that there is something at the end of this road. I think I walked for three hundred meters (much the same in yards) until I reached the place.

This part of the village has lots of low stone walls, something that doesn´t exist in my part. Stones in this size or bigger is rare around here actually.

I think it helped to get that feeling since the nature is quite different from what we have here by the bog, lots of junipers and big oaks, something that doesn´t exist here, well we do have some oaks but they are not even ten years old yet 🙂

I don´t think we have a single juniper in my part of the village. Here they were everywhere and big too.

We don´t have any heather either.

A Cabbage butterfly.

We got very nice weather after all yesterday so the sun shone most of the remains of the day. Since I finally had woken up I mowed my lawn and after that I picked rowan berries on our evening walk. We have lots and lots of rowan berries so I didn´t expect it to take long time to get enough with berries, but it did. It seems that I was a bit to short to reach the berries 🙂 🙂 I´m six foot high and very few berries grow in hights where I could reach them 🙂 🙂

I finally came to a big open space and started to look after the ruin.

I think this is where the church entrance was. Behind it there´s a huge stone wall or a long high pile of stones is a better name for it. No signs what so ever!

The evening was nice so I sat down on the kitchen stairs to cleans the berries from what ever had fallen in to the bag. Pine needles, spiders, ants and a bug that is a relative to Your Stink bugs, we call them berry farts 🙂 🙂 🙂 They don´t do especially much damage to berries but they seem to like staying in them. I also got rid of berries that had dried and some that had started to ferment and mold. I think I really need some more berries but when it´s time to do anything with them I just toss in a couple of crab apples instead.

The church in Bjurum was built 1768 so these stones has been like this since then.

I saw this gate on my way back to the car.

The day will be somewhat cloudy with some sunshine in between today. Just enough warm as well, around 20c (68F). Even though we were out walking just a couple of hours ago my dogs show its time to do so again. I´ll just finish here and my cup of tea and then we´re off. Have a great day!

I stopped on a meeting place while another big car with a horse trailer passed and saw my neighbors horses on a field. I like these horse that I call working horses (even though they don´t do much of the work they used too back in the days). Every now and again I can see him out on the gravel road sitting on a carriage behind them 🙂

20 thoughts on “It only took me eleven years to go there :-)

  1. so sad the church had been demolished, it would have been great to keeo it.Ifind it very interesting how in your part of the area the plant life differs from the area with the old church.The heather really surprised me.Love ly horses, its just so peaceful where you live it must be a comfortable place to call home.I think cats can be the pickiest eaters sometimes.Our old cat grew to prefer one brand of cat food and refused to eat any other, after developing a urinary condition the vet told us he needed a low ash cat food, gave us a list of healthy foods and wouldn’t you know it his favorite was the very worst one on the list.He then ate table scraps mixed with the offending new brand for rest of his days, he lived to be 21.Our day is just beginning, its morning here and I hear the church bells, I hope you have a good day.At least you won’t have grass to cut as you did it yesterday!

    • Hi Laurie!
      It would have been great to have that old church left here but this was a poor area and they didn´t have enough with stones. So this church and another had to contribute with theirs.

      I think that the area I live in is the one that been changed. I´ve heard that its tree like these around the church that used to grow all over the place here. But spruces and pines grows faster so it was a financial question really.

      It is peaceful here and it was even more peaceful where the old church had stood. I can´t think of a better place to live 🙂

      Yes cats are picky when it comes to food and everything else to be honest 🙂 🙂 Bertil did eat some but Teodor refused so now he has to walk around hungry until this food is good enough for him 🙂 🙂
      21! not a bad age for a cat!

      It has been a wonderful day and the evening seems to be just as fine 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, foggy photos are always beautiful. Your stop at the old church site is entrancing. Seeing those old moss-covered stones from so very long ago would make me wonder about the people who went to the church and what life was like. There must have been a strong feeling of spirit there. I liked how you said you felt like you were standing in the church, even though it has been gone forever. It would be a wonderful place to find some peace, I think. Thanks very much for this post.(I hope Teodor ate after all. Cats are so picky about their food; sounds like you may have been in for some complaining).

    • Hi Robin!
      This area was very poor so I guess life was hard for them. The rest of this county was richer though. I wish I could have seen how it looked here back then. The bog beside my home was a shallow lake, they lowered the water level many times around the 18 hundreds. I guess there were small cottages, smaller than mine, with grass and/or peat roofs. I guess every property had a cabbage garden as they called vegetable gardens back then and a cow or at least some goats to get milk from. Most probably they starved most of the time.

      It was very peaceful at that place but to be honest a church that has been abandoned is sort of the base for a horror novel 🙂 🙂 🙂 Couldn´t feel anything nasty there though. It was even more peaceful there than it is here where I live 🙂

      Teodor refused to eat that food but Bertil did eat some. So now Teodor has to walk around hungry until he starts to eat it. But I have promised them that I´ll never buy this brand again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I’m surprised that you are able to even tell where the old church had stood, what with no markers or foundation or cemetery. It was very interesting to see the area though. Is there anything else in that area? And the Heather, would you be able to tranplant that in your area or is that forbidden? I know that HERE we are not allowed to dig up anything along the roadside and take it home for ourselves. My cats are the same way, the healthier the food, the less they like it.
    Hmmm, I think that maybe I might have been a cat in another life! 😀
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      The stones was gathered in a way that made me sure where that old church had stood once. But I think that all the ones beside in that wall or pile has belonged to the church as well. But I think it was bad that they never put up a sign on how this place looked once long ago. I´m pretty sure there must be a description of the place somewhere. We do have some stone age tombs and very many tombs some miles away. I´ve had the idea to go and take some photographs of those tombs one day but so far I´ve always forgotten it 🙂 🙂

      We can dig up plants if we ask the land owner for permission. But its easier to buy a couple of bushes instead (yes it is bushes even if it is hard to see).

      Both Bertil and Teodor only accepts two different brands of cat food but I do try other kinds every now and again. But they actually seems to dislike junk food 🙂 🙂 🙂 I know that canned tuna is acceptable though 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Chrtister.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Love the misty photos today.
    It’s too true that you don’t always get around to visiting the town you live in. 🙂 There are interesting places in my town that visitors go to see but that I have never been to. I pass them every day and don’t think about them. I have been to the old burial ground several times. Not old by European standards. It dates from the mid 1600’s and has people from our Revolutionary war and Civil war buried there. I like to photograph the old headstones with the skulls and death’s head angels on them. Most are very badly worn away and much of the detail is lost but they are interesting just the same.
    I hope Teodor made accommodation for his cat food. They are so fussy. Rocky doesn’t like his dog food, either, unless there is chicken in it or he is very hungry after a long day playing with his friends.
    Sunny and warm here today. I have no plans. Not even ice cream.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Perhaps it just is to close then 🙂

      To be honest, here in Sweden we really don´t have that much old history left. Yes there are tombs from early stone age all the way till viking age but after that there´s very few things left. We are a bit to happy to get rid of the old and bring in the new. I think that You in the US takes better care of what You have than we do.

      Teodor refused to eat anything but Bertil did eat some. So now Teodor has to walk around hungry until this is good enough to eat 🙂 🙂 But I won´t buy this brand again. My dogs however are like garbage bins, anything goes down 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I guess it helps that I have three of them. They would never let any one have what they can eat themselves whether they like it or not 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Yes, hometown points of interest are not exotic enough to warrant our attention unless someone asks about them and then we don’t know the answer because we live here. 🙂
        We take care of the old stuff because we don’t have much history. There’s thousands of years of history under the dirt and not much of it has been studied. Unfortunately we did not get around to conserving some of the Native American and Paleo-American sites in time to prevent their being looted and destroyed.

      • Hi Caryn!
        So true 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I that is unfortunately true in many places where there is a native popukation. It wasn´t important because it was about “them”. I doubt we have many thing left from our Sami´s.

        Christer.

  5. Alltid så tragiskt när människor inte förstår värdet av gamla byggnader förrän det är försent;( Det var kanske inte så vanligt förr dock att man tänkte på bevarandet för framtida generationer. Idag har vi så smått börjat att försöka få till något som liknar en brygga runt vår damm, ett rätt komplicerat arbete måste jag säga;)) vi får se hur det blir;) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      De hade kanske inte så mycket annat att välja på. Trots att Denna kommunen alltid varit en kronbod så har detta området alltid varit fattigt. Dessutom är det ont om stenar att bygga med så det var nog bara naturligt att de gjorde så. Men visst är det tråkigt, det hade varit kul med en riktigt gammal medeltids kyrka i byn 🙂

      Så ni skall ha en brygga vid dammen! Det gillar jag! Min egen damm är ju alldeles för liten för det tyvärr.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. We almost gave up on what to feed Zoey when it came to wet food. And she never wanted anything from our table, Maggy too. But both cats love the cookies and it’s good for their teeth. A friend suggested a finicky bland in the store, tuna florentine, and naturally at .90 cents a can, Zoey dug in. She loves it. What expensive taste. Maggy we found likes tuna in gravy which is much less costlier 10 cans for $4.00. But the Zoey has to be pampered. Same at your place. Drive back to the store and pickup the finicky stuff. You’ll feel lighter in the wallet but much better for it.

    • Hi Z&M!

      They do tend to like the expensive stuff don´t they 🙂 🙂 These two accepts two brands and they also accept canned tuna, but not the one canned for cats 🙂 🙂 🙂 But Teodor has to walk around hungry until this brand is good enough for him, my heart doesn´t bleed for him 🙂 🙂 🙂 but I´ll never buy that again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I discovered a long time ago that my pets never like for me to change their food — no matter how good for them. 😎 Isn’t it amazing how visiting an old church site, you still feel that sense of sacred ground… it happens wherever I visit one. Even the animals and insects seem quieter. The pictures were lovely.

    • Hi Sharlene!

      My dogs wouldn´t mind at all if i changed the brand every day but their stomachs can´t take bigger changes. My cats stomach can but they hate changing food 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is a special feeling in a place like that. I must find out why the church was abandoned and if there might be a grave yard there as well. I know way to little about the area where I live to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Tänk vad trist det är att så mycket gammalt har rivits, speciellt under 1950-talet då alla fina byggnader cenrtralt i Stockholm nästan försvann helt. Där har vi nog lärt oss en hel del tror jag!
    Här på Gotland finns det ju massor av ruiner och gamla kyrkor, det är det kyrktätaste landskapet i hela Sverige. Och även om man som vi inte är religösa och inte har varit med i statskyrkan sen 30-40 år tillbaka, så gillar vi verkligen byggnaderna. Vår favorit är Lau Kyrka som är från 12/1300-talet men som egentligen ser väldigt avskalat modern ut. Bara Öderkyrka är också en vacker plats som faktiskt används ibland till bröllop t.ex. Sen har vi ju också byggt en liten “ruin” själva!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Ja tänk så mycket historia de rev över hela Sverige egentligen från femtiotalet till sjuttiotalet! I Skövde finns det nog ingenting kvar som är äldre än hundra år längre. Det älsta huset brann ju ned för några år sedan.

      Det är något visst med gamla kyrkor! Jag antar att denna hade varit lika gammal som den i Lau om den fått stå kvar.

      Ja ni har ju en alldeles egen ruin ni 🙂 🙂 Tänk om någon “hittar” den om tusen år, vad kan de tro att det stått för byggnad där då 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Thanks, Christer for the tour with photos and text. It was interesting to go along with you on the search for the church ruins. Today’s photos were quite a bit difrerent than we are used to seeing with your forest views. It was an enjoyable trip. THanks for the best wishes for our anniversary – much appreciated!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It is a very different place than the rest of the area is. I´m planning on going there again when the first snow has falled.

      Keep on like this so I can congratulate after twelve more years 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

